10 independent reviews for Lapland holiday, husky safari & log cottage

Reviews for Lapland holiday, husky safari & log cottage

SHOW
6
4
0
0
0

review 8 Apr 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most exciting was the overnight Husky Dog safari into the Wilderness, an experience not to be missed! The most memorable was seeing the Northern lights and Snow-shoeing in the forests around lake Inari, spotting Siberian Jays and Tits and Snow grouse trails , climbing up through the forest to wonderful views of the vast frozen lake & rolling hills surrounding!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you get in touch with Riitta you will get a tailor made holiday that will be memorable, so decide what you want to do - I read a lot of reviews and travel guides and knew exactly what we wanted and Riitta made it happen! If you decide to move around like we did, pack light with plenty of warm thin layers, hat and gloves...even at the most luxurious lodges there was no need to dress up as there are night time activities - snowmobiles/walking etc to spot the aurora or simply gaze at the beautiful night time sky - really not enough hours in the day or night to fit it all in!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely, tourism is one of the main sources of income, care & knowledge of nature and recycling of products is very evident.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a fabulous holiday, Riita choose some lovely hotels for us, all super well equipped and extremely warm and comfortable... they also made a big effort to produce some really good vegetarian food. The activities were very well organised and the equipment, overalls and boots were all super to use and wear. Flying up to the Arctic circle added another layer of adventure! Riita also organised an Art session for us with a Sami artist and a trip to the Siida museum which was fab and added to our understanding of the country, as did our first day in Helsinki where we were able to see and learn about the history of the country and the Russian influence and connection through the many museums, architecture and layout of the city -particularly around Senate square etc. Definitely recommended!!

review 15 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The husky safari was amazing

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Plan well ahead, and make sure you pack enough warm clothes.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Truly memorable with a lifetime full of memories.

review 15 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All the snow and ice activities - husky sledding, ice fishing, cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobile driving - were great. So different from what you can do in London! Would have been even better if the Northern lights had appeared while we were there but that's not under anyone's control.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do husky sledding for at least two days with an overnight stay in the wilderness so you get to look after the dogs in the evening.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

For most of the activities it's difficult to believe they could have any material negative impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good. The organisation was excellent and I would highly recommend arranging your trip through Riitta.

review 11 Jan 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The husky tour, the tipi warm up snack times & quite simply, the amount of snow everywhere!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't be scared of the cold! If you wear layers it's surprising how easy it is to be out in -19 degrees.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

People yes, as it clearly creates job opportunities and income for all ages and skills. Unfortunately, I don't believe tourism can do either of the latter - by it's nature, additional housing, running water, amenities of all kinds are required, which draws on resources, space and land that otherwise could be left for nature.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9/10

review 7 Jan 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The husky safari

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The log cabin was not suitable for 11 people although the place was very nice. The way it was chosen could be improved.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not too much

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was really good, but we felt that the Provider could had given us more transparent information before we travelled. One of the things that could improve the service is a detailed list of prices for each activity. Instead of that, we had a overall price with no enough details.

review 10 Dec 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Without a doubt, the husky safari. The Finnish hospitality and at Wilderness Hotel Muotka was as well.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Finland's nature is breathtaking, look for accommodation that are surrounded by the incredible beautiful wilderness instead of the commercialized hotels filled with tour groups. I strongly recommend Wilderness Hotel Muotka in Ivalo.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Supporting tourism in the less commercialized areas of Finland, learning about the Sami way of life, ice fishing with the locals, husky sledding.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Five stars, without a doubt.

review 16 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Husky trek in Ivalo and staying in the glass igloo were highlights for us.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We would have skipped the Ice Breaker and spent another night in an Igloo. Otherwise this trip was GREAT!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a fantastic trip - action packed with so many wonderful experiences. All the details were handled so well.

Read the operator's response here:

Point 3) All the service providers used were local entrepreneurs. Public bus and train were used for transportation whenever possible.

review 2 Jan 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all good. We particularly enjoyed the snowshoeing in the evening.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a lot of socks.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefited local people as the activities in Pyha were organized by local businesses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Super.

review 29 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The husky ride in Inari is simply fantastic!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Keep your safaris to inari, snowmobiling, reindeer ride, snowshoeing if you really want a taste of real Finnish outdoor adventures.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

There is minimal wastage and we get to experience nature with the locals who love their country.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Well planned, tailored made and little details were well looked into.

review 23 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all brilliant, but I would say the most memorable bit was the husky safari, it was so peaceful once the dogs got started. The rest of the trip was amazing too from the hotel Vuokkati, to cross country skiing, ice skating, visiting the spa at Katinkulta and Angry Birds park and going out on cross country ski trails and tobagonning from the hotel. Brilliant!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book through Responsible travel, every detail was planned

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used the ski bus and went out from the hotel

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superb, the service from the operator was top notch

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies