8 independent reviews for Borneo orangutan holiday

Reviews for Borneo orangutan holiday

SHOW
4
4
0
0
0

review 14 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting different areas of the jungle and rain forest and being immersed in it. The flora and fauna is superb and the wildlife mesmerising.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I was worried about what to take. My big suitcase was no problem with fabulous help all the way. I was so pleased I had taken my walking boots as they were essential in the Danum Valley. A cheap, light raincoat or poncho and a light rucksack for walks would have been great. We had bigger and heavier things and it's just so hot and sweaty, you end up resenting it! Long trousers and long sleeved tops for the evenings to avoid bites. 50% jungle formula DEET (other brands are available...) and bite creams/antihistamine. Have cash to tip guides etc -they are amazing. Allow time on arrival to get over travel and jet lag - relax and enjoy a good hotel for 2 - 3 days.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Part of the holiday cost went to the local projects such as the orang-utan sanctuary. We were taken to a village where we planted trees and were able to buy a few things they had made. The small eco team at the Gaya Island Resort are doing amazing things but could receive more support from the hotel and probably guests. Many people we met were so pleased we had come to their country and seemed to be on a mission to get us back - with friends! They certainly know the value of tourism. Of course, the flight out there has a big environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a unique holiday for us. It was challenging on many levels: the heat, leeches, other bites, dangerous animals and fish and the length of the journey. However, I loved it and it has given me an amazing insight into another part of the world. The people are delightful and the the chance to see such variety of plants, animals and environments was superb.

review 28 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing Orangutan up close in the wild

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Dont be afraid of leeches - its so worth it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We planted trees to help the reforestation project, supported a local village, adopted an orangutan and stayed in eco friendly accommodation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent on all fronts

review 27 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Trekking from Riverside lodge up to the view point and watching both orangutan and gibbons almost at eye level in the trees before walking down to a refreshing dip in the Jacuzzi stream and waterfall. Followed by the most fantastic freshly cooked food and night walk. A truly amazing day.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Not to be frustrated as days there is little wildlife to see. Enjoy the rainforest for what it is.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We understand the fees for staying in the forest help with its conservation whilst doing no damage.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An amazing experience, probably the best holiday ever!

review 19 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole package was outstanding, with every element well thought through. If I had to identify some highlights I might pick out spotting the pygmy elephants on the Kinabatangan River, watching the flying squirrels fly at MY Nature Resort, wildlife of all sorts in Danum Valley, the canopy walk at Danum Valley and the beautiful beaches at Rasa Ria and Gaya. We saw orang-utans, macaques and hornbills at almost every location we visited, as well as mouse deer, wild boar, proboscis monkeys, monitor lizards, tarantulas and, on one occasion, a clouded leopard.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To cram so much in be prepared for early starts, including treks before breakfast. Also the flight schedules demand some punishingly early pick ups, e.g. 3.30 am and 4.00 am. The only way round this would have been to add extra days and expense to the holiday. But this makes the holiday very tiring. Make sure your camera is up the job, with high definition and zoom capabilities. Ours wasn't. You will need Leech Socks in Danum, but buy them there. There are surprisingly few holiday souvenir shops in Sabah and little time to get to shops in general. We had to leave present buying to the airport and there wasn't much there either.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes the holiday was very environmentally focused. The guides were all professional environmentalists and all resorts were very eco friendly. Our package included sponsorship of an orphaned orang-utan, tree planting along the Kinabatangan River and detailed information of the various initiatives to preserve what's left of the rainforest and its unique flora and fauna.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was the best holiday I've ever had; it was our first 'wildlife' holiday and whetted our appetite for more, next time with a better camera. The locations, accommodation, guides and opportunities for fantastic nature spotting were superb. It was hard work and tiring, but the last few days in Gaya provided adequate time to relax and recuperate. I would strongly recommend this package to anyone with a love of nature, who is reasonably fit and active.

review 21 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing orang-utang and gibbon in the wild.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay 2 nights at MY Resort (or similar) not one because there is so much to see at Siepoloc.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Villages local to lodges benefitted by selling fish to them and being paid for trees we planted to renew the rain forest.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. All the links, collections, trips and flights went smoothly

review 9 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the ornagutans, particularly in the wild at Tabin. Also pygmy elephants on the Kinabatangan river. Lodges on the Kinabatangan river were super and the food was very good. Meeting the Iban people at Batang Ai was very interesting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do not go to the Lubok Kasai jungle camp. Lights go off at about 7pm. There did not seem to be any advantage to being in a remote place. Pack light. Malaysian airlines is poor compared to other long haul carriers. My vegetarian daughter was given an apple as one of the meals! On outbound and inbound flights there were issues with the tv screens. The food is poor. Our connection time on the outbound flight was tight at KL and we missed it due to a two hour delay at Manchester. we then missed one of the activities we had planned. Gaya Island resort is very beautiful but the food is avearge to say the least (apart from the breakfast) and it is expensive. Rooms are lovely. not really suitable for children. We had problems when we were leaving Kotakinabalu to fly to KL as we did not have a stamp in our passports to show we had entered Sabah. We had understood that when we flew from Mulu to Kotakinabalu (en route to Sandakan) we landed in Miri solely to go through imigration. Our boarding card was stamped. We were not told to go thorugh immigration again at KitaKinabalu. we remained in the terminal that we arrived at to board the flight to sandakan. the staff at Kotakinabalu were very unpleasant and a number of staff were called to remonstrate with us. eventually we were allowed through. Leech socks are probably not needed. Service at the Hilton restaurant in Kuching was very poor as was the food. Each person's meal arrived at very different times so we were unable to eat together, it also then took a long time. this was on a night when there was hardly anybody in the restaurant.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It did support conservation as we spent money on sanctuaries etc. Employment provided in Lodges etc. However, we used flights so that will have had an environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous. Definitiely recommend it. Glad we saw so many different things and had so many different experiences, but it was very tiring. Quality of guides was excellent, they were so enthusiastice and wanted to ensure we saw as much wild life as possible. The guide in Tabin went above and beyond to try and ensure that we saw an orangutang in the wild (which we did!).

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent trip. Iím very glad to hear that you had a fabulous time on the trip to Borneo and that you were able to see a range of wildlife. However Iím sorry to hear that some aspects were not as expected. Please allow me to address the issues you have raised: Lubok Kasai Jungle Camp: This is one of the most remote camps we sell and allows for a unique insight into the Borneo jungle to discover the wildlife. As advised in our trip literature, due to its remote location it only offers basic facilities including a limited electricity supply but we think the Camp provides a remote jungle experience, however we concede it may not be for everyone. Malaysia Airlines: The bulk of our clients travel on Malaysia Airlines to Borneo as they offer a good quality service and cost effective tickets. However I do apologise on their behalf for the below par service it sounds like you received during your flights with regards meals and flight connections. I will feed back these points to the airline for their future reference. Hilton Hotel, Kuching: I do apologise for the problems you encountered with the food and service at the Hilton Kuching. This is a hotel we use on a very regular basis and is one of the most popular hotels in the city due to its excellent riverside location and standard of the rooms and service. However we will of course feed your experience back to the hotel and our local agents for their future reference. Gaya Island Resort: Itís good to hear you enjoyed this luxury resort. Again we book the resort for many clients and it always receives excellent feedback on the staff, rooms, location and quality of the food. However your points about the food quality and prices will be passed on to the resort management for their reference.

review 17 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There are too many memorable and exciting parts to mention! Watching young Orangutans playing in the trees in Danhum Valley was incredible, seeing flying squirrels and a Western Tarsier on a night walk was fantastic but then there was also the Fireflies lighting up the trees along the river. Lankayan Island was pure paradise and the Orangutans and Sun Bears at Sepilok were heart wrenching.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for very early starts but they are well worth it and don't forget your leach socks and a good camera.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We visited the very isolated village of Abai along the river, which was great to see first hand how tourism has benefited them. We planted a tree that they had grown and chose to have our lunch there which they had prepared. Both Danhum Valley and Lakayan Island are conservation areas and obviously the work that is done at Sepilok rehabilitation centre is fantastic.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An incredible experience, I would recommend this to everyone.

review 2 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing Animals in their natural habitat, especially the orangutans.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Have good hiking boots, be prepared for the heat, be camera ready & have patience in the jungle or primary forest areas.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, in some areas more than others but yes in general.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great holiday, excellent service, good communication & transportation.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies