8 independent reviews for Sweden holidays, Wolves, Moose and Beavers

Reviews for Sweden holidays, Wolves, Moose and Beavers

SHOW
6
2
0
0
0

review 7 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Treking through the forest to listen to and listening to Wolves howl.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Research the weather and plan/pack accordingly.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it benifited awarness and the conservation of the animals. It also benifited the local businesses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

6 out of 5 stars

review 13 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Drifting along at dusk in a near-silent electric boat searching for & finally spotting a Beaver swimming in the stream.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for late finishes on the 3 days looking for the Moose, Beaver & Wolves. Take note of the suggested packing list. There's not as much free time as you might think. Be prepared to be amazed.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Locally sourced food, supported independent cafes for lunches. Minimising any disturbance to the wildlife supported conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. The guides were incredibly knowledgeable & their passion for the environment & the wildlife was inspiring.

review 14 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

ALL OF IT!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A good pair of Waterproof shoes are a must.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely, and all the food was from the locals gardens and was delicious!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10 I would go back tomorrow, loved it!

review 7 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery, the peacefulness and of course the incredible wildlife

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take welly boots along with your other foot wear! Take plenty of spare dry socks...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

5 stars. It was 5 days in total but only 3 full days but it felt a lot longer as we did so much. You could tell that a lot of thought went into the itinerary - from visiting different local cafes for lunch to the talks of the various wild animas that we saw in the evening and the day activities, hiking in the forests and canoeing on the lake to the Beaver island...

review 28 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

apart from the obvious beauty and silence - unexpectedly seeing a mink and an grey owl

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

make sure that you take the right gear and pay the extra to swap a train ticket for a taxi back to the airport

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

the impact on the locals was minimal as we only met the guides and guest house owners- the education from the guides does support conservation, but in reality anyone booking this trip would already support conservation

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

enjoyed everything except sleeping in a tent - but I knew that I wouldn't enjoy that!

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your positive feedback! It was great having you here with us. Just a note that all of our guides are local and we only work with locally owned guesthouses and restaurants, so our tours definitively have a positive impact on the local society. Hope to see you again, perhaps for a Lapland trip!

review 30 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Many memorable moments but the image which will stay in my mind for a long time is canoeing back home on a swedish lake in perfect conditions: no wind or rain, sun going down slowly, water absolutely still like a mirror, giving perfect reflections of the the forests and hills, the occasional fish jumping, osprey flying overhead. I didn't want it to end! Most exciting: bears coming up to within a few feet of the hide we were in.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This was a fairly 'full on' trip. You need good walking boots and wet weather gear. Be prepared to 'rough it' a little bit when camping and in the bear hides. Many of the animals you're looking for are nocturnal so a number of the activities started at about 5.00pm continuing well into the early hours. Remember June is 24 hours daylight in mid Sweden.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Totally, as far as possible. Most of the food was produced on the farm supporting the guest house or was purchased from local producers. The team were very aware of re-cycling/re-using or avoiding heavy packaging. Rubbish was always taken away and open fires exinguished thoroughly. We were encouraged not to use insect repellant.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was an excellent holiday experience. It ticked many boxes; our only regret is that we didn't hear/see wolves. They are very elusive! For outdoor, wildlife enthusiasts we would recommend our holiday provider wholeheartedly.

review 9 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beaver watching from a silent electric boat

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take good binoculars and midge spray

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it was thoughtfully packaged.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Expensive for what we got but put together with respect for the environment

review 20 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The best thing was hearing the wolves howl but the walk through the woods looking for signs of wolf and moose activity was also magical. Standing in the woods silently, in the dark waiting for the howl is an intense experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go determined to enjoy all parts of being in the outdoors with wildlife experts. Hearing or seeing wolves should be an extra bonus if it happens.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

A local Pension is used as one of the bases. The holiday provider has a clear focus on conservation and there was an informative lecture from a wolf expert. They were open about the tension between encouraging tourism and impacting on the wildlife.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Outstanding! This was a great part of our wider experiences in Sweden and we would have loved to spend longer with our hosts.

Read the operator's response here:

I am happy to see that you enjoyed the trip! It was great having you here with us. Come in winter next time! :)

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies