11 independent reviews for Trinidad and Tobago nature tours

Reviews for Trinidad and Tobago nature tours

SHOW
2
7
2
0
0

review 10 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It would be tempting to say all of it but if we had to choose then: 1. Thousands of Scarlet Ibis coming to roost at Caroni Swamp 2. The 5.15 (yes 5.15) start to see Trinidad Piping Guan at Grande Riviere (we had 8 in view at one point!) 3. The genuine friendliness of everyone we dealt with

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very much so. All of the places we stayed employed local people not only as hotel staff but also as very knowledgeable tour guides.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 6 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Watching scarlet ibis come in to roost and visiting the oilbird caves from the Asa Wright Centre. The beautiful and peaceful environment at both Hacienda Jacana and Kariwack Village.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

In Trinidad: start your trip with a couple of nights at Hacienda Jacana for perfect relaxing acclimatisation. At the Asa Wright Centre be sure to visit the Caroni swamp and the oilbird caves (pretty strenuous uphill walk on the way back) but the Nariva Swamp is not so rewarding. In Tobago: If you have a week split your time between Blue Waters on the east coast for bird watching trips (though snorkelling is disappointing) and Kariwack Village on the west coast for a lovely environment and proper Caribbean beaches. Food report: Hacienda Jacana excellent; Asa Wright: not good; Blue Waters : variable; Kariwack Village: excellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hopefully.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Tour op to respond to Q3 - 07/02/2017

review 27 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The evening fly in to the roost at Caroni Swamp in Trinidad, the sea birds at Little Tobago and the Piping Guans in Grande Riviere.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We spent our last two days at Anise Resort in Trinidad. This was a brilliant hotel in a great location. It was so good we wished we could have spent more time there. If we go again, as we hope to do, we would opt for one night less in Tobago, one night less at Asa Wright and at least 2 more nights at Anise.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Asa Wright is obviously a famous environmental operation and supports the local area. Our other two hotels were well integrated into the local community. We met many lovely Trinidadians and Tobagans.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A brilliant holiday provided you are keen on wildlife and appreciate a quiet peaceful hotel. It is not for anyone who wants bright lights and entertainment. It is equal to the best holidays we have been on and we want to repeat it.

review 15 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the leatherback turtle on the beach, closely followed by arriving on the veranda at ASA Wright, then the boat trip and scarlet ibis.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be very keen on birds

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, hope so at least. The locations were more suited to eco-tourism than sun worship, so tourist income hopefully indicates a high value on conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good value for money. Right number of nights at each location, well organised, good selection of accommodation. Recommended to serious birders; not so much to those less enthusiastic who could be disappointed in the relative lack of biodiversity in non-avian fauna

review 9 Jan 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the humming birds at Asa Wright

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Research the accommodation that you get in Tobago, it does vary a lot. We should have had Karawak but it was full, the replacement was cheaper but nowhere near as good

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The Asa Wright uses local people throughout the centre, cleaning, guides, cooks, office staff etc. They also use fresh fruit and vegetables which I believe they get locally . They also have a philosophy where their priority is for conservation and education, trying to increase local people's knowledge of local flora and fauna, they also educate young people to become guides at Asa Wright The inn employs a lot of local people, the trips are organised by a local man, the food is bought wholesale and so is the meat. Not sure if they use any local produce

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Lovely holiday - it was good to see something of both Trinidad and Tobago The Asa Wright is a very special place, quite magical. Lots of trails lots of birds to find. Lovely natural pool in the rain forest, in believe there are actually 2 of them but we only saw one. The guides are brilliant, they certainly know their stuff. The inn was quite different, room was a little tired, nice swimming pool and close to local amenities. The restaurant is ok but there are other restaurants around, I would recommend Karawak and food4u extremely different experience. Try one of Mr B trips.

review 13 Dec 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Impossible to choose just one! The stars of the fortnight were definitely the birds: from thousands of scarlet ibis coming in to roost, tiny iridescent hummingbirds battling over sugar feeders, beautiful elegant tropic birds soaring above or comical tiny male manakins dancing to attract a female. Undersea life was a very close second - it was like swimming in an aquarium just a few metres off shore.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take bug repellent, long trousers, a variety of footwear (for when the biters get through and the one pair of sandals you'd brought rub your bites!)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Seemed to - wonderful accommodation locally owned and staffed, local expert guides. Our guide especially was very embedded in the local community - wonderful to talk to the team and guides about place.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful - perfect mix of exploration, relaxation and experiences.

review 19 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The stay at asa wright with the wildlife all around, spending hours just watching the hummingbirds from the balcony or trekking like an explorer on the trails. The leatherback turtles laying on the beach was also a highlight.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of travel sickness pills with you if you suffer as the roads are windy, steep and pot holed. a few snacks might be handy as although the food is lovely there is limited access to shops. Go on the caroni swamp trip- it was a great way to see a variety of wildlife, as well as the scarlet ibis. I was glad I invested in a new set of binoculars-there's plenty to see.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, being geared towards wildlife it encouraged people to train and gain knowledge in their local wildlife. The turtle conservation project also worked to raise awareness of these magnificent creatures and the plight they face.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful, loved the variety-asa wright was being surrounded by nature, but in a clean and relatively luxurious setting. The stay at Mount Plaisir was worth it for seeing the turtles and the week on Tobago was great for snorkeling as well as some bird spotting trips.

review 14 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Getting to the heart of Carnival on our day trip there.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

When snorkelling, give turtles plenty of space to come up to take air, otherwise they can suffocate. A travel camera (bridge type) is sufficient for most bird photos. Be prepared to 'tip' a local unofficial 'guide' who will tag along and show you around a village, to good effect! Otherwise, a polite, but firm "no thank you" will suffice. Ask your guide/driver about politics/history - we had some great insights, but you might have to take some opinions with a pinch of salt - you will hear individual's versions.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Staying at Castara Retreats which wasn't full board, we were able to eat in locally run restaurants, which were very good. Blue Water felt a bit touristy as an all inclusive (but well run - they are posting an item of clothing we left in the room). Asa Wright Nature Centre is well run, and all the bird guides are excellent.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - lovely people, great bird life, and a huge variety of fish to snorkel with, just off the beach - despite the degraded coral. Well organised, not the first time we have used Responsible Travel, and it won't be the last. Thank you.

review 13 Feb 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We enjoyed the Blue Waters and its seclusion, Asa Wright and Hacienda Jacana were also memorable due also to the locations and the ease of Watching the splendid wildlife that T and T has to offer

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of proven insect repellent as we had problems with Chiggers and Mosquitoes.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes in particular the Hacienda Jacana where they seemed extremely Pro active and sustainable in their approach to reducing environmental issues and supporting conversation within the boundaries of their estate.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, I will pass on recommendations to friends and family

review 18 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The turtles at Mt Plaisir, Grande Riviere. We watched one laying her eggs, and later helped a lost hatchling find the sea!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Use reviews in tripadvisor, this travel company who are the local experts

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It certainly gave people jobs, and raised awareness of turtle conservation

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 5 Dec 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing 188 species of bird which were new to me and in the process experiencing the sights and the people of the two islands.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The bird guided tours were very good from Asa Wright and from Blue Waters. In hindsight, as I'm not a sun/beach bather, I would have spent less nights at Blue Waters and gone to another part of the island (e.g. Pigeon Point) to explore. If you like to do some walking, the area around Blue Waters is very hilly and does not offer much in the way of trails.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, both hotels employ a lot of local people and both, especially Asa Wright, are environmentally friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies