19 independent reviews for Montenegro activity holiday, adrenaline adventure

Reviews for Montenegro activity holiday, adrenaline adventure

SHOW
18
1
0
0
0

review 11 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful scenery, really feeling away from it all and also having each day pre-planned with a different activity to look forward to. During the week we were advised that we wouldn’t be able to do the canyoning as the current conditions weren’t suitable for children. However, Stan immediately gave us several other options, all of which were great, and we chose paragliding, which was an excellent alternative! In terms of best activities, it would probably be paragliding and horse riding. Stan and Goca were fantastic hosts who went out of their way to ensure that we had a great holiday. They really made us feel at home, gave us lifts to the supermarket, arranged taxi rides after dinners out and helped us with our travel plans for the following week. Stan was also really interested in getting feedback on the activities so that he could raise any issues with the activity providers.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Clothing to cover each of the activities including hiking boots and warm clothes for the evening as it does get cold. If you are doing the cycling, the full circuit is about 50 kilometres which is quite a long way if you are not a regular cyclist!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The activities were run by local people and Stan was careful with which operators he chose to ensure we had the best experience possible. Obviously it’s a drive up into the mountains, but once there, all the activities are pretty close by so there is not much travelling by car and the hiking / cycling we did straight from the apartment. It was great to see that Stan had provided refillable water bottles for every guest instead of disposable plastic ones so that he could keep single use plastic to a minimum.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent from start to finish.

review 27 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Quad biking and canyoning!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Mountain boots, waterproofs & good anorak!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Sure!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Lifetime experience!

review 24 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We took the adrenalin week at Stan’s and we can honestly say it is one of the best holidays we have ever had. Our arrival, thanks to GPS coordinates, was greeted with a warm welcome from Stan and a lovely, cosy apartment. Stan’s wife, Goca, had prepared a delicious Lasagna which was exactly what we needed after a long drive. The first day started with first-time canyoning, the most intensive activity of the week but definitely one of the best – the jumps and being within the gorge were amazing. Our excellent guide Goran made canyoning and hiking even more special. As novice rock climbers, we were all slightly nervous as to what to expect of the Via Ferrata which turned out to be another favourite. The level of difficulty was perfect for us, even Mum and my brother loved it. At the summit our guides fed us Jaffa cakes and chocolate whilst enjoying unforgettable views before the descent. All the guides (personally known by Stan) on the different activities helped immensely to settle our nerves and experience the maximum of each activity. At the end of the week we added a day of quad biking which was the perfect way to have a high-speed experience the rolling plains and forest. An unforgettable holiday in the Montenegrin mountains, thanks especially to Stan and his family who are superb hosts making us feel a part of their family and ensured each day went smoothly and happily substituted our planned two day mountain hike for something less strenuous with no fuss. Stan even accompanied us when we had the need to visit the local doctor which was another interesting insight to the local scene.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be aware that the altitude takes some getting used to; of note for the mountain hikes. Be mindful that jumping from 6m into cold crystal clear water is actually going to be amazing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Well - we added to the local economy by spending our holiday there although the locals added to the pollution by excessive smoking in the restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant - We highly recommend this holiday to anyone who enjoys a thrill or just wants to try something completely new. It was great to have everything organised for us and wish to thank Stan and Goca for all that they did – we even grew to like the “disgusting” coffee offered at the end of the day – actually very good :)

review 29 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All the activities in the adrenaline adventure were excellent but the standout was probably the canyoning, closely followed by the mountain summit & overnight stay in the remote cabin!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax in the knowledge that everything will be taken care of for you, even if you forget the smallest thing Stan & his team will make sure everything is perfect...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we obviously bought everything locally & all of our guides were members of the local community.We were also encouraged to try to appreciate the remoteness & the beauty of the area!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The whole experience from start to finish was brilliant, the activities were really well organised giving you the opportunity to see parts of the mountains that you wouldn’t usually see. When we had the opportunity for down time time Stan & Gorta couldn’t make our lives easier, from taking us into town to pick up supplies or recommending the best restaurant & organising taxis etc but also Gorta’s home cooking was authentic & delicious! All in all the opportunity to spend time with my 14 year old son enjoying some fantastic experiences was priceless!!!Thanks again Stan

review 1 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The highlight of the holiday for us was the 'Via Ferrata' rock climb. Although that doesn't mean that the rest of the holiday was anything less than amazing! We thoroughly enjoyed both of the mountain hikes, the lakes really are a sight to behold, the rafting was an incredible way to see the Tara river canyon. Due to the late heavy snow the river was too high for us to do the canyoning and while we were initially a little sceptical of the quad biking it turned out to be the best way to see all of the different landscapes Durmitor has to offer. A really big hats off to our hosts Stan and Goca, they made everything so easy, not only picking us up from the airport but also helping us with local shops, restaurants and all of the activities. They took the time to sit and chat, answering all of our questions as well as taking the time to prepare some local delicacies for us (the pies Goca prepared were amazing). There is no way we could have had a better week which was all down to their local knowledge (we couldn't drive down the street without them being recognised by someone), openness and friendliness. The accommodation was great; clean, comfortable, warm and had everything we needed to feel at home.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As the other reviews have said bring a few warm clothes for the evening, restaurants in Žabljak are casual so no need to worry about smart things, you don't need any specialist equipment bar a set of walking boots, a set of waterproofs (although we didn't need them) and maybe a small day rucksack for the walks. Reusable metal water bottles are provided by Stan and Goca.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All of our guides were local, we did not use any single use water bottles and you could tell that everyone we met loved the mountains.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fantastic, it should definitely be on your list for consideration if you like dramatic mountainous landscapes. Durmitor national park is one of, if not the most, beautiful place I have ever visited. The activities were really well balanced to allow you to see the various landscapes from different points of view. Do not hesitate to get in contact with Stan and Goca with any questions you have. They are very flexible and know everyone locally to make things happen (we booked paragliding last minute and it was so easy). Honestly, we cannot recommend this holiday enough, our only regret is not booking the longer trip that includes time at the coast before going to the mountains.

review 27 Oct 2018

We had such a brilliant time on this trip, genuinely one of the best holidays I've ever had. Stan was the perfect host from start to finish-he had everything organised for us in advance, he was welcoming, friendly, helpful and has excellent local knowledge. He even drove us into town on several occasions for shopping/ dinner and helped us arrange taxis. I cannot praise him enough for the excellent job he is doing with his tours. The activities were great fun and very varied, and the guides that Stan uses are safe, professional and very good at what they do. The accommodation was lovely and had everything we needed. There was also a nice outdoor area for relaxing with great views of the mountains. There are a great selection of reasonably priced restaurants in the town and I thought the food was fantastic. I would definitely do a holiday with this company again and would strongly recommend it to anyone else!

review 8 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Although we enjoyed the whole thing from stepping foot off the aeroplane at Dubrovnik, Canyoning was the major highlight for us. We also had the opportunity to eat some amazing food, drink some tasty beer and see some spectacular sights!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Definitely pack plenty of warm clothing! The weather on the mountain can be hit and miss. We also brought a couple of travel games - was a nice thing to do in the evening over a beer

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. Stan uses local guides and recommends local restaurants. In addition, the locals pride themselves on the fact that most of their food is from their own country

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a fantastic holiday and a great experience. This was a combination of fun activities, beautiful landscape and friendly hosts and guides. We would definitely come back and hope that Stan launches the ideas he mentioned while we were there as it would be a great opportunity to go again.

review 4 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We have to split that question. The most memorable part was the fantastic scenery, the most exciting was the either the horse riding, canyoning or quad biking. Depends who you ask.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stan and Gorca put on a fantastic trip but make sure you have a good choice of boots and clothing

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did. Not sure how any trip like this involving aeroplanes cars and minibuses to move people around could possibly reduce environmental impacts however.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant. Great hosts and well organised. They managed to cater for a family with very awkward dietary requirements.

review 27 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All parts of the holiday were brilliant, but as a family of 5 we all liked different things. We all loved the zip wiring across the Tara Canyon and rafting as we saw stunning scenery in a thrilling way!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring some warm clothes, the evenings can be chilly!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Stan encouraged us to support the small local farmers by buying berries and honey from them. The environmental impact of our stay seemed minimal.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant. Stan and Goca were a brilliant team in organising, welcoming, preparing and leading us on our days activities and their children were so welcoming to our three children making the whole experience so much easier. The accommodation was perfect for us and nothing was too much trouble. When our arrival was delayed by a day, Stan did everything he could to ensure we didn't miss out on anything, he didn't make a big deal out of it at all. This is the perfect family holiday if you are keen to experience Montenegro, have a go at some physically activities including some with a bit of a buzz and have a chance to chill out. I highly recommend!! Thank you Stan and Goca for making this such a great experience for us all

review 19 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I liked the white water rafting and my 17 year old loved the canyoning. My daughter loved the horse riding. We all loved stand hospitality and his wife’s delicious food

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Definitely take advantage of the tours as it’s a beautiful place

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we went to local shops and the trips were provided by local companies

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A very different holiday with an excellent host who made the holiday so easy. It was brilliant.

review 9 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Certainly canyoning, but all the activities were run seamlessly by some great people and we had fabulous time overall

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Prepare for all sorts of weather. We had to use the bin bags for waterproofs when we got cough while cycling in the mountains. Buy wild strawberries from the street vendors

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the activities were run by local people - they were all very knowledgeable and passionate about their country which was great.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

5 stars! Stanko & Goca were so hospitable, friendly, helpful and flexible. They made a great experience, an unforgettable one. Thank you both

review 7 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The activities we did were all pretty memorable. The scenery is beautiful and the canyoning was a highlight for my husband and our two older children. However, the most memorable part was to be welcomed by our hosts Stan and Gotza as if we were family, hearing their stories about the region and feeling like we were a part of the real Montenegro. It wasn't 5* luxury but the experience gave us so much more.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure to pack rain jackets and a warm jumper as the weather in the mountains can turn very quickly!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it did benefit local people as a lot of the activities we did (zip wiring, rafting and canyoning) were organised by local companies. The operator also seems to employ locals for their building needs etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous and interesting. Everything was very well organised. Our hosts were very warm and welcoming, and helped us get a flavour of the real Montenegro from telling us more about the history of the place to cooking local meals. The nature is absolutely stunning in some places. We all felt a sense of achievement once we got home from our various activities and plumped in our lounge chairs to read a book or relax. We highly recommend it!

review 12 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most exciting part of our travel was the canyoning! The walk is 1.5 km and there are jumps up to 10 metres high. Local guides (who are also search rescuers) help you with the canyoning and also make pictures. All equipment are provided. Really outstanding experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just go for it and be prepared for a lot of physical activity. Also bring different kind of clothes because the weather and temperature changes quickly on the mountains.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes because the activities were all organised by locals. We ate food from the local area and on the last night we were taken to a national restaurant for dinner.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We stayed for 5 nights and did activities everyday except the day of arrival. We did our activities in the day and usually had the rest of the day (4pm onwards) to ourselves. The places we went to were beautiful and you will find a wide variety of sceneries all located very close to each other. We'd recommend it to families, couples and groups of friends looking for a unique holiday full of adventure and fun. Stan (our host) was very accommodating and picked us up/dropped us off from the airport. He can provide suggestions for activities according to your preferences.

review 11 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being with our children doing new and exciting activities together, despite their 7 yr age gap. Paragliding was pretty awesome too! (3 children; two 17yr olds and one 10yr old)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do it! It was fabulous. Stan and Goca are fantastic hosts and Goca makes the best pies in Montenegro!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it was good to support the local families selling fruit and to use local guides and shops.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!! The flexibility of the itinerary and Stan and Goca's care and enthusiasm were fabulous, as well as their willingness to share local knowledge and history.Jen, Bertie, Katharine, Fizzy and Henry.

review 2 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Climbing up babintuk mountain.. but so many others came close....canyoning and swimming in glacial lakes. Beautiful scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is a must do trip for anyone looking for physical and mental challenge and beautiful scenery coupled with fantastic hosts, company and food.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes where trips needed expert guides they were all locals and we stopped at local villagers market stalls for supplies and treats.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The best ever....and ive travelled alot!

review 16 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We enjoyed every minute of our stay. It's difficult to pick out one particular highlight because it was all fantastic. From wild swimming to rafting to cycling and trekking - an amazing experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring appropriate clothing and bags of energy!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - Stan is very supportive of local farms and businesses and also encouraged us to use them. He explained a lot about nature conservation and is passionate about preserving the natural beauty and character of the local area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Outstanding. We made some great family memories here. The Durmitor region is stunning and totally unspoiled. The camp is perfectly located, but what was most impressive was the hospitality provided by Stan and Goca - genuinely lovely people who go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. The range of activities is great and there are plenty of other options to choose from. It was a full-on few days but Goca's amazing cooking kept us well fuelled! We'll be back!

review 9 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We've just returned from a one week family holiday in Zabljak. Stan and Gorska were fantastic hosts and the other two families staying there were great company. The accommodation is comfortable, homely and spacious. There was a great range of well-planned activities, all pretty close to our camp - hiking, white water rafting, swimming, 850m zip line across the Tara valley, biking, canyoning and horse riding. We would love to have tried the paragliding too but ran out of time! Great local food and good atmosphere in the nearby town. Being up in the mountains it was warm but not too hot (cooler in the evenings) which was ideal as the activities are quite strenuous.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 18 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Stan is a fantastic camp director! We cannot recommend this experience highly enough. Stan went out of his way to provide us with challenging and exciting activities each day in Durmitor National Park with skilled local guides. We arrived a day late due to an airline delay so Stan included our missed activities on the last day of our stay. Instead of leaving in the morning, we spent time on another mountain peak, ate a delicious traditional meal and departed late in the day. Stan also re-arranged the activities based on the current mountain weather, saving our hike up Bobatov Kuk for a beautiful sunny day so we would have the best views.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Stan is warm and personable and very committed to providing a memorable experience. He also went above and beyond to schedule sailing and sightseeing for us at the beach after our official 6 days was over in the National Park.

review 30 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The canyoning was the best! Mickey was a great tour leader and it was an adventure that I had not had before. Be brave and go for it on the jumps!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, by using local tour guides, I know that we were feeding the local economy. I would suggest providing guests with large jugs of water instead and asking guests to bring refillable water bottles so as not to use so many small water bottles for daily lunch trips.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great! It was the perfect mix of adventure and relaxation. It was a week of being in nature, which is what I had hoped for, but also provided mornings and evenings to relax and read a book.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies