8 independent reviews for Troodos Mountains holiday accommodation, Cyprus

Reviews for Troodos Mountains holiday accommodation, Cyprus

SHOW
1
5
2
0
0

review 29 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Been able to relax after a day of walking or seeing the sights. The views during the walk around mount Olympus were superb, not for the faint hearted but worth it.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Give yourself time to chill out every day

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in a traditional cottage that was kept very tasteful.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Walking is a must around Troodos. A very enjoyable holiday with superb hosts who were on the end of a phone if we needed them

review 20 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We most enjoyed getting out into the surrounding hills walking on the tracks which wind around them, and have left details of our walks with the owners.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Note that there is no electronic money in Vouni, so you need to bring plenty of cash (we were there two weeks!). The friendly local shop sells all the basics, but not everything is obvious, so ask! We mostly cooked for ourselves; but there is a couple of nice tavernas in the village too.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. This is a nicely restored traditional property, and the village of Vouni as a whole is a protected village, so that no inappropriate development is done. And you can get to Vouni by local service bus from Limassol (four times a day), so no need for a car.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This is ideal for getting some peace and tranquility; not much happens in Vouni!

review 29 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The location, the quaint village streets and the house with its wonderful ancient Olive tree out front. Easy accessibility to Troodos for hikes was really good.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you like hikes, give yourself at least 4 days to discover all the trails in Vouni and Platres and beyond. For experiencing village life, taverns, local arts and crafts the house is well situated with access to Limassol as well as Nicosia via Highways. Nearby villages offer ample opportunity for enjoying local culture. The donkey sanctuary has been moved to a nearby village 15 minutes away. You would need a car so make sure to hire one. Economy car rentals are very good and efficient and cost less than the big ones.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I believe our spending at local shops, taverns, markets ,etc supported the local businesses and artisans. By using electricity only when needed, conserving heating and separating our trash, we avoided adding any burden to local environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Relaxing. Interesting. Invigorating.

review 22 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The lodge is the most perfect place to stay when exploring the local area. It is clean and well equipped with lovely courtyard.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay longeer than originally planned; there is a lot to do and explore and the Lodge is such a beautiful place to return to.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We certainly used the local tavernas and purchased local wines. We also walked a lot so yes we hope we helped the local ecomony

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Just wonderful

review 27 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying in an authentic apartment in a beautiful village in Cyprus away from the tourist areas.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Car hire is essential to be able to visit other areas of interest. Learning a few basic words of Greek seemed to be much appreciated by the local people.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I bought food, drinks and gifts from local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - I had a thoroughly relaxing time, was able to do all the things I wanted to from my base in Vouni and was warmly welcomed by the local people. The beauty of the Troodos area was a real recharging of the batteries in itself. Helen and Tony (apartment owners) are lovely, warm and welcoming people and really enhanced my stay in Vouni.

review 13 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling in the Troudos mountains

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Apart from the air travel everything we paid for was local

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable

review 27 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Returning to the Lodge and meeting the owners again who were very helpful and kind. Spending time on the patio in the morning as the world slowly woke up and being able to catch up on emails and read on the internet. Revisiting Kouni and the ancient Greek and Roman ruins and the beach. Being able to wander across the countryside and breathe in the scent of the pines and flowers.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

In the mountains - out of season - it can get a little chilly - bring warm clothing as well. Walk around the village and explore the alleys - great photo opportunities.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefitted the local people of the village as businesses are able to survive on the tourists that are attracted to the village.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was relaxing and pleasant, and even though Cyprus has and is continuing to change and develop, you can still get away on side roads and tracks and be away from the hustle of the beach resorts.

review 23 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was lovely to be somewhere so peaceful after life in a city. I'll remember just sitting out in the courtyard under a full moon, drinking a glass of wine and listening to the sound of the crickets

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Buy a few provisions on the road on your way up if you feel like a bottle of wine or something to eat without going straight out to the taverna, the village shop closes early

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I suppose we were still an extra car driving around in the mountains. We did eat and drink in the local bars, kafeneia and tavernas.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Lovely. Exactly what I needed

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy