8 independent reviews for Southern Croatia cruise in comfort

Reviews for Southern Croatia cruise in comfort

SHOW
3
4
1
0
0

review 17 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This was the perfect holiday for our family, some of whom are very active (and could find opportunities to swim, hike, and bike) and others who prefer a more relaxed vacation (lots of reading, sitting in cafes, and sleeping in the sun). We were able to start the day together over breakfast and come back together later in the day and share our adventures. The size of this cruise (40 people max) was great, the other travellers friendly, and the staff and facilities were fantastic!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Plan to spend some extra days before and after your cruise - Croatia is a beautiful and diverse country!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The staff was really helpful in directing us towards local activities, restaurants, and hidden gems, and in pointing out environmental and historical points of interest. They also seemed to care about waste (e.g., using a single water jug instead of lots of plastic bottles) and conservation of the stunning places we got to visit.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, I would absolutely recommend Responsible Travel, and our tour operator.

review 26 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was fantastic. The boat ----the crew---the journey---the food-- the country and other passengers from all over the world. The planned journey was excellent----Split-Dubrovnic plus all of the islands.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The boats are graded eg--Deluxe-A plus--A--B. Decide which package you require, based on accommodation and food etc. I took Kuna (local currency) and Euros. Hardly anyone would take the Euros.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local people were definitely benefited with regards to all of us on the boats visiting restaurants and shops every day. Local people were so friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I have travelled all over the world--- this holiday was up there with the best.

review 11 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole experience was lovely. The crew were great as was the tour rep on board. All the passengers on board from all nationalities joined in and we had a wonderful time together.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You have to leave the boat at 9am on the morning of your departure so would suggest getting a mid afternoon flight or staying a extra day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I felt the local people benefited as we called into many small islands and used the facilities i.e. Restaurants shops etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This is the first holiday we have taken of this kind and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The boat was just the right size and everything was clean and you got to know the crew and fellow passengers in a relaxed environment.

review 2 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The water along the Dalmatian coast is so crystal clear - beautiful swimming.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This cruise was very easy way to see a variety of Croatian waters/ towns without the hassle of buses/ ferries/ having to find accommodation in each new place.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Coastline is amazingly clean which is nice to see.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an excellent holiday for slightly travel weary traveller.

review 6 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We ended up feeling that a 'cruise' holiday is not for us. Comfort, food and host guide were all excellent and the other 36 passengers were pleasing to meet. But, cocooned in the elegant ship we didn't get any real feeling of Croatia. The coastal strip that we visited earns its living solely from tourism extinguishing local character. One organised visit inland gave us a characterful meal but otherwise it was up to Split at the start of the cruise to show us a wonderful market teeming with local life. What we'd originally been looking for was the simpler style of the Turkish gulet able to explore the smaller bays and inlets. Perhaps, unlike Turkey, there isn't much life to be found on this coast outside tourism?

review 17 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Swimming off the boat in the beautiful clear blue water in little bays and fabulous food in every town that we visited. The historical town of Dubrovnik is well worth a visit and we plan to visit again perhaps when it is cooler and less busy.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We stayed overnight in Split on the way out which worked well and allowed us to get to our departure point without having to rush. The walking tour in Dubrovnik was excellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We were made aware that the boat was owned and run by a local family.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was exactly as described and is a great way to see several different islands. Meeting and travelling with people from different countries made the trip very enjoyable.

review 7 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Natural beauty of the islands and significant history of the places visited.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Learn a bit about the historical sites first.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It appears that only local people benefitted. No signs of poor environmental practices.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable. Nice fellow passengers to have interesting conversations with. Relaxed and pleasant crew. The scenery very attractive especially in National parks and unesco sites. Plenty to learn about. Comfortable small ship.

review 4 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The swim stops! They were excellent - swimming to shore from the boat, or simply round the boat in the clear blue water :-)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As for a room on the very upper deck - when your mored alongside other boats being on the middle deck means people have to walk past your room on to their boat.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited local people - yes. We visited quiet and small villages - although on one of those stops we ate on boeard so our contribution to the local economy was more limited. Environmentally - not so sure. Two small plastic bottles of water each day, rather than one big one seemed it wasn't as environmental friendly as it could be.... Plus I watched the boys (things that protect the side of the boats from damage when docked) being cleaned with ajax and simply washed into the sea, I have to say I was quite shocked by this!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I enjoyed it lots, friendly people, a good sun deck and lots of yummy food!

Read the operator's response here:

The people that operate the vessel have an annual company meeting to discuss environmental and responsible issues, and the water bottle issue should be easy to take on board. Thank you

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies