12 independent reviews for Family adventure holiday in Wales

Reviews for Family adventure holiday in Wales

SHOW
8
4
0
0
0

review 19 Aug 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our holiday was so brilliant, it's hard to pick the most memorable part but maybe it would be coasteering. We all had so much fun with the instructors who made the whole experience exciting and exhilarating!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to step out of your comfort zone and take old shoes!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The centre staff (instructors, chefs, etc...) all appeared to be from the local area. The bar highlighted local beers and ciders and supported local, independent micro breweries. There was a good recycling system in place. There was a free shuttle service to pick you up from the train station, to encourage the use of public transport.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Seriously, couldn't fault it! 10 out of 10. Absolutely brilliant holiday!

review 14 Aug 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many elements. The activities were fantastic, coasteering and surfing were seriously fun and addictive. My 10-year old son loved them too, and also the boat trip round Ramsey Island on a RIB where we saw seals. Other highlights included seeing him make friends quickly with the other kids and watching them play in the grounds, and socialising over meals with other families. A really great holiday, always active but very relaxing too. If you are an active family and your kids like to do daring stuff then you will love this place.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring a few old newspapers to stuff inside trainers after coasteering to help dry them out - there is a dry room but it won't always do the job overnight. Kids that are picky with food will suddenly develop huge appetites whatever is on the menu. You can get there by train but realistically driving is probably the best option for most. WiFi only available in bar / lounge. The most important advice I would give is that it pays to be well-organised in the mornings. It takes a while to sort out all the kit and get ready for each activity: for coasteering you need helmets, wetsuits, protective shorts (for the rocks), buoyancy aids, waterproof socks - all provided but needs to be correct size and then put on properly. So it can take 30-45 minutes easily. The more organised you are the more time you'll have in the water.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes in several cases. The boat trip / horse riding supports local businesses, and the bar stocks a wide range of (excellent) Welsh beers. The Ramsey Island boat trip did cover a few conservation issues, and during the coasteering the guides would occasionally throw in a bit of education about different types of seaweed, samphire, barnacles etc. The centre itself is pretty environmentally friendly, using solar power, harvesting rainwater which is then used to wash down the kit.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

5 stars. It was exactly what I expected, and I would be very happy to go again perhaps with my son, or with friends. It would be nice to see a few Welsh dishes on the menu, maybe a rarebit, and highlighting where any particular ingredients came from the local area. But otherwise zero complaints, one of the best holidays I've had.

review 8 Aug 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Really enjoyable, well organised activities

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Prepare yourself for an all action holiday. You will be tired!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

excellent thank you!

review 6 Aug 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Great fun activities with brilliant leaders and the kids absolutely loved playing with all the other kids there.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 30 Jul 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The outstanding guides and the other lovely families made this trip our best ever holiday. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and the whole team were friendly and helpful. The freshly prepared food was delicious. Portion sizes were generous and the team catered for my son's allergies.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is a great holiday for families. Having organised activities meant that I, as a parent, could totally relax and enjoy the holiday and the children had other children of smiliar ages to play with.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All aspects of the holiday from the accommodation, the local food and the activities benefited the local people and economy and, at the same time, had, in my view negative environmental impact. The team were very sensitive to the natural surroundings and ensured all guests respected the land and sea.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Outstanding! The whole team at are responsive and encourage feedback to ensure that they are always trying to improve. Our guide, Ollie, was amazing. He was knowledgeable, great with the kids and inspired the utmost confidence in all of us to be able to do things (safely) that we never knew we could.

review 15 Aug 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Coasteering sessions were brilliant.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack plenty of changes of clothes.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, low impact on the environment

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 11 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The first day of coasteering: blazing blue skies, cobalt seas and stunning cliff faces. What more could you want?!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring trainers with good grips and stock up on food in between activities - you’ll burn the calories!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, there was no damage to the environment. I often went out for walks on my own by the coastline early in the morning and chatted to many locals walking their dogs and they appreciated the eco-tourism and the money it brought in to the area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very highly. My teenage kids enjoyed it and I enjoyed the activities and chatting to staff and other couples my own age.

review 11 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our week here was brilliant, we all loved the activities, coasteering, kayaking and surfing, and the instructors were great with both the adults and the children, we even all stood up while surfing! I particularly enjoyed not having to think about food for the family too...we were very well fed at every meal..the garden is also fab with lots of room for football, forty forty and also a good fire pit for roasting marshmallows.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it and enjoy!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The guides were very aware of the local environment and could also tell us lots of facts about the the animals and sea life around. They were passionate about their surroundings

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A brilliant active family holiday...

Read the operator's response here:

Hello Anna, thanks ever so much for taking the time to review your Family Adventure Week! It's wonderful to hear that you and your family enjoyed yourselves here on the Pembrokeshire coast and we'd be thrilled to have you to stay with us again for some more adventures!"

review 30 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My 14 year old son and I went coasteering, surfing, sea kayaking and horse riding. Because these events were supervised by qualified and friendly staff I was able to relax and enjoy taking part without worrying about my son.There were other kids around the same age and it was great to see them playing games together rather than watching TV and playing on computers.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't underestimate how much energy you will expend doing two sessions of activity each day. Especially if you are not used to it. Although it can be tiring it is great fun and the food is excellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday provider is eco friendly, guests are given information on how to reduce water usage and recycle food waste etc. There is also advice on reducing energy usage. Some of the activities on offer are delivered by others in the local community such as horse riding and I believe that the meals provided each day use local produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a wonderful experience, all of the staff have an excellent approach to customer service. They are extremely competent in their chosen areas of expertise, they encourage you to do your best and never push you to go too far. The group activities are skilfully tailored to meet the skills and abilities of the individuals taking part.

review 24 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Coasteering on the north coast of Wales on a sunny day. The group was really laid back, but we covered a lot of ground (water?) and saw lots of the coast.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get used to a wetsuit! You will learn to like being in the sea - and even on miserable days, the weather is not really a problem once you are in the water.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The staff and guides were all friendly helpful locals, the accommodation and facilities were all very 'green', and there was very little waste - especially the food, seconds were encouraged :)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - the staff could not do enough to help, and as a beginner on most activities, there was enough to do. The activities were also suitable for a range of ages and abilities. A nice common room meant that there was lots of socialising in the evenings.

review 12 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All the activites we did. Coasteering, kayaking, surfing and Horseriding. Staff very friendly and helpful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Consider your fitness levels when signing up to multiple activities. We managed everything. Needless to say kids had no problem. Parents had few stiff muscles!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our guides were very aware and informative of local environment and passed on knowledge. Also keeping employment in the area is important.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very, very good. We had a great time as a family and met another lovely family with children of similar ages also some lovely people there for kayaking. Very sociable. Family friendly atmosphere. Fabulous staff.

review 12 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The activities were fantastic! The guides made it so enjoyable even when you were a little bit achey from the day before!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Back hiking books and take plenty of dry clothes!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Yes and Yes!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic! The whole family enjoyed it. Great people, great activities, great food - overall a great adventure!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy