8 independent reviews for Hidden Japan holiday

Reviews for Hidden Japan holiday

SHOW
6
2
0
0
0

review 19 Oct 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The group, the itinerary, the experiences and our peerless tour guide/leader, Fergal Fox. The best in the business ??????

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just enjoy every minute of it knowing that you have made the BEST choice.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, yes and yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely superb. Not a single quibble or criticism. We are ALREADY planning our next tour for next year with them ????. If we could give 6 stars we would.

review 18 Jun 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Amongst many, probably the Art island of Naoshima. Closely followed by the visit to Joge village.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is quite an intensive schedule so be prepared for lots of walking, travelling by different modes of transport. The food is also challenging at times.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

By visiting local initiatives (Joge, Naoshima) we did feel we were helping to support the local communities who were putting so much effort to revitalise their villages. Using local transport where possible definitely felt positive.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Extremely well organised and thought out. A wide range of interest, covering so many aspects of the area. We were extremely lucky to have a truly great guide, Kinga, who was unfailingly helpful, cheerful, knowledgeable and professional. She was the difference between a good and a great holiday.

review 11 Oct 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Conversation with Make was probably most memorable. Temples/shrines, gardens, castles all interesting, but blend together in memory.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited local people, definitely. Neutral on the other two.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great! Would have been better if we had not caught COVID along the way, but that is beyond anyone's control.

review 7 Dec 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The buddhist temples in Miyajima. I only saw them by chance. Also I did a wonderful nature walk on the island. I think the group would have benefitted from better guidance on that part of the trip. The puppet making craftsman and museum was very interesting. And the geisha afternoon. The food throughout was great too.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It's a great trip. Enjoy it, and keep a raincoat to hand at all times!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Clearly there were some local payments made in Joge and, of course, we all spent money as tourists do. I wasn't aware of any particular environmental element.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was very good indeed. I loved that it really included practically everything so we didn't have to keep paying for activities. Jack, our guide, was superb as an organiser; he also kept things moving at a perfect pace. He was, however, scant on giving general information about Japan. He gave what anyone can read in the guide books just as we stood outside a given building, but I was hoping for a bit more detail and passion. I think the tour would benefit from more direct interaction with ordinary people. It would have been wonderful to learn a little about the language and Japanese writing, even if only for one or two hours. A VERY simple class of some kind.

review 20 Nov 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all brilliant! If I had to pick one thing it would be the day on Mt Koya, where we stayed the night in a guesthouse in a Buddhist monastery. The Udon noodle-making session was really fun; and our day with the villagers in Joge was very special too.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Learn how to use chopsticks! - and be willing to try everything (the seabream head was delicious!).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We certainly felt that our day in Joge benefitted the local people. We were impressed by the fact that we used public transport where possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely wonderful; probably the best we've ever had.

review 8 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hard to single out one part, each day was different and a new fascinating experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light, wear comfortable footwear.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As far as is possible yes with the extensive and very well organised use of public transport and support of local businesses in the areas we visited

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing experience everything we hoped for and more.

review 13 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting the village on the last day -meeting the school children and participating in martial arts lesson

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light- the Japanese donít expect you to dress up. Participate in everything you can.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes the Japanese are aware environmentally and nothing we did was contrary to this. The visit to village involved various purchases so this must have been beneficial. Conservation support less evident .

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a fantastic time. The guide, Yuri, was great and the tour was varied and constantly enlightening.

review 9 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything! Travelling extensively using the local transport - every type, meant we saw such a large range of places, did lots of activities, experienced historical and modern displays, interacted with the local people and tasted a big variety of food.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light. Prepare for lots of traditional Japanese food. Bring comfy shoes.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We travelled by public transport most of the time which is very efficient. We engaged with many locals especially those involved with volunteering. We ate local foods.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely wonderful. Great to get away from the very big cities and engage with the people. Visiting Shikoku Island for over five days was brilliant. Our guide was excellent and the entire trip was hassle free. Such a good way to experience Japan and it's history (old and new) and it's people. Giving a 5 star rating which says 'I am reborn' is over the top for me so I have given the trip 4 stars but I could not fault the tour. It met our expectations in every way. Enjoy.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy