8 independent reviews for Jordan holiday, small group

Reviews for Jordan holiday, small group

SHOW
5
2
1
0
0

review 10 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Petra, Wadi Rum, Dead Sea

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be reasonably fit, a head for heights useful.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It helped the local economy, our group stayed at three hotels and a Beduin camp, ate in restaurants, and gave decent tips. We travelled there by plane so probably not helpful to the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent value for money, spectacular scenery exceeded my hopes, and a good guide.

review 10 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Overall, I was awed by this trip! Each place we visited was memorable in it's own right with a wealth of history and information.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to be amazed at every turn! Heed the cold temperature warnings for the desert and bring warm layers. The cold is real!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Staying at the Bedouin camp supported the local people there as well as helping us learn about their past and current ways of life. Our guide was mindful of supporting small local businesses during stops we made. We were reminded of environmental impacts and water conservation in particular.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was excellent!

review 4 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Definitely Petra. It was also the most physically hardest of the trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel Jordan in less hot months. Be physically fit. To see the best of Petra, be prepared for lots of climbing of stairs and paths.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The People of Wadi Rum benefited from our visit financially.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Some days it was a 2 out of 10. Others days it was a 10.

review 9 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting Petra

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for all sorts of weather

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think our spending on accommodation, food etc benefitted local people, but I don't think we reduced environmental impacts. The payments of entrance fees will hopefully help support conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Mostly excellent. 8/10

review 29 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I loved the Wadi rum desert and Petra.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Check if you can who is your guide for the tour. Our guide was very inexperienced, and didn't do a good job so this really effected the tour in a negative way.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in local hotels, but sadly all the included meals within the tour were generic buffets at the hotels at - so I would rather that we had eaten in more authentic places that would benefit the smaller businesses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Jordan is amazing and nothing can take from that. But the experience with the operator was a great disappointment and I wouldn't risk using them again. If it hadn't been for such a nice group this holiday would have been a disaster.

Read the operator's response here:

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Information such as yours is valuable to us as it assists in identifying areas which may require improvement while also serving to highlight areas where we are meeting if not exceeding your expectations. It was therefore disappointing to learn that you found your (trip/ leader/) not up to the standard you were expecting. Our customer relations team will thoroughly investigate your experience and do all we can to resolve any issues raised and continue to work on improving our tours.

review 22 Dec 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Star gazing in Wadi Rum, seeing the iconic treasury in Petra, and the Roman ruins in Jerash are the top 3 - we did something special every day though!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring shoes that you are comfortable walking long distances in, and prepare for them to get sandy/ dusty! Wadi rum camp can get cold at night and if you want to lie outside and watch the stars then some warm layers are required.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - our tour guide made every effort to stop at local shops and restaurants whenever possible to ensure we benefited local people as much as possible. We were also encouraged to minimise the amount of plastic bottles bought by buying larger sized waters, and were given reusable shopping bags to reduce plastic bag use.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Outstanding- the only slight criticism was that one hotel in particular was very run down and would be classed as 1 star in the UK. Everything else was fantastic.

review 20 Nov 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Arriving at Wadi Rum

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy the moment.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Provided employment for local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 19 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Wadi Rum completely blew my mind, just an incredible place

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take flip flops for the visit to the Read Sea

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely benefitted local people; using a local very knowledgeable guide and having meals with local people, eating what they eat. It's difficult in such a hot country not to keep buying plastic bottles of water but I'm not sure how this can be easily overcome.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Incredible. I ran out of superlatives on the first day.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies