59 independent reviews for Finland Northern Lights holiday, Wilderness Auroras

Reviews for Finland Northern Lights holiday, Wilderness Auroras

SHOW
46
13
0
0
0

review 16 Mar 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The husky sledding was my favorite part. We finished and were handed a cup of coffee and a puppy - what's not to love!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We decided to head into the city and watch an ice hokey game. It was a great change of pace and a lot of fun!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We carpooled to the airport which was a nice touch. The guides were all local and were treated really well by our hotel who gave them coffee and treated them like family.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a fantastic experience. I would go again in a heartbeat.

review 13 Mar 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the Northern lights 3 nights in a row and driving the huskies and sled.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Use handwarmers.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We loved every minute. Such a wonderful experience.

review 12 Mar 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Dog sledding and meeting some great people

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Hotel Korpikartano is wonderful but basic but warm, comfortable beds, great wholesome food and in the middle of nowhere. The tip I would I share is to stay in the main house as there is a lounge and hood to congregate and make friends and take some snacks as there are no shops locally.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely benefited local people with the trips organised with locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Perfect

review 10 Mar 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the Northern Lights.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it as soon as you can. Even if you don't see the Northern Lights, everyone at Menesjarvi will help you enjoy your time there and each day is full of new adventures.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The reindeer farmers and the husky drivers were locals with expertise in their fields who respected their environment and were keen to pass on their knowledge. Local people were employed and involved in all areas and happy to speak about Lapland and it's traditions. The nature trails close to the hotel were informative and the guides knowledgeable. As guests we were reminded to be closely aware of our environmental impact on such a beautiful and sensitive area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Such a lot packed into such a short space of time, yet at no time did we feel rushed as everything was so beautifully organised

review 10 Mar 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Actually all of the holiday was memorable and no one part was better than the other. This was due to the variety of activities provided.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Have an open mind and dont go for one thing in particular

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely all three.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

100 % would go back tomorrow. But seriously will be looking to return.

review 5 Mar 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cuddling husky puppies!! Have to recommend the hotel food too. Good selection, tasty, plenty of it and fresh, local ingredients.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you do some active things as it keeps you much warmer to enjoy the aurora once it does turn up! Snowshoe Aurora evening was my favourite. Get chatting to the staff, they are all lovely.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Most of the hotel staff were Finnish. They did all the usual conservation things like encouraging you not to wash towels every day. Hotel largely made of local wood.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent! Such a warm welcome and everyone keen to make our trip special. From explaining local customs, being understanding of food sensitivities and even coming to collect me when my injured back decided it couldn't take the bumpy snowmobile... Such lovely people, highly recommended.

review 1 Mar 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole trip surpassed our expectations with the husky experience being our number one. The trip was followed by family and friends on social media and has been the topic of conversation since we returned.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Definitely book this trip but balance evening activities with daytime...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The guides were very knowledgable and endeavoured to consider the environment at all times

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

5 star...I have recommended the tour company to all of my family, friends and colleagues...

review 27 Feb 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Quality time spent as a family doing really fun activities. Made lots of wonderful memories! Everyone had a favorite activity from dog sledding to snowmobiling on the frozen Baltic Sea to simply sledding with the other kids at the lodge.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Very young children have less things to do there. Recommend gilders to be 10 or older. Food is really high quality and the lodge had a hot tub you can rent for an hour at a time. Purchase the lunches since there isn’t a way to go to a grocery store on your own.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the tour operators were local businesses, so felt we supported the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a trip of a lifetime! We even got to see the Northern Lights!

review 24 Feb 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The driving of the husky sled for half a day. The dogs are clearly well looked after and just loved to be running. They were very affectionate afterwards, which was a bit unexpected. The time with the reindeer herder was great, as was the aurora hunting and ice fishing using snowmobiles.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Very warm overclothes, in the form of a snow suit and snow boots are provided, so just ensure that you take warm underlayers, mid-layers, and a good fleece for underneath, as well as a good hat and balaclava. The hotel itself was very warm indeed, even when minus 20 outside, with lovely showers and food, so no worries there whatsoever. Ensure that you read up guidance on how to take aurora photos - although a tripod can be borrowed, bring a cable release too, for example.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Great local food (sea trout, pike, moose, reindeer, etc., and many dishes made with local berries). The days with the reindeer herder, the dog sled organiser, etc were all with local people, who clearly treated their animals very well indeed.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A brilliant week, with extremely friendly and helpful staff, Sophie especially. Great food (3 meals a day!), and we even saw the aurora on two late evenings out on the lake, although it was apparently stunning the following week!

review 20 Feb 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We can't pick a favourite because every part was absolutely fantasticabd so interesting! All staff and local guulides were so knowledgeable and passionate about theit work. We were very lucky to see the Northern Lights on three nights out of 4. Sophie's photography tips were most helpful! The lake location was simply stunning and very peaceful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Hand and feet warmers an absolute must!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We felt like the trip really supported the local people, providing jobs and extra income.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Ten out of ten. Would highly recommend this trip! We loved every single minute and would gladly do it all over again!

review 20 Feb 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Snow shoeing in the dark and seeing the northern lights, snowmobiling at sunset, cross country skiing and amazing food and welcoming staff

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try out as many activities as you can.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely benefited the local community, I’d say increased environmental impact bit that goes with the tourism business in general. I didn’t get a big sense of conservation so support

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing, fabulous and memorable Five star

review 15 Feb 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All - from daytime Snow Mobile tour around lake, together with a Night searching of Northern Lights, Sledding with Huskies, Ice Fishing, Reindeer visit with ride through forest, bonus to see small showing of Northern Lights. Information from owners of Reindeers and Huskies very interesting on past and present family life, showed their love for their animals and makes you realise/understand their culture should be supported, not destroyed. A wonderful, but hard life, slow pace, healthy environment.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't take too many clothes, you can't see what is underneath the suits provided!!!! - just ensure they keep you warm. Sauna and shower available after activities.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, locals do benefit and work hard to maintain their culture, which is needed in this fast moving world, a world which tends to lean towards getting as much in materials in life as possible, whatever the consequences. The worlds pace increases world problems. We are now repairing the damage we have caused over the past, fast advanced technology years. We have to go forward, but not damage what good we have created in the past.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful insight to a beautiful Country. The wilderness is something for all to experience, no matter what age, tranquility at its best.

review 14 Feb 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The organised 'out or the ordinary' activities.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you physically fit (not athletic!) but good walking mobility. Have the facility to take loads of photo's.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

There is a clear benefit to the local community via tourism and this helps them to maintain the local environment as a natural habitat. The fact that all the activities are based on site reduces excessive travel and its environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

For us, the journey (flights) there was stressful, but well worth it once there. I would love to repeat it again and take my family with me.

review 13 Feb 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Every single minute of it! I have totally fallen in love with the country and the Northern Lights Village

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book all trips/activities before you go

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I would hope so. As it was clearly a ski/winter activity town then tourism is surely important

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely and totally incredible. From booking the holiday through this operator, to arriving at the Northern Lights Village and getting home again, it was all so easy. The Northern Lights Village at Saariselkä is a wonderful place with cosy cabins, friendly staff and lovely food. I can’t fault any of it

review 13 Feb 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of it was super memorable, but the icing on the cake was witnessing the Northern Lights on the evening of day 3.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you have plenty of layers.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, in many ways. The staff at the hotel, the reindeer herder, and the dog-sled operators would have all benefitted.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This has been the best holiday I have had. It wasn’t just a holiday, but it was also a series of wonderful experiences. The visit to the reindeer farm, sitting round a campfire in a forest, surrounded by reindeer, drinking coffee and chatting with the herder was something I’ll never forget.

review 24 Jan 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The morning spent with the Sami reindeer herder was very special. We had a beautiful glowing dawn light; on one side the sky was yellow, the other – pastel pink and blue hues as we were whisked off into the snowy wilderness on sleds lead by a herder and his father. We travelled along a forest track, across a lake where a couple of reindeer galloped past us, through more forest for what seemed like a long (but awesome) time until we stopped in the forest suddenly surrounded by reindeer as the herders threw out hay to them. The main herder made up a fire which we then all sat round, and chatted to him about his life while he made us coffee on the fire and handed round cinnamon rolls made by his wife. It was only a small group of us and it felt very intimate and genuine. A slow paced and back to nature experience, surrounded by the silence of the forest, the glow in the sky and the reindeer who are simply gorgeous. A very close second to this was the husky sledding. It was really easy to drive the sled and you feel really connected with the dogs and the landscape as you slide across the lake in a way that doesn't compare on a snow mobile which is noisy, bumpy and smelly... Ok the dog's have their smelly moments too but you can forgive nature!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

1. Don't worry about the cold – I really feel the cold usually but with all the gear they give you, you'll be fine, especially when you are doing the physical activities like snowshoeing and cross country skiing – you will actually get hot! The only times you might feel the bite is on the more stationary activities – husky sledding, standing around to wait for the lights or snowmobiling (when a passenger – if driving the handle bars are heated), etc. I would advise taking hand warmers to put in your gloves and boots as it's the fingers and toes that feel it most. However I think it was unseasonally milder than usual when we went – around minus 8/10 and maximum cold was -20 when we were there (early Jan). But it's a drier sort of cold than back home in the UK and just feels different. We didn't really have any wind though so that could make a difference. Snoods/balaclavas for your face are also good but again you can borrow these from the equipment room which has just about anything you need (except the hand warmers). 2. Don't be put off by any of the activities. I was a little daunted to drive the snowmobile on our first time which was at night, so let my partner drive. But I had a go the second time during the day and it was actually pretty easy. Driving the husky sled was much more fun though, I definitely want to do that again! 3. The food at the hotel is hearty, delicious and plentiful. Lunch time options are just as big as dinner time. I'll never forget that salmon soup (*Homer Simpson style drool*.) If you are a vegetarian you will be catered for too. It's all self service in a canteen style dining room and you can buy alcohol from the kitchen staff here if you wish. 4. You will have shampoo, conditioner and a hair dryer in your room. 5. There is not a huge amount of downtime but we did get one a free morning and an eve. On your own time you can use anything from the equipment room (snowshoes, cross country skis, kicksleds etc) or block out time in the sauna for your own private useage or make a fire in the kota (Lappish hut) all of which is great. 6. You will get a chance to spend some money on souvenirs in Inari when you visit the museum.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely. A lot of the guides and staff at the hotel are local Sami people. You are staying in a Sami village which I think has only about 40 residents probably a lot of which work at/for the hotel where you stay as I'm not sure what else there is in the “village” - you are totally in the wilderness here, I only saw a few holiday cabins on the lake most of which seemed empty. Visiting the reindeer herder and taking the husky sledding is supporting local livelihoods and keeping traditions alive. There are a few souvenir items such as postcards and calendars at reception you can buy and the money goes towards the local school which some of the staff's children attend. I bought myself a beautiful pair of socks, hand knitted by the chef, which I will treasure as a memento of my trip and feel good to know the money will go to help the local school. A lot of the food is local produce – local fish such as pike and salmon, lingonberries, blueberries and cloudberries used in the sweets. And of course reindeer (I know, I know!) Although I love the reindeer, it just feels like a more natural circle of life to eat them when you are there and see how it directly supports the local Sami people's livelihoods. It's not like the mass produced factory farm meat back home. The hotel only wash your towels every 3 days to save water. You will visit the Sami museum in Inari on one day and get a chance to spend some money in the village – there are a few souvenir shops, bars and restaurants in Inari.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was fantastic! I honestly can't fault it. The activities are awesome and were so different from anything else we've done before. The hotel was toasty warm, with cute little nooks to chill out in, traditional sauna and kotas. The guides and hotel staff were all friendly, patient and kind. Then there is of course the landscape, so quiet and serene, crisp and beautiful. I've never known such silence as when we first stepped out onto the frozen Lake Menesjarvi and looked around us 360 degrees, it was almost like being on the moon! Everyone of course wants to know if you saw the Northern Lights when you return. We unfortunately did not see them but we had such a great time regardless that we genuinely didn't mind too much. A massive thank you to all the local staff at the hotel and to the operator for all the organisation on making this is a really memorable and authentic trip to the Lappish wilderness. We would both love to go back soon!

review 20 Jan 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Going out onto the frozen lake , seeing a brief glimpse of the Northern lights and the beauty of such an unspoilt Landscape

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take lots of base layers - and warm socks

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as we stayed with local people and the trips were taken by local people

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An amazing place to go and experience and do things you have not done before-It was magical

review 17 Jan 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I shall never forget the exhilaration of the husky safari, the magic of the reindeer appearing through the snowy forest or the wonderland joy of seeing northern lights dancing in the sky.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The cold weather gear provided is excellent, hand and foot warming pads were effective so the only bit of me that ever got cold was my face and my glasses steamed up when I put a scarf over my nose! . The hotel provides toiletries and hair dryer so you don’t need to take either with you. Driving Huskies and a ski mobile seemed a bit daunting initially but both proved easy to do -make sure you give it a go.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Flights and ski mobile usage aside- provided local employment benefits .I felt we experienced authentically Finnish hospitality at the hotel. The staff were all accommodating and friendly. Home cooked food served buffet style to avoid wastage. Activities put on by local people who were all very welcoming. Nature Information on woodland walk promoted care and concern for environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a truly wonderful holiday , lovely group of fellow travellers, beautiful location , cosy and comfy hotel and well spaced amazing activities. The only additional expense were alcohol and souvenirs. Thanks to everyone involved - the holiday exceeded my expectations!

review 20 Feb 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the Northern lights 3 nights in a row!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you pack extra warm thermal socks

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good

review 26 Dec 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Definitely seeing the northern lights on our last night there. Visit with reindeer herder great. Guides are v good especially Sophie!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don’t over-pack as a lot of the clothing and equipment are provided. Be prepared to be cold.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

To a degree.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous and a wonderful experience. Did things we have never done before.

review 19 Dec 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The all experiences were great , just arrived from my trip exhausted but happy , it was a holiday of a life time , the people made you feel welcome , the food was good , going on the snowmobile in the dark on a frozen lake was excited , visiting the reindeer herder’s and listening to their stories ,husky Safari was great . I did not feel too well after 2 hrs ride at -18 • , but they took great care of me . The greatest feeling is that there is no air or sound pollution , one can experience what wildness is all about , complete stillness and silence .

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don’t think twice , just book and go . I must say that responsible travel done a good job , the people that travel with me was a small group , good ,friendly and caring .Don’t take to many clothes they provide you with lots of warm clothing .

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the hotel used local produced , they do a lot for the environment and also keep there culture going , the trade is passed from generation to generation . There is no air or light pollution .

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would give it a 5 stars , because the holidays has been well researched and planed ,to give satisfaction .

review 19 Dec 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Dog sledging and aroura

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The clothing they provide is great so need to take big boots etc but sill take good layers of socks and under garments

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Lots of people benifitted taxi, guides, deer herders etc. However fridges running all the time and not easy to switch off

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic

review 7 Dec 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The hotel and its natural surroundings and the reindeer experience which we found extremely interesting and authentic

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you want snacks or treats there’s no bar.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We believe it helped local people by giving business to them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic value for money and just a genuinely exciting and original authentic holiday, off the beaten track.

review 31 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the Northern Lights 2, out of the 4 nights of my stay.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Expect excellent service and accommodations.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The best, ever!!

review 15 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Mixing with wild reindeer!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It gets VERY cold so make sure that you have lots of layers. It is also quite an active holiday so not suitable for people with mobility issues. And don't expect great things of the accommodation or food. It is quite basic.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Well we did learn about the local culture and traditions and provided income to local suppliers.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday met or exceeded our expectations on all levels. However a small caveat - we have done this sort of holiday before so knew what to expect. I am going to give it 5 stars but that does not mean 5 star luxury!!

review 23 Feb 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the Northern Lights, husky sledging, snowshoeing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Hand and foot warmers are fantastic!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

People were employed. The guides were excellent ambassadors for the area - increased awareness of the later start of winter.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - we have been recommending it to everyone!

review 9 Feb 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Difficult to go for one thing as it was all very memorable and exciting - the mix of the absolutely stunning location, the hotel, staff, activities and the obliging Aurora all combined to make this an absolutely brilliant holiday! If pushed I would say that one of the most memorable single events was being in the forest with Petri and his reindeer.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of good warm layers, be prepared to be out and about a lot and give everything a go.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. The hotel was obviously mindful of reducing impact on the environment and supported the local Sami people through directly arranging for groups to spend time with their Sami neighbour and raising awareness generally about the Lapland environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Extremely highly. The hotel is not a luxury place but had everything we could need, it was very warm and comfortable, with delicious food (home cooked using local ingredients), an unbeatable location, and a really committed, skilled, cheerful and caring team of staff all doing their bit to make everything we did was very smoothly organised and successful.

review 31 Jan 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was amazing the best I’ve ever been on! The home cooked food, the staff, the planned activities, transfer all was top notch ten out of ten!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Listen to the staff they will advise how to make sure you dress correctly for the extreme temperature and look at the list of items which you should take with you to ensure you are ready for the extreme cold.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Most definitely!!! It’s life changing and I feel humbled to have been lucky enough to have been to this amazing part of this world.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Ten out of ten simply the best!

review 30 Jan 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was a fantastic holiday to me from 20th until 24th Jan 2019, our group witnessed the Auroras on 21st & 22nd night. It was amazing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Hotel Korpikartano has the best location to chase the Northern Lights, and special thank to the staff (James) on his kind assistance given to me.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not really.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

5 star!!!!

review 27 Jan 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Northern Lights displays over the frozen lake. We were lucky enough to get three nights' worth. On the final one the show was high overhead and when my camera battery finally died after two hours in -28C, I just lay down in the snow on the ice and watched the aurora flicker and coil like a Chinese dragon dance.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of warm UK winter clothes - we arrived to -31C and I wore every stitch I'd got under the padded all-in-one icesuit, balaclava, hat, ice boots, socks and monster mittens provided. Also, at that temperature, a small camera and tripod you can just tuck inside your clothes will keep you snapping longer. Spare batteries for bigger, fancier cameras are a must. The cold is a killer for technology. However, some of the newer smart phones produced amazingly good results. Top tips: take thin tech sensitive gloves for operating cameras in the cold, and a flattering woolly hat for over the balaclava - it'll be in all your pictures!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, up to a point. Not sure flying visitors in to go snowmobiling reduces environmental impact, but meals at the hotel (Korpikartano) were excellent and cooked on the premises with good local ingredients. The hotel is in an old school, now providing employment and raising awareness about the Sami people - through trips such as Petri Mattus's delightful introduction to his reindeer farm and the Sami museum in Inari.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was brilliant! I'm still coming down to earth.

review 29 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything! from start to finish

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack wool items. Take loose fitting wool items to put under your suit. The suits come in all sizes so no problem if you are big or small, you will find one to fit. Don't bother bringing gloves or special boots as they provide these.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 2 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Obviously seeing the Aurora was the best part of the holiday however the Husky safari was a big tick off the bucket list.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring a tripod! Hand warmers too!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday supported the local population through our tours and excursions.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was indeed a once in a lifetime experience! Our holiday was the best and something we will never forget.

review 15 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Northern lights - though husky sledging pretty good and reindeer herding exceeded expectations.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to get cold.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not sure - certainly contributed to economy which should help local people and environmentally neutral least- I hope.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great!

review 15 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Snowmobiling across a frozen lake lit by the most starry sky I have ever seen.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it. An amazing experience.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The hotel was new and must have had a positive impact on the area by opening up so many jobs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A very different holiday. At home we seemed to be experiencing such a long drawn out winter and I seriously wondered why we were going so far north to experience freezing conditions instead of heading for the sun, but it was absolutely worth it. Snowmobiling, dog sledding and snow shoeing were all brilliant ways to experience this pristine wilderness and we saw the most amazing aurora display!

review 1 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Now that’s a tricky one as the whole holiday was fab. But, if I had to choose something on pain of death I would say the husky ride, it was amazing. The dogs are so friendly and very well looked after and the enthusiasm they show when you arrive for your trip is infectious.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is not a glam holiday, leave all your glamour at home. For example don’t even think about wearing mascara you come back with panda eyes as the cold freezes your eye lashes, not an attractive look even in the middle of nowhere. Seriously, the main point is to make sure you wrap up warm.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not sure about benefiting local people as we only met the tour guides. Supporting conservation and reducing environmental impacts I am not sure. I hope so as everything you do is done in a natural environment and hopefully it stays that way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a fab introduction to the World of Cold and the pre holiday staff, staff at the resort, tours were excellent. I am already looking to book my next holiday with Responsible Travel for next year. I was very impressed with their help and guidance. Thanks guys.

review 1 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The day we spent with the Reindeer herder, sitting around the fire drinking coffee outside in the snow covered forest clearing with all the reindeer milling around us. It was so interesting hearing all about Petri's lifestyle, and the Sami culture, a real privilege.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of layers, especially woollen socks! Take mittens instead of gloves. Be aware that if you are lucky enough to see the Northern lights, they will not necessarily look coloured to the naked eye.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday benefitted local people in terms of employment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an excellent trip from beginning to end. Very well organised, friendly helpful, knowledgable guides. Comfortable, cosy hotel, exciting excursions, and the weather was fantastic!!!

review 23 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the northern lights every night and husky experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Prepare for the cold! Big baggy thick socks!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Maybe helped locals with the tourism business

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fantastic trip

review 20 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery was outstanding and the friendliness and knowledge of the staff was superb. We really enjoyed the husky safari, but all of the activities (i.e. reindeer safari, snowshoe walks, Kota dinner and snowmobile trips) we excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The arctic kit that was supplied was essential, but also take lots of layers as it gets unbelievably cold in the evening.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Outstanding, despite the fact that we had cloud on all but our last evening so our viewing of the aurora borealis was very limited.

review 22 Jan 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The spectacular wilderness of Lapland, exciting activities which involved seeing more of that wilderness and interacting with some of the animals. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff at Northern Lights village, seeing the lights, and meeting guides who were local to the area so had great knowledge of the people, flora and fauna.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Choose your activities wisely and book them in advance. Do your research so you know what you hope to get out of the holiday. Listen to the guides - they have a great deal of invaluable local knowledge. Go with an open mind. be as healthy as you can when you go.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I very much hope so and did get that impression. Food and services were local wherever possible it seemed and the training and management of the animals is respectful and responsible. The animals are clearly happy and healthy and where it is feasible, they return to their packs during the summer months.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous.

review 21 Jan 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many amazing sifts and experiences. We did everything and more than expected. Northern lights were amazing but so were the night time bonfires under the stars, dog sledding, skidooing, snowshoeing, cross country skiing photos on the bridge by the Russian border at night with Anthony and just the beautiful scenery. More light than expected in the day even though the sun did not rise above the horizon. Everything was paid before we went so did not grudge €16 per evening for a large glass of chianti with evening meal (except if night skidooing).

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty layers and merino socks. Bring good quality waterproof and warm boots well up the calf in case of very thick snow or slush on the lakes. All wool underwear in thin layers. I wore all my ski gear as well under the allinone suit provided when it was -20C

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it was all worked out to fit in with nature and the local Sami culture. Another highlight was the reindeer farm visit by skidoo and the salmon soup and cheese tiastie lunches by the campfire most days

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing five stars++++

review 19 Jan 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of it but the aurora was obviously the highlight

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take lots of layers

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fantastic experience from beginning to end, the staff at the hotel were extremely welcoming and helpful throughout

review 25 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The auroras which we saw from the hotel lake 3 nights out of 4.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

No need to take many changes of clothes. The atmosphere is very informal and as it is a short holiday, you end up wearing practically the same clothes every day!And the thermal oversuits we were issued with are very warm.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. It was good that we could visit a husky farm and experience the Sami way of living, thus contributing some much needed money to complement the revenue derived from their traditional activities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Magical! Such a beautiful place.The location of the hotel by the frozen lake is stunning and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. (Just one small negative comment from my point of view is that the holiday was a little too rushed due to the variety of activities on offer in such a short space of time. There wasn't enough time, in my view to rest, relax, explore, contemplate and simply be! Why not make it one week instead of 4 days? That would be perfect!!)

review 23 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The morning with Petri and his reindeer was a real authentic Sami/Finnish experience and a real privilege to be with him and be invited into his home. If you fancy getting close up and personal with reindeer there really can't be a better opportunity. But there were also so many other highlights, 3 nights of Aurora was amazing, meeting the huskies and driving a sled through the wilderness and just being in a truly awe inspiring landscape.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do not underestimate the cold. In our 4 nights we had a temp range of -12 to -26 and taking gloves off to take photos can become a real chore. Take plenty of layers and keep them lose fitting not tight (inc 3 pairs of socks at a time). Take hand warmers (for feet as well) and a full face balaclava if possible. The hotel is cosy and the people very friendly but don't have too high an expectation of the accommodation. Rooms can be very basic and there is no choice of meal (except veg option) but the food is hearty and delicious and perfect for the climate. We enjoyed every meal.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it definitely benefited local people, brought money into the area and was positive from an environmental perspective. The only negative would be the snowmobile which kick out exhaust but are great fun to drive.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Activities 5* General accommodation 4* Room 3* but our friends had a much nicer room!

review 21 Dec 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The husky safari was the most memorable. Seeing the Northern Lights was amazing, but all the activities we did exceeded my expectations.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It feels like a lot of money for a short experience, but it is totally worth every penny. Dress casually around the hotel - no need to pack anything smart. Pack lots of thermal layers and hand/feet warmers (one day it was -24). A good camera and tripod are a must for Northern Lights.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It obviously gave jobs to local people and helped support traditional jobs like reindeer herding. I would be interested to know how environmentally friendly using the snow mobiles was and if the dogs used for sledding are bred/treated responsibly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing. Truly unforgettable, I loved every minute of it.

review 20 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The reindeer farm was a great day out. Then seeing the northern lights which lasted for hours and just got better and better.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just do it. It may seem a great expense but it is very much a once in a lifetime experience.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The local farmers and shops very much depend on us going there.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Out of 10, 11!!

review 12 Dec 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the lights & huskies.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As for the final itinerary before you leave

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The locals where incredibly friendly and welcoming to us, so you I think they see a benefit in tourism.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9/10

review 21 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Having glimpsed the Northern Lights on our first night, although lessened somewhat by the presence of a full and powerfully bright moon, we were happy that we did not have to return without a story to tell. The next two nights though were overcast and there was no further sign of the Aurora. On our last day it snowed, so we were not expecting much from the skies. I was resigned to another dark night. At least we hadn't completely missed the Lights, and the rest of the trip was so enjoyable I was not disappointed with having come. However, around 8.00 pm the skies cleared and what followed was awe-inspiring! We experienced one of the most amazing displays of electrically charged particles the Aurora has to offer ... one of the top three of the season according to our guide.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take no more than two outfits to wear around the lodge (you can get by with just one if you prefer!), and take layers for wearing under the gear provided. Some good thermals and a couple of long sleeved t-shirts will suffice. No one dresses up for dinner, and you never go outside without your warm one-piece suit and boots. You only need to bring one coat to get to and from the airport.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Visiting with the reindeer herder and taking the husky safari were both highlights of the trip, and it was obvious that our presence was a financial bonus to them at a time when they would otherwise have had little work.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a very special trip. Every day was well balanced, with plenty of activities but enough time to relax and do our own thing. Everyone involved was delightful. The hotel, while relatively basic, was clean and comfortable, and the food provided was superb. Our particular group consisted of four couples, and I feel we have made friends for life.

review 17 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The highlight for me was the Aurora. This was made even more special by our night drive on the snowmobiles across the frozen lake to get the best viewing. One of my best experiences ever!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack light and only what you really need. All outdoor wear is provided so you only need base layers. Don't forget to protect any exposed skin, particularly your lips, against the cold.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Overall I would say yes to benefitting local people and is one of the reasons why I chose this particular trip over some others. I can't in all honesty say that the use of the snowmobile had no environmental impact and I did enjoy these myself. However, the reindeer herders also use them so I appreciate that they are a necessary transport for this environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A truely special and educational experience.

review 27 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part of the holiday was standing on the middle of a frozen lake watching the northern lights dancing in the sky, magical and breathtaking at the same time.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't expect The Ritz, the hotel is clean and functional and fitting of its environment. Take plenty of thin layers to wear, it gets very cold although I'm sure you'll be expecting that in the Arctic!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The excursions we took, husky sledging and the reindeer herder were obviously genuine locals letting us into their lives rather than tourist attractions, if we help them to survive in difficult circumstances so much the better.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a fantastic time, a great group of people there at the same time to share the experiences made it even more enjoyable.

review 27 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Even if we hadn't been able to see a wonderful display of the Northern Lights on our last night the variety of the activities and the friendliness of all the people we met, the cold, the setting of the accommodation made this a memorable holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack lots of thin layers rather than a smaller number of thicker ones as the outer garments provided were more than sufficient to keep us warm. A pair of silk gloves was also a useful investment. Any questions or concerns just ask a member of staff.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. It was good to meet people, such as the reindeer herder and the husky personnel, who were genuinely interested in the welfare of their animals. We were also impressed with the warm and friendly welcome from all the staff whose livelihood depends to a large extent on outside visitors such as ourselves.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant - it surpassed our expectations and was one of the best short breaks we have done.

review 10 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything because it was a new experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Let the company do it all for you. Trust your guide.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 out of 10.

review 7 Mar 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Every minute I spent in Finland was truly memory making! To walk in snowy woods along paths through the trees, to hear nothing but the sound of my breath was so soul restoring. Every aspect of the trip was wonderful, the activities were tailored to individual needs, the guides and staff at the lodge were knowledgeable, helpful and good company in every way. All in all it was a truly wonderful winter break in every way. To sum up standing on a frozen lake gazing at a star filled sky at midnight then being blessed with the light show of ones dreams! That's one memorable night! Thank you all who were responsible for making it happen.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy every minute, take plenty of light warm layers and have lots of fun!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As Finland is suffering in this economic climate any thing to bring tourists is a good thing the country is vast and has huge tracks of wilderness so can take more tourist activity done in a sustainable way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 9 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved it all, from the shock of the cold when we landed, all of the activities, the people, the landscape, the food, the accommodation and the warm welcome and care of all the staff - truly fantastic.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just get base layers, all you need for the cold is provided.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all of this

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best holidays we have ever had

review 2 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Catching the northern lights twice! This was just before Christmas night when the moon was shining bright and to be able to capture it all on digital camera despite the freezing -20c temperature on that night.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You have to be fit to be able to enjoy the snowshoeing and crosscountry skiing. Skiing involves quite a bit of your thigh muscles ans so does snowshoeing. The environment was really amazing and serene. Just what l really wanted, a real break from every thing. My mind was so refreshed after this wonderful trip. Don't over pack. I brought way too much winter clothing and could not do much shopping. be prepared to walk.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it certainly did.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This is one my best holidays where l really got a fantstic break in a pristine environment that is so pure. I felt so rejunevated mentally. Even my friends say so. The locals are very friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and professional.

review 23 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The morning with the reindeer herder.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

What it says in the brochure is what you get.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely all of the above

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 15 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The organisation and fun of the activities especially the dog sledding, snow mobiling and the reindeer farm trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate to opt in for the activities as the search for the Northern Lights then becomes secondary. Don't rely on seeing them and don't spend hours in a car trying to find them - do the activities and hopefully see them whilst enjoying yourself!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Possibly

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic - one of the best we've ever been on. The scenery and experiences were so much different than I had ever expected

review 8 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the Northern lights and trying out different activities such as cross country skiing, husky dog sledding and riding on on a snowmobile.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The trip dossier gave lots of relevant information, so just relax and have fun.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it did in respect of the environment and that local staff 95% are hired in the hotel.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was fabulous. Lovely resort, great food, friendly and welcoming staff, clean hotel and beautiful countryside. 10 out of 10!!

review 3 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The sheer scale of Lapland and being able to get a feel of how the Sami live (reindeer farming, sledging with huskies, ice fishing). Wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

One good set of thermal underwear and woollen clothing is all that is needed. Excellent cold suit, heavy duty gloves and boots provided. Very relaxed atmosphere so no smart clothing needed. ie Don't spend a fortune on special clothing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly supported local economy - and culture and environment will only survive if visited and valued.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Loved it - first time this far north, and a wonderful way to see in the New Year and our 60th birthdays!

review 21 Jan 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The entire trip was a great experience! From the moment you land to the last day was very enjoyable. And the itinerary was very well planned even for single traveller like me.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The package provided and dossier are very informative and has covered almost all the information.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies