9 independent reviews for Montenegro mountain biking holidays, self guided

Reviews for Montenegro mountain biking holidays, self guided

SHOW
5
4
0
0
0

review 30 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole trip was memorable because of the changing scenery each day. There was a really nice contrast between the coast, the mountains and Skadar Lake, which gave us a really good insight into what Montenegro has to offer

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We did the trip in July and were a little concerned about the heat but the temperatures were not too bad (32 deg C max) if you took things relatively slowly and drank lots of water. Fitness levels need to cope with typical days of 30-40 km cycling/600m climbing on quiet asphalt roads or rough tracks.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hopefully, staying in local apartments, using a local travel agency and eating in small, family run restaurants provided some benefit to the local economy. And cycling is pretty enviromentally friendly!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really enjoyed it and would definitely go back to Montenegro. The people we met were very welcoming and the tour agency staff were really kind and helpful.

review 9 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We did 250 km by bike in 7 days. All the rides were great, there was a special one, when we had to bike through a 1.3 km long tunnel inside the mountain, and we met a lot of cows obstructing the exit....

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't be afraid of self guided rides, we had constant back up from the operator, and they did all the changes that we asked for, even when we didn't think like a hotel, or an itinerary.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Of course, we did a very environment friendly trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an unforgettable holiday, we highly recommend this kind of rides.

review 24 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling down the mountain to Lake Skadar on day 4.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

July is a bit hot for cycling in Montenegro, we only saw 3 other cyclists in our 6 days!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in local hotels, so I guess we supported the local economy. We didn't need to hire a car whilst away, which is what we usually do on holiday, however, our luggage had to be transported by car on the transfer days. I saw no facilities for recycling in Montenegro. As it was so hot, it was inevitable that we bought drinks whilst on the road and these were often only sold in plastic bottles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We enjoyed this holiday, but it was quite hard cycling, especially as we weren't really mountain bikers (I booked that bit by mistake - I choose the holiday as the daily mileage was shorter than a conventional road cycling holiday!). The scenery in Montenegro is stunning, but the mountains are huge it could take us 2 hours to get up one, but coming down the other side was fabulous. Our guide, Zoran was really helpful, especially when my chain broke on the 5th day. The guide notes we were given we ok (definitely no GPS as mentioned on the web-site), there are very few signs in Montenegro so it is quite easy to get lost, one day we failed to find a mountain track (which didn't really matter as we were able to stay on a tarmac road) and another day we almost headed into a 1.6km tunnel with no lights, so had to back-track a few km to get to where we were supposed to be! I think we are all fitter than when we left, but were very pleased to have arranged 3 days extra days in Kotor at the end to chill. The tour operator was very reliable and professional in their organisation of the holiday, would definitely recommend using this company again.

review 12 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The views. Just breathtaking

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do some training and bring water

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Loved it. Wish i was still on it. The guys who organised were so helpful and nice.

review 9 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Mountain biking in the area around Lake Skadar and in remote mountain areas. Wildlife was really amazing there.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The tours are possible for bikers without mountain biking experience as technically not difficult. However good fitness is mandatory. Book an extra day at Lake Skadar for having a break in the middle of the tour. In the morning or evening do a birdwatch boat tour on a small boat (25 euro per hour for the boat if you book on the street). You may see pelikans, but for sure amazing nature.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Most accommodations were small local hotels and apartments. The agency conducted the tour was local and very competent and friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great experience and very well organised!

review 15 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's hard to pick one part that was the most memorable! It was amazing to spend so much time on a bicycle, seeing the scenery change so much in such a short distance - from bay views to national park to old capital city to lakes to mountain passes and back to the coast again. Montenegro is definitely perfect to explore by bike. The routes were a fantastic mix of national park roads, old unused roads and some exciting off road sections, which meant we were experiencing so much nature and not very much traffic. The views were absolutely incredible each day and with the - it meant that we could pace ourselves well and know when to break for snacks / rests. Getting to see all of the towns was an exciting part of the trip, as we stayed in Kotor, Cetinje, Virpazar and Budva we definitely got to see a few different sides to local life in Montengro. Some days the route took us from town to town (so from lodgings to lodgings) - this made the journey rewarding and made us feel like we were covering a whole lot of ground.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do it!! It was an amazing activity holiday packed full of lovely views, climbs, freewheeling and some city chilling. Thoroughly enjoyed seeing how beautiful Montenegro is, but the experience was heightened being on a bike. I put in no training, which didn't stand to me, but my boyfriend had been cycling daily for 6 weeks (not a huge distance each day but some kind of cycling). He was much better able to handle any inclines, whereas it took me halfway through the holiday to get fully into pacing myself. Make sure you bring cycling gloves and shorts! Without those it would have been an uncomfortable week. Much of the cycling is on old military roads and asphalt roads but some of it is quite technically challenging according to my downhill-biking partner...try to have a little bit of experience at this or be prepared to take it a bit easier. We visited in early October, the weather was perfect with just one day (the very last!) of pouring rain but we managed to finish having completed all of the routes and without having to ring our guides for directions! Summer heat wouldn't have suited us Irelanders.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. From our accommodation to our guides there was definitely a homegrown and local sense to the place.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A most scenic, rewarding and relaxing holiday. The 7 day self guided tour really gave us an insight to Montenegro past and present. Our bikes were well maintained and suited to the terrain, the routes were well explained (maps provided) and our guides were great - always available to text or ring with any queries and I'm sure they would have been happy to suggest alternative routes should we have required them. A little more suited to someone with a keen interest in biking and the outdoors. Accommodation was always very comfortable and breakfast was tasty and flexible timewise. For our first cycling holiday it really was an amazing experience and I am definitely tempted to pursue activity holidays in future.

review 29 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We really enjoyed a challenging cycle in the morning, made more so by 40 degrees heat in July, with fantastic views of the mountains, coast and lake. Some long, sweeping, traffic-free downhills were good fun. The roads were relatively traffic-free and motorists considerate, giving a beep just to let you know they were there. Rehydration in the form of beer and cool-off by swims in clear waters was the pattern of the afternoons. The tour was good in terms of mileage and allowed us to explore the region. We found everyone that we came into contact with very pleasant and welcoming. Vlado was on call at any time and explained the routes well, he also answered the many, many questions on Montenegro that we fired at him. The small hotel called Babilon with it's own frontage on the Bay of Kotor (table for two at sunset) was our favorite place but all of the overnight bed and breakfasts suited us very well. Fresh fish and the wine of Montenegro rounded off the days. A great mix of physical activity, relaxation, sunshine and the reassurance that we were being looked after made this a holiday that we would recommend to anyone who also enjoys variety in their days.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

There is alot of cycling on road and the mountain bikes suited the gradient and the roughness of some surfaces, whist not being technically demanding in MTB terms. Ladies might want to request a women's saddle before setting off! July this year was pretty hot for the long uphills.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Although our bags were transferred by car, our touring around by bike and foot had little environmental impact. We spread our spending amongst a number of small, local establishments. (We had a cup of tea on a mountain and were given apricots for the remainder of the journey.) We paid small entry prices for historical sites that will go towards their conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good. A 'full' week.

review 28 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking through virgin woodland in Biogradska Gora to a traditional mountain farming community and staying with a very friendly shepherd, who looked after us all superbly. All the Montenegrans we met were extremely kind, friendly and helpful making for a great holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Speak directly with the holiday operators to tailor make your perfect holiday.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Staying in small and locally run accommodation and participating in activities run by local guides benefits the local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A great trip to a stunning country.

review 10 Jun 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved to be in the area of the Skaddar lake!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Leave the Adriatic coast which is to busy and to artificial and enter in the country , discovering the real Monténégro

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Difficult to say , but in working with a small company we are convinced that the foreign big companies won't take their percentage to Our travel.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

As I got commentaries from My friends ( 29 people) , That loved Their holiday in Monténegro and they are ready to comme back as soon as possible.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies