9 independent reviews for Self drive holiday in Costa Rica

Reviews for Self drive holiday in Costa Rica

SHOW
2
6
1
0
0

review 15 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Drake bay is a beautiful spot with lots of nature around, nice excursions and beautiful beach at the door step

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You have to love the rainforest and its vegetation, animals and clima

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great family holiday

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Ana, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on the RT site. We're delighted you and your family had such a great time, and that we were able to tailor your trip to include Drake Bay. As you say, it's a very special and beautiful corner of Costa Rica. I hope we can help you out with another trip in Latin America soon. All the best, David

review 10 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the wildlife absolute everywhere. One of the best moments was watching monkeys from our room.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel in daylight. Give yourself time to travel as the roads are busy. Take bite spray. Insure the car and be savvy of your belongings when at the beach.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing. A learning experience that was exciting and fun every day.

review 4 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many memories, it's hard to choose one. Watching quetzals at 6.00am in San Gerardo de Dota, dolphins swimming next to our boat on trip back from Corcovado, scarlet macaws (4), flying overhead at Islita. Add in beautiful beaches, great surf, stunning scenery and the friendlest people I've ever met and this is a fabulous holiday destination.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it now!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Everyone we met was very interested in where we were from and what we thought of Costa Rica. The car hire manager pointed out that the natural beauty and wildlife is the island's greatest asset which everyone is committed to preserving. All the hotels we stayed in supported this concept.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous, we'd go back tomorrow.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Christine, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your holiday. We're delighted to hear you had such a good trip in beautiful Costa Rica. As you say, one of the most special things about travelling there is how much that beauty is valued by the Costa Ricans, they are rightly proud of it. I'm particularly pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the abundant wildlife in the less 'obvious' places you travelled to with us. I was recently out in San Gerardo myself, and the quetzals were indeed an absolute wonder! There's plenty more to see, so we look forward to helping you discover even more of this wonderful country. Thanks again for taking the time to write. All the best, David

review 4 Feb 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

As our trip was staying at various locations all over Costa Rica, each one has a story and we have so many from our total itinerary, then it has to be rafting in and out of Pacuare Lodge and trekking, swimming in the hot pools, zip lining and tubing at Rio Pedrido. Absolutely amazing locations. For a sense of freedom along your own expanse of beach, it has to be Ostional. Finally, trekking along the slopes of the Arenal volcano was incredible especially as when we started it was covered in cloud and whilst we sat on one of the old lava flows the cloud parted and we saw the whole conical shape of the volcano. Fantastic holiday and a slice of paradise!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Hire a 4x4 and travel throughout Costa Rica and get to understand the country and the delightful people. Take walking boots and trek as much as you can and feel the heartbeat of the tropical rainforest. There is so much to see so don't stay in one place for too long, visit the rain forest, the cloud forest, the national parks, the volcanoes and the Pacific coastline.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I was very impressed on how clean Costa Rica was, everything gets recycled! It was great to see all the work being done in the national parks and conservation areas in respect to sustainability. EcoTourism is the major employer in Cost Rica and the people are so happy to greet you, help you and give you a perspective on their country. We felt completely safe in their hands as the level of safety in respect to all the activities we did was extremely high. They are concerned to make sure that no one gets hurt and that you end up leaving Costa Rica with perfect memories.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent! Our agent listened to what we wanted from a holiday and they delivered exactly to our expectations. We are planning to go on Safari in Tanzania in 2016 as I want to go hot air ballooning over the Serengeti, so will be looking to you for options.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Charles, Many thanks for taking the time to write your review on RT, and for calling into the office with further comments. We're absolutely delighted you had such a good time in Costa Rica. It's very nice of you to praise our listening skills - though in truth this part was very easy, as you clearly approach holidays in very much the same way as we do! It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed the variety of locations, fun activities, and of course the Costa Rican people so much - these are exactly the reasons why we love the country. Thanks again for taking the time to feedback, and we look forward to hearing from you again when you're next headed to Latin America! All the best, David

review 5 Jan 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I think the most memorable for the adults was staying on the Osa Peninsula which was perfect in every imaginable way for us. The kids liked that too but would say that learning to surf in Uvita or whitewater rafting were most memorable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be clear about what you are looking for - if you want remote and unspoilt take the time to travel to the more inaccessible areas. If you are in a place with good wildlife use the local guides - we were really impressed by the professionalism and enthusiasm of those we went on walks with. Bear in mind that tours booked locally are quite expensive so allow a budget to pay for these. Take a raincoat and research weather patterns for all areas you are considering before booking.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we did particularly in the more remote area that we visited. Generally we felt that tourism in Costa Rica was a force for good although we caught glimpses of places that looked spoiled by development of "resorts" for visitors.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. We would go back to Costa Rica at the drop of a hat and would recommend the operator without hesitation.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Anne, Many thanks for reviewing your recent holiday with us, we were delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time. It can be a tricky thing to create a successful trip of this nature for a family with several children/teenagers, so it's great that different members of the family would say different parts were best for them. Hopefully this reflects a holiday which had 'something for everyone'! One of the main aims behind all of our trips to Costa Rica is to get people off the beaten track, whether in the very remote areas or nearer 'civilisation'. Actually we quite like people to get a glimpse of the over-developed areas, as it enhances appreciation of the areas we visit, which are all designed to allow you to experience the real Costa Rica. It's particularly pleasing to hear that your efforts to travel to the remotest area of all (Osa) were so well rewarded. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review, and we look forward to having you travel with us to Costa Rica - or elsewhere - in the near future! All the best, David

review 19 Feb 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all memorable but probably the two things which stand out were the tour to Torteguero and the one day trip to the Corcavado national park from Uvita.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If hiring a car go for a long wheel base 4x4 if going onto the Nicoya peninsula or anywhere else off the beaten track. We had a small 4x4 and felt every rock on the rough roads! The car rental company will try to persuade you to rent GPS .. We didn't and found we didn't need it. If flying via the US 2 hours is probably the minimum transfer time as it takes ages to get through US passport control. The cloud forest at San Gerado de Dota is at an altitude of about 2500 metres so watch for altitude sickness. Also take a fleece for here.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Difficult to comment on the basis of 2/3 weeks in a country however from what we saw it created job opportunities for local people without too much obvious adverse impact on their environment . Most wildlife tours seemed to be well thought through and carefully managed so should help not hinder conservation. Only exception was visit into Manuel Antonio National Park - it wasn't that our particular tour was badly managed at all just that the total number of visitors in the park at the same time as us was huge. Hundreds of people in a small area cannot be good for the environment or conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Margaret, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on RT.com. We're delighted to hear you had an excellent time. Thank you for your tips also, it's good to see that you've flagged up some of our recommendations in our local information notes, such as the cloudforest temperature and the GPS! We don't as a matter of course book GPS for clients, though some do find the option useful, as signage can be variable. I'm pleased to hear you navigated successfully with our maps and driving directions. Just to touch on the Manuel Antonio question - this is becoming a tricky point, as it is undoubtedly very popular. Many of our clients do find it appealing, in spite of the numbers (which, I should mention, aren't as great at less peak times of the year than when you travelled). While there is an argument that visitor numbers bring the financial resources to boost conservation, this is a delicate balance, and of course we are very keen to work with areas which are well cared for. Therefore your feedback is very useful to us in determining whether Manuel Antonio is an appropriate destination for our clients, thank you. Again, thank you for taking the time to share comments on your memorable holiday, and I hope we can welcome you onto another Latin America holiday in the near future. All the best, David

review 8 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

La Cucinga Lodge! an amazing eco lodge with a spectular view, a private beach, surrounded by rainforest and beautiful gardens full of tropical birds like Toucans and Colibris, and a private beach, and a fantastic restaurant with delicious fresh pure food!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

avoid Manuel Antonio, or be at least prepared for tourist-overloaded beach resorts in that area.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

absolutely, apart fro the Manual Antonio area. but everywhere else, all eco lodges were aimed at preservation and sustainability, it was a fantastic feeling to travel this way!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a great holiday, and our trip was fantastically organised, but the country was more developed and touristic than we had expected, so we were slightly disappointed that way. but we loved the choice of eco lodges and the tour that Responsible Travel, together with Pura Aventura, had organised for us!!

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Kim, Many thanks for writing to review your recent holiday to Costa Rica with us. We're delighted to hear that overall you had such a great time. Costa Rica is a beautiful country, in our view one that's well worth exploring, in spite of the fact that it is very well visited. This is why we do try as much as possible to get you off the beaten track, and into some special places - I was particularly pleased to hear you loved La Cusinga, I was very taken with it myself on my last visit to Costa Rica. Thank you also for your thoughts on Manuel Antonio, I'm sorry to hear that this didn't live up to expectations. It's true that it has become well developed in recent years, though we feel that given its natural beauty, it still warrants inclusion, particularly if someone is passing by there, travelling from north to south along the coast as you did. I suspect that the fact you were there over Christmas probably exacerbated the sense of overcrowding, so this is useful feedback, as we'll certainly bear it in mind for future trips. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, we love hearing all feedback from our clients, and I hope we can help you out with another trip in the near future. All the best, David

review 4 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Rafting to Pacuare Lodge and then rafting out again 2 days later. 28km of rafting in all.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If rafting on the Pacuare River, you can only take a small bag each weighing up to 12kg. The luggage has to fit into their dry bags on the raft. We didn't know anything about this until the night before which meant we had a panic to sort our luggage out.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an excellent holiday with a great mix of nature, conservation and thrills.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Christine, Many thanks for taking the time to post feedback on your holiday to Costa Rica, we're delighted to hear you had such a good time. Thank you also for your comments about the luggage restrictions at Pacuare, this helps us keep the details we provide to our clients as accurate and informative as possible. I have taken steps to ensure that future clients will be informed of this at an earlier stage. I am glad however, that this didn't prevent Pacuare being your trip highlight, it's an amazing place, and was definitely the highlight of my own trip to Costa Rica last year! Again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you on another Latin America adventure soon. All the best, David

review 23 Mar 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The diversity of mammal, bird and reptile life.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Costa Rica is wet, even in the dry season. Pack accordingly; we did but witnessed others who hadn't. When you can, eat where the locals eat. Have a sense of adventure.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, in some places more than others.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An amazing experience.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Lynne, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on RT. We're delighted to hear you had such a great time in Costa Rica, it certainly is a wonderfully diverse and exciting destination. I'm happy that it seems our information notes were helpful in you being well prepared for your holiday, that's very much one of our aims. Even better that you found the holiday to be along the right lines from a responsible travel perspective. Thank you once again for choosing to book your holiday with us. I hope we can help you out with another holiday, and get some of your friends out to Costa Rica! All the best, David

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies