16 independent reviews for Sea kayaking holiday in Wales

Reviews for Sea kayaking holiday in Wales

SHOW
3
11
1
1
0

review 20 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the seals with their pups

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ensure you have several changes of warm clothes. There is no mobile phone signal at the venue but there is a good free wifi connection so be prepared to contact family/friends via Viber or Whatsapp.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the staff and instructors were local. The venue made an effort to be environmentally sound.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing. The accommodation was warm, clean and comfortable. The showers were hot! The food was excellent and plentiful. The bar prices were very reasonable. The outdoor equipment was sound and well maintained. The instructors were patient, friendly and informative. They did their best to ensure that everyone in the group was happy. They were particularly reassuring for those beginners in the group.

review 17 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking through places we would not have the confidence to do on our own because we had exceptional guides.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Couples single travellers young and old can all enjoy this outstanding holiday. Have a go at everything on offer with the confidence that you will be really looked after.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Unbelievably good. Exciting and fun. Scenery fantastic. Staff amazing. Thank you so much for a holiday we will remember and talk about until we return next year.

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review : ) We love having the opportunity to share this magical part of the world with our guests and it is a great opportunity to explore places that you wouldn't normally see. So great to hear you enjoyed your adventures and stay at our eco lodge - we would love to see you here again. Best wishes, Sammy and the team

review 25 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being in the Welsh countryside and kayaking along the coast.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for lumpy mattresses, but otherwise decent accommodations. Not 5 star, but certainly comfortable. Group sizes for the activities can be a bit large (12 people is too many for kayaking when you have many different levels)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all three.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great time and a great way to spend the bank holiday weekend.

Read the operator's response here:

'Thank you for taking the time to review us Lara. We are very happy to hear you had a great bank holiday weekend with us. Regarding some of the mattresses in the ecolodge, we’ve taken your feedback on board and have already invested in some new comfy mattresses – as we know how essential a relaxing sleep is after a day out on the water. Thank you for your comments and we will also look into the other issues that you have raised.

review 22 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was great seeing all the parts of the coast that you can only see by being on the water. Most 'exciting' but scary was kayaking through some pretty big waves!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared, it is hard work but great fun!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely, with it being in an eco lodge there were lots of things in place so that it was helping the local environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall a great holiday. The instructors were great, very reassuring. They were good at adapting what we doing to suit everyone. The food and accommodation were great.

review 23 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Family holiday so there's a bit of disagreement here. It could be the sea kayaking or it could be the coasteering. Difficult choice...

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

take a waterproof camera

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It obviously provides employment in a rural area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. We WILL be back!

review 22 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The coastline and nature up close in a kayak Going in and out of caves and small channels

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don’t expect luxury accommodation and be prepared for other group’s noise! But the food was good and the staff were exceptionally helpful, friendly and relaxed

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - we would definitely go again

review 5 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Canoeing with seals in the sunshine on the beautiful Pembroke coast.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy yourself

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

very good well organise energetic weekend

review 20 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Learning a new skill and using it to fully experience some thrilling kayaking amongst the rocky channels off the Pembrokeshire coast.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack a variety of clothing as the weather is very unpredictable.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think local people would benefit and the lodge definitely supported conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good - will be doing it again!

review 9 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sea kayaking in force 6 wind.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of warm thermal tops - the drying room is not that efficient and your things may not dry overnight.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - the lodge is an eco-lodge with minimal environmental impact. Local people work there, all instructors were keen not to disturb wildlife - seals, birds unnecessarily.

review 13 Sep 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All the sea kayaking around the stunning coast and getting close up to seals and sea birds which was only possible from being in kayaks and having top coaching from our guide who made us feel at ease in all conditions.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant.

review 13 Jul 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Pembrokeshire coast is awesome and there can't be a better way of exploring it than in a kayak with a small like minded group. Highlights were scooting through natural arches, exploring caves, racing through small channels between rocks, sailing rafted up, lunching on secluded beaches, spotting a seal swimming around us and catching some surf on the way into shore.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This trip works whether you go with a group of mates or on your own. I went alone, but within 5 minutes of arriving I met up with our group for the weekend, most of whom came alone, we got chatting and ended the weekend like old friends. As a complete beginner it was great to have a professional instructor that kept you safe but at the same time encouraged everyone to have a go at increasingly challenging stuff throughout the weekend. No one felt pressured and we were all amazed to find ourselves taking on waves through rocky channels. Stuff to take: swimming costume and lots of thin quick dry layers to wear when kayaking cos you do get wet or at least I did and its good to be toasty cos the weather can be changeable! (I took a long sleeve thermal and a quick dry long sleeve top and found them good to wear over the longjohn wetsuit and under the cag they give you. Best to have a fresh set for both days in case the drying room gets full and your stuff doesn't dry out. Teva sandals or similar are handy to wear in the kayak cos you can get in and out of the water and walk across rocks etc in them. Take some easy to pull on dry stuff to chuck on when you get out of the water, E.g. couple of pairs of long shorts or for girls a wrap around skirt and a couple of fleecy type tops.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

As with all responsible travel holidays I have booked I was pleased to see the operator made every effort to reduce impact on the environment and inform and encourage us all to do likewise.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

All good - the friendly vibe, great food, the beautiful coastline, the exhilarating kayaking, the excellent instruction, the fun company and ...the friendly vibe... I arrived Friday frazzled from work and left Sunday happily refreshed and energetic, wishing I could go back to Friday and do it all over again. A great escape from London.

review 2 Oct 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being at Sea with the Seals was a tremendous experience. Fortuitously the weather was quite wonderful, the sea flat and the Seals whilst shy were still around for us to see. The operator staff were encouraging but coached the whole group to respect the distance we kept from the these shy and wonderfully attractive animals.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do it. What a wonderful way to see Pembrokeshire, bobbing around on the Sea looking up at the magnitude of this craggy coastal scene.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The impact on the local environment seemed so very small, we supported a local business by using this operator and shopped locally for our purchases of goodies to take home. I really appreciated taking a brief break from kayaking in ocean to enjoy some local hospitality with a great meal at St David's the smallest city in the UK.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a fantastic break. I have already recommended to my friends and we are planning to come back soon. Thank you Responsible travel for leading me towards this great weekend venture.

review 21 Sep 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The stunning scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try to leave some time at the end to explore the local area.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really good.

review 1 Nov 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking along the coast path enjoying the beautiful views.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take spare towels, swim stuff as ours didn't dry overnight and its horrid getting into cold wet swim stuff!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Minimized impacts, but coaches weren’t local and cook was Canadian!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was good, especially for people who hadn't been coasteering, kayaking and surfing before. The coaching for Surfing that we have experienced in Wales and Croyd previously was far superior. We were disappointed by the food and bar closing at 9pm!

Read the operator's response here:

We’d like to thank Vikki for her feedback, we really appreciate the chance to find out what we do well, and what we can do better. We’re really sorry that some aspects of her experience didn’t meet expectations, our staff always aim to be personable and friendly and would have jumped at the chance to do their utmost to rectify any disappointing aspects of the trip, had they been made aware of the shortcomings at the time. Thanks again.

review 29 Sep 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole weekend was fantastic, the setting was breathtaking and the facilities whilst simple were well presented and the food wholesome.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just book it, the facilities and staff were great

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I believe that the enviromental impact was well considered but other than the staff, we had no real integration with the local community

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

First class

review 16 Sep 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Actually saw some seals which can’t be guaranteed. The sea kayaking was excellent, a bit rough at times but that just added to it, especially the big surf getting on and off the beaches. Also the instructor’s knowledge of the local wild life was excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just go with an open mind and just go with the flow.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I do feel that it benefitted the local people with minimal impact on the environment. You’re not burning fuel in a kayak.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent value for money and a real adventure.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies