14 independent reviews for Devon eco lodge accommodation, England

Reviews for Devon eco lodge accommodation, England

SHOW
5
9
0
0
0

review 14 Oct 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting RHS Rosemore was great. The Dartington Glass Factory was also well worth a visit and fascinating to watch.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We ordered a box of goodies from a local farm box scheme, which was there when we arrived which was really handy. Just be aware that there is no food at all left in the kitchen- so no cooking oil or salt for example. Bring them with you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We bought food from the local farm box scheme and also from the local farm shop. The whole site is geared towards conservation. They have a wind turbine for electric and solar heating for hot water. All food waste is composted and there is facility for recycling. There are free bikes on site to borrow, and lots of ideas for car-free trips around.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I really liked this site. The cabins are very comfortable and have a lovely view to the front. Its very relaxed. The owners are very helpful with suggestions for walks or other activities, and there is a supply of OS maps to borrow. It would be a great place to go with kids as there is plenty to do on site and near by. They are also very good on the Covid measures.

review 2 Oct 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Superb local scenery

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is a nature reserve so is not would not be everybody's ideal but we thought it was perfect

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I would say it was all three. We were supplied with plenty information about local suppliers.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was exactly as described

review 15 Sep 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hearing the owls hooting at night, the beautiful walks and countryside. Sleeping in the bunkbed, with an open window out to the trees and feeling like I was in a forest.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book longer than you think, you won't want to leave!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes all of the above. We ate in local independent eateries, shopped in the villages and farm shops. The venue has great recycling facilities and even an electric car charging point.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Restful and fantastic, just what we all needed.

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks for your great review and we are really delighted you had a proper restful stay. It's your stay that makes it possible for us to manage the place for the wildlife.

review 18 Sep 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking on Dartmoor, cycling the Tarka Trail and swimming in the sea.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Excellent fish and chips on Thursday evening from the Miles fish and chip van.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Beautifully quiet place encouraging eco living.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A break from city life.

review 28 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Watching the wildlife in the morning while sitting with a cup of tea.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring sturdy shoes - it's a wonderful area to walk around.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes although if I were to do it again I would make efforts to cycle, not drive, around.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant.

Read the operator's response here:

Really delighted you enjoyed the lodge and the area around here. It is lovely to pedal around, and for those who fear the Devon Hills we can arrange electric bike hire too! Thanks for choosing to stay with us as every visit contributes to our conservation project. We really appreciate it and hope we can welcome you again one day.

review 14 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The setting of our accommodation was amazing

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take wellie or walking boots as there is lots of places to explore but the ground can be mist.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely amazing going to go again and will recommend it to lots of friends

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks for your kind comments Amanda. We enjoyed having you here and love to see children enjoying the bikes and the space to explore. It is only yours and other guests stays here that allow us to manage the land for wildlife. Otherwise it would all be pasture. Thanks so much for coming and we look forward to seeing you again. Ian & Maggie.

review 30 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the voles playing in the meadow

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Enjoyable

Read the operator's response here:

Delighted you saw the wildlife in action Linda - it is yours and all our guests stays here that enable us to manage the land for the wildlife, so thank you again for coming and hope we can welcome you again sometime. Ian & Maggie.

review 24 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The farm was fantastic for the kids, we have made lots of memories that we will treasure.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Everything you need is there, just remember to pack your wellies.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All of the above. We all learnt so much while we were there.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic holiday and would definitely highly recommend.

review 20 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The coastal walk from Horns Cross to Westward Ho! Using the farm bikes to cycle - to Winkleigh, to the Lymington Arms etc, hiring bikes at Torrington Puffing Billy.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It really isn't that hard to get the train there. Honest. The year before we drove to Devon and it took 12 hours to return to Leeds which is just super stressful. This year the train took 6 hours. No problem, apart from that 'aah which platform are we on?' figuring things out /sort of fun stress. The couple who run the lodges picked us up /drop us off. Perfect. And the farm bikes are great for a quick ride up hill down dale to the pubs for lunch, or to the trusty 5B bus stop (we just locked them to a tree together and picked them up after a day out). There's a farm shop within bike/walk distance from the lodges which is lovely for a tasty pie or coffee. Ah. there seems to be a cheeky mobile fish and chip van on a Thursday tea time near the local supermarket too. Sorely needed after the coastal walk believe you me. Anyway, Just do it. Buses, bikes and feet are the way forward on this holiday. (And, judging by recent news, it seems for all of us, if were don't take a bit more care with the car fumes...) Devon is very green, warm and beautiful by the way.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes i think it did. We reduced the amount of cars on the road (ours), got a bit more fresh air and fun on the double decker buses/bikes/trains, did our best to recycle as we went along (not too different from how we all do it at home nowadays), and our tourism helped the guys who run the place to keep it going for wildlife too, so that's pretty cool for all of us :)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great. Created some fun memories and yes I would recommend it to a friend. It was actually pretty cheap for a holiday in Devon during the kids hols and we were out and about so much we ended up just picking up a few bits and bobs from the local supermarket more often than not at the end of the day so it was easy on the purse as well. I know as I went to Jersey the week before (which is also very beautiful) but spent an arm and a leg, and this was just good fun but with a little peace thrown in at the beginning and end of a day. I'd rate it a 4.5 for definite. It'd be a 5/5 if I could just overcome the need for someone to provide a cooked breakfast every morning, but I am a little lazy. And perhaps too greedy.

Read the operator's response here:

Hi Kath. Thanks for the great review, and thank you for choosing to stay here. It's only the income from guests that allows us to manage the land for wildlife. You did well getting out and about and it's so good to see people use bikes and public transport rather than default to the car. I'll have to see about the cooked breakfast..... All the best, Ian & Maggie

review 15 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Landscape in Devon/Cornwall. A fine and clean Lodge on the farm close to Winkleigh. Owners are very friendly.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Visit the beautiful coastline on the south (Exeter) - west (Bude) and north side (Appledore, Lynmouth). All sites for example.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the farm can only manage this land for the wildlife and biodiversity with the lodges with guests paying for this. Otherwise this farm would have to be run in "modern" form as usual.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a great time in Devon and will come back one day hopefully. Greetings to Rosy and Saul from Responsable Travel.

review 12 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Taking our son on a back carrier around Lydford Gorge. Such a lot of fun! The incredible sounds of the birds surrounding the lodge.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be aware that the local farm shop closes at 1pm on Saturday, doesn't open on a Sunday and only accepts cash! So if arriving Saturday afternoon, it's worth getting a food delivery.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. Staying at the eco lodge enables the nature reserve to be sustained and there are plenty of local farm shops, a fantastic local butchers (with lovely cheeses as well as very good meat and chutneys) and pubs close by to enjoy!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a very enjoyable holiday for a family with a young baby and we hope to come back when he is older because it's a lovely space for children to roam. The owners are lovely and passionate about conservation. The eco lodge had an excellent verandah overlooking wide open space so we could enjoy our evenings whilst baby slept. There was so much to go and see in the local area with Dartmoor a short drive and an excellent Cream Tea picnic at RHS Rosemoor 20 minutes away.

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks so much for taking the time to submit a review. We're delighted you enjoyed your holiday - and so pleased to read your comments as that's exactly what we aim for! Maggie (ps We love Lydford Gorge too!)

review 22 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Maggie, joint owner with Ian, took us on a walk through the wet grassland area of special scientific interest. Not only was it interesting from an ecological point of view it was such fun. It was so wet and swampy that 'stuck in the mud' doesn't begin to describe it. We were in stitches - haven't laughed so much in ages!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take wellies, though they have plenty you can borrow if you haven't got any, and take Ian and Maggie up on their offers of pond dipping, walks etc.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. The greenest week of our lives. The farm is incredibly self sufficient, particularly in regards to energy, and they support local produce, and recycle or reuse everything possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fab! Made me realise how 'city' our kids are so it was great to be able to let them off the leash, let them run wild, get muddy and involved with nature. Cabins were cosy and comfortable. Ian and Maggie were lovely. Would absolutely do it again and would recommend to anyone who wants to get away for some really very fresh air and countryside!

Read the operator's response here:

That one was quite a walk wasn't it! You were all very game, especially the kids! That's the wettest I've ever seen the nature reserve in summer and if I'd realised I might have tried to dissuade you. Glad I didn't! And 'the greenest week of our lives' is really rewarding compliment. Thanks, and thanks for choosing to stay here, it was lovely meeting you all.

review 16 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We weren't looking for excitement, more relaxation. We'll remember the brightness of the stars on clear nights with no light pollution, watching bats flying around our lodge at sunset, waking late because it was so quiet and comfortable and the blackout blinds were so good, the ruby red cows really glowing like rubies at sunset, being content to just potter around the farm in the sunshine without getting bored.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't rely on the directions for finding the farm (we got very lost), use a map to work out your own route and then just follow the last bit from Winkleigh which is easy. Don't come with preconceptions, let the peacefulness of the place slow you down. Bring wellies and a torch. The local dog walks are great. RHS Rosemoor nearby is well worth a visit, as is Great Torrington nearby. Eat at the Tally ho in Hatherleigh. You can get to lovely beaches at Bude in 40mins and the sea is 17deg (warm!).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Maggie and Ian recommended local businesses like the local Farm Shop and the pub in Winkleigh. The farm uses alternative energy in almost every way possible, encourages recycling, encourages car-free days out, has its own nature reserve, has inspired me to consider solar water-heating for my own house.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great. I wasn't sure what to expect, but I loved it.

Read the operator's response here:

Glad you had a relaxing break and saw the stars. We're in one of the last remaining dark spots in England and on a clear night the heavens are fabulous. And thanks for your review. I'm proud of it because it seems to say 'we thought it might be too hippy for us, but actually it was pretty normal'. That's absolutely what we're about - genuine demonstrable sustainability without the whacky stuff! Finally, to anyone who gets lost finding us please don't hesitate to ring. We'll do our best to guide you through the Devon lanes! Thanks, Maggie

review 8 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Most memorable part... Scones on arrival (they were the best I have ever tasted!), walking around the beautiful country side and the farm. It was very relaxing and there are lots of great walks/bike rides, talking to Ian (the owner) about the farm, sustainability and what their future plans are.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring wellies & take a day back pack. I would recommend at least 3 nights (we only stayed for 2 and 3 would have been ideal.)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely!

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies