Responsible tourism Awards logo
Responsible tourism Awards

World Responsible Tourism Awards 2015 - Last chance to enter!

World Responsible Tourism Awards 2015

World Responsible Tourism Awards 2015 - Last chance to enter!

Submissions for the Awards are now closed. Check back soon for the announcement of our Longlist.

About the Awards

The World Responsible Tourism Awards at WTM - part of the world's largest event for responsible tourism action - are a global search and celebration of the most inspiring and enduring responsible tourism experiences in the world. Founded in 2004, and now in their 12th year, the idea behind the Awards, which are open to any organisation anywhere in the world, is to surprise and inspire tourists and the tourism industry by what it is possible to achieve with Responsible Tourism, and to shine a light on the best of the best.

The Awards are organised by Responsible Travel, in association with the International Centre for Responsible Tourism, and take place at the World Travel Market in London as part of World Responsible Tourism Day - the world's biggest event for responsible tourism.

The Awards rest on a simple principle - that all types of tourism, from niche to mainstream, can and should be organised in a way that preserves, respects and benefits destinations and local people. We want to celebrate the shining stars of responsible tourism - the individuals, organisations and destinations working innovatively with local cultures, communities and biodiversity.

Read more about the Awards.

Read about Last Year's Winners

Last year, the Awards recognised two very different Overall winners. The South African Animal Sanctuary Alliance (SAASA) for demonstrating that animal attractions can liberate previously captive wildlife and, without petting or exploitation, be commercially successful. Parque dos Sonhos for demonstrating that truly inclusive tourism can enhance the adventure activity experiences for everyone and enable families and friends to share the experience. Both winners demonstrate that it is possible to address the rights agenda, to swim against the tide, and be commercially successful.

Learn more about the 2014 World Responsible Tourism Award winners.

Other Awards around the world

We've teamed up with local partners around the world to bring you two brand new Responsible Tourism Awards schemes for 2015:

Ben Fogle quote   Michael Palin quote   Ranulph Fiennes quote
Professor Harold Goodwin