27 independent reviews for Gorilla Safari & the Masai Mara

Reviews for Gorilla Safari & the Masai Mara

SHOW
15
8
4
0
0

review 23 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The wildlife

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you choose the camping trip book the single supplement- the tents are too small for too people if they are not a couple! Also the gorilla trek is extremely arduous, definitely hire a porter to help you!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it was great to support tribes who are struggling with loss of habitat and FGM

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The staff were fantastic and worked tirelessly to meet our needs. We had the best wildlife encounters ever! A couple of the campsites were more urban and very noisy, but apart from that it was incrredible

review 20 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Just returned from my first African wild adventure and I'm still day dreaming of it! Couldn't have asked for a better crew team members and better group. Absolutely awed day in day out. This being my first experience camping and group travelling i must say it has been a blast! Do not let the camping put you off! It is a great experience and i loved every minute of it! From day one, every day was memorable! And just when i thought that nothing could top seeing the big five, here comes chimpanzee trekking, mountain gorilla trekking, the scenery all around were absolute breathtaking. Totally totally would recommend this trip to anyone who's ready for adventure. Our tour guide Gilbert together with chef Albert, driver Stony and all around helper Charlie made our experience a memorable one. I could not have asked for a better crew! They were awesome and their hard work must be acknowledged. Absolutely stunned with Gilbert's knowledge in terms of culture, nature, wildlife; and throughout the trip he always kept us informed, always smiling laughing and ready to listen to everything we had to say. Driver Stony, hat down! His many years of experience definitely had a say and he kept us safe throughout the journey. 100% confidence is his skills. Chef Albert looked after our stomach affairs! The whole group were astonished how he always managed to come up with the most delicious dishes even when camping. Healthy and freshly cooked food, always a bonus. Charlie the man does it all! By the end we were like a big happy family!:)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack a sense of adventure and a big smile and you'll have the holiday of a lifetime! I was nervous when i booked this trip as was travelling alone, and never done this sort of trip before, but words cannot express how amazing the trip was and how well the group and crew members integrated from day one! Be prepared for long drives on bumpy roads sometimes. Its part of the adventure package!:)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As responsible travel, we've done everything in our power to reduce the environmental impact. Locals were very welcoming and definitely believe that tourism benefits the local communities, We were given the opportunity to hire a local porter, which helps the community, we were very happy to be part of that.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

When we had to say goodbyes we cried....No one wanted the trip to end... I've created what am hopping to be lifelong friendships and it's amazing! EXCEPTIONAL! BREATHTAKING! ASTONISHING! IT'S BEEN A BLAST!

review 15 Jan 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Gorillas and Chimps.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for long drives take a book or maybe playing cards but enjoy the scenery as well. Take gloves for gorilla trek and definitely get a porter.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes all crew were Kenyan and we stopped for supplies at local markets.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good great experience very well run and crew are fantastic.

review 23 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Bwindi gorillas and Masai Mara

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get fit! The trekking was hard for the fittest of people. Be prepared - take heed of equipment needed for the treks. Travel light - there will always be the opportunity for clothes washing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The ban on plastic in Kenya is a good example. The restricted time allowed to view the gorillas and chimpanzees will benefit future visitors

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. It is a shame that we did not do this before we reached our sixties. We struggled at times but would not have missed it for the world. We would encourage people to visit the websites for Responsible Travel and the operator before making any holiday booking. Both Companies were efficient and informative.

review 1 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Too many to pick just one highlight - spending an hour with a family of 10 mountain gorillas, a balloon flight over the Masai Mara at sunrise, seeing wild chimpanzees, spotting elephants, big cats, hippos.... The list could go on.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for long days, early starts and to have the best time of your life!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The licence fee for the gorilla trek is expensive but worth every penny as it goes to protecting one of the world's most endangered species; there are less than 1000 left in the wild. The rangers involve the local communities to provide education, employment and reduce poaching so using a porter not only helps make the trek easier, it also gives money to the local community. Chimpanzee trekking is lower cost but provides similar conservation and economic benefits. The operator encourages spending in local shops and buying food from markets as the trip progresses through Uganda and Kenya. The guides provide filtered water to refill reusable bottles so reduces plastic bottle usage.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely brilliant!

review 3 Jan 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

White Water Rafting in river Nile is very interesting. Seeing Lion, Elephant and Zebra.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Expecting lots of travelling within the bus. (80% of time)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very interesting. Get to know lots of animals. Our Guide, Chief and Driver are super nice, they are very helpful.

review 16 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Getting up close to a gorilla family at Volcanoes National Park; seeing white and black rhinos in Lake Nakuru NP; seeing the Wildebeest migration in the Maasai Mara.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you love wildlife, you'll love this trip. There are a few long days driving, but it's worth it to see such a variety of landscapes and animals. It's also suitable for travellers of most ages - our group ranged from people in their 20s to around 70 years of age.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - the crew bought from local markets and road side vendors wherever possible. Our tour leader also advised on the ethics of optional trips.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An absolutely wonderful experience.

review 7 Jan 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's hard to pinpoint one moment because the entire trip was so full on. I came on the trip expecting to be excited about seeing the Gorillas at the end, but there was so much other stuff to marvel at that I didn't even think about the Gorillas until the day before we saw them. The nature was incredible, seeing lions chase cheetah, groups of hippos on the bank of the lake beside our campsite, a family of rhinos getting close to us, and not to mention the incredible natural landscape. We then got to visit an orphanage, walk through towns and villages, go white water rafting on the Nile, go swimming in a beautiful lake, learn about local projects etc. This was an African adventure that fully surpassed my expectations and is one that I implore everyone else to consider booking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make the most of all the optional activities. Go on the Nile, visit the towns, learn about the projects, and take in all that Africa has to offer. There wasn't a single moment of disappointment.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday was perfect for not only helping the local community and natural surroundings, but also great at teaching our group about the importance of community and conservation within the East African community. Our money for park permits, souvenirs etc. greatly helped the projects in each community, and we got to see up close how places such as schools and churches provide the backbone for these communities which highlighted the importance of helping them. We got to meet many people that run or help run projects for the people and the environment, which also enabled us to keep in touch if we wish to further help these projects in the future.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This is by far the best holiday I have ever been on, and I've been on quite a few! Nothing beats the natural untouched beauty of Africa, but it was the beauty of the people that helped us feel at home that I will remember most. They talked to us with such joy and passion of their families, friends, and community, that it provided a conscious reminder that in an area where so little is available, you can still find true happiness.

review 28 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Every day was fabulous always something different, gorilla trek, Rwanda genocide museum, local people, orphanage, camping, scenery, game parks, animals, elephant orphanage and numerous other too many to mention but travelling with like minded people was also a good thing. Thank you.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go with a sense of adventure & you won't be disappointed.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, by buying goods from local stalls, following rules & contributing to local causes & respecting customs & spreading the word about the wonderful countries in Africa & their people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Everything I wanted, loved every minute, thanks.

review 12 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Gorillas!!!!! Interacting with them was the most exceptional experience of my life and the biggest adrenaline rush I have ever had. It is without comparison. The Masai Mara was amazing, wild camping was a buzz and white water rafting on the Nile was an amazing experience but being close to the African people (especially the happy kids) and not isolated in 5 star resorts made the trip a once in a lifetime experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't over worry what you take. The trip is well run, food is great, accommodation works really well, and go with the flow. It's just the best escape from our western lives.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It interacted well with local people and charities without being overbearing. Some individuals benefited directly while lost of things were bought locally. Food was sourced locally but was of a great standard.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Awesome. Do it now! I miss it already.

review 1 Feb 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Where can I start, it was such a fabulous trip from the start in Kigali to the end in Nairobi. Seeing the gorillas was obviously so special and memorable and the rafting in jinja was an unexpected highlight. Also the people in my group and our fabulous tour operator's team who were so efficient, friendly, patient and organised.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it you won't regret it. It has inspired me to see more of Africa and I would definitely go with this company again.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I thought they did a great job in supporting local people - through local guides, buying food locally and a number of other things. Also small things like encouraging us not to buy water and throw out the bottles etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was excellent. I would go again tomorrow.

review 26 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Wildlife from Masai Mara to Rwanda was amazing, varied and stunning.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't be put off for travelling in short wet season. We went at the end of Feb and still saw many animals.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - but more could be done. Ensuring all trekkers for gorillas use a porter to carry their bags, stopping more at local markets on long driving days.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant - one I shall never forget.

review 8 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Spending time in the middle of a gorilla family, having one walking very close to me.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a small bag to take your items in the tent without taking the full bag and as well for the 2 days in the Masai Mara. Take warm clothes. The nights in Kembu and Lake Nakuru were cold. Take an additional padlock and music for the travel time.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes for the gorilla permit, the porters, the food and charcoal bought on the way, the rangers/guides for the different activities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a really great holiday; great wildlife, beautiful scenery, great people, and well organised.

review 6 Mar 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Gorilla trek in Rwanda was the real highlight, would do it again tomorrow, but Uganda was an unexpected highlight, with wonderful bird watching at Lake Bunyonyi, camping next to the hippos at Lake Mboru and at Jinja the boat trip to the Source of the Nile.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

At Kilgali arrange a taxi to go to the Genocide museum as the organised excursion was poor and rushed. At Lake Bunyonyi find out about the motorboat trips to do on your free day. In the truck, don't get the bottom lockers, they get filled with water when the guys wash the truck and sleeping in a damp sleeping bag isn't nice! Take some snacks, camp food was excellent and plentiful but so healthy that I felt myself craving chocolate and crisps!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The Gorilla trek did make me feel I had supported conservation. As did the Masai village visit. Also by camping the guys bought food, charcoal etc in the local markets en route rather than just benefitting hotels/restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Rwanda and Uganda was excellent and would have been 4*. Only in Kenya was the trip disappointing. The dirty/noisy campsite at Lake Naivasha was below the standard of the rest of the trip. Masai Mara was also disappointing. Crowding 8 people + driver into a 4WD made it difficult to view properly. The driver never seemed to stop when we asked to stop, and also food there wasn't on par with Onemas wonderful camp cooking.

review 17 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Game driving in the Masai Mara and visiting the gorillas in Rwanda.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for very long drives. Take a small overnight sized bag to put your clothes in for camping in addition to your day sack. The pad lock need to be large to fit the lockers. Take your cash in dollars and make sure they are large denominations and dated after 2004.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Too many of the activities in Uganda involved paying a third party rather than the local people direct and were expensive. I got the impression that the local people did not get the majority of the money. I liked the idea that the food was purchased in route from local markets.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 13 Dec 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Albeit that the Gorillas were the ultimate highlight of the holiday the whole experience was a treat.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

When you arrive in Nairobi airport don't pay the porters 1000 schillings if they don't carry your bag. We got caught out paying them £5 for lifting our bags from the ground onto the truck, bit on the expensive side if you ask me and DON'T let them take the money from your hand either which they did to us.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I am unable to equate (apart from employment of people) how much my holiday benefited the local people and I don't think that driving a truck across country minimizes the impact on the environment, but how else do you get to see these places???

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

My holiday was the best, the guides were fantastic and made sure that all our needs were catered for, couldn't fault it and worth every penny. Very fortunate that we had a great group of people on the trip.

review 16 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the gorillas, playing with children at the orphanage at Bunyonyi, seeing an elusive cheetah on our final game drive in the Mara and an absolutely fantastic group of people led by an amazing guide.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do the reverse itinerary, Kigali to the Mara. Seemed a much better way to do it in my opinion. And bring a good camera!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely. All our food was bought locally, and we stayed in local places. The environment, as much as possible for an overland trip. Chris and the team ensured we left no rubbish wherever we were, and left places spotless.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Trip of a LIFETIME!

review 30 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the mountain gorillas at such close proximity. Incredible.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a good camera and a long lens. Don't over pack, you only need casual clothing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we bought from local markets and shops or from local cooperatives. Due to an unscheduled leisure day we had an unplanned visit to an orphanage in Rwanda so we picked up a few things en route (pens, pencils, notebooks etc and a football which was a stroke of genius as it turned out). Being off the beaten track the orphanage received few visitors and therefore benefited from our goodies.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an excellent trip. Very well organised with lots to see and do without feeling rushed.

review 10 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Oh, where to start. Firstly, the crew made the holiday for me, they were fantastic and the whole group loved travelling with them (they were Often, Bernard and Charles). The best parts for me in Kenya were visitng Joy Adamsons reserve, the safari game drives (we saw all of the big five!) and the balloon ride across the Masai Mara. In Uganda the highlights were visiting an elderly couple from a local village and then going to the Little Angels school for orphans. In Rwanda of course the gorillas and the genocide memorial centre. Overall I loved all the campsites but my favourites were Kembu Farm and the one overlooking the mouth of the Nile (I forget the name). I also liked the site in Uganda with the amazing views overlooking lake Bnyoni. I couldn't fault anything other than feeling we were ripped off by the Masai village we visited who split us up and took us into their huts basically to flog us so-called handmade jewellery that we didn't want. Most of us bought out of guilt alone. Otherwise the trip was incredible.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't be ripped off by the Masai village - the visit itself was great until they did the hard sell. That ruined it for all of us. Only go on this trip if you like camping. I am a seasoned camper and absolutely love getting close to nature - and we got close! Others were less keen on going back to basics. We had a lion, elephant, hyena, zebra, group of hippos and wart hogs outside our tents at night. No joke so be prepared! Take a head torch and a she-wee ladies if you don't want to leave the safety of your tent in the middle of the night! Make sure your camera batteries are good quality. Take at least three times the amount for tips than suggested - you will need it. If you want to sponsor a child you need to pay 6 months in advance in cash so take plenty of extra dollars for that. Take warm and cool clothes, the temperature varies hugely. Take things to read/do on the journey - some of the truck drives are long (and bumpy)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I hope so. The crew were all Kenyan nationals and most of the wider team they employed were too. The visit to the Masai arguably benefits the villages and visiting the adorable elderly couple and the school for orphanes definitely did too. The gorilla treks contribute towards the huge challenge they have of protecting these enigmatic creatures. All in all I think it benefitted. Nothing worried me and I am very concsious of environmental and community issues. I do however wish we could have done more!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I have travelled a lot and have been to Africa before but not the East. However, something about this trip touched me deeply. I worry for Africa, for the people, the environment and the wildlife. This trip educated me further on the problems facing this great continent. It was truly educational, breathtaking, humbling and fun!

review 9 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Gorillas.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Read closely - the driving is exhausting.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

No.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good, but too much driving.

review 20 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Almost walking into a zebra on my way to the toilet one night!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The camping was challenging for me, but it was worth it to hear animals at night

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It benefited local people

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

5 stars

review 18 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The gorilla treks, not only where they amazing but it was also on my birthday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go with objective to speak to as many locals as possible and break away from the tour group when you can

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Five stars it was fantastic

review 18 Apr 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is hard to pick out just one moment as the trip had different types experiences throughout. The gorillas, white water rafting on the Nile, and the Masai Mara game drives were phenomenal. The guides were great and have been doing this for a long time together. They are super laid back, funny, and extremely knowledgeable on any optional activities, local restaurants, and anything wildlife related.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you bring plenty of cash. It can be very hard to pull money out towards the end of the trip in Rwanda. Don't worry too much about the Visa's at the Ugandan border. It was easy for British, American, and Mexican nationals to get it there. The trip notes are very accurate and most of your questions can be answered in the notes. There are nettles on the trek to the gorillas. You are going through very thick underbrush and should have long, relatively thick pants and shirts so the nettles don't poke through. Our pants were light weight and the nettles got through to our legs. I wouldn't bother bringing any snacks. You stop frequently enough to purchase food for the group where you can pickup stuff for yourself if hungry (not likely due to the abundance of good food from the guides). If you are a light sleeper, consider bringing ear plugs. The animals weren't very loud at night, but we did have some rowdy people from another tour group at a campsite one night. Just book it now!!!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Most definitely...All of the food was bought at local stores and the various tour support people were all from the area. There were plenty of opportunities to buy items from locals at shops and markets.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was the best vacation we have ever taken. It was a packed with a wide variety of activities from wildlife to culture to beautiful site seeing.

review 16 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the gorillas and animals in the other game reserves, the experience of spending time in Africa, meeting the people and seeing the beautiful country. The guides and the group were excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you allocate enough money for Visa's and tips. Head torch is a must, as well as mossi repellent, make sure you have enough memory cars and battery for your camera and enough the experience, it really is a privileged experience.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, I do hope so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One I will never forget.

review 31 Oct 2010

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To expect the unexpected! Donít get hung up on itineraries, when something doesnít work out the way YOU are expecting it too. Donít expect hot showers and the same standards of cleanliness as at home.

review 27 Jan 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Gorillas in Rwanda, Seeing the orphanage at Lake Bunyoni, bird watching at Lake Bunyoni.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for some long driving days, and roughing it at times but all well worth it. Read the trip notes carefully.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I think a conscious effort is being made towards these goals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An excellent holiday, would readily recommend it to friends.

review 25 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Gorillas of course! However, our group, the people we met, the Masai Mara, Rwanda itself, and Lake Nakuru are also all highlights.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Avoid the $30 "walking safari" like the plague. It consisted of sitting in a 14-person minivan taxi in a privately owned ranch. When we finally got the driver to let us walk, the game guides that came with us knew nothing of the animals or plants. Luckily, we had a couple in the group who had been training to become guides who told us about what we were seeing. If my wife hadn't spotted the giraffes, told the guides where to look, and then held her ground when the guides couldn't see what we all could, we wouldn't have seen anything more interesting than a zebra. The whole Lake Naivasha campsite and excursions (walking safari, boat trip to Ellesmere) felt poor value and unenjoyable. Get used to camping in sites that are not in the wilderness. Our Entebbe campsite was on the lawn in front of a sports bar that doubled as a brothel. Several of the campsites (including the prostitute one) had parties going on that lasted all night. Bring earplugs! Our trip was the last one being run by the operator that will use the open style of safari bus. They are now changing to enclosed "coach" style buses. We greatly enjoyed being in the open, and felt we saw and experienced more since it wasn't in a bus seat behind glass windows. Our seats were more padded benches in an enclosure with open-air sides. Avoid the "Curio" shops you will be taken to throughout Kenya. They are overpriced, obviously pay commissions to your tour guides, and you will find better deals (about 80-90% less for the same merchandise) when stopping at Nakuru town. These gripes aside, it was a wonderful trip we will always remember (and with 2000+ photos). Also, when we ran into other tour groups doing similar trips, they were more hand-on, in terms of cooking their own food, pitching their own tents, etc. They were driven around in large buses from site to site, but otherwise they were providing their own manpower. They didn't seem to have paid much less.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Local as in East African, yes, but the guides/drivers/etc were from disparate places all over southern and eastern Africa. Some felt more like businessmen than wilderness guides. Certainly we were spending money in local places and picking up supplies from local businesses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A very enjoyable time, and we plan to go back to East Africa again, though under our own steam now.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies