19 independent reviews for Family activity holiday in Turkey

Reviews for Family activity holiday in Turkey

SHOW
7
11
1
0
0

review 23 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many memorable moments on a near perfect holiday. We kayaked (sea and lake), hiked, swam, canyoned, snorkelled and scuba dived over the week. The canyoning trip was one particular highlight - a combination of fantastic scenery, fun scrambling across rocks and rivers, punctuated by relaxing plunges into cooling rock pools and high octane leaps from rocky crags. But it would be unfair to just mention the activities - it was really the two guides, Vedat and Seda, that made this such a fantastic holiday for us - their friendly, welcoming, caring attitudes, local knowledge, exceptional abilities and willingness to give whatever it took as they shared their world with us was absolutely faultless.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

- Plenty of factor 30-50 suncream, insect repellent and hats. - Full length sleeve rash tops with UV protection to protect against the sun during activities. - Snoods can also be very useful against the sun. But don't worry - so long as you are sensible its wonderful and you will get a perfect tan. - Be prepared to haggle in the market - we got prices down by 75% in many cases - particularly where no prices are displayed and the vendor thinks he can pull a fast one with a naive tourist. And be brave - be prepared to walk away and do it - it is a sport - the market holders enjoy the banter. - Take a GoPro or something like that to record what's happening on the activities - brilliant fun and great memories - Get up every morning at 7am and swim across the river - very peaceful and wonderful wildlife - a great start to the day

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday definitely felt as if it benefited local people - we ate at local restaurants and when with Vedat and Seda, our guides, we visited several hidden restaurants, cafes and shops that I suspect only the local people are aware of. Veda and Seda were extremely keen on reducing environmental impact and at each location did an impromptu litter pick to help ensure the beautiful places we visited stayed beautiful (with no pressure or expectation that we would help). We left no environmental footprints. Veda and Sedat also prepared several picnics based on fresh local produce and we snacked on fresh fruit picked directly from the trees as we did the activities - fresh figs are a wonder.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9.5/10 - an absolutely wonderful holiday. We cannot recommend it highly enough. And for those that are nervous of joining a group holiday where you know no one, we can only say that the Keith, Kate, Finn, Jacob and Danny, the other family in our group, were brilliant fun, very easy going, adventurous, great to talk to and contributed massively to making this such a brilliant week.

review 29 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was great fun and hugely enjoyable for us all (mum, dad and 3 kids aged almost 10, 12 and 15 years). The guides were lovely and made each activity a memorable adventure. The itineraries were well judged, with options for different abilities. We will never forget the thrill of jumping off high rocks and cliffs into cold pools on the picturesque canyoning trip and the spectacular beauty of the Turkish coastline on the sea kayaking trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We spread out the standard activity week (5 activity days with one rest day) over 2 weeks - and did 6 activities over 13 days, which worked well for us. Alternatif are very flexible and can accommodate different requirements. Our 10 year old in particular would have struggled with activities starting at 9am every day and liked having days off. We all enjoyed having more rest days in which to explore the area - and there's loads to see nearby. The hotel and pool are lovely, with a river at the end of the garden, a hotel canoe available for exploring nearby, the town of Dalyan is a 15 minute walk along the well-lit and well-used river footpath, impressive ruins of 6C BC Kaunos to explore, mudbaths and hot springs, Turkish baths at neighbouring hotels, beautiful Iztuzu beach is a 30 minute bus ride away from Dalyan, turtle sanctuary - so much to see and do. They say the activities are 4-6 hours activity per day - but I'd say these were full day activities, starting at 9ish and we were never back before 6pm - which was great: full on, full days of fun.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely. We stayed in a local family hotel, ate in a variety of local restaurants, bought locally-made pomegranate juice, homemade ayran (traditional Turkish cold yogurt drink) and lemon drink to revive us on the activities, the guides were Turkish, eco-conscious and rightly proud of the beautiful surroundings - in a country where environmental considerations are not so well developed. Our guides conscientiously picked up litter left behind by others - and understood the importance of sustainable, low impact tourism. Vedat Vural, the company owner and senior guide has played an important role in helping local people to protect their water sources from big dam construction business. He is also committed to keeping his groups small scale - which helps everyone and made the holiday so enjoyable for us.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. A wonderful life-affirming experience, thoroughly enjoyed by our whole family (rare, given wide-ranging abilities). I would highly recommend this company and holiday.

review 31 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our guide Vedat made the trip memorable with his passion and vast knowledge of the countryside and enthusiasm for each of the activities. Our favourite activity was canyoning an activity we hadn't done before which challenged us and gave us tremendous rewards with the amazing fresh water pools where we could leap from the varying height rocks. During each activity our guides produced delicious fresh, locally sourced food which we enjoyed eating with amazing scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As long as you are already activity have the basic equipment on the list they recommended you should have some fantastic experiences. Our children who are 12 and 14 years old enjoyed every minute helped by our guides encouraging words, sense of humour and delicious edible treats to keep them going. Just enjoy all the fantastic experiences that are presented and in Vedat's words 'seize the day!'.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes because we stayed in a locally family run Hotel where all the staff were so friendly and welcoming. We also had some evening meals in restaurants in Dalyan which we walked to. Due to the nature of the activities we use motorised vehicles only to get to the activity sites and following our guides example the whole group daily picked up any litter that was in the area of our activity.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent! Probably the best family holiday we have had. Try it for your self!

review 5 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Diving off high rocks into cool pools of water on a very hot day while canyoning. Seeing parts of the country that one would simply not see if one was traveling alone.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To be ready for quite a lot of exertion. Some of the activities require real effort. Doing a 12k hike across mountains in the heat is quite a challenge. They suggest a moderate level of fitness in the brochure, I think this should say actually fit! Refreshingly Health and safety is dealt with pragmatically. They do not let it get in the way of fun...indeed at times it seem totally missing! This is meant as a positive comment.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Somewhat, we had some wonderful lunches in remote parts and one could see that our presence was very important to the locals who prepared the food. I was pleased to see our guide picking up other people's litter. They did more than their bit to keep the place unspoilt.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent...the guides could not have been more helpful or accommodating. We had a wonderful time.

review 25 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All the activities were great -especially kayaking, mountain biking and the mud bath! Great guides- lots of smiles and laughter. The food was lovely as well tasting something's we had never had before eg. Dried mulberries as a snack.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take grippy water shoes for canyoning. Try everything and believe in yourself.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The guides were v Eco-conscious and diligent in collecting other people's litter. They were informative regarding nature and used locally grown produce from markets for our lunches and snacks. We also loved meeting local families with them and learning about their customs and beliefs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was good to go with a local travel company rather than a group one. We have recommended it to lots of friends. So many good memories and hard to pinpoint anything. The accommodation was lovely and felt like we were staying with an extended family rather than employees.

review 5 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Canyoning was particularly memorable as it provided a wonderful opportunity to explore the landscape, scenery and wildlife, as well as a balance of challenge through rock scrambling and chill time plunging in refreshing rock pools.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get fit before you go! You need to be prepared for relatively long and physically demanding activity on a daily basis if you are not used to it. If you usually reside in a temperate climate, take into account the heat of the Turkish summer.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The local hotelier and his family were very supportive of the group's experience, treating us as if we were family members. We understood this to reflect the strong relationship with the tour company. The tour leader was very conscious of the potential impact of group activity on the local environment and even took it upon himself to litter pick generally as he went along. Promotion of bottle refilling from local sources was encouraged.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A rewarding and life affirming experience.

review 6 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Difficult to say one thing - the hotel, guide, activities, country - just perfect!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely - the hotel was family run and we only used small local restaurants and tucked away gems.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic.

review 15 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The guides - they were brilliant and made the holiday really special, especially for the 13 year old boy in our party.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It's hot! We went in early July and it was hotter than we expected. Don't forget to take shoes you're prepared to get wet and shorts you're prepared to get very muddy. And hats and sunscreen and mosquito repellent. This is all in the info they send you before you go. Don't book this holiday unless you want to be active.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes absolutely. The hotel is run by a local family and all of the staff seemed to be from the extended family. The operator is run by a Turkish guy and his English wife, and all of the guides we met lived in the local area. Perhaps the most impressive thing was their attitude to litter. Sounds minor, but we were really impressed how they picked up other people's litter wherever we went, without making a big deal out of it.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Can't praise the hotel, place or holiday operator highly enough. We took an active 13 year old boy and he loved it.

review 24 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The activities were brilliant particularly for me the white water rafting and for the teenagers the gorge walking day.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it!! Brilliant value and the best holiday we have ever had. However April was ideal as it was before the tourist season started - I suspect July would not have been as wonderful.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - although possibly the Dalyman was quite touristy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent in every respect. I cannot recommend this highly enough.

review 1 Nov 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I went with the assumption that the hiking day would be my favourite, as it is something I always enjoy. However, that probably came in as second from bottom (cycling has never been my thing - although the day was well organised), with the kayaking, canyoning and rafting all vying for top place.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you read the kit list - proper footwear, in particular, is essential. Don't forget the insect repellant (it is on the kit list ...).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

All the people we met in connection with the holiday were locals. Having made it to the destination, the impact on the environment is minimal: the activities all rely on "people power", and I would guess that we were in a van for no more than 4 hours in the whole week. Our guides also made a policy of collecting any rubbish that they came across in the countryside and taking it back to town for disposal.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The perfect holiday for parents with teenagers, although I have now gone back to work for a rest!

review 23 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All the activities but especially cannoning.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Choose a wide variety of activities.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

yes, we have visited sme locals and enjoyed amazing hospitality, learned new customs and new vocabulary. We walked everywhere and the car rides were kept to minimum. Except the white water rafting- it was quite far away.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fabulous: excellent guides, great selection of activities, lovely hotel, yummy food.

review 7 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Canyoning...without a shadow of a doubt. We did our first canyon as one of the pre booked activities, and loved it so much we booked a second trip. The second trip involved just under seven hours of hiking, abseilng, clambering, slipping, sliding, climbing, wading and swimming in the most unbelievably stunning scenery; all under the watchful, and incredibly knowledgeable eyes of Vedat, our guide.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be aware that though moderate fitness is all that is required, some of the activities can be very strenuous, especially in the high temperatures of mid summer.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Super. We are very glad that we choose to do the activities over two weeks rather than one, which meant that we had time to relax and take in the vibe of Dalyan, and we were able, had time, to add the second canyoning trip.

review 2 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved the location of the hotel right on the river and it's spacious grounds, but the best part was the activities, especially the white water rafting with Vedat. The river conditions were great (enough water for some thrills but not too dangerous) and lots of fun with Vedat's humour.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is very hot in July and August so don't try to do too much - have a rest day in between activities and take plenty of mosquito repellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It benefited local people in that it is a Turkish company, employing Turkish guides and using a family run hotel. The guides were very environmentally conscious and collected other people's litter on the way home.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent holiday - very enjoyable and the staff were extremely accommodating, helpful, professional and fun.

review 31 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All the activities were excellent. Well planned and tailored to our ability. Guide was also excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy it all - even when you don't think you can take another step/paddle/peddle in the 40 Deg heat!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I hope so. The operator is clearly passionate about the environment. Meeting with local people during activities were spontaneous and interesting to both parties (I hope).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 19 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The chance to see places and do things that I would not have been able to do without expert guides. Our guides, Engin and Nurdan, were brilliant - very friendly, fun, professional and patient. We went to remote areas where we didn't see anyone else and enjoyed some amazing scenery. We had a laugh and enjoyed their companionship. We felt they were enjoying themselves too, and this made the whole experience more fun for us.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You need to be reasonably fit and able to enjoy levels of activity which at times challenge your fitness, especially in the heat of summer. The activities last most of the day so this is not for people who want to spend lots of time sitting by the pool. It is for people who like lots of variety and get bored easily.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. The holiday employs the services of local people. The small hotel was locally run and we did not at any time feel we were part of a large conglomerate.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall it was one of the most enjoyable holidays I have had for many years.

review 20 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

White water rafting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Check you footwear is suitable for the activity, esp canyoning. Remove all jewellery.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the operator guides communicated well with locals who enjoyed our cycling though villages. They collected litter whenever possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Exceeded our expectations.

review 5 Sep 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting other, totally different, families with similar ideals and values, and having a great time! The countryside around Dalyan is beautiful, lush and green, and we would never have seen and experienced the local habitat without our guides. Each activity gave us a new slant: the walking, a general overview; the canyoning was exhilarating; the cycling allowed us to see the wider area and find a magical restaurant; the kayaking took us to the mud baths and the rafting was great fun...

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try to bring some sturdy footwear that can get wet! Also, try to book in a few days of rest and relaxation. The Yunis hotel is one of the most laid back places ever! Beware of the Mozzies....

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I do hope so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent! With happy kids (who could complain?)

review 31 Aug 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Difficult to say - different family members had different ideas! Probably, overall, the canyoning, but rafting was a close second. The guides were great - supportive, enthusiastic, knowledgeable, but also prepared not to get to the end of the river/lake if the family was not up to it (actually we did make it!), which shows that the experience/ability of the family group is carefully assessed, and the activity tailored so that everyone has fun, and it is not an endurance test to 'complete the pre-ordained itinerary'.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is useful to be reasonably fit to start, rather than using this as an opportunity to get fit. Don't be put off by the activities - they are all achievable! - actually, the brilliant part of this holiday is that it was good for all the family - 17 year old son who has already been canyoning and rafting with the scouts in the summer felt this was better - most activities achieved an 'it was OK' response (17 year olds do not rate anything better than that unless they nearly died) - the 11 year old coped brilliantly with everything. Also take plenty of water on the hike - you cannot take too much - aim for 1 - 1.5 litres per person.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely, we used a local, family run hotel, and local restaurants and companies for travel, lunch where appropriate.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant - met, and exceeded expectations - plenty of time most late afternoon/early evening to relax by the pool, meet new friends, as well as having an active time in the day - would recommend this holiday to others.

review 15 Aug 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The white water rafting was brilliant. Exciting activity amid beautiful scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you are physically fit, as a family we are all healthy and do take regular exercise but found the walking and cycling tough at times in the heat.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I feel that it did benefit local people as we stayed at a family run hotel rather than a corporate chain and patronised local bars and restaurants - the activities enabled us to go to some off the beaten track as well. I'm not sure about the impact on the environment although we did go on a solar powered boat that is being trialled to see if it is to be a commercial success.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a fantastic time, the activities enabled us to see parts of the countryside that we probably wouldn't have seen on our own. Our two teenagers were happy and occupied and we made some great friends with our fellow adventurers. The organisation from the operator was excellent and all the staff and representatives were friendly and approachable. Also great value for money.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies