9 independent reviews for Amalfi coast easy walking holiday, Italy

Reviews for Amalfi coast easy walking holiday, Italy

SHOW
2
7
0
0
0

review 12 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of the guided walks were wonderful but if I had to pick a favorite it would be the "Path of the Gods" from Bomerano to Positano. (But the breath-taking views were everywhere!) The lemon tour was also excellent (and tasty). Actually, everything about this trip was beyond perfect: guide, hikes, weather, food, hotel, breathtaking scenery, lemon granitas, gelato, wine.....I want to go back and do it all again!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book your trip immediately! The Amalfi Coast is a "must-see" and hiking the paths is absolutely the best way to do it (no crowds on the trails!)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Well, between my daughter, son-in-law, and myself we certainly contributed to the financial health of numerous shops in Amalfi. But in terms of conservation/reduced environmental impact I cannot really say that we had an influence.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This trip was absolutely fantastic (and I have already passed the website and contact information on to several friends!) All the details were taken care of and all we had to do was relax and enjoy the fabulous scenery and amazing food.

review 23 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

4 out of 5 stars

review 22 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walks were stunning! Definitely worth the effort to hike up into the surrounding countryside and experience the views!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't prebook an excursion for your free day because the itinerary may get switched around to deal with the weather. If you want to sight see in the towns you should do your own research. We upgraded to a terrace and had a spectacular view but there was really little free time to use it. The weather can be unpredictable in October.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Generally we trod lightly on the earth, walking and appreciating nature and local farming. We ate local food and drank local wines.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We really enjoyed our vacation in Amalfi. The place is beautiful. We had some amazing walks and got lots of exercise. We had a great time with our fellow travellers and local guide and made new friends.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you Jackie for such a great review, we’re so pleased you had such a wonderful time on the Amalfi Coast. As we discussed recently, we completely agree that when taking a guided holiday you should not have to do your own research. However, the law is very strict in Italy and walking guides like Luciana are not permitted to guide in cities such as Amalfi and Ravello, as she explained. It seems impossible to find a guide who has expertise in both the countryside and the cities. For this reason, since this is primarily a walking holiday, we have to compromise. This is also why Luciana supplies the notes we have written for Amalfi and Ravello so that people can guide themselves during the hour or so of free time in these locations. Thank you for understanding about having to makes changes to the itinerary but thankfully the bad weather that was forecast didn't actually happen! As you concluded, October is one of the best times for walking in Amalfi when the weather is as reliable as weather can ever be and when the crowds have gone and the temperature for walking is ideal.

review 18 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most exciting time of my holiday was the last day's walk when we finally were in good enough shape to do the whole 5 hour walk without too much effort and pain. It was exhilarating! The most memorable thing about the holiday was the group we were with. They were all so so much fun. Everyone got along great and helped each other. It was wonderful to meet so many interesting people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The walks planned will take you up and down mountains and you'll be expected to go up and down lots of stairs and steep paths. You should make sure you're in good enough shape to do this or plan on taking the - very affordable - buses to see the region. You should also make sure you have adequate equipment for the trip - i.e. a backpack that's meant for walking and won't destroy your back and a walking stick - If you go in October, make sure you carry rainproof clothing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used public transportation to get everywhere thereby reducing the environmental impact we would have had by using private transportation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fantastic! Do it if you get the opportunity. You'll come home rejuvenated: the magnificent landscapes and foods as well as the daily exercise really are magic for the body and the mind.

review 18 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The sheer beauty of the Amalfi coast.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take walking sticks and extremely good, broken in, walking shoes.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Only in the sense that all tourism helps local people. There was nothing which particularly emphasized environmental sensitivity.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Would not hesitate to recommend.

review 17 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being in the countryside every day

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be ready for any weather, it's worth it

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Most definitely, we travelled by public transport and used local restaurants, it worked exceptionally well

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, a really good group of people from all walks of life and Italy is a glorious country to visit

review 18 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking in the hills above Amalfi was very special, and it was lovely seeing some of the little villages tourists generally don't visit.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be aware that the Amalfi coast is hilly and walking involves lots of stairs and going up and down. If not for you there are easier options each day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

This was an walking tour and local buses were used to get to the start of each days walk so it was environmentally friendly. Also the hotel used the lovely Aurora is family owned.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 13 Oct 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is difficult to identify just one part as the whole holiday was wonderful. I think the views from the last two walks were spectacular - Valle delle Ferriere and Sentiero degli Dei.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for hundreds of steps but well worth the climb up and down as every view is stunning.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely, in the attention to using local restaurants, shops and public transport.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was amazing. June and Aubrey are welcoming, knowledgeable and experienced. They made the holiday a truly memorable experience. Nothing was too much trouble.

review 18 Oct 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

BEAUTIFUL WEATHER, COUNTRY AND SCENERY. ACTIVE VACATION WITHOUT EMPHASIS ON SHOPPING. GREAT GROUP OF PEOPLE BOTH TOUR GUIDES AND TOURISTS IN THE GROUP. BEAUTIFUL HOTEL. BENEFITS OF A TOUR WITHOUT HAVING TO SPEND TIME TRAVELING ON BUSES. VERY FLEXIBLE.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

THE MODERATE WALK IS / WAS MORE STRENUOUS THAN ANTICIPATED. REALLY NEED TO BE IN GOOD SHAPE, BUT WELL WORTH THE EFFORT. WOULD CALL IT MORE OF A HIKE THAN A A WALK.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

NOT SURE IF IT BENEFITED OUTSIDE OF TOURISM MONEY, BUT CERTAINLY DID NO HARM.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

WONDERFUL. WOULD DO IT AGAIN.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies