32 independent reviews for Scotland by railway holiday

Reviews for Scotland by railway holiday

SHOW
12
20
0
0
0

review 15 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying in 200+ year-old homes, which have been meticulously maintained.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Spend at least 3 nights in each location to experience at least 2 full days.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I don't believe that we did anything that could have harmed the environment, and enjoyed pubs, theaters, restaurants, tours and shops whenever possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent...so much more than we even expected.

review 14 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Tour of Isle of Skye

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Plan for changing weather and bring clothes (layers) for all occasions.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great trip. Loved Scotland and its people.

Read the operator's response here:

Many thanks for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed the trip. We pride ourselves on building long-term relationships with locally owned businesses, for accommodation, taxis and guides, to ensure that the benefits of tourism are enjoyed directly in the local area. This helps to create a sustainable economy in remote rural places with positive impact on the community.

review 9 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Skye is stunning and the trip on the Jacobite Express was a lovely afternoon.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try to travel as light as possible since luggage allowances are not generous on most Scotrail trains. At any time of year layers are advisable when travelling in Scotland as the weather can be unpredictable. Sturdy footwear is advisable if you want to do any walking in Skye as even main paths can become very muddy after rain.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I did feel that my trip benefited the local economy and it was good to be able to travel to some of the more rural locations on the trip without being dependent upon a car to do so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an excellent holiday. The accomodation was cosy and comfortable and pleasantly diverse. Food was great, scenery beautiful as always, and I met a great many like minded people during the course of this trip from all over the world.

review 25 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Skye was simply beautiful. My favorite spot the Fairy Glenn. Of course as always it is really the people you meet that make the journey, Scotland did not disappoint. Everyone was exceedingly friendly, helpful and a delight.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book restaurant reservations before you leave home. The restaurants are small and when booked you could be out of luck. The hotel staff was helpful with late bookings.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely benefited local people at least those in the tourist industry.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was wonderful.

review 18 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Wonderful scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Organise your time in each venue to make the most of your stay

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Organisation was impeccable. All ran very smoothly but we would have liked longer in each venue.

review 2 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visit to the Isle of Skye where my ancestors came from, and our stay at Kinloch Lodge there, with outstanding food prepared by their chef.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travelling around by train is a great way to go. You're free to take in the scenery without concentrating on your driving, and you get to meet local people on the trains.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Most of our meals were locally-sourced.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of our very top favorites, and we've done a lot of travelling in Europe.

review 26 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery and the stunning views.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Wrap up warm

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it manages to keep the local communities funded via tourism.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An excellent trip - thanks!!

review 21 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Jacobite steam train, Skye Island, Loch Ness and Uquhart Castle,

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you do a train tour, try to travel in the late afternoon instead of the middle of the day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, local people were very friendly and helpful.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an excellent stay. Beautiful landscapes, Scots charming, good quality of restaurants and guest houses. Not or few traffic jams in Glasgow and Edinburgh.

review 13 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The remarkable scenery and natural beauty of the highlands, the kind and welcoming hosts at all our accommodations.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be patient with the weather. It truly changes moment by moment.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all the accommodations were in natural setiings. We often ate farm to table. Using rail travel is more eco friendly than renting a car and driving.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Our holiday was exceptional, we enjoyed every aspect of the trip and the effortless planning was most enjoyable.

review 10 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Jacobite Express was terrific and we had really good seats. The pub at our accommodation in Skye was great fun and good food. Best meals at Killiecrankie Hotel.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The app was great, allowed us to see all our arrangements and bookings offline. The printed map of UK railway routes was great, as I couldn't see railway tracks on Google maps. Inverness on a Sunday is very quiet - would be better to be there during the week. McKinley Kidd were very well organised. Some of the accommodation was not near any public transport so it was not possible to go to the recommended activities or eat in town. However the meals at all accommodation were excellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All transport was by train or local taxis, buses and a local tour guide.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A good variety in types of accommodation, all very well organised and quite luxurious. The train travel was very relaxing.

review 23 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our private tour of the Isle of Skye.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be sure you're ok with moving luggage and yourselves frequently. Also, try to get more information on accommodations before booking the trip.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good way to see a lot of Scotland without driving.

review 1 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our holiday was well planned and ran very smoothly. The accommodation was of really good quality and we most enjoyed our visit to Pitlochry and Glasgow.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We would recommend this type of holiday for people who like independent travel

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not particularly

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We enjoyed the holiday and would recommend it to others

review 20 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Train travel is so relaxing although it does perhaps preclude some of those unplanned and impetuous detours!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Plan ahead for what you want to do at the various stops which are really brief and don't be scared to use local transport.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Perhaps although not immediately evident - too many Scots appeared to be absent; perhaps it's due to low unemployment but far and away the majority of people we came across were neither Scottish or British.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was really a great week - the various hotels ranged from wonderful top-class to something less so, but all the arrangements worked so well.

review 3 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We enjoyed all of the holiday, no outstanding part. Isle of Sky was probable the most memorable, unfortunately the weather was most memorable part, being wet every day, apart from one day in Pitlochry. The last property at Spean Bridge was the most enjoyed.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Being prepared to live out of your case.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The benefit to local people must be income received from dinning expenditure and any other items of expenditure. It could be argued that environmental and conservation was effected by the extra people being present.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was different to other forms of holidaying, we are the wrong age for such a holiday.

review 4 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Most enjoyable part was our two days on Isle of Skye. Very beautiful and dramatic scenery!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack light for all the carrying of luggage on and off trains.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Good to make use of public transport! Standard of trains in Scotland very poor in terms of cleanliness but they did run to schedule and the scenery is spectacular.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable!

review 28 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Breakfasts, some of the greetings we got and the dinner on the last night. Add to that some fantastic scenery and the stream train.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

With a couple, travel with two small suitcases and be aware that there can be quite some walking.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local people were usually our hosts, travelling by train was better than us doing it by car and I hope visitors to some of the areas, like Culloden, helped to ensure preservation and good use of beauty spots.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable, it was excellent and exiting, a tad expensive. Sadly the most expensive hotel on Skye, for which we had to pay a supplement, was the least best with very expensive food of not excellent quality, the bar food was in a shabby bar and twice the price it should have been. At breakfast an extra piece of bacon, after the one served, cost 1.50 ! The rooms were soulless and uncared for, though clean, lots of climbing stairs, bedroom upstairs, loo downstairs. But it was a stunning view.

review 2 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

it's very hard to choose but probably the steam journey to Fort William and the and the final days journey over Rannock Moor the whole holiday lived up to our expectations

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

travel lightly and keep your eyes open

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes - it was encouraging and also surprising to see so many touriats on the Isle of Skye

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

First class with perhaps one serious reservation which involves the Portree Hotel on Skye - this fell short of the standards set during the rest of our holiday - first our initial greeting was not the best with the receptionist more interested in talking and laughing with her friends that dealing with a new arrival - and perhaps much more serious was the location of our room on the third floor --- the room itself was fine with views of the square but the journey there from reception wa difficult -- there was no lift in the hotel and the stairs were very long and steep - impossible I would say for anyone who was even slightly disabled also I have to say there was an air of casualness about the hotel extending to the breakfast area where the service was not always the best - and on one occasion my partners fish breakfast of haddock was very disappointing sadly this experience reduces the overall rating to four star - otherwise a strong five

review 13 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Isle of Skye and Viewfield House

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Avoid Craigatin House, owners un-friendly

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Well organised, interesting places choosen, lovely hotels (even Craigain House was lovely, the welcome there was less so)

review 7 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Traveling by train thorough the moors and mountains of Scotland in the comfort of the train.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Recommend planning two days at each stop and booking ahead local sightseeing as local bus service not always available.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we traveled by rail which reduced carbon,stayed in local bed and breakfasts, and used local tours and transport all of which employed locals. Many of the activities we took part in involved hiking or walking in local areas which supported conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We travel extensively and this rated as one of our top 3 vacations.

review 31 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking up to the Old Man of Storr. Amazing views

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be equipped for weather of all sorts

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Must have helped employment. Traveling by train reduced environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Top class

review 21 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The entire trip was absolutely breath-taking and well planned. The highlight was Killiecrankie, beautiful scenery and magnificent food.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book the extra excursions, they are well worth it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely, the accommodations were well-chosen and not chain hotels, local people benefitted from tourism trade, and environmentally better by utilising mass transportation rather than individual car hires.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 out of 10

review 28 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

To much to tell really, everything went to your arrangements made for me. All the accomadation was excellent, The Pines certainly didn't expect that, also Hotelat Pitochry the meals you could not fault them. All as said were great. The Pitochry is 3 miles from town which certainly did not bother me at all Thanks for the great time I have had.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't know really it all went so smoothly, there are options at each place for sightseeing which I did in every place.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it is a benefit to them money for one which we all need. Everywhere travelled it was always clean know rubbish around which is great to see.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent enjoyed every minute so keep up the great service to visitors to your country.

review 21 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Not having to drive! It was actually freeing to not have to worry about renting a car, finding our way in a foreign land, etc. The trains were comfortable and a great way to travel about.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As all trips, we would've like more time in each of the locations - but especially in Edinborough and Pitlochry.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, very much. All of our accommodations were in locally owned, historic properties with attentive hosts who were happy to share stories of their establishments with us and make recommendations for local shopping and restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a first-class tour which is very well thought out and planned.

review 23 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Jacobite Express and the Killiecrankie Hotel

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to be delightfully surprised.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Taking the train was economical and local people owned and managed our accommodation. And we tasted lots of local whisky!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. We loved everything about it except that it was over too soon!

review 27 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The entire experience, although having the opportunity to visit my husband's ancestral home on Isle of Skye was a definite highlight.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The trip was very well planned, complete with pre-booked reserved seats on the trains. Travelers should make sure they understand the Scottish rail's reservation system. We had some confusion on our first leg, but were able to sort it out afterwards.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Accommodations, hosts, meals, and travel arrangements all exceeded our expectations.

review 7 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The opportunity to have assistance to plan a trip suited to our desires, time constraints, budget.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be guided by the trip plans on offer, as well as the knowledgeable staff members, but don't be afraid to ask for exactly what you want because the holiday providers staff are so helpful, flexible and obliging.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes ... Local communities benefit from tourism and train travel benefits the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent ... so easy, comfortable and enjoyable.

review 12 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Exciting was the steam train to Mallaig made very enjoyable as we were First Class. Memorable was the welcome, comfort and quality of the service and food at the Killiecrankie Hotel.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light as there is not much room for luggage on the trains

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Bringing income into the areas of Scotland supported local businesses. Travelling by local transport reduced the environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good indeed. In general and excellent holiday and a good way to see Scotland

review 27 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

1) Staying at the beautiful "Old Pines" guest house at Spean Bridge overlooking snowcapped Ben Nevis 2) Travelling on the Jacobite Steam Train. 3)The beauty of the Scottish countryside particularly on the Isle of Skye & the very hospitable taxi owners Peggy & her husband there. 4) Seeing a red squirrel at Killacrankie.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

1) Travel light (as there is not much room for luggage on the trains, & much carrying of luggage on and off trains & up stairs in accommodation (although most hosts were helpful in this regard. 2) If you have mobility difficulties you need to notify hotel hosts as only some accommodation has down stairs rooms.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes very much

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was very enjoyable and I recommend it for train enthusiasts. Although accommodation places were first class (comfortable good food etc & excellent views etc we would have preferred accommodation on Skye in walking distance to Armadale one closer to the township of Pitlochary of Pitlocary.

review 24 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We could not decide - the friendly people we encountered everywhere, the lovely accomodation booked for us, some of which also had fine dining for evening meals, the ease of train travel in Scotland, the rental car and the fun of driving for the first time on the other side of the road on Isle of Skye, and finally the amazingly beautiful vistas in the Highlands. Like "heaven on earth" - I had always dreamed of visiting Scotland but no photo can do justice to the beauty of the green hills, rugged mountains and the livestock everywhere. Tiny tea houses, scones, seafood, lamb, beef, beer and wine. Sampling Scotch Whiskey and Haggas... We loved it all.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We were thankful that we just had carry-on luggage for ease of hopping off and on trains and buses. Layers of clothing are needed to accomodate to the changing weather - we were told and do believe that there is no bad weather in Scotland, just bad wardrobe choices!! Save shopping for large wouvenirs til the end of the tour, or have items (such as pottery from Uig on Isle of Skye) shipped.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We were aware that the Scotland in general and certainly smaller centres rely on tourism to maintain their grand old manor houses and castles. We saw evidence of efforts to be "green" throughout - both in the city and moreso out in the countryside.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Cant' say enough about how much we appreciated the arrangements made for us by the operator - to be able to see so much of the country and yet enjoy a wonderful stress-free vacation - Simply ONE OF THE BEST holidays that I have every been on...I will give 4 stars only because I have had some lovely vacations in Africa and in Europe with my family - each one was the best !! But trip was much more enjoyable than I could have dreamed of.

review 28 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The way everything that was listed in the very detailed itinerary happened exactly as stated.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try to travel as light as possible

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed at several hotels and guest houses also went on 4 excursions so all these benefitted local people. All travel was by train so apart from transfers from train to accommodation and back our environmental impact was very low.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A wonderful experience

review 8 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Train journeys and particularly the West Highland Line. Enjoyed the drive round Skye though would have preferred to hire a car (too old at 77 according to the three companies we tried)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Spend more time on Skye and possibly Spean Bridge or wherever a person's interests show more to see. We were not just travelling for the train journeys.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Jobs to locals, saved cars on the roads etc

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 18 Jun 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Possibly our stay at Killiecrankie Hotel, although whole experience was memorable

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you book the taxi driver for a half day tour in Skye, the bus service is very erratic !

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope so, travelling by train and local buses instead of by car when able makes far more sense.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent holiday with wonderful hotels and superb organization, the sun followed us around Scotland ! Only very slight comment would be on the restaurant menu in Skye which is both very expensive and limited, but the pub is good !!Staff in Skye need to take lessons from the wonderful service elsewhere, particularly @killiecrankie hotel where we were met after an evening at the theatre with an umbrella and kept bar open for us to have a drink to take to the bedroom to watch the Workd Cup !

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies