18 independent reviews for Devon eco lodge accommodation, England

Reviews for Devon eco lodge accommodation, England

SHOW
2
15
1
0
0

review 28 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Watching the wildlife in the morning while sitting with a cup of tea.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring sturdy shoes - it's a wonderful area to walk around.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes although if I were to do it again I would make efforts to cycle, not drive, around.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant.

Read the operator's response here:

Really delighted you enjoyed the lodge and the area around here. It is lovely to pedal around, and for those who fear the Devon Hills we can arrange electric bike hire too! Thanks for choosing to stay with us as every visit contributes to our conservation project. We really appreciate it and hope we can welcome you again one day.

review 14 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The setting of our accommodation was amazing

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take wellie or walking boots as there is lots of places to explore but the ground can be mist.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely amazing going to go again and will recommend it to lots of friends

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks for your kind comments Amanda. We enjoyed having you here and love to see children enjoying the bikes and the space to explore. It is only yours and other guests stays here that allow us to manage the land for wildlife. Otherwise it would all be pasture. Thanks so much for coming and we look forward to seeing you again. Ian & Maggie.

review 30 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the voles playing in the meadow

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Enjoyable

Read the operator's response here:

Delighted you saw the wildlife in action Linda - it is yours and all our guests stays here that enable us to manage the land for the wildlife, so thank you again for coming and hope we can welcome you again sometime. Ian & Maggie.

review 24 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The farm was fantastic for the kids, we have made lots of memories that we will treasure.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Everything you need is there, just remember to pack your wellies.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All of the above. We all learnt so much while we were there.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic holiday and would definitely highly recommend.

review 20 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The coastal walk from Horns Cross to Westward Ho! Using the farm bikes to cycle - to Winkleigh, to the Lymington Arms etc, hiring bikes at Torrington Puffing Billy.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It really isn't that hard to get the train there. Honest. The year before we drove to Devon and it took 12 hours to return to Leeds which is just super stressful. This year the train took 6 hours. No problem, apart from that 'aah which platform are we on?' figuring things out /sort of fun stress. The couple who run the lodges picked us up /drop us off. Perfect. And the farm bikes are great for a quick ride up hill down dale to the pubs for lunch, or to the trusty 5B bus stop (we just locked them to a tree together and picked them up after a day out). There's a farm shop within bike/walk distance from the lodges which is lovely for a tasty pie or coffee. Ah. there seems to be a cheeky mobile fish and chip van on a Thursday tea time near the local supermarket too. Sorely needed after the coastal walk believe you me. Anyway, Just do it. Buses, bikes and feet are the way forward on this holiday. (And, judging by recent news, it seems for all of us, if were don't take a bit more care with the car fumes...) Devon is very green, warm and beautiful by the way.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes i think it did. We reduced the amount of cars on the road (ours), got a bit more fresh air and fun on the double decker buses/bikes/trains, did our best to recycle as we went along (not too different from how we all do it at home nowadays), and our tourism helped the guys who run the place to keep it going for wildlife too, so that's pretty cool for all of us :)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great. Created some fun memories and yes I would recommend it to a friend. It was actually pretty cheap for a holiday in Devon during the kids hols and we were out and about so much we ended up just picking up a few bits and bobs from the local supermarket more often than not at the end of the day so it was easy on the purse as well. I know as I went to Jersey the week before (which is also very beautiful) but spent an arm and a leg, and this was just good fun but with a little peace thrown in at the beginning and end of a day. I'd rate it a 4.5 for definite. It'd be a 5/5 if I could just overcome the need for someone to provide a cooked breakfast every morning, but I am a little lazy. And perhaps too greedy.

Read the operator's response here:

Hi Kath. Thanks for the great review, and thank you for choosing to stay here. It's only the income from guests that allows us to manage the land for wildlife. You did well getting out and about and it's so good to see people use bikes and public transport rather than default to the car. I'll have to see about the cooked breakfast..... All the best, Ian & Maggie

review 15 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Landscape in Devon/Cornwall. A fine and clean Lodge on the farm close to Winkleigh. Owners are very friendly.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Visit the beautiful coastline on the south (Exeter) - west (Bude) and north side (Appledore, Lynmouth). All sites for example.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the farm can only manage this land for the wildlife and biodiversity with the lodges with guests paying for this. Otherwise this farm would have to be run in "modern" form as usual.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a great time in Devon and will come back one day hopefully. Greetings to Rosy and Saul from Responsable Travel.

review 12 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Taking our son on a back carrier around Lydford Gorge. Such a lot of fun! The incredible sounds of the birds surrounding the lodge.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be aware that the local farm shop closes at 1pm on Saturday, doesn't open on a Sunday and only accepts cash! So if arriving Saturday afternoon, it's worth getting a food delivery.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. Staying at the eco lodge enables the nature reserve to be sustained and there are plenty of local farm shops, a fantastic local butchers (with lovely cheeses as well as very good meat and chutneys) and pubs close by to enjoy!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a very enjoyable holiday for a family with a young baby and we hope to come back when he is older because it's a lovely space for children to roam. The owners are lovely and passionate about conservation. The eco lodge had an excellent verandah overlooking wide open space so we could enjoy our evenings whilst baby slept. There was so much to go and see in the local area with Dartmoor a short drive and an excellent Cream Tea picnic at RHS Rosemoor 20 minutes away.

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks so much for taking the time to submit a review. We're delighted you enjoyed your holiday - and so pleased to read your comments as that's exactly what we aim for! Maggie (ps We love Lydford Gorge too!)

review 22 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Maggie, joint owner with Ian, took us on a walk through the wet grassland area of special scientific interest. Not only was it interesting from an ecological point of view it was such fun. It was so wet and swampy that 'stuck in the mud' doesn't begin to describe it. We were in stitches - haven't laughed so much in ages!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take wellies, though they have plenty you can borrow if you haven't got any, and take Ian and Maggie up on their offers of pond dipping, walks etc.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. The greenest week of our lives. The farm is incredibly self sufficient, particularly in regards to energy, and they support local produce, and recycle or reuse everything possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fab! Made me realise how 'city' our kids are so it was great to be able to let them off the leash, let them run wild, get muddy and involved with nature. Cabins were cosy and comfortable. Ian and Maggie were lovely. Would absolutely do it again and would recommend to anyone who wants to get away for some really very fresh air and countryside!

Read the operator's response here:

That one was quite a walk wasn't it! You were all very game, especially the kids! That's the wettest I've ever seen the nature reserve in summer and if I'd realised I might have tried to dissuade you. Glad I didn't! And 'the greenest week of our lives' is really rewarding compliment. Thanks, and thanks for choosing to stay here, it was lovely meeting you all.

review 16 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We weren't looking for excitement, more relaxation. We'll remember the brightness of the stars on clear nights with no light pollution, watching bats flying around our lodge at sunset, waking late because it was so quiet and comfortable and the blackout blinds were so good, the ruby red cows really glowing like rubies at sunset, being content to just potter around the farm in the sunshine without getting bored.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't rely on the directions for finding the farm (we got very lost), use a map to work out your own route and then just follow the last bit from Winkleigh which is easy. Don't come with preconceptions, let the peacefulness of the place slow you down. Bring wellies and a torch. The local dog walks are great. RHS Rosemoor nearby is well worth a visit, as is Great Torrington nearby. Eat at the Tally ho in Hatherleigh. You can get to lovely beaches at Bude in 40mins and the sea is 17deg (warm!).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Maggie and Ian recommended local businesses like the local Farm Shop and the pub in Winkleigh. The farm uses alternative energy in almost every way possible, encourages recycling, encourages car-free days out, has its own nature reserve, has inspired me to consider solar water-heating for my own house.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great. I wasn't sure what to expect, but I loved it.

Read the operator's response here:

Glad you had a relaxing break and saw the stars. We're in one of the last remaining dark spots in England and on a clear night the heavens are fabulous. And thanks for your review. I'm proud of it because it seems to say 'we thought it might be too hippy for us, but actually it was pretty normal'. That's absolutely what we're about - genuine demonstrable sustainability without the whacky stuff! Finally, to anyone who gets lost finding us please don't hesitate to ring. We'll do our best to guide you through the Devon lanes! Thanks, Maggie

review 8 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Most memorable part... Scones on arrival (they were the best I have ever tasted!), walking around the beautiful country side and the farm. It was very relaxing and there are lots of great walks/bike rides, talking to Ian (the owner) about the farm, sustainability and what their future plans are.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring wellies & take a day back pack. I would recommend at least 3 nights (we only stayed for 2 and 3 would have been ideal.)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely!

review 10 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This is a very beautiful part of the country, and the place where we stayed was quiet and very private. The lodge was well equipped and incredibly warm and cosy even when the weather was wet and windy. We walked, read, cycled played badminton and had a barbeque. All in all completely relaxing. The wooden floor in the lodge was particularly good for dancing!!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book quickly if you like it quiet and rural and you like to protect the environment.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Ian and Maggie made every effort to protect the environment with recycling and solar water heating. They helped us shop locally and have a car free time. Maggie gave us a tour round their nature reserve and shared her enthusiasm while Ian could discus energy conservation and ecological building options.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

For us this was the perfect break to give us peace, space and fun! So we will be going again I think.

review 22 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Giving our children freedom to run around the farm - having lots of space to explore and us time to relax. We also loved the Eden Project. We enjoyed star gazing at night - seeing the Milky Way and lots of comets. Ian & Maggie were great and made us feel very welcome - really enjoyed the nature walk and pond dipping with Maggie.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Lots of old clothes for the children; it takes time to get places by car as the roads are smaller; the train service from Eggsford is great - we used it to get to the coast and we loved Dawlish Warren - lovely beach and a nature reserve (really reasonable with a family railcard); Eden Project has reduced entry Tues, Wed & Thurs after 3.30 pm & children free over school summer hols and is open until 8 pm. Take a torch for walking back from the pub at night and star watching.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Ian & Maggie left lots of information about local shops / pubs / public transport which we used. They also encouraged recycling and made this very easy. We used the trains a lot and found this an easy way to travel to the south coast especially.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We all really enjoyed it - our children loved the freedom and we loved the peace and quiet.

review 7 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My four children had the freedom to run around and make as much noise as they wanted. They used their imagination in the trees and the lovely tree house that the owner had made for his children, and allowed ours to use. The children also went on the nature/conservation walk with us and the owners and were really interested in all the animals and plants and the 'secret pond'!!! It was quiet and we had no worries about where the children were, if they would get run over etc etc. They got wet and filthy and loved the outdoors with no constraints put on them. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the accommodation was spacious and clean with most things provided for especially for our 19 month old. We also played lots of indoor and outdoor games much more and the children hardly watched TV - about an hour a day!!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just be aware that you may have to travel to the beach and tourist attractions but the accommodation, tranquillity and freedom of the site are well worth it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Very much so as everything was recycled and there was solar powered energy etc. We bought local stuff as much as we could although it is slightly more expensive. There are no cars and the conservation site is beautiful. We recycled as much as we could and the owners, even if the council did not take the items, took it to the dump themselves.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent for everyone as we could relax without worry whilst the children ran off their steam. It would have been five (below) if we did not have the children with us as we could have relaxed more and just worried about us.

review 13 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My 3 year old daughter enjoyed collecting some newly laid eggs from the chickens on the farm. We also enjoyed a nice cooked breakfast from the nearby farmshop.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Really nice place to cycle around. Research bike routes before you go (or take a computer to look this up as the accommodation has wi-fi), and ask if you can borrow OS maps. Although the Tarka Trail was nice, we found it more interesting just cycling around, passing through lovely villages as there is lots to see.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable, nice simple accommodation. We had great weather too. Great beaches but a bit of a drive to them (we went to the north and south coasts).

review 30 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Just loved being away from it all!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take own towels and take your wellies if you want to explore the nature reserve. nearest supermarket is in Okehampton and although there is a lovely local farm shop it's best to stock up before you arrive.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

Read the operator's response here:

Glad you had a good time - and thanks for staying with us. I've noticed several of these reviews mention wellies. They certainly make exploring the nature reserve much easier. There are marshy bits all year and of course the long grass can be wet whether with dew or rain. So I just wanted to add (for other readers) that if visitors don't have their own wellies we have a growing collection from freecycle, ranging from toddler to adult size 10, and can usually lend something suitable. Hope we'll see you again sometime Julie!

review 14 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being able to feel relaxed, have places that the children can play, feel that you are adding to a natural environment and enjoy the company of other like minded visitors and those who were running the holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

None.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

5 out of 5.

review 7 Jan 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Apart from staying in such a quiet, beautiful scenic area we were so lucky to watch a barn owl and sparrow hawk hunting at dawn and dusk outside our lodge. It became part of our days schedule to be around to hopefully see these wonderful birds in action, so close to our home. Unfortunately we didn’t think to bring our binoculars!!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Obviously holidaying in the winter with its shorter days and other people fairly scarce it was ideal for spotting the active wildlife and the holiday site was well off the beaten track, so recommended for getting away from the rat-race. Saying that, on the last day we easily travelled to the coast within an hour, to see the sea, so during the high season beaching is still a possibility from this wonderful site.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I felt really privileged to have stayed at the eco lodge, a fairly new venture especially for us, but I felt I was putting something back to the environment and supporting the local area by visiting towns and using the shops and restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Our year (2009) hadn’t been so good, and I definitely needed a change of scenery. Having this short break at the lodge has revitalized the whole family and we came away feeling refreshed and ready to take on 2010. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this break to my friends, just remember, wellies are an essential!!

review 15 Feb 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The tranquility.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Excellent for dogs (we've 2 goldies). If you are VERY tall, check the bed to see if they have foot steads. I'm only 5ft 10 and my husband is 6ft 1, so not excessively tall but we did have to curl up. The beds were fine but with having foot steads, I've ended out with a couple of bruised toes. Better not to have them really then feet can just hang out! Lovely lodges (we stayed in Beech lodge). It was actually only us and our daughter, if you were of greater number I wouldn't recommend above 4 adults and 4 smallish children, 8 adult sizes would be a bit of a squash!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A wonderful short break and we did have good weather for the time of year and enjoyed some beautiful walks. Great for the dogs. Lovely people in the community and village, we were made to feel very welcome indeed throughout the area.

Read the operator's response here:

Glad you enjoyed it Ruth, and that you felt welcome in the village – it’s a friendly part of Devon isn’t it. And thanks for your stay – which lets us manage the place for wildlife as well as feeding into that wider community. PS, if you come again we’ll have to put you in Otter Cottage – which has no footsteads on the beds!

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies