2 independent reviews for Sierra Nevada self guided walking, Spain

Reviews for Sierra Nevada self guided walking, Spain

SHOW
0
2
0
0
0

review 13 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We enjoyed the circular walk from Mecina which provided views of the gorge, valley and small villages. The walk from Trevelez to Cadiar would have been spectacular but it rained and was foggy for most of our trip. When the clouds lifted, we were impressed with the changing landscape. The "rickety" bridge crossing the rapidly flowing stream at the foot of the hill to our hotel in Cadiar provided another memorable moment.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for very wet and cold weather. Be sure to have a compass and know how to read a map.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It certainly benefitted local people since we ate local food, stayed at local hotels and made purchases in the villages.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall, we enjoyed this walk. Walking village to village, self guided, is an adventure! We requested to have dinner "on our own" in Capileira and we're glad we did as our food was very good. Our room and the food at the hotel in Mecina was the best of this walk, hands down! The hotel room in Cadiar was very cramped and our food at the included dinner was poor. It arrived cold and the "reheat" was not much better. However, as stated earlier, we enjoyed a memorable adventure!

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback and we are very happy that you enjoyed the walking experience. You were very unlucky with the weather when you were in the Sierra Nevada at the beginning of May. It was very unseasonal and cold, the average temperatures at that time of year should be 20 25 oC and dry!! All walkers should be prepared for all climates and I am glad you were. The last hotel in Cadiar had recently changed hands and there were teething problems which I have personally been to speak to the new management to make sure the food and rooms are kept to the standard we expect on our holidays. Which since then they have kept. Kindest regards, Dan Shaffrey

review 1 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Discovering an entirely new area of spectacular mountain scenery, scenic mountain villages, traditional rural practices and historic sites - and above all, the sunshine and perfect peace!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't be fooled by the relatively modest daily distances. The terrain is quite rough in places and time is needed, not just to enjoy the fabulous views and familiarise yourself with the wildlife, but also to pace yourself in the afternoon sun. We were there in late April and already the daytime temperatures were quite high.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly. The hotels and restaurants were all run by local people supplied, as far as we could tell, from local sources. We definitely felt as though we were directly interacting with the local communities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was excellent. The itinerary was extremely well planned, the walks were well chosen and the instructions and maps we were given were easy to follow. We were also provided with very comprehensive historical notes and leaflets to help us to identify the flora and fauna.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies