8 independent reviews for Small group cooking holiday in Thailand

Reviews for Small group cooking holiday in Thailand

SHOW
3
2
2
1
0

review 19 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It would be difficult to choose as the itinerary all came together to make a unique and memorable trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To go with an open mind and a huge appetite.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

There were obvious signs as such.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The guide Toy was super and the itinerary thoughtfully put together.

review 17 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The standout feelgood was floating in the Andaman sea and having a picnic on an island beach. The cookery classes were all enjoyable and varied, I particularly liked the one in Bangkok and Daís Cooking school in Chang Mia where I played peek a boo with the young daughter of the host. I love flowers and so really appreciated trips to an orchid farm and flower market.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The term soft adventure is spot on. Be ready to go with the organised flow. All hotels had hairdryers and toiletries so donít pack these. I found comfy shoes ,long sleeved linen tops and full length trousers were best attire The top bunk on the overnight Chang Mia train was not conducive to sleep, take motion sickness medication if you are prone to travel sickness, eye patchs and ear plugs! If you react badly to exhaust fumes when traveling in heavy traffic eg in Bangkok tuk tuks take a face mask

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think so. The hotels were all non multinational small with Thai archicture and Thai staff .

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was my first solo holiday and I had a wonderful experience . Our tour guide Toy was exceptional - I think she made the holiday with her vast knowledge of Thai culture,food and fabrics , her kindness and humour and her efficienct organisation. I have found a local Thai supermarket near my home and have already cooked dishes learnt on the trip -the Tom Kha Gai has been a great success

review 11 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Thai people who are so openhearted and caring. The beautifully presented and delicious food. Learning lots about Thai cooking and their culture. I am vegetarian and my needs were well looked out for. A good mix of sightseeing, cooking/watching demos/eating new things and relaxing in the mostly luxurious accommodation. Having a tour guide with us the whole way really helped us get under the skin of the country and to talk to local people who didn't speak English and made things run smoothly.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Build an appetite before going! It is mostly urban or tourist resort areas so just be prepared for the crowds and it is not a countryside holiday if that is what you are after. Take plenty of books for the relaxing downtime.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes benefited local people as we used homestays, local transport, ate at small local places often and got to interact with and learn from and share experiences with locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great taste of Thailand, seeing different areas and learning loads and plenty of relaxing time too.

review 21 Nov 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Exploring some of the food markets, the cooking school days with Mr Da and Ya. The jungle (seeing elephants), amazing Andaman Islands and Chiang Mai at Loy Krathong.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to eat. A lot.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all hotels were locally owned/run and when eating out etc we largely avoided international businesses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was excellent, just what I'd expected and more. Our guide was excellent, good fun and entertaining, knowledgeable about the areas visited and wildlife as well as food.

review 27 Feb 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was great! This is a great "taste of Thailand". Early February was a great time of year to go, the weather was sunny and hot every day! I loved the Central Plains homestay, after Bangkok it was amazingly beautiful and peaceful. All the cooking schools were so beautiful and peaceful, and the food was amazing! My favourite part was feeding elephants at a conservation site, and the boat trip round the Hong Archipelago with a barbecue on the beach at sunset after an opportunity to snorkel with parrot fish!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take lots and lots of suncream, at least factor 30, and a sunhat (or buy one there everything is very reasonable). Leave some packing room in the suitcase to take back purchases! Take lots of currency in 100s and 20s, most of the holiday these are the notes you will use.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it felt like we did not do much of the tourist trail, more attending local cooking schools and meeting local people and seeing how they lived.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was wonderful, a great way to get a feel for Thailand not "just" see all the temples (though we did a bit of that too!), and lots of great eating!

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so glad you appreciated our style of travel. Your travel tip about changing money into smaller notes of Thai baht is great!

review 2 Jan 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Definitely the cooking ... and all the eating. Swimming in the Andaman sea was also a real highlight.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you take lots of insect repellent and anything else you need in that area, eg anti-histamine. Take few clothes and get those you do take with you washed locally - very great service and very cheap prices. If you have time, I'd recommend taking advantage of local massages.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think so from the perspective of visiting an elephant sanctuary and a visit to a local handicraft place to buy goods.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Enjoyable overall but I feel the organisation side of things let things down. It could be a really good trip with some changes. Cooking was great - I could have done more. For me it was a good introduction to Thailand and I'm keen to go back to explore more of the country. The size of the group was about right, and it was nice to hang out with a really good bunch of people.

Read the operator's response here:

We're so glad you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to you travelling with us again. We appreciated your helpful feedback.

review 19 Dec 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The cooking and the eating were the most memorable! Fabulous.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go a few days early and stay a few days after the trip finishes if you can!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Not impressed with the organisation of the tour so not sure I'd recommend it. The cooking was fabulous but could be arranged independently. Possibly saw more or different places by going on the tour and liked the company of the other tour members.

review 19 Dec 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I really enjoyed the jungle cooking experience outside of Chiang Mai. Ao Nang and the coastal areas of Krabi were some of the most beautiful places that I have ever been to.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

No need to bring too many fancy clothes, a backpack was fine to travel with. Bring lots of bug spray and the willingness to experience the local life of the Thai people.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We went to see elephants at a local elephant sanctuary in Chiang Mai rather than riding the animals in the streets of Chiang Mai.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I enjoyed the ability to see three different areas of Thailand. This experience will allow me to travel back to Thailand and explore some more. I would have liked to have done even more cooking considering it was a culinary tour:)

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies