19 independent reviews for B&B self drive tour of Tasmania, meet the locals

Reviews for B&B self drive tour of Tasmania, meet the locals

SHOW
8
9
2
0
0

review 2 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the sparkle back in my wife's eyes again.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We left time in between booked tours to wander around the local area. Highly recommend this idea.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We only shopped locally, especially the souvenirs. So hopefully we supported the locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 29 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting our hosts and guides

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Contact our tour operator, she has been fantastic in arranging our trip.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hopefully.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic experience Tasmania is a brilliant place to visit, great diversity in landscape and wildlife.

review 25 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting local people, enjoying the local food and understanding the history of the location.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Planning is key. Good to plan optional places to eat and visit. If unsure of local roads / directions, get a GPS.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, for sure.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 19 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Close encounters with wildlife and wonderful scenery. Accommodation was superb.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Consider staying at Cradle Mountain for a couple of days as weather can be bad at the mountains and longer stays offer a better opportunity for good views.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, would definitely recommend to other travelers.

review 8 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Overland track. Normally we like to do independent self guided walking but we were so glad that we did the guided Cradle Huts walk for a number of reasons. The accommodation is great, this really was walking the Overland in luxury with most stuff provided for you, very helpful check lists at the start etc. We were also lucky with a very nice group of people but when walking you never felt rushed or crowded in any way. A huge shout out though to the guides Joel and Vito who were superb in looking after everyone. These guys work incredibly hard, moving stuff each day, doing superb cooking every evening etc but again it was their knowledge of the path, landscape and wildlife that made such a difference. Vito on occasion would stop and take a photo himself which says it all. This was a real highlight of the holiday, no cars, no roads, no internet at true wilderness in awe inspiring scenery with superb variety each day including the weather! Amazing views wherever you looked.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

For us in visiting Australia for the first time deciding where to go with only 3 weeks available was tough. Best to concentrate on one area. Sydney and Tasmania turned out to be a perfect combination of big city buzz and then the superb open spaces of Tasmania.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, in particular, the conservation of the Cradle Mountain National Park.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Recommend Tassie. Why go to Tasmania? Possible to get an overview of the island in 2 weeks, but longer would be better. In no particular order scenery, open spaces, wildlife, Hospitality/wine and food, climate. In one word ,variety. You never knew what was around the corner.

review 18 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our trip was planned with the great advice and assistance of Susie de Carteret from the holiday provider. "Most" memorable really does not apply for us. Each stop and tour had its own value and memories, all notable for a variety of reasons.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book with Susie, stay in Tassie at least 2 weeks, don't hesitate to stay longer if possible.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The way each stop was organized and the ecological values of the citizens and government of Tasmania make it difficult NOT to benefit both the economy and the ecology.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Outstanding! Not a low point in 16 days. Regarding the star rating below , again , we don't think along the lines of "best" or "favourite", so can't check 5 stars , BUT we DO consider it a 5 star holiday!

review 2 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The total experience was great. No most memorable as all first rate.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Leave it to Susie once you give general guidelines.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes but not greatly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Great choice of accommodation and activities.
Tour op to respond to Q3 - 03/04/2017

review 15 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Difficult to pick only one. Time spent in Stanley was magical, especially if you count the Arthur River cruise. What a beautiful place. Such lovely people hosting us in each B&B that we stayed in, each with their own ways of expressing warmth and attentiveness.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Definitely go via this holiday provider. We were referred to Susie via Responsible Travel and she made the holiday stress free with her amazing knowledge of local attractions and accommodation.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes indeed. We stayed away from corporate lodgings (except once and that was our fault). The Forest Lodge for example uses totally sustainable power and is a great example of how you can live off the grid without sacrificing comfort (or great food!)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Truly excellent. We are already thinking about how and when we'll be going back.

review 22 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had many unforgettable experiences, but probably the most memorable was the visit to Rosemary & Sean Norwood at Forest Walks Lodge. It was the combination of: what an 'eco' lodge can be, good food, and an excellent guided walk.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do not lose your passports two days before you are due to travel. Susie managed to rebook for us at very short notice. Her performance was outstanding and we are very grateful. Make sure she knows exactly what you are looking for and she will do everything she can to fit it in.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to all three questions in a small way. Apart from Hobart we stayed in B&B's and felt we were making a contribution directly into the local community. We also felt that they were doing all they can to operate with minimum impact on the environment. In addition Susie makes a contribution directly to the "Tasmanian Land Conservancy".

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Tasmania has a lot to offer and as we said before we have many unforgetable memories. We could have spent more than the four weeks we were there.

review 17 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all fantastic and memorable - so varied and interesting with all the different activities we wanted to do. We absolutely loved visiting Mountain Valley Wilderness Retreat and seeing the wildlife there and the nearby Leven Canyon was fabulous and delightfully uncrowded with walks and wonderful views. Flinders Island was a brilliant place to unwind at the start of our holiday and the Three Capes Track was the icing on the cake at the end with spectacular cliff scenery and paths and accommodation so well thought out. On Flinders Island we explored, climbed a mountain, swam in the sea, walked on deserted beaches, saw a wide variety of wildlife, stayed on friendly Partridge Farm, relaxed and ate delicious food! We spent New Year at Corinna where we were able to discover the beauty, peace and quiet of the rainforest and explore by canoe and kayak and on foot. We had an amazing flight down to the South West Wilderness with Par Avion tours which was a very special day out. We visited the wildlife sanctuary at Bonorong where we had a personal welcome and tour and saw incredible tall trees and waterfalls in Mount Field National Park. We saw penguins in Stanley and had the most wonderful cruise on the Arthur River aboard the MV George Robinson during which we learnt a lot about the rainforest from our guide. We packed so much into our twenty days in Tasmania - it was truly wonderful - and everywhere we went, we found people very friendly and helpful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Susie has lots of ideas and knows some wonderful places to stay. We had several discussions at some length to make sure we got a holiday that suited us and our interests and budget! I would say it is worth taking time to look at the websites of the places she recommends that you might visit and do a little of your own research to help her tweak the holiday so that it really is tailor made to your requirements, for example we decided to spend three nights at Corinna rather than two and to miss out Cradle Mountain with its many tourists in preference for more remote and less visited areas. When travelling to different places, Susie's directions are very good. Food is quite expensive but petrol is cheap.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes because we bought a Parks Pass and spent a lot of time in the National Parks. We also left the car behind and spent three days walking the Three Capes Track which is run by the National Parks with "Eco-lodge" accommodation. We visited and therefore contributed to the Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary which runs conservation projects. The places we stayed were run by local people and we supported local businesses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This holiday was a special one to celebrate our sixtieth birthdays and it fulfilled all our hopes and dreams. I would like to give it 5 stars. The only reason I haven't is that I am fortunate enough to have been on a couple of other amazing, if quite different, holidays in my lifetime and so I can't honestly say it is simply the best but I can say it is definitely one of the best!!

review 18 Jan 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Can't decide between taking a rainforest walk at Jackeys Marsh, sitting on the deck of our lodge at Freycinet morning and evening or seeing the wombats on Maria Island.....

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Explore as much as you can. Take the small roads and enjoy the adventure. Go Eco.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

By staying with locals in smaller accommodation we got to know the hosts well and appreciated their local projects.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. A lovely range of stops around the East and Central areas of Tasmania. Thank you for listening to our wishes and organising accordingly.

review 13 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cradle Mountain NP & Beauty Point Cottages.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Need to allocate at least 2full days for Cradle Mountain NP. Spend minimum 2 nights at Beauty Point Cottages. Great hosts!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Mildly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Tour op to respond to Q3 - 18th April 2017

review 8 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Travelling around

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring appropriate clothes for all weather and decent hiking gear

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 19 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being able to explore the vast little nooks and crannies of Tasmania and mixing with the local people. It's where you discover the rich ties people have with their island, discover the passionate local knowledge, and explore the 'off the beaten track' beauty of Tasmania. A standout for us was the Beauty Point Cottages - a piece of paradise coupled with amazing hosts Col &Barb.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go into the local Information Centres to discover what is of interest to you in each area. We found a lot of hidden treasures this way. Check that accomodation suits you and your interests, and what is in the surrounding area for you to do/see. Get up early and get into it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Supporting locals wherever we could (boat tours etc) definately helps the local economy, as well as keep these businesses afloat. Tasmania relies so heavily on tourism. Thought that Tasmania was amazingly clean, something the other states in Australia could take a lesson from. Everyone there is obviously conscious of the environment and conservation of their beautiful state.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The trip of a lifetime. We took a month to meander around, still didn't see everything of course, but covered an amazing amount of ground.

review 2 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying at various different locations on the island and seeing new things each day! Especially loved Bonorong and MONA as well as all the walks and hikes I managed to go on.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Give yourself a good amount of time to stay in Tasmania, a week minimum, but ideally I would have stayed for 2!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I felt like Tasmania was a very environmentally conscious place and most places that I visited and stayed at were passionate about environment and conservation which was great to be a part of. I also really enjoyed all the local food/art/activities/etc and it was lovely to see that there is a strong sense of community and support of local produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I went in with very minimal expectations and an open mind, the adventure that I had in Tasmania was most definitely something that I will remember for life and was amazing experience. Susie did a wonderful job with planning my itinerary and I found it to be perfectly balanced! All the places I stayed at exceeded my expectations and I would recommend each and every one of them to future travellers! Well worth the money and priceless in the experiences it brought me.

review 24 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

no one thing really - the whole experience was just great

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

contact Susie who runs this trip

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

all of the above

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

excellent

Read the operator's response here:

I am thrilled that Peter and Trish had such a wonderful time. It was a pleasure arranging their holiday which took them all over the island and offshore to Tasmania's other most beautiful little islands too, and I know that all the B&Bs thoroughly enjoyed hosting them. I wish them all the very best on their return home to NZ.

review 23 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There wasn't a day we didn't enjoy, but Flinders Island was definitely the highlight for us. From the easy going flight to the friendliness of everyone we met, to the deserted beaches - we really felt we had got away from it all. The included tour ensured we got the most out of our stay and Gary kept us well entertained. Other highspots included being truly spoilt at Beauty Point Cottages, wonderful French cooking from Remi at Glencoe Roral Retreats, the Arthur River Cruise and, of course, seeing quoll, platypus and Tasmanian Devils at Mountain Valley.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Let Susie know what your interests are and she will do the rest! Daytime driving was stress-free and the itinerary was well-paced so take time to follow Susie's recommendations for coffee stops etc.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes in that we stayed mainly in small family run places, with food obtained locally or grown in the garden, so food miles minimised wherever possible. Also had the chance to see conservation projects close-up at several places and speak and learn directly from those involved.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We'll be back - can't speak more highly than that.

Read the operator's response here:

I am thrilled that Kathy and Andy had such a wonderful holiday in Tasmania with me. Getting off the beaten track in Tassie reaps such fantastic rewards, more than anywhere else I have ever been to, especially for those who love wildlife, meeting locals and leaving the rest of the world behind. Flinders Island is an absolute gem yet only a handful of visitors to Tassie make the extra little effort to get there - despite it being such a stress free trip to make! Thanks for putting your trust in me, Kathy - it was an absolute pleasure to arrange your holiday.

review 26 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole of Tasmania is just awesome;so every part of the travel is memorable. A full circle we are doing; Devonport ,Lauceston , Swansea, Coles Bay, Horbart < Tarraleah, Queenstown, Strahan,Cradle Mountain , Burnee etc. Plenty of attractions from the Drives ,ever changing sceneries,from rugged cliffs , river gorges to great scenic rolling plains , hills and quaint townships, wild life Santuaries,wild animals, wild flowers and Blooming gardens. Its refreshing as every part of our journeys are full of anticipation; wild lives a plenty ...wow we even got to see Whales at the Wineglass Bay cruises. If you love nature and history you will love Tasmania. Horbart probably the only big city where in addition to nature and wilderness you have a great mix of people ,events and life styles , art , crafts , music...everything. All the Cruises are great including the Train Rides and food .The detail planning, customised together with Susie was fantastic and we had smooth sailing all the way with the Schedules and with two reliabale relatively new SUVs from Budet Car(one with GPS which is a great help). Thank you Susie.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do a min 2 weeks , if not 3 weeks will be ideal, spreading them out among those towns

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes....we see and appreciate the works like Bonorong Santuaries, night devil feeding in Cradle mountain etc......it definitletly helps the local from the point of using local cruises , excursions, local shops and produce.. Yes the enviroment impact part is much emphasized generally, practiced and therefore support conservation

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Awesome. would have extended it to 3 weeks if we had digested and found out more of what are available

Read the operator's response here:

It was such a pleasure to arrange this itinerary for HH and his group of friends. They were open minded to the itinerary so I was able to create one that enabled them to see the best of Tasmania, including the east coast, the west coast and the Central Highlands in the fairly limited time they had on the island, and they were able to take advantage of the fact that Tasmania has wonderful accommodation that is perfectly suited to small groups. I was thrilled to be able to provide fantastic, personalised experiences through my contacts that enabled them to get really close to the wildlife and nature in intimate surroundings. Seeing a whale on the Wineglass Bay Cruise is very special and a great reason to visit in Tasmania's spring. I hope they can come back one day and enjoy some other just as beautiful but completely different parts of Tassie one day.

review 5 Dec 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Encountering the Tassie wildlife from close-up, in many cases. Eagles, echidnas, platypodes, wallabies, pademelons, superb fairy wrens. We greatly enjoy being in the presence of animals and observing their behaviour so that was a real highlight!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure payment details are well sorted ahead of time, and allow lots more driving time than indicated - as there are lots of worthwhile stopping spots along the way. Some advice regarding restaurants in Tassie: Many eateries close early and/or only take reservations well ahead of time.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we greatly enjoyed staying in local B&Bs and meeting the owners, many of whom are concerned about conservation and actively take a part in it. The self-driving aspect of our holiday perhaps did not do much to reduce environmental impact. That being said, we did not contribute to any new road kill -- so in that sense, we reduced our environmental footprint! The local Tassie produce was delicious and we definitely helped the local economy in eating as much as we did.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Given that our prior plans had fallen through, and given that we contacted Susie last minute, she put together an incredibly well-thought out, detailed and wonderful itinerary that respected our wishes and made for an amazing, once-in-a lifetime holiday. We got to see most of what we had wanted to see - and more. We would most definitely book with Susie again. It was a fantastic tour of the island, the memories from which we we will savour for the rest of our lives.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies