12 independent reviews for Water multi sport holiday in Croatia

Reviews for Water multi sport holiday in Croatia

SHOW
6
4
1
0
1

review 16 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The children's faces when we told them the lost of activities we were going to do.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Expect to be busy in a very fun way.....no time for I'm bored

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local guides were very passionate about the environment. We went to local mountain huts you wouldn't know existed with out the local guides.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The kids said .the best holiday we have ever had ! Great time had by all.

review 5 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was great from start to finish, but the living on the sailboat was the most memorable because it was something we have never done before. One of the things that made it so wonderful was the staff. Our tour guide Dino was excellent and took amazing care of our family, he saw to our every need, he laughed and joked with us, and we felt like we were visiting family. He definitely made the trip extra special and I loved that someone else was taking care of all the arrangements.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring more money then you think for the meals, the food is so good that you will want to try everything and over order at every meal. Also, bring less clothes then you think, you don't need a lot.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I know we supported local people but I can't think of how we reduced environmental impact or supported conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The best ever

Read the operator's response here:

On this trip we do our utmost to reduce use of motor vehicles. We do not organize or resell activities such as quad driving, jet skiing, parasailing or similar all our activities are human powered: cycling, paddle boarding, sea kayaking or hiking. We also do our best to use wind power and sail rather than turn on engines and burn fuel.

review 23 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hiking up into the mountains probably the most memorable part. But did enjoy all the activities individually.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Shoes to go in the water with are essential! And fingerless gloves for paddling/rowing to save from blisters would also be very good!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely helped local employment at hotel and nearby shops and cafes. Environment helped by visiting by canoe and leaving nothing behind.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really excellent with great guides, lovely areas visited. Equipment top notch in great condition with attention to safety at all times. Challenging at times in the hot weather but overall thoroughly enjoyable!

review 4 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 1 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Personally my favourite day was the sea kayaking, but I loved almost all of it!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go ahead and book! You won't need much spending money, as everything is pretty cheap. Bring plenty of clothes suitable for activity- my boyfriend packed cycling shorts & gloves, which made the cycling day more comfortable for him.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It is definitely run by locals and you have the opportunity to buy two local lunches. The only negative impact on the environment is the van journeys, but that is needed to get to the activity locations.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was fantastic- I would really recommend it!

review 29 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all exciting and memorable. We opted to do canyoning as our extra activity which the younger members of the family loved and which stretched us older ones to the limit - but we were very pleased that we did it. The scenery was fabulous and the tours were all very well organised. Some of the activities were possibly a bit tame for our young adults mainly because water levels were low but they still enjoyed them all. The guides were highly professional, safety conscious and competent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The accommodation was a bit basic for our tastes but then to be fair that was reflected in the price. We would have happily paid more for something better. We also gave up eating in the hotel after a couple of days because the food was rather unexciting and we did not like having to make a choice, first thing in the morning, from a limited menu, and say what time we wanted to eat. Skradin had lots of lovely eating places which we prefered to eat in even though we had already paid for the meals which were included.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our guides were all local people and the accommodation employed locals. We asked to be taken to interesting places to eat rather than the touristy places which was great fun and delicious.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We were a group of 2 parents and a 26 year old and 17 year old boys. The activities catered for everyone very successfully. However, you needed to be reasonably fit and flexible to manage everything. Skradin was quite a small, sleepy place with no night life though our boys were too tired after the days' activities to do much but others may have wanted more.

review 8 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking on the sea and visiting the fortress. Absolutely fantastic day, brilliant way to kick off the trip and get to know some people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure that you take a day or two off to recover afterwards! The holiday is fantastic mix of activities followed by fun in the evening though it may require a bit of R&R afterwards.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Outstanding - I have actively recommended the tour and your agency to friends who have inquired about my trip

review 8 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Getting to know wonderful people and our fantastic guides. It is really hard to pick the best part because it was all so incredibly amazing!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it! One of the best trips I have ever been on. Really covers all the key points of falling in love with Croatia

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Perfect! We already miss our guides and new friends :)

review 26 May 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling & walking through the forests

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be aware that meals are all expensive - you will need about EU 35 / $ 40 for a standard 2 course dinner with a drink (no starter!). You will need to take Croatian Kunas in cash.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely benefited the island restaurant owners.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very nice holiday, but I was surprised at the total cost because Italy, Spain, Portugal, Greece (and Turkey) are much cheaper.

review 11 Jul 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The river kayaking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take water shoes and plenty of sun cream. But also be prepared for some hard work as the kayaking can be very tiring.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Not really.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was OK but it would have been a lot better if the group had been made up of at least one or two children of similar age to ours and the guides had a better command of English and a bit more personality. They made no attempt to learn our names or to build any team spirit, to break the ice or to bring the group together in any meaningful way. By comparison, the holiday we booked with you a few years ago in Slovenia was much better mainly because of the guides and the other children.

Read the operator's response here:

We are a Croatian company with mostly local staff. Comments about the guides are welcome and well try to improve it immediately. We cant guarantee how many other teenagers will be on the same trip, as we stated to Mrs. Sweeney before she came to Croatia. Most of our activities are done with kayaks or rafts which have minimum or no impact on environment. Usage of boats with diesel engines in NP Krka is out of our influence, unfortunately. The group was based in a small hotel in Skradin which is owned by local Croatian family with all employees from the area. During the war in 90s Skradin was on the front line and partly destroyed. Tourism is a significant part of economical and social recovery of the area we have two out of 5 trips there. Also, the most memorable part of the holiday from Mrs. Sweeney was river kayaking which goes one in one of the poorest parts of Croatia that was mostly abandoned after the recent war. River guides, equipment storage, local transfers etc are all done by people from the villages around the river which are our employees. Only other source of income for them is sheep herding or migration to bigger towns on the coast. Sea kayaking is done on the Island Vrgada which has around 200 inhabitants, most of them older generation. Tourism is the only extra income they have during the year tourists buy things in the only shop on the Island, eat in few restaurants and use boat transfer to and from the Island which is owned by local fishing community.

review 30 Sep 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Canoe safari down the zmyrna river, also free paddling at sea. Swimming at a "secret spot" in the Paklenica park was also magical...there was a moment every day actually. Our guide was great too.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for action...we went to bed happy and tired every night. We also took an apartment for a week after the holiday to chill out mmmmmmmmmm

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We shopped and self catered totally in the village, home produced fruit and veg, and locally caught fish. Hoteliers and guides and company all Croatian natives. We were all driven together so minimal vehicle use

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Highly recommended, felt like we saw places we would not have found for ourselves without a lot of trial and error.

review 30 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sea kayaking around a small island off the coast of Croatia. It was beautiful and the sea was quite calm, although navigating the harbour 'shipping lane' with speed boats & yachts & a ferry continuously crossing our path added to the thrill for a nervous water-person like me. Zipping down the rapids on a river was fab too and my son loved going headfirst over a 10m waterfall! Paddling peacefully up rivers and swimming in their cool, clear depths was great too.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it! The accommodation and location in Novigrad was fabulous, our leader was calm & knowledgeable, the trips had variety. All round good value. The only small point, we were a small family of 2 and I felt the leader tended to discuss options with the other larger family of 5 and give us the decisions later as a fait a compli, rather than consult both families together. Don't go to Biograd na moru after the trip, you will be sadly disappointed after the peace & beauty of Novigrad!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The leader was Croatian, the accommodation was Croatian and we enjoyed buying food from local traders, so yes I guess so. Not sure about minimised impacts... 2 of the excursions started from the hotel, but there was a minibus journey 4 out of 5 days of approx 1hr.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent and good value.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies