8 independent reviews for Alicante self guided walking holiday

Reviews for Alicante self guided walking holiday

SHOW
0
8
0
0
0

review 19 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Dramatic scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We travelled in February. If you like having the mountains to yourselves, this is the trip for you - on average we met fewer than 2 other walkers per day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our trip benefited local people. 6 of our 7 nights' accommodation were in locally-owned guest houses etc, in small villages/towns. Our environmental impact would have been low, had we not flown to Alicante.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really excellent.

review 26 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking all day in fantastic and uncrowded scenery. Seeing wild boar, eagles and wild tulips. Staying in wonderful small casas/hotels run by lovely local people. Being fed delicious local food and wine by people who wanted to share their enthusiasm for their area. The satisfaction of walking a circular route over 6 days. Erik's local knowledge and enthusiasm for the area.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you want to go walking in this area then look no further. We have been on walks with bigger operators and this holiday was better organised, more enjoyable, more personal....and lower cost! Think about temperature you will be walking in when booking the holiday. The routes usually give options to shorten or lengthen to tailor it to your fitness level.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I felt that it definitely benefited local people/local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful experience - well organised and stress free!

review 23 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenic beauty of the landscape along the trails, the friendliness of our accommodations hosts.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I am not sure I have tips to offer. Since our trip was very well organised by Erik. He's knowledge of the area history, culture, landscape and his supporting materials such as maps and GPS tracks is all that was needed to enjoy our hikes. And the food and the accommodation provided by our hosts were all excellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, since some of our accommodation were located outside the main tourist areas providing some extra business for them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, regarding the quality of Erik service, the selection of the trails and of the accommodations.

review 7 Jan 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Walks everyday were so amazing and varied, it is hard to pick a favorite. Also the food was great, and there was lots of it. And the hosts were always welcoming and hospitable. I felt I had made a new friend every day.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book and go as soon as possible.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I felt that I was contributing to the hosts livelihood and that I didnít have any negative impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was well planned and thought through by Erik and I definitely will be going on another one of his walks.

review 16 Mar 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Difficult to choose. Probably the longest day over the "moorland " and then down into the valley where we were dwarfed seemingly on all side by the high mountainous walls surrounding it.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We enjoyed the Almond flowers throughout - it would be a different experience at different times of the year

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

8.5 out of 10.

review 28 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Fantastic scenery in the Sierra Altana - even though there was a fair bit of cloud and rain! The people we met and stayed with were, without exception wonderfully helpful and welcoming! Joaquime in Caossa was an absolute star!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Use the map as well and the guiding notes. A number of things have changed on the ground so there are places you need to keep your wits about you. There are places where little or no English is spoken so a few basic phrases in Spanish are very helpful.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

All services provided by locally based people in small out of the way villages. The food was very clearly part of the 'normal' diet of the people who lived in the area and was wonderful. Walking routes were all on (by UK standards) very quiet routes so minimal impact in terms of foot path erosion.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Despite the weather being somewhat less good than expected - (a lot of cloud, rain and even thunder!) it was a very relaxing week in an area of stunning scenery and lovely people. The walking was excellent, the wild flowers smashing and the bird life frustratingly difficult to see but I would certainly highly recommend it to others!

review 20 Sep 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying in lovely and different places every night, great hospitality. Walking fantastic with well organised routes.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go when the weather is not too hot.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - all accommodation in small places using local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic.

review 23 May 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery with great views, friendly locals, few tourists, excellent local food, wonderful wild flowers.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Brush up your Spanish to get the most from the holiday altho' some English is spoken by many people. Take a jumper even in May as can be cold at night up in the mountains. Worth spending an extra day/night in Alicante or Valencia.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, provided them with business & income at a quiet time of year. All food was locally produced. We walked everywhere but of course our bags were transported so not totally green.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies