8 independent reviews for Las Alpujarras walking holiday, Spain

Reviews for Las Alpujarras walking holiday, Spain

SHOW
6
2
0
0
0

review 13 Nov 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is difficult to select our 'most memorable or exciting part of our holiday'. The Alpujarras are a striking area of Spain, full of history and remnants of the Moorish culture. Certainly the comraderie of our group of 12 was a daily joy. Chris Stewart, our team leader, is a remarkably positive and optimistic fellow, full of great stories and very knowledgeable about the area. The 5 walks were beautiful, varied and all interesting. The accommodation was a treat to return to at the end of the day with Anna's warm hospitality and the gourmet meals! The wine was pretty good too! It was a wonderful holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We were overly concerned whether we were fit enough or not. The walks are at a comfortable pace with lots of time to view everything and socialize. Some are quite long, with occasional steep parts, but doable with a modicum of fitness. As there are many 'white villages' about, we were always able to stop for coffee and for lunch. Most of us would recommend hiking poles.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

There is very little employment in the Alpujarra region. Certainly our trip helped employ a number of people. Tourism via hiking holidays appears to be a growth industry for them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We would rate this holiday highly, being one of our most memorable.

review 6 Nov 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The wonderful food, hospitality and people at the tour company. Meeting & walking with Chris Stewart & the superb walking in the Alpujarras! Walking to El Valero for lunch with Chris & Ana. Spending a day in Granada with local architect Rafa & learning about the architectural & religious history of the city, the amazing water-ways bringing water from high up in the Sierra Nevada mountains and the politics over the centuries - a day not to be missed, with a fantastic lunch in a restaurant looking towards the Alhambra palace - wow!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The organisation at this tour company is so focused on the detail of your holiday, that if you read all the information they send you beforehand you will have/know exactly what to prepare for!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely all the people that were involved with the holiday lived locally and were part of a regenerating community in the Alpujarras region! Everyone here is trying to live in a more sustainable way and in harmony with nature!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely spot on - it was wonderful from start to finish & such good value for money. The only extras we paid for was 1 x 20 euro kitty for bar drinks & some snacks around lunch time - it was amazing! And as you can imagine walking with Chris was highly entertaining & informative as we met local people & were able to understand the history of the area and also some of the exciting plans for the future in restoring the ancient terraces to produce more local food for the region and increase habitat & wildlife diversity!

review 23 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beauty of the Alpujarras and the wonderful food.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The holiday exceeded our expectations ! Although the website is very good it is difficult to describe the atmosphere and experience of our wonderful week.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Did benefit local people. Local restaurants and food producers. Low environmental impact as main activity was walking.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic holiday. Anne and her team looked after us very well. Charming accommodation, good company and great food. Chris and his team were great walking guides.

review 15 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walks were wonderful, the food was great and very varied...we had picnics, ate in tiny mountain bars, had a fabulous meal in a amazing restaurant in Granada overlooking the Alhambra, but the best were the nightly meals in the lovely accommodation from a series of excellent chefs in house. The accommodation was very pretty, comfortable and a wonderful place to relax after a long day's walk. Chris Stewart was the host of the week, leading us on all the walks and he makes the whole experience come alive..with his entertaining and knowledgeable repartee, based on his deep passion for the Alpuharras.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take warm clothes...we had an unseasonable April cold spell and needed hats, gloves, fleeces, waterproofs (and thermals would have been good too!) Of course you also need to pack for hot weather! It's not a stroll in the park...you do climb some very steep slopes so you do need some level of fitness...and definitely take walking poles.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not too sure on this one...we ate in several small local places, we walked many miles on trodden footpaths. We were picked up on three days by a minibus ....a very welcome minibus. I believe the food in accommodation was grown and sourced locally and it was delicious (especially the bread, baked each day in the local bakery) and obviously local people were employed in running the casa and guiding us on the walks. We had an extra guide per walk for safety reasons, but also they knew masses about local wildlife and flora in the region, which was very interesting.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a fabulous week. It was extremely well thought out with good rest periods between the exacting but rewarding walks. Certainly ended the week feeling physically healthier than when we came...and enriched by learning about the culture and history of the area... ...as well as meeting new people in the group and having fun. Top marks.

review 31 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Good times at meals. It was wonderful sharing a week with strangers that became friends thanks to Anne's nurturing of warmth. Very sweet looking place overlooking the mountains. Chris Stewart was a wonderful guide.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book early. Bring good sturdy hiking boots and poles. Expect a good hike each day--quite doable if you're used to hiking--about 10 miles a day, including uphill.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The week helped the local people in that we ate locally. Of course, Anne employed local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful. I learned a lot about a part of the world I did not know about in a very natural way. Anne's warmth made the week along with the great hiking.

Read the operator's response here:

Hello Mara, Thank you for your lovely comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your week's stay, and the walking. Anne and team

review 29 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

An almost impossible question to answer: a different route each day walking in the stunningly beautiful Alpujarras, taxing but invigorating; loved the remoteness filled with birds, wild flowers and so much water. Meeting shepherds and their grazing flocks. Cute white hilltop villages with welcome fountains and other beverages! Granada's old city history tour, superb. Returning each day to the amazing casa where great food and wines were assured. Anne and her team together with walk leader Chris Stewart and co-walkers did everything possible to make this a memorable holiday - my best yet!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A reasonable level of walking fitness is needed, otherwise those climbs could appear steeper than they actually are! I benefited from taking my walking pole.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely! At the casa, my home for the week, local people work producing wonderful food and maintaining a high standard in the rooms. Our group willingly supported the village bodegas, and ate local foods.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Highly recommended to anyone who loves walking in the open countryside, sprinkled with white hilltop villages, and snow capped mountains a little way off. A fantastic holiday which went way too fast!

review 25 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole package not just the walks will stay with me for a long time. The food was some of the best I have encountered in Spain.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book early

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Whilst most of the key elements were under the control of Anne & Chris, we did enjoy our visits to the various Spanish owned establishments on our journeys. Chris is very protective of his Aljupurran environment and is a constant source of knowledge both historic, botanical and environmental.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It exceeded my expectations due to the venue, weather and levels of real engagement by the organisers. I will return again one day to this rural idyll.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Steve and Sue, Many thanks for your lovely comments about the holiday. I'm so glad you had a good week, and hope to see you back in the Alpujarras one day. Kind regards Anne

review 4 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I have just completed a weeks walking holiday with Chris Stewart in the Alpajurra, a group of 13 of us stayed at the casa... Have to say it was a really great week. The casa is situated in the most beautiful spot there are spectuclar views from the Terrace. The food was consistently good, we ate together every night and had really varied , delicious menus ... My bedroom was comfortable and simple .... The walking holiday itself was amazing, really quite challenging, but in the most stunning landscape and we learnt a lot about the local history and also Granada when we had a say trip there ... We also had a lot of fun and laughter and a good evening playing guitar and singing! I would recommend anyone to have a holiday at the casa. The peace and beauty is hard to match ..... Great place to get away from every day madness !

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you're quite fit

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies