12 independent reviews for Troodos Mountains holiday accommodation, Cyprus

Reviews for Troodos Mountains holiday accommodation, Cyprus

SHOW
1
8
3
0
0

review 29 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Been able to relax after a day of walking or seeing the sights. The views during the walk around mount Olympus were superb, not for the faint hearted but worth it.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Give yourself time to chill out every day

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in a traditional cottage that was kept very tasteful.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Walking is a must around Troodos. A very enjoyable holiday with superb hosts who were on the end of a phone if we needed them

review 20 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We most enjoyed getting out into the surrounding hills walking on the tracks which wind around them, and have left details of our walks with the owners.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Note that there is no electronic money in Vouni, so you need to bring plenty of cash (we were there two weeks!). The friendly local shop sells all the basics, but not everything is obvious, so ask! We mostly cooked for ourselves; but there is a couple of nice tavernas in the village too.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. This is a nicely restored traditional property, and the village of Vouni as a whole is a protected village, so that no inappropriate development is done. And you can get to Vouni by local service bus from Limassol (four times a day), so no need for a car.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This is ideal for getting some peace and tranquility; not much happens in Vouni!

review 29 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The location, the quaint village streets and the house with its wonderful ancient Olive tree out front. Easy accessibility to Troodos for hikes was really good.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you like hikes, give yourself at least 4 days to discover all the trails in Vouni and Platres and beyond. For experiencing village life, taverns, local arts and crafts the house is well situated with access to Limassol as well as Nicosia via Highways. Nearby villages offer ample opportunity for enjoying local culture. The donkey sanctuary has been moved to a nearby village 15 minutes away. You would need a car so make sure to hire one. Economy car rentals are very good and efficient and cost less than the big ones.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I believe our spending at local shops, taverns, markets ,etc supported the local businesses and artisans. By using electricity only when needed, conserving heating and separating our trash, we avoided adding any burden to local environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Relaxing. Interesting. Invigorating.

review 22 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The lodge is the most perfect place to stay when exploring the local area. It is clean and well equipped with lovely courtyard.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay longeer than originally planned; there is a lot to do and explore and the Lodge is such a beautiful place to return to.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We certainly used the local tavernas and purchased local wines. We also walked a lot so yes we hope we helped the local ecomony

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Just wonderful

review 27 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying in an authentic apartment in a beautiful village in Cyprus away from the tourist areas.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Car hire is essential to be able to visit other areas of interest. Learning a few basic words of Greek seemed to be much appreciated by the local people.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I bought food, drinks and gifts from local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - I had a thoroughly relaxing time, was able to do all the things I wanted to from my base in Vouni and was warmly welcomed by the local people. The beauty of the Troodos area was a real recharging of the batteries in itself. Helen and Tony (apartment owners) are lovely, warm and welcoming people and really enhanced my stay in Vouni.

review 13 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling in the Troudos mountains

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Apart from the air travel everything we paid for was local

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable

review 27 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Returning to the Lodge and meeting the owners again who were very helpful and kind. Spending time on the patio in the morning as the world slowly woke up and being able to catch up on emails and read on the internet. Revisiting Kouni and the ancient Greek and Roman ruins and the beach. Being able to wander across the countryside and breathe in the scent of the pines and flowers.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

In the mountains - out of season - it can get a little chilly - bring warm clothing as well. Walk around the village and explore the alleys - great photo opportunities.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefitted the local people of the village as businesses are able to survive on the tourists that are attracted to the village.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was relaxing and pleasant, and even though Cyprus has and is continuing to change and develop, you can still get away on side roads and tracks and be away from the hustle of the beach resorts.

review 23 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was lovely to be somewhere so peaceful after life in a city. I'll remember just sitting out in the courtyard under a full moon, drinking a glass of wine and listening to the sound of the crickets

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Buy a few provisions on the road on your way up if you feel like a bottle of wine or something to eat without going straight out to the taverna, the village shop closes early

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I suppose we were still an extra car driving around in the mountains. We did eat and drink in the local bars, kafeneia and tavernas.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Lovely. Exactly what I needed

review 24 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The peace and quiet in the evening sitting on our balcony looking across the rooftops of the village

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is a small village with limited shop and other facilities. Make sure you bring necessary supplies of food and drink for your first night, particularly if not arriving until evening

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We purchased items in the local shop and dined in the village Taverna (the meze was excellent).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A lovely stay. We hope to go back soon.

review 9 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Waking-up in the sunshine and heat, then sharing breakfast with the family on our first morning. It was a fabulous day. We went down to Kourion afterwards, which was a fascinating site, then on to the beach for a warm and refreshing sunset swim.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I have a dairy intolerance so was thrilled to find most supermarkets (even local ones) had rice milk and soya milk. The fruit from up in the mountains was DIVINE.... the fruit from the supermarkets not nearly as good. Driving in Lemesos is not for the feint-hearted! Don't book your car with EuropeCar. I realise it's not too relevant, but after getting-up at 4am, waiting at the airport for 2hours, then a 4-hour flight, we were so pleased to be on the ground in Cyprus. Alas, we were confronted by a 2 hour queue to collect the car! There are other car hire companies at the airport, none of which had a queue. It was a horrendous start to the holiday. The mountains are an absolute must. Also, try Avdimou beach and Melanda beach.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

A little, at least a lot more than if we had of stayed in an enclave/hotel somewhere. We only had one meal in the village as they were not open when we were hungry and the mini market in the village was not open when we were there...

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very highly, it was our honeymoon and very romantic it was to!

review 7 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The main purpose of our holiday was to visit the grave of my father who was buried in the Nicosia War Cemetery in 1944. We had never been to Cyprus before, so my wife and I decided to turn the trip into a holiday ~ the visit to Nicosia was wonderful, but Vouni was also a perfect base from which to explore this part of the Island. The Kalidonian Falls, Kourion, the surrounding villages and walking through snow on a hot day at Mount Olympus were all really good!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try to do as much research as you can to decide where you would like to go and what you would like to see, as you certainly canít do it all in a week! Be sure to bring proper shoes, as there are excellent walks. There were 2 tavernas open during our stay ~ Takis was good, but we particularly enjoyed Alexandra`s. The best Greek Coffee we had on the Island came from the Wi-fi Kafetaria at the Old School! The Lodge is lovely, so sometimes cook, eat in and enjoy being there. The mini-market at Kivvides (opposite side of the road from the garage) had all we needed, and the fruit and veg were brilliant. The Erimoudes winery about 4 or 5 Km up the road on the way to Pera-Pedi produces high quality wine at a reasonable price ~ may need to phone for an appointment, and we left cards in "Helena".

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did our best to benefit local people by buying food and drink locally and eating in tavernas in Vouni and surrounding villages, and thoroughly enjoying it. Iím never sure what constitutes reducing environmental impact, but we certainly supported conservation by staying at Vouni Lodge which is itself a "rescued" and really well-restored property.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was everything we had hoped for ~ and then some! We felt really at home and have no hesitation in recommending it, assuming of course that youíre not looking for a bright-lights holiday. Helen and Tony have done a first class job here, and were really helpful ~ we wish them every success.

review 23 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Driving up to Troodos, the cooler air was a rest from the heat.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Plan ahead, research where you would like to go. Take some food for cooking just in case you donít fancy eating out or donít fancy travelling. Visit Omodos and have a drink in the square. Visit Troodos Mountain.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We ate in the village at Takas Tavern, a great traditional tavern. No menu offered, however, a Meze was served and the food just kept on coming. A must for those who have never eaten a Meze.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A very nice trip, everyone in the village were friendly and Helen from the Lodge was extremely helpful.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies