9 independent reviews for Kayaking weekend in Croatia

Reviews for Kayaking weekend in Croatia

SHOW
1
5
2
0
1

review 17 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lots of variety due to unpredictable weather. We got a hike around Lopud with wonderful lunch at local small holding. Had a very friendly guide and some good kayaking out to the neighbouring island. When rained off one afternoon we were treated to the hotel spa.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

When booking through a local tour company ensure that the company have personally checked out the accommodation. Our initial room was not up to standard with very poor bathroom facilities. The firm were responsive in moving group to much better accommodation but the disruption should have been prevented.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as we stayed in local private accommodation, ate in local restaurants and visited a local farm. We used local public transport and kayaking does not use petrol

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

In spite of mixed weather, lovely experience, good company, freindly local people. Would definitely do it again.

review 18 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting an isolated farmhouse for a home-grown dinner

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be aware that if the conditions aren't suitable the kayaking is cancelled. We had only 2 days of kayaking of a planned 3 days. We did some hiking on the non-kayaking day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It helped provide employment for local people and sale of local produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Enjoyable but disappointed that we couldn't kayak every day.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Mrs Spence, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your kayaking tour with us. If the weather conditions do not permit, instead of kayaking we organize an alternative activity.Your group had 10 members and both of our experienced guides who were in charge of the group evaluated that the sea was too rough to paddle on of the days so we organized a boat trip to the island of Kolocep with lunch. Unfortunately the weather is something that we can not guarantee for 100% and safety is our prime concern.

review 28 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sea kayaking around the Elaphiti islands, just beautiful with crystal clear seas plus the flexibility of the team, they were amazing accommodating to make sure each day's kayaking experience was the best for each person.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you take a good lip protector, the sun and sea reflection is powerful and I burnt my lips. A dry bag for your camera whilst your kayaking, because you will be stopping all the time to take photos of the fabulous scenery.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The company supports the local people and includes in the kayaking tours stops at local restaurants around the islands. Plus on our last night they arranged a fabulous meal in a local farm house where all the food was locally produced including the wine.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

First rate, the islands were idyllic, kayaking superb with the team making you feel so welcome. Top holiday

review 12 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The guides took our group to a small local farm for an all inclusive 4 course meal where we had abundant home cooked food and drink, all the meat came from the farm and the wine was also made by the family on the farm. It was fantastic!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring a long sleeved shirt - It's best to cover up when kayaking as the sun is so strong

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The guides were both local and had excellent knowledge of the area and the sea. The guest house we stayed in was family run.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!

review 22 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The colour of the water! The sea was so clear, you could see to the bottom quite easily. It was especially impressive when we went cave swimming.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The kayaking is a little physically demanding, so a basic level of fitness and arm strength is required so that you don't find the kayaking a complete drag!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, in that the local economy benefitted from our trip. We had a local tour guide, stayed in locally owned accommodation and ate in local restaurants (e.g. not chain hotels or restaurants). I don't think there were particular environmental or conservation benefits.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was excellent. We really enjoyed the tour and were part of a good group of people. Out lead kayaker knew his stuff, and the islands we visited were beautiful.

review 23 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A knock out - all of it. Possibly to be taken to a turquoise cave when the waves were up - our guide was all up for it convincing us to go in. After paddling in the sunset, we went back to our island.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy - you will have great guidance - you will have great company. Remember to take mosquito repellent with you for the evenings.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. The guides were great taking us straight to the local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great holiday!

review 20 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Brilliant stunning romantic coast and islands!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Kayak for at least 5 days and arrive fit.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Was a great holiday; however our kayaking was cut short by half a day due to staff shortage.

review 11 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Fearing that another person was going to drown because they had not been instructed on how to remove a spray deck.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you want more than just the sun, the Outer Hebrides are much better.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Basic and overpriced.

Read the operator's response here:

Your time and suggestions that will help us improve the sea kayaking tour are greatly appreciated. We do regret that your expectations were not fulfilled this time. We have been listening to suggestions and recommendations of our guests for seven years, since we were founded. Our guide reported that he normally gives instructions to the group or else individually while kayakers are getting into the kayak and that he is near, ready to assist all the time.

review 29 Jun 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Dusk, every night would be the most memorable – tucking into a well-deserved evening meal, with aching arms and mildly sunburnt hands, overlooking the sea as surrounding lush-green islands disappear with the sun. The most exciting would either be snorkelling for the first time and swimming with the fish (and particularly aggressive sea urchins) or when the sea got quite choppy and waves were breaking on my kayak!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To take a hat and a camera (neither of which I did and regretted it). And make sure you spend some time exploring Old Town in Dubrovnik – especially at night.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

One of the Islands we kayaked to doesn’t have cars or roads so it was definitely doing its own bit for the environment – any way their economy can be boosted but not damaged by tourism is great, and that’s what we did. Arriving on man-powered boats, very thirsty for beer and cocktails for a start!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very highly. Every Croatian person I met, especially from the operator, was so friendly, which was very important as I was travelling alone. That and the breath-taking scenery made my holiday. I also couldn’t have asked for a better kayaking tour guide.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies