24 independent reviews for Troodos Mountains holiday accommodation, Cyprus

Reviews for Troodos Mountains holiday accommodation, Cyprus

SHOW
2
16
5
0
1

review 29 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Been able to relax after a day of walking or seeing the sights. The views during the walk around mount Olympus were superb, not for the faint hearted but worth it.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Give yourself time to chill out every day

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in a traditional cottage that was kept very tasteful.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Walking is a must around Troodos. A very enjoyable holiday with superb hosts who were on the end of a phone if we needed them

review 20 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We most enjoyed getting out into the surrounding hills walking on the tracks which wind around them, and have left details of our walks with the owners.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Note that there is no electronic money in Vouni, so you need to bring plenty of cash (we were there two weeks!). The friendly local shop sells all the basics, but not everything is obvious, so ask! We mostly cooked for ourselves; but there is a couple of nice tavernas in the village too.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. This is a nicely restored traditional property, and the village of Vouni as a whole is a protected village, so that no inappropriate development is done. And you can get to Vouni by local service bus from Limassol (four times a day), so no need for a car.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This is ideal for getting some peace and tranquility; not much happens in Vouni!

review 29 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The location, the quaint village streets and the house with its wonderful ancient Olive tree out front. Easy accessibility to Troodos for hikes was really good.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you like hikes, give yourself at least 4 days to discover all the trails in Vouni and Platres and beyond. For experiencing village life, taverns, local arts and crafts the house is well situated with access to Limassol as well as Nicosia via Highways. Nearby villages offer ample opportunity for enjoying local culture. The donkey sanctuary has been moved to a nearby village 15 minutes away. You would need a car so make sure to hire one. Economy car rentals are very good and efficient and cost less than the big ones.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I believe our spending at local shops, taverns, markets ,etc supported the local businesses and artisans. By using electricity only when needed, conserving heating and separating our trash, we avoided adding any burden to local environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Relaxing. Interesting. Invigorating.

review 22 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The lodge is the most perfect place to stay when exploring the local area. It is clean and well equipped with lovely courtyard.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay longeer than originally planned; there is a lot to do and explore and the Lodge is such a beautiful place to return to.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We certainly used the local tavernas and purchased local wines. We also walked a lot so yes we hope we helped the local ecomony

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Just wonderful

review 27 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying in an authentic apartment in a beautiful village in Cyprus away from the tourist areas.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Car hire is essential to be able to visit other areas of interest. Learning a few basic words of Greek seemed to be much appreciated by the local people.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I bought food, drinks and gifts from local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - I had a thoroughly relaxing time, was able to do all the things I wanted to from my base in Vouni and was warmly welcomed by the local people. The beauty of the Troodos area was a real recharging of the batteries in itself. Helen and Tony (apartment owners) are lovely, warm and welcoming people and really enhanced my stay in Vouni.

review 13 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling in the Troudos mountains

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Apart from the air travel everything we paid for was local

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable

review 27 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Returning to the Lodge and meeting the owners again who were very helpful and kind. Spending time on the patio in the morning as the world slowly woke up and being able to catch up on emails and read on the internet. Revisiting Kouni and the ancient Greek and Roman ruins and the beach. Being able to wander across the countryside and breathe in the scent of the pines and flowers.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

In the mountains - out of season - it can get a little chilly - bring warm clothing as well. Walk around the village and explore the alleys - great photo opportunities.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefitted the local people of the village as businesses are able to survive on the tourists that are attracted to the village.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was relaxing and pleasant, and even though Cyprus has and is continuing to change and develop, you can still get away on side roads and tracks and be away from the hustle of the beach resorts.

review 23 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was lovely to be somewhere so peaceful after life in a city. I'll remember just sitting out in the courtyard under a full moon, drinking a glass of wine and listening to the sound of the crickets

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Buy a few provisions on the road on your way up if you feel like a bottle of wine or something to eat without going straight out to the taverna, the village shop closes early

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I suppose we were still an extra car driving around in the mountains. We did eat and drink in the local bars, kafeneia and tavernas.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Lovely. Exactly what I needed

review 24 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The peace and quiet in the evening sitting on our balcony looking across the rooftops of the village

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is a small village with limited shop and other facilities. Make sure you bring necessary supplies of food and drink for your first night, particularly if not arriving until evening

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We purchased items in the local shop and dined in the village Taverna (the meze was excellent).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A lovely stay. We hope to go back soon.

review 9 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Waking-up in the sunshine and heat, then sharing breakfast with the family on our first morning. It was a fabulous day. We went down to Kourion afterwards, which was a fascinating site, then on to the beach for a warm and refreshing sunset swim.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I have a dairy intolerance so was thrilled to find most supermarkets (even local ones) had rice milk and soya milk. The fruit from up in the mountains was DIVINE.... the fruit from the supermarkets not nearly as good. Driving in Lemesos is not for the feint-hearted! Don't book your car with EuropeCar. I realise it's not too relevant, but after getting-up at 4am, waiting at the airport for 2hours, then a 4-hour flight, we were so pleased to be on the ground in Cyprus. Alas, we were confronted by a 2 hour queue to collect the car! There are other car hire companies at the airport, none of which had a queue. It was a horrendous start to the holiday. The mountains are an absolute must. Also, try Avdimou beach and Melanda beach.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

A little, at least a lot more than if we had of stayed in an enclave/hotel somewhere. We only had one meal in the village as they were not open when we were hungry and the mini market in the village was not open when we were there...

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very highly, it was our honeymoon and very romantic it was to!

review 7 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The main purpose of our holiday was to visit the grave of my father who was buried in the Nicosia War Cemetery in 1944. We had never been to Cyprus before, so my wife and I decided to turn the trip into a holiday ~ the visit to Nicosia was wonderful, but Vouni was also a perfect base from which to explore this part of the Island. The Kalidonian Falls, Kourion, the surrounding villages and walking through snow on a hot day at Mount Olympus were all really good!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try to do as much research as you can to decide where you would like to go and what you would like to see, as you certainly canít do it all in a week! Be sure to bring proper shoes, as there are excellent walks. There were 2 tavernas open during our stay ~ Takis was good, but we particularly enjoyed Alexandra`s. The best Greek Coffee we had on the Island came from the Wi-fi Kafetaria at the Old School! The Lodge is lovely, so sometimes cook, eat in and enjoy being there. The mini-market at Kivvides (opposite side of the road from the garage) had all we needed, and the fruit and veg were brilliant. The Erimoudes winery about 4 or 5 Km up the road on the way to Pera-Pedi produces high quality wine at a reasonable price ~ may need to phone for an appointment, and we left cards in "Helena".

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did our best to benefit local people by buying food and drink locally and eating in tavernas in Vouni and surrounding villages, and thoroughly enjoying it. Iím never sure what constitutes reducing environmental impact, but we certainly supported conservation by staying at Vouni Lodge which is itself a "rescued" and really well-restored property.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was everything we had hoped for ~ and then some! We felt really at home and have no hesitation in recommending it, assuming of course that youíre not looking for a bright-lights holiday. Helen and Tony have done a first class job here, and were really helpful ~ we wish them every success.

review 23 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Driving up to Troodos, the cooler air was a rest from the heat.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Plan ahead, research where you would like to go. Take some food for cooking just in case you donít fancy eating out or donít fancy travelling. Visit Omodos and have a drink in the square. Visit Troodos Mountain.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We ate in the village at Takas Tavern, a great traditional tavern. No menu offered, however, a Meze was served and the food just kept on coming. A must for those who have never eaten a Meze.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A very nice trip, everyone in the village were friendly and Helen from the Lodge was extremely helpful.

review 26 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sitting on the veranda overlooking the Troodos Mountains.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just do it. Vouni is a lovely little village with only 100 people that still live there. They are only too pleased to help you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes and no. We went to the local tavernas (there were 2) and the local coffee shop (also there were 2). Very enjoyable. If you wanted a different meal each night it was only about 15mins drive to another little village. I do think it does have an impact on the environment if you use what facilities they have, and yes, it did benefit the locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 out of 10. We had such a lovely time, the locals were brilliant with us, lots of hand and eye "talking". As we cannot speak Cypriot or Greek, and they cannot speak English, so it just means you have to communicate other ways. Some men within the village do have a good vocabulary of English though, if you are in the local tavern at the same time. I know I will definitely be coming back to this site as it has been one of the relaxing holidays we have both been on for a long time.

review 5 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There was a massive fire near to the village in the night!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The downstairs apartment is lovely and cool at night.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We used the local taverna but driving up and down the mountain was not good for the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. We were very sad to leave.

review 25 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful scenery in the mountains and along the coast, swimming in the sea, the view from the balcony at the accommodation, eating fresh fish and halloumi, visiting the archaeological site at Kourion - we went at sunset when it was nearly empty and the views were stunning.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The shops in Kivides, a few minutes down the mountain, were good for fresh fruit and veg, freshly baked bread and other provisions. You will need a car for this holiday. It is very hot in summer so drink plenty of water, and take some time to adjust to the heat if coming from the UK! We travelled with a 10-month-old baby - if I went again with a young child, I would go at a cooler time of year.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. We used local shops for food and visited the local taverna.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful, a great first trip for our daughter. The area is rich in history and nature, and there is lots to do and see. The accommodation at the lodge is beautiful and comfortable, and our hosts Helen and Tony were really helpful and friendly.

review 3 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The peace and quiet and the beautiful scenery. Watching the birds which will shortly be arriving in the UK.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To shop in a major centre before getting to the accommodation as local shopping is very restricted. Beware the meze at Takis Tavern unless you have an enormous appetite!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The village needs as many tourists as possible to help it recover from migration to the cities. Such Agrotourism developments are very valuable in that respect. And a visit to the Donkey Sanctuary is well worthwhile too!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Super relaxing time.

review 3 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kalidonian Falls Walk near Platres with our two young children (2&4).

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Excellent and reasonably priced food at Takis Taverna, only 50m from the accommodation.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A nice change.

review 22 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Arriving to find a lovely old village, good accommodation and, above all, a very warm welcome from our hosts.... terrific

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Can't get here without a car... if you do hire one be aware roads pitch black at night... Make full use of the local tavernas... people very laid back and accommodating... Don't forget to visit the donkey sanctuary... very well run

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Not many ex-pats in the village, thank goodness... good that some of our money has been spent in Vouni... a stark contrast to Paphos where the only accents are British ones....Irish bars and cowboy hats not for me!... I feel that that part of Cyprus has been ruined unfortunately. I enjoyed the accommodation and the mountains...meeting the locals and doing my best to speak Greek.. spending one or two lazy days/evenings wandering around and chatting over a slow glass of Ouzo... lovely

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere.... would definitely consider returning at some point in the future... I would probably combine a visit with other mountain accommodation staying well away from the coast....

review 6 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hard to choose between having no hot water and my husband being bitten by a dog belonging to the other guests.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of warm clothes as the central heating only comes on for 1 hour. Beware of pets belonging to other guests.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Little impact on the environment as electricity not used for the comfort of guests.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Extremely disappointing. I would not recommend the lodge.

Read the operator's response here:

Firstly I am very sorry that your stay with us was not enjoyable, being a small establishment we want you to know that we always do our best to please our guests. With regards to the hot water, we keep the immersion on at all times, however on this occasion the lodge was full and it seems that the water was used prior to your arrival. It is very rare that all apartments at the lodge are occupied all at one time, and as you rightly point out we cannot be responsible for other guestsí behaviours. As we are a pet friendly establishment which I am sure you must have been aware at the time of booking with us we can not decline guests with pets.

review 1 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Very clean traditional cypriot house in a lovely village in beautiful surroundings.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Eat in Taverns in the village and travel up Troodos and around the surrounding area, Car is vital if you wish to go sightseeing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes as we do live in Cyprus.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very pleased indeed with the very traditional cypriot accommodation and would definitely go again.

review 17 Apr 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We spent a week in Cyprus, booked accommodation through responsible travel. exploring all the little villages and churches on the Troodos mountains was wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Spend some time on the coast and some time on the mountain. We had 3 days at each area, and this was great

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We ate at the local tavern for breakfast and dinner, otherwise they would have been shut during the week. We drank local wine and ate locally produced food.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We all loved the holiday. the lodge was fantastic, easy directions to find it, very comfortable and cosy. The children really enjoyed being in the little village, able to wonder about and explore

review 19 Feb 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Exploring the island, discovering beautiful mountain views and villages, having coffee in the village with Tony's dad and friends!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Rent a car is an essential. Don't be afraid to go off the beaten track even if it does end up being a mountain track rather than paved road! Spend some time in the village - we wish we had done more so and whilst there buy a big tub of local halloumi - delicious! Also, make sure you get some local oranges! Visit the donkey sanctuary up the road, you can't help but fall in love with them! Visit the Kourion Roman site, it is fascinating with breathtaking views of the sea. Kolossi Castle is also worth a visit while you are in the area. If you like hiking then a trip over to the Akamas Peninsula is worth the drive, stopping off for lunch in Polis. Take the coast road instead of the motorway to Pathos and see Aphrodite's rock from the cliffs above - spectacular views.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes if you buy local food - from the village or nearby and visit the Donkey Sanctuary - a worthwhile local cause.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very relaxing, fun and interesting! Helen and Tony came to meet us and were very friendly and helpful. Tony's dad was also very welcoming. Lovely people :)

review 7 Jan 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Relaxing on the veranda under the shade of the ancient olive tree and enjoying the fruit and wine supplied by our hosts Helen and Tony. Watching the heavens for shooting stars while laid on the sun loungers, with only the sound of an owl to disturb our peace. Spending time exploring Troodos forest and mountains.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is rural Cyprus at its best and it is a totally different experience to the busy tourist areas of the coast. Take time to talk to the villagers of Vouni - they have a unique insight into the past glories of Vouni and the surrounding areas.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The holiday supported local shops and tavernas both in Vouni and the surrounding villages.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Thanks to Helen and Tony for a wonderful stay. Thanks also to John for his friendly help and advice.

review 7 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Friendly locals and the mountain views fantastic.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are truly self catering - make sure you take provisions there is one local shop that does not open all the time and does not sell fresh veg. If you are staying 7 days the lodge provides a welcome pack which was very nice.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We ate in all three tavernas so yes it benefited local people. Impact on the environment was kept to a minimum as no air con used, energy light bulbs used etc

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable, we took our little terrier dog. 2 out of 3 eating places welcomed him outside on the terrace where we ate. The private courtyard at the lodge was lovely unfortunately for us it was used by all 3 apartments and as one of the occupiers was frightened of dogs it limited our enjoyment of it.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies