11 independent reviews for Cambodia holidays, Phnom Penh & Angkor

Reviews for Cambodia holidays, Phnom Penh & Angkor

SHOW
3
8
0
0
0

review 28 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It would be difficult to identify a single point or aspect of my holiday as being the most memorable as the entire trip was unforgettable. The openness and friendliness of the Cambodian people was heart warming and this was evident in every exchange, from buying stamps at the post office to waving at the children on the Sankhang River, both on the floating villages and the riverbanks. They seemed to thoroughly enjoy our passage past their homes and I suspect we may have constituted their day's entertainment!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to shower and change several times a day, particularly at the beginning/end of the rainy season as humidity is high. Remember that local wages are very low and that a thoughtful tip is most appreciated. Do respect local culture and customs and try to learn a few words of Khmer :)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, not only were we supporting local businesses, including but not limited to hotels and restaurants, but the cost of our 3 day tickets to see Angkor Wat and the other temples goes in part to the ongoing preservation and restoration of temple sites.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would rate the holiday as superb. The itinerary was extremely well planned, the administration and planning from hotel transfers to arrivals, stays and departures at the three different hotels we stayed in was seamless. The tour leadership and tour guides made what was already a memorable holiday into an unforgettable one.

review 5 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole immersion in another culture was educational and we loved it all.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Probably not go near monsoon although there were less tourists then.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely, although not sure about the large outlet selling a variety of crafts. My friend spent quite a lot and the manager/owner asked why I did not purchase anything although we were told there was no obligation. Not sure if the craftsmen benefitted much.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A thoroughly wonderful holiday though we were lucky to be the only three on the trip which gave us comfortable journeys

Read the operator's response here:

We're delighted that you and your friends had such a positive experience of Cambodia. It certainly is a fascinating country. A word about the craft centre. We presume you are referring to Artisan's D'Angkor workshop and boutique. We have chosen to include this organisation as they train underprivileged children to make handicrafts, however we appreciate it can be seen as pricey for the region. As you say, there was no obligation, and we regret that you were made to feel under pressure. This should not have been the case.

review 5 Jan 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The S-21 site in Phnomh Penh, all the temples at Siem Reap and the boat journey between Siem Reap and Battambang.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

While the physical demands are not great, considering the heat etc, there are some areas especially around the temples, where a certain amount of determination and robustness is required. This trip is not casual.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the visit to the village industries around Battambang, the stops on the boat trip (for drinks and to see the hyacinth weaving) between Siem Reap and Battambang and the use of the local guides including the Butterfly company in Battambang.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent! We felt that the time in Battambang could have been better used as the (new) bamboo railway was rather more of a fairground ride than we anticipated, although it did seem to appeal very much to the Cambodians riding with us! It was a good 3 hours that may have been better used. Otherwise, the whole trip was well thought out and covered many aspects of Cambodian life. Our guide Nak was perfect! The hotel in Battambang was unfortunately a bit disappointing compared to those in Siem Reap and Phnomh Penh.

review 8 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Because we were a small group, we were able to change the itinerary and instead of visiting one of the main temples, we went 'off the beaten track' and travelled to a temple way out of Siem Reap without any tourists there. It really felt like we made our own discovery! The journey down the river was also great and showed how some Cambodians still lived, which was quite an eyeopener

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go with the flow, keep an open mind and drink lots of water...it's hot and humid in November

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think it definitely benefited local people, we stayed in Cambodian owned hotels, ate at local restaurants and visited (and shopped!) at local villages. Not sure about the amount of water bottles though as that is not very sustainable but on the other hand difficult to avoid.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Had a great time and feel like I have a better understanding of both the country and its people.

review 14 Mar 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Experiencing Cambodia moving on from the horrors of its recent history and meeting its charming people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A reasonable degree of fitness might aid enjoyment since there is some walking around the historic sights in hot weather.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Tourism is an important employer in Cambodia so our staying in small hotels and using local guides, river boats, the bamboo train etc were all supportive.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 26 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many things, it was crammed with experience, but probably the trip up river from Siem Reap to Battambong across ton le sap and past the front rooms of so many families scratching an existence from the river and surrounding landscape. Beautiful landscapes and such fundamental issues with sustainability. But Cambodian resilience seems to win out. A privilege to get so close to people's lives.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We were not at all sure about doing a small group tour, but we had underestimated the impact of travelling with a guide with a plan. We absolutely packed in the experience and really felt we had seen Cambodia in all its aspects by the time we left. IF you don't have as much time, this is a great way to learn lots.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

undoubtedly. whether it was small, local hotels or cycle tours to see rural businesses, this tour was mostly about local entrepreneurship and it was the better for it.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic window into cambodia. we needed a few days on a thai beach to assimilate it all.

review 31 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many things were amazing. Seeing the sun rise at Angkor Wat, trekking in the Kulen mountains and camping overnight at the monastery at the top. My daughter would say it was riding on an elephant, something she has always wanted to do. Visiting the museum at Tuol Sleng and the Killing Field was incredibly moving. All the hotels we stayed at were better than we expected, all having air conditioning which was great. We wouldn't have got as much out of the trip if we hadn't had a brilliant guide called Fin. He went above and beyond the call of duty to make our experience what it was.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Talk to Lesley at the operator. Tell her your budget and what you want. We didn't think we could have the holiday we wanted for our budget but we got it! We were concerned that going in August would be a mistake as it is supposed to be the wettest month. Well it isn't any more! We got caught in one torrential downpour which was fun, it was still very warm, and then had showers on 3 other days. The rain didn't stop any of our activities.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in hotels run by locals, not big international chains which hopefully means the money stays in Cambodia. We used local restaurants and transport and our guide told us that tourism is now the 3rd biggest industry in the country. One thing we felt Cambodia is going to have to deal with soon is the rubbish. Piles of plastic bottles are not attractive.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Better than we had imagined. Certainly an experience that my 16 and 15 year old won't forget. If you want a holiday with variety, from temples to history to beaches to bartering in the Russian market then this is for you.

review 11 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Rather to my surprise, given that I went solely to see Angkor, the most memorable part was probably eating real food in local Cambodian eating places. I am not a foodie and my experience of 'Asian' food is limited to takeaways from the local 'Chinese' (in other words maximum ignorance!) so all I know is what a pleasure it was to eat zingy fresh food that Cambodians eat. This was supported by being a small group of 7/8 so we were kind of able to blend in as many of the local people were also in similar sized groups. If we had been even a group of 15-20 it could not have been such a genuinely anonymous and enjoyable experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Well - none really! Everything I needed to know was covered beforehand either on the website or in the trip notes I was sent. I felt as well informed as I needed to be for such a brief visit to an engagingly complex country.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, with a couple of 'Buts' we had local guides and drivers, and as enthused about above, we ate in Cambodian places. I am confident that we supported conservation, though this wasn't particularly mentioned. Our driver joined us on our Drinking Towers evening which was my first experience of a trip that assumed that level of equality - I really appreciated it. I am much less confident about our environmental impact. There is a lot of plastic waste in Cambodia and we added to it big time! We used absolutely dozens and dozens of small bottles of water and there was no recycling of them. On a ten day visit to Namibia a few years ago, the guide had a large collapsible water container and we refilled our bottles from that. The two hotels we used also had only small bottles in rooms and mini bars. The operator could invite hotels to install water coolers/fountains like UK offices have from which clients would refill their small bottle/proper flask. Also on the day that we had a picnic, each baguette came in a very large (because the sandwiches were large) polystyrene box. Yikes! They should have been in paper or paper bags. The operator could ask the shop to use paper bags - it would be a small but significant step.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would rate is as well constructed and well led - and well enjoyed. What more could I have wanted? It was perfect.

Read the operator's response here:

We thank Christine for her kind comments and are so please she had such a positive experience of Cambodia. We couldn't agree more in principal with the comments about plastic waste but we are largely constrained by common practice on the ground and what is safe and practical for our guests. Remembering we are talking about a country just emerging from 30 years of civil war and the Khmer Rouge, where the average wage is less than $2 and many people still live hand to mouth, concepts such as littering, recycling and eco-tourism are totally alien to the majority of local people and firms. (Note though, having said that the majority of plastic bottles and cans are in fact collected by street kids etc for resale anyway.) Where we can, we do use the large 20 litre bottles for example with larger groups or on longer trips - but often it is not practical. a. We can't chill the large bottles and in climates such as Cambodia in April, customers usually want cold water. b. With smaller groups there is too much wastage since water in such large bottles can only be kept a certain time before picking up an unpleasant taste, c. Even in restaurants where large bottles are used people are often uncomfortable being offered water out of a bottle that is not sealed even if the guide assures them it's fine d. We have to issue one or 2 small bottles of water per person when hiking or on the road where it would not be possible to refill from a larger bottle. (When we do overnight camping we do bring large bottles for refills.) We do endeavour to ensure that any small plastic water bottles we provide are disposed of in an appopriate manner. Few hotels will refill personal water bottles, they do of course make money from selling bottled water. We share Christine's concern about polystyrene containers but again at the moment that is what is almost universally used when we purchase packed lunches. There are currently few hygenic alternatives in Cambodia. Biodegradeable lunch boxes are available in Thailand but not to our knowledge in Cambodia. However, we will talk again to the restaurants concerned to see if they have any ideas.

review 7 Mar 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Watching dawn break and the sun rise at Angkor Wat. Just magical.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you can cope with the heat. You need to be reasonably fit to walk around the temples in 34 degree heat. Take a torch for the power cuts.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I think it did benefit local people by providing jobs for them in restaurants, bars, hotels etc. and as guides and providing food. I'm not sure we minimized our impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Well paced, very interesting and you need a good guide and we had one. There was quite a lot of travel by minibus but that's to be expected if you are covering a lot of the country but be prepared. Enjoyed the small group and there was a good mix of outings and time to oneself.

Read the operator's response here:

Many thanks for your comments Caroline - we are particularly pleased that you appreciated the pace of the tour and the blend of time to yourself and activity - it isn't always easy to get this just right, but we do try our best. Being rushed from place to place without having time to sit and watch the world go by is not our way. Lesley.

review 7 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The visit to the prison and the Killing Fields were very moving and thought provoking, not enjoyable but really helped me understand. The temples were amazing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take lots of memory cards for your camera as you will want to take loads of photos! Read up on the history before you go.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Visited small local restaurants and used local guides where possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I had an amazing time - the guides were great, really looked after me. I loved every minute and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the operator.

review 21 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Many aspects of the holiday were memorable. The painful recent history, the friendly locals, the scenic beauty, variety and the welcoming attitude to tourists today. For the children, possibly the elephant riding, kayaking and opportunities to see cultures rather different to theirs, as well as to taste deep fried tarantula and fish pedicures!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Read about the history as you go. Be adventurous in you itinerary and be prepared to change it if necessary due to weather!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely benefited local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Our help with itinerary was excellent and it was tailored to our family of older teenagers and a 10 year old. A variety of history, culture and activity was just right and everyone had a fabulous time. It was excellent in all aspects.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies