10 independent reviews for Family adventure holiday to France

Reviews for Family adventure holiday to France

SHOW
8
2
0
0
0

review 5 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Blimey there were loads! As side from the white water rafting, hike to a mountain top refuge, swimming in lakes, communal living with lovely like minded families, morning yoga with the most fantastic instructor and beautiful vegetarian & vegan food............... I think the scenery which was absolutely awe inspiring. The whole family adored being outside in nature for the week.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The hike is quite 'full on' if you or your kids are aren't very sporty! But it is well worth it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The food was vegetarian and vegan (environmental impacts) Supported the local economy by attending excursions (local people) We were instructed to be very careful regarding taking our litter home wherever we went (conservation)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful :-) Saskia was a fantastic host & Jess was a fantastic chef

review 29 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The fact that every day was action packed with new adventures.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Chances are you'll really get on with the other families on the trip. Other than that, don't hike in cotton T-shirts!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Apart from driving in a car, our footprint was extremely light. We made sure we left nothing in the mountains. The holiday is all about families celebrating the amazing Alps.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 23 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful chalet in stunning surroundings and a good mixture of activities

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ensure that you pack a good mixture of clothes to suit varied alpine weather- don't bring too much though as washing machine is available

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local instructors are used for all activities and refuge for overnight sleep on hike. Food is locally sourced and prepared and living in the chalet focusses on reducing environmental impact and taught children about sustainable living

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent fun for all of the family, a great introduction to alpine activities with an amazing and knowledgeable guide

review 16 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hard to narrow this down as we enjoyed it all! Swimming in lakes and under waterfalls, making new friends and seeing our children do the same. The water rafting - was exhilarating but the morning yoga was also wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just do it! Saskia is a fabulous host and guide, her enthusiasm for meeting people and hearing their stories, together with her local knowledge made our trip fun and exciting with so much of the usual holiday stress taken care of. Jess provided us with delicious homecooked food and so much more!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I think so, we used local companies and locally sourced produce where possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Completely brilliant!

review 18 Jan 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Probably the walk to the overnight refuge. Challenging but totally worth it. Memories of my daughter playing in a mountain stream with Mount Blanc as a backdrop; the kids finding a patch of snow to play in; cheese fondue and a beer in the refuge that night. The chalet in Samoens is lovely, with stunning scenery all around. Great company and great food.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As a single parent I was slightly apprehensive. I needn't have been. Saskia is a fabulous host and my daughter loved the company of the other kids (and it was great for me to have adult company too). By coincidence we were all single parents that week. The group activities were fantastic - white water rafting being a particular highlight. Picnics by Lac Blu whilst the kids swam and did high ropes, chilling with the other parents. I could go on...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The meals and housekeeping were provided by the delightful woman living with her family in the flat below the chalet. We car shared wherever possible, walked and shopped locally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic, highly recommended. We loved it and came back fully recharged. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this holiday.

review 31 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting some fabulous people. Doing yoga before breakfast. walking up to the mountain refuge, fondue diner sleeping and walking back down. Great for single parents joining together and for children to have fun together. All the children loved playing with the snow high up in the Alps - wonderful memories created.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax, join in, enjoy. Take sports bra!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We as a group followed the National Park rules and brought all our rubbish back. we used local guides, climbing and white water rafting instructions.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Life changing in a harmonising way and getting back to nature.

review 31 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I went with my three children (aged 6,9,11). It is hard to point out the most memorable part of the holiday, as it was simply our best summer holiday ever. The chalet was beautiful and spacious, the food was delicious, our host Saskia was fantastic. The trips were well organised, exciting and well suited to our abilities. There were two other families staying the chalet with us and we made some lovely new friends, by the end of the week, it felt like we were all a big family.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We went with an open mind and embraced all the opportunities presented in terms of activities. I think this is important when you are planning to stay in a chalet with other people you don't know. We tried things we have never done before - like swimming by the waterfall, white water rafting, sleeping in the mountain refuge. So be brave and experience things together you have never done before. It's great for bonding.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Through the local activities we took part in, yes I believe we helped support local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing!

review 19 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lots of things in a really enjoyable, action-packed holiday - daily yoga, home-cooked food, a delightful, friendly host, white-water rafting, a daily freezing cold swim, climbing a mountain, the home comforts of the eco-lodge - I could go on, but I think that's probably enough...

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't rent a car on the French side of Geneva Airport! We thought it would make sense as we were going to France, but actually, the opposite is the case. Make sure each person has a rucksack of some kind for the two-day hike up and down the mountain.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we recycled our rubbish and were careful not to leave any litter on the mountain hike

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Eleven out of ten! Six stars out of five!!

review 10 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was really perfect for us. Particularly memorable was the overnight trip up to the mountain refuge and the white water rafting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, especially the local instructors. The chalet was built and run in a very environmentally respectful way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 10 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was really perfect for us. Particularly memorable was the overnight trip up to the mountain refuge and the white water rafting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, especially the local instructors. The chalet was built and run in a very environmentally respectful way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies