9 independent reviews for Trinidad and Tobago bird watching holidays

Reviews for Trinidad and Tobago bird watching holidays

SHOW
2
7
0
0
0

review 3 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was a birding holiday so the birds were simply amazing and I took 7500 pics! Also snorkelling in a warm sea coming back from a lovely day on Little Tobago island was memorable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't worry about mosquitoes or bites as we had none. Take lots of shirts as it is humid and diet before you go as the food was excellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not sure. We ate locally a couple of times and bought water and fruit. Most of our money was spent on water, beer and tips but spent very little else out was all inclusive. I hoped we helped.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was excellent. The holiday provider was a good choice and considering the complexity of flights, trips and 3 different venues there were no glitches our errors whatsoever and our security was never compromised.
Waiting to see if op wants to comment 5.5.16 Rosy

review 7 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Early evening on the veranda at Asa Wright, chatting to the other visitors and very knowledgable guides while enjoying the humming birds.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for the nasty nibbling chiggers - long trousers tucked into your socks!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The local staff were incredibly friendly and could not have been more helpful, especially at Asa Wright.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent holiday, lots of birds and wildlife with amazingly knowledgeable guides.

review 21 Dec 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our expectations for this bird watching holiday were fully realised. The birds were wonderful, the guides excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We found that we had too many full day tours booked from Asa Wright. We actually cancelled one and cut another short. We were actually more that happy to spend time relaxing at Asa Wright. However, do not miss the Nariva Swamp and the crimson ibis coming in to roost.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We hope that our presence helped the people of Trinidad and Tobago to realise the importance of eco-tourism. Unfortunately, you are unlikely to see many animals, if any. Hunting is rife on both islands. We found it distressing to see men going out hunting with guns, dogs and machetes. It is a way of life that needs to be abandoned if they want tourism to thrive.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was an excellent holiday, magical in fact. We tacked on an extra week at the end at a small resort on the northern coast of Tobago. A week here was a little too long. Three days would have been better as there is not an awful lot to do and it was expensive. However, we fed the birds on our balcony and were richly rewarded, even attracting some agouti when we left fruit out for them! Delightful

review 13 Mar 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Birds birds birds! We travelled in Feb/March 2015 to Trinidad and Tobago through Responsible Travel. We had a 2 week trip and saw 191 different species of birds. In a trip like this where so much is new and exciting the opportunity to see so many new things became the pleasure of trip. The guides were extraordinary. All of them were skilled, dedicated and knowledgeable, and were able to locate what they were looking for. They also went to great lengths to ensure that each member of the party ( mostly 4 sometimes 6 people) saw every bird if possible. Sunshine, smiles and friendly greetings from local people all contributed to making this an enjoyable trip. We were aware of possible personal security issues but we had no bad experiences of this type.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If possible try to visit Asa Wright on Trinidad first. We felt that doing it this way round familiarised us with many species, and also gave us a relaxing end to the holiday at the Blue Waters Inn on Tobago. We are not beach people but we loved sitting on the deck in the shade at the hotel watching the sea, enjoying the breeze and watching the birds at the hotel. By then many were familiar friends, very habituated to people and unafraid, giving us close and delightful encounters. (Such as the ruddy turnstones who wandered into our room!)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I did feel that Asa Wright in particular is very conservation conscious. They have long-term policies to reduce their environmental impact and improve facilities for wildlife

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a wonderful holiday- a great balance of birding and relaxation. We loved our enter holiday Caribbean break now feeling inspired to do another similar trip!

review 4 Dec 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Birding with Newton George in Tobago was brilliant. He has an encyclopedic knowledge of the local birds almost seems to conjure them out of the trees. In Trinidad seeing the Scarlet Ibis at Caroni Swamp was stunning.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Well worth going in the rainy season - rain storms are usually short lived and the number of visitors are much lower than they would be in high season.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - At Asa Wright all guides used were from local village.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 10 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The morning at Yerette Hummingbird Sanctuary has to be the most memorable part of this trip. Just being surrounded by hundreds of these tiny birds and learning so much about them was fantastic. Theo Ferguson is a great ambassador for them.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you have a day at Asa Wright Nature Centre. We had trips booked on every day there and so never really spent time just soaking up the atmosphere and wildlife at the Centre.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All of our bird guides were local people which was great. We stayed in hotels owned by local people and contributed to the economy. I don't think we reduced environmental impact much, I need to do my carbon offset! Being interested in birding and wildlife helps conservation, showing people that you care about their environment makes them value it more.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We realised a lifetime ambition to have Christmas in Trinidad and Tobago. It was a wonderful experience and we will remember some lovely people from the islands who helped make it a holiday of a lifetime.

review 27 Feb 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A days bird watching with Kelton Thomas. He can whistle the birds out of the forest.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We much preferred the more relaxed way of life in Tobago. Stay in a small guest house. We spent a wonderful week in the Cuffie River Nature Resort. Excellent food, lovely large rooms. This is a good area for easy walks and the place is teeming with birds and the odd snake !

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely. We stayed in small guest houses and used local transport.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Comparatively short flight to Trinidad and Tobago. All arrangements worked beautifully except that in Tobago it took four or five daysplus an email to the UK for the man arranging our trips to contact us

review 4 Feb 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The first sight of all the humming birds on the verandah at the Asa Wright Centre. It was amazing to see so many birds, some as close as 2 ft away. You could spend hours there, taking photo's,& looking for any different species that may drop by.The other highlight was seeing the Scarlet Ibis, coming in to roost at Caroni Swamp, in their thousands.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you have insect repellent for sand flies,as they were biting in Tobago. Had a few mosquito's in Trinidad, but seldom did we see them!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefitted local people as all the guides, & taxi transfers were guys who had lived in the area all their lives.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The entire holiday ran very smoothly, very well organised. Being a birding holiday meant you were with like minded people, who were all very nice, but didn't talk solely about birds. It was our first birding holiday, & we were very satisfied.

review 25 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying in the rain forest in two places in Trinidad. The trees, plants, flowers, animals and wonderful birds, combined with really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff and guides.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't forget to advise of any particular needs you have well in advance. The dry season is always dry!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

In a small way, by buying locally made products whenever we could and staying in accommodation part of the trip that was not part of a 'chain' and at the Asa Wright centre.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really superb. Exceeded expectations and very few quibbles, which were minor in nature anyway.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies