9 independent reviews for Slovenia activity holiday for families with teenagers

Reviews for Slovenia activity holiday for families with teenagers

SHOW
0
7
1
1
0

review 14 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were many, but the canyoning day was so different that it takes 1st place.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are not quite sure about doing the activities, don't worry just go for it as the guides will ensure that you stay safe.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes! The adventure company and the hotel employed local people and we responsible tourists in the Soca Valley area can help boost the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Although we had poor weather for the first two days the guides rearranged our activities to ensure that we were still able to complete the planned itinerary, so you always felt that your holiday mattered to them. It was a great experience in a safe, organised environment...top class!

review 1 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Facing my fear of being submerged in the kayak training! Only achieved because of my faith and trust in our guide Peter. I then did not capsize on any of the rapids but enjoyed the thrill of the challenge.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of swimwear! The weather was not particularly good and there wasn't anywhere to dry the wet swimsuits.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The guides were clear about the importance of the environment and how they were careful to take care of the river stocks and state of the river. We too respected the surroundings. We ate in the hotel for most lunches as well and spent freely on extra drinks so hopefully adding to their income.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Our holiday had a good mix of action and relaxation. We were very impressed by the many kindnesses, thoughtfulness and fun offered by the Maya team and the hotel staff. Slovenia is very beautiful and the guides gave us insights into the history and culture of their country.

review 30 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Canyoning - descent on ropes down a 27m waterfall!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book enough activities into your free afternoons - we weren't quite prepared for the amount of free time we had.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, definitely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant, but would have loved a more mixed group (as a couple we were with 4 single men) - but that's always the problem with booking onto a group holiday!

review 27 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The enthusiasm with which the staff of the hotel Lucija and tour company looked after us.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for weather which can be very hot or very wet.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, everybody who looked after us was Slovenian, most from the Tolmin area. Other than the inevitable motorised transport, none of the activities seemed to have significant environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 13 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

On our last evening, we sat with our veryí filled digital cameras and talked through the whole experience. The opinions were quite varied and surprising. Somebody commented on the food being their highlight! Whilst I agree, the food in the hotel was exceptionally good, I would have to say the outdoor activities spring to my mind first ha ha. Possibly the best of the best was kayaking!?! A close second would be the mini rafts and 3rd would be the canyoning splash and slide experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ask lots of questions before you book! Make sure this holiday is suitable for you. Thereís nothing worse than moaning guests. Luckily, I found only pleasant people on this trip but Iíve havenít been so lucky on other tours. Read the itinerary, understand your requirements, ask ask and ask again.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I donít think mini buses are particularly environmentally friendly, but compared to self drive holidays, you are reducing the number of cars on the road. Tolmin as a town seemed very clean and quiet, so the incoming tourism is certainly not wrecking the locals way of life. The local staff were a happy bunch, so I can only presume they are happy and benefit from our bookings.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Just the ticket. A short flight from England is a good start for me (Iím not a keen flier) and the tour was run exactly how advertised by the company I booked with. The only surprises were positive oneís and I extend my hand in thanks to all that made it possible.

review 25 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Itís fair to say, the whole holiday was memorable. Of course there we some choice moments throughout the week. Although not in the itinerary, on the first evening our guides took us all to the nearby playing fields, where we enjoyed games. A cracking ice breaker, helping all the guests to get to know each other. A lot of laughter was shared and straight away I knew this had been the right decision. On the adventure side of things, the biking was very enjoyable. We jumped and played in the river to cool off along the way and saw a few smaller villages and stopped off at the Tolminka caves. Not a lot of people know about the Julian Alps, but they are stunning. We all enjoyed the canoe rafts, learning to tackle the white waters and the guides made time for games. We really appreciated this. There didnít seem an urgency with the guides, they obviously enjoyed the client interaction.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

There are opportunities to book other activities in advance, I wish I had done this, as availability was booked when there. I guess a reason to come back.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Well our guide was from Tolmin, so its certainly helping him. I canít see how the activities have a negative impact on the environment, as groups are controlled and well organized

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Just being close to the Soca river is a spiritual awakening. Tolmin is laid back and relaxed and extremely picturesque. My overall experience was very positive. Everything was centred around guests relaxing and having fun. This to me stands out in my memory and I would like to thank them for that. The staff worked very hard and I very nice people. And very happy. Itís a positive place to have a holiday, and most of all, a lot of fun!

review 1 Jul 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved the white water rafting, the views are craggy and hilly with the amazing opaque turquoise Soca river. Our guide was full of local history, we felt in safe hands and he helped to pull the group together. Summer is a good time to go to Tolmin for all day entertainment as there are music festivals a walk from the hotel. We wont forget the knees up we had at the local festival to the marvellous Slovenian Brass band, there was lots of dancing fuelled by very reasonably priced Pivo's.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you're also going on the walk/trek up Mount Krn it is steep and you will need proper walking boots and poles. You can buy these things there but Tolmin is a small place so if you've got them take them. Unfortunately my body fell apart on the trek, if yours also decides to betray you in front of your new friends then ask the office to book a massage at Modrina in Kobarid. It's only one man but he was the local football team's physiotherapist. It costs approx 40 Euros for a cab there and back, which the operator can also arrange and 40 Euros for a one hour massage. One more tip, buy the coffee from the bar in Hotel Krn at Breakfast because the stuff they serve for breakfast tastes like a coffee/bovril hybrid. Yuck.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We ate in local restaurants and bars and the tour company is local, our guide was mindful to remind us not to leave anything behind and I have to say that you really see it, I didnít see any rubbish at all in the mountains, which was amazing! There are no MacDonalds in Tolmin but there is illy coffee!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

If you are anything like me then you may return from your holiday with about 400 pictures, within which you feature in 3 of them (If you're no peach then that's not a bad thing, but if like me you're foxy peach then what a shame). ...so it was great that we could buy a CD at the end of al the activities containing a good wealth of good snaps of us doing our activities and mucking about... and judging by those we had a very good time indeed.

review 1 Jul 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking day was brilliant, great fun, excitement and good company.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Some of the activities may require more fitness than is stated, also, need more kit than is stated. Suggest you may want to try to use self catering accommodation as the hotel is really noisy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

All of the people employed were local. Some transport used but was necessary. Not sure about the accommodationís environmental code but would doubt if it is top in their mind.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great activities, cool and fun people.

review 27 Oct 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cayoning.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are a single person like me check the rest of the group isn't all families.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, but the hotel needed to have more staff especially who could speak English.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Pretty region but could have included more nightlife and better food.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We welcome both active families and adventurous adults, to enjoy the many thrilling activities which Tolmin has to offer. Age mapping guests & groups together is something we are highly successful at achieving (and very conscious of). However, we regret during the time that you stayed as a ĎSolo-Travelerí looking to be paired with like minded adult groups, was not possible on your very specific departure dates. In light of this feedback, we have introduced in 2010 specific Ďsoloí departure dates for adults. This will & has already benefited active families and adults, to choose the best dates to join our amazing adventures.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies