8 independent reviews for Umbria self guided walking holiday, Italy

Reviews for Umbria self guided walking holiday, Italy

SHOW
4
4
0
0
0

review 19 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is very hard to say that as it was all brilliant. The most memorable bits might be the tasting dinner at Villa Colle di Rocco near Cannara, and visiting the lower church in San Francesco in Assisi at 8.15 am while mass was being sung in the chapel of St Francis's tomb and we only had to share it with three other people. The most exciting might have been the sudden view of Collepino after a long uphill walk.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You can totally rely on the arrangements made for this holiday. They did everything perfectly - lovely people, wonderful places to stay in overnight, very well chosen routes between the places we visited, and a brilliant selection of villages and towns to see. And it all worked just as they had said it would.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our tour operator are clearly working very hard to create low-impact tourism. They chose places for us to stay which were clearly run by local people who were thinking carefully about what they did. They encouraged us to recycle rubbish and enabled us to return any material we did not need at the end of the holiday.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We knew nothing about Umbria and were totally enchanted by it because of this wonderful introduction.

review 10 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful towns in which we stayed, the walking and the passionate hoteliers and B&B people we met. So knowledgeable about Umbria's history, it's products (wine, cheese, figs, olives etc).

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go with the flow, walk in the mornings if it's hot and then have a siesta on arrival at the other end. Or enjoy the town you wake up in, in the morning and walk in the afternoons when everything is closed. Look up the check in times of the B&B you are walking to. Take the eating recommendations given to you by the people you are staying with.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 out of 10!

review 13 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I very much enjoyed this holiday, and especially enjoyed visiting the various medieval towns, which all had their own character. The Umbrian countryside was green and gentle and a delight to walk through. I also enjoyed the accommodation, which again was varied, but each place very special.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The walking notes were detailed and easy to follow, so don't have any worries about that. The walks were not arduous, and I found that I could walk in the morning and be at my destination by lunchtime, giving me plenty of time to look around. It was quite hot during my holiday which was another reason for walking in the morning.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the accommodation was in small, locally run establishments, and local restaurants were recommended. There was also an emphasis on recycling.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An excellent short holiday, run by local people. I would very much recommend our tour operator. I would also recommend Umbria.

review 5 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting local people,visiting places not on the mainstream tourist list and learning about life in Umbria; walking around an area you would not usually visit or see. Some of the history is fascinating and unexpected - the Etruscans, for example. All the places we visited were charming and had lots of points of interest (Assisi was the exception) without many of the less attractive aspects of tourism - gift shops etc. Sampling local food and drink - in Spello we met a local wine merchant and his family; learned a lot about local wines and their production, ate some very nice food. The accommodation was excellent, it was varied but all of a very good standard and the owners were all extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. Far better than the rather impersonal service you can get with bigger resorts.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do some homework on the various places you visit and spend some time exploring them before going on the various walks. Each place has something of interest to visit or learn about and the local people are wonderful and friendly to speak to and talk about their area. On the walks make sure you take something to eat and especially supplies of water or drinks - there are not many places to get these in-between the various towns. Remember also some places close down for the afternoons between 1pm and 4pm a least; Cannara for example is also closed entirely on a Tuesday. The walking itself is mostly on straightforward tracks and paths, comfortable footwear is recommended but need not be heavy boots etc. In September we found the early mornings and evenings significantly cooler so light trousers and a warm top are recommended.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope so. Our accommodation was almost invariably with small, local B&B's rather than hotel chains. Recommendations for places to eat centred on local restaurants and the accommodation owners are happy also to recommend places to go. The holiday provider were also at pains to ensure the routes we took were established pathways and we were provided with various bags to put recyclable materials in etc. This is our third trip with Responsible Travel and we have very much appreciated the efforts to use local businesses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Firstly this was a very well organised holiday by the holiday provider. We were able to contact them beforehand with queries and arrangements; they were very flexible in their arrangements so the holiday was planned around our needs- just ask if you wish to incorporate something, we found Cristina to be very accommodating. They met us at the station and the transfer of our luggage each day was done very efficiently. Each accommodation were ready for our arrival at whatever time we turned up. The routes were thoughtfully and well planned with clear maps and directions; it took a lot of the effort away from us and helped us enjoy the places more. We would have no hesitation in recommending this holiday and Umbria as a destination; it's full of history, wonderful scenery and people. Worth the star rating - excellent holiday.

review 29 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This was a terrific trip. And it was, literally, a last minute choice for us. We were originally scheduled to travel to France, but flooding and the continued rain forecast caused us to seek a last-minute itinerary change. As it turned out, this was a welcomed change. The journey through Umbria, "Italy's green heart," is gorgeous. The villages were lovely, the people kind and welcoming and the hotels/B&Bs were all comfortable, clean and very accommodating. Historically, we've done all of the leg-work and booking. We've created our own walking journeys, found and booked hotels and booked the inn-to-inn luggage transfer. We'll never do that again, thanks to Responsible Travel and the team at Italian Delights. Everything met or exceeded our expectations. Luggage transfer occurred seamlessly and the hotels were always expecting us (usually with our luggage already in our rooms); and there was never any confusion about hotel payment.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is a leisurely walking journey. Most walks are flat and the distances are 10k or less. So if you're seeking a lung-busting exercise routine, this isn't a trip for you. But, if you're looking for a beautiful destination with walks that'll take just under 3 hours each day; you've found it. Our typical day involved waking up late, eating the lovely breakfasts provided by our hosts, leaving the hotel around 10a to buy some snacks and water, then walking to our next destination. We'd usually arrive at the next village in time for lunch and an early check-in at our next hotel, Then a walk through town, a nap, a late dinner, and repeat. For us - that's a perfect vacation! There's enough actively to burn off some of your wine and 4 course dinners; but as noted, it's not a challenging journey. Like a great "slow food" event, this is a great "slow vacation." 2 of the walks were moderately more strenuous than others. Canarra to Spello was 18k and ended with a nice uphill climb. And Spello to Assisi also had about a 300m elevation (which felt like it all happened within a single kilometer). If you're a dogmatic fitbit freak, you'll easily get your 15k steps a day on this journey. We typically logged over 20k steps a day between the inn-to-inn journey and then the local walking at destination. It felt just right. Montefalco, Bevagna, Spello and Assisi were great villages. Canarra definitely ranked lowest as a destination attraction. Not much to see there; but we did have a GREAT DINNER at Perbacco. And the walk from Canarra to Spello was "just right." Long enough at 18k to get a solid exercise and the views were stunning. If there's a way to recreate the walk from Bevagna to Spello - entirely eliminating the Canarra stop (while still capturing the beauty of Canarra to Spello walk) - I'd recommend that. And the team at the holiday providers made this journey SO EASY. Their preparation was PERFECT. And it was very easy to do business with them. They were absolutely delightful! I highly recommend them.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I did. The team at the holiday providers is just 3 working women. We definitely benefited this local operation; and they also booked small, local, operators.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a lovely holiday. It exceeded our expectations. It's 5 star worthy, but wasn't "Simply the best holiday I have ever been on." It was among my top 10% of all vacations. We just loved it.

review 8 Mar 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved walking into each walled medieval town - traveling on foot made us feel a bit like pilgrims! Each one was more beautiful than the last, although we were especially grateful to have hiked to Colepino, since it was so much smaller and less touristic than the others.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Speak in advance with the operator if you wish for a more strenuous tour than the one offered - we were very happy to have a 24 km day included in our trip at our request.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - the entire enterprise was family run, and each of our hotels seemed locally owned.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful! Umbria is a special place and we were happy to experience it in the off season.

review 5 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The little towns we stayed in were amazing. So full of life. Lots of places to eat.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You may not always have a stop along the way to use the toilet or grab some water, so be prepared.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I do think it benefited local people. The inns that we stayed in were all owned by locals many of them actually inheriting the places from elderly family members. All the restaurants we dined in were small and owned by people within the towns. Everyone made us feel welcome.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was fantastic. We would do it again in a heartbeat.

review 24 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking through the olive groves from Spello to Assisi was amazing as was the Spello loop that took us up to a tiny village and then back around to Spello. The accommodation was certainly above our expectations with 4 of the 5 being absolutely fantastic and all were in fabulous locations. We were given recommendations for meals and none let us down.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take up the recommendations for restaurants- they were all great. Don't hurry you have plenty of time to really enjoy the scenery. This is not a taxing walk, more a leisurely stroll so suitable for most people.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we stayed in small B&B's ate at local restaurants so benefiting the local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

My sister and I did this walk in March and really enjoyed it. The communication in organising and questions we had prior to the trip were all answered promptly. The accommodation above our expectations and in fabulous locations. We were given great recommendations for meals. Maps were generally easy to read with us only getting a little lost once and that due more to us than them. This is the perfect walk for people who just want an easy pace and to take in the scenery of a small piece of Umbria. All in All fabulous.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies