7 independent reviews for Borneo tour, Great Apes and Beach escapes

Reviews for Borneo tour, Great Apes and Beach escapes

SHOW
3
4
0
0
0

review 14 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing Pygmy elephants in the wild was the highlight.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Insect repellant, good camera for wildlife, water proofs.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes sepolik and the sun bear sanctuary aim to release back into the wild. The conditions the animals are kept in are really good. The local tour company employs local people and offers scholarship programmes to locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, very good value for money, incredible experiences, amazing food. Really helpful people and good guide. Very smooth experience.

Read the operator's response here:

Hi Eilish, it's so wonderful to hear than you had an incredible time in Borneo and that everything went smoothly. It's great that you had a fantastic time knowing your trip benefited the local people and the wildlife. How exciting that you spotted Pygmy Elephants - a rare sighting and I'm so pleased you'll take this memory away from your Borneo adventures! Thank you, Phoenix

review 26 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the wildlife in a natural setting - sitting in a boat on the river, suddenly seeing movement in the trees and observing a family of monkeys eating and grooming was wonderful and seeing a group of pygmy elephants munching happily away by the riverside was just amazing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take your camera and binoculars! This was a wonderful holiday and an opportunity to see the different sides of Borneo - city, island, rainforest - all of which were fantastic.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All of our guides and drivers were local people who were friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgeable. Our impression was that tourism was being managed appropriately to support the environment and conservation whilst providing economic benefits locally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful, we really enjoyed it and didn't want to come home!

Read the operator's response here:

Hi Lindsay, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your trip to Borneo with us. It really sounds like you had a memorable holiday and really got to enjoy some of the best highlights that beautiful Borneo can offer. I loved the Kinabatangan River and I think the guides are fantastic at helping spot the amazing wildlife as well. I am so jealous you got to see pygmy elephants! Thanks for your helpful tips, a agree that a good camera and binoculars are a must for spotting wildlife it really makes a difference. I am pleased you noticed the effort our local partners and guides make in supporting the local conservation and environment as itís something that is in much need in Borneo so itís great to able to make a difference! Once again Lindsay, thanks again for your glowing review and we hope to hear from you again soon. Best wishes, Chloe

review 1 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Mountain climbing

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring walking stick. We did but should be told to people?.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great. One of our best in twenty years. We have done much traveling.

Read the operator's response here:

Hi Mary Alice, Thank you so much for your review regarding your trip to Borneo with us as part of your big adventure. It's great to hear you liked the Kinabalu climb so much, well done for completing it as itís quite an achievement! Thanks for the tip about the walking poles as well, I will certainly make sure to recommend this to future clients. It's lovely to hear this was your best trip in 20 years and I am thrilled to have organised it for you! Thanks again Mary Alice and we look forward to helping you again soon. Best wishes, Chloe

review 2 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved our 2 night stay in the Longhouse. We felt very privileged to be a part of their life for a couple of days

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Nice to have a balance of accommodation- loved the basic bits but also nice to finish off with a bit of luxury

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The only thing stopping me giving it a 5 star experience is the fact we only saw 2 orang-utans from a distance. We were quite unlucky when we visited the rehabilitation centres and walked through the rainforest. we were also hoping to see them at Rasa ria at the end but they had been rehomed to Sepilok. Maybe we should have tried to visit Sepilok as well..? Also a trip to Bako National park may also have been good- friends we met had good close up experiences with wildlife there. Canoeing was fun but something we can do in the UK so we wish we had seen a few more animals/reptiles.

Read the operator's response here:

Hi Annalisa, Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review about your trip to Borneo with us! It sounds like you had a wonderful family holiday to Borneo and it was a pleasure putting it together for you. It's a shame about the orangutans in Semenggoh. Unfortunately as they are mainly wild it can vary day to day when it comes to spotting them. I'm however glad you got to see a couple from the distance as that is still lucky! Maybe if you go back to Borneo you could spend more time in Sabah region next time, to explore Sepilok and other wildlife areas. I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed the longhouse experience, as you know I loved this myself and it's great to know you are directly supporting the local people and community. It's also great you liked the balance of accommodation throughout as it's all part of the overall experience! Thanks again for your feedback Annalisa and we hope to hear from you and your family again soon! Best regards

review 19 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything was most enjoyable

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go prepared for the rain

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I truly hope so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent
Tour op to respond to Q3 - 24/04/2017

Read the operator's response here:

Hi Jackie, Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review about your trip to fantastic Borneo. I am so pleased to hear you had a lovely time, it's my favourite country I have been to without a doubt! I totally agree about your traveller's tip, the rainforest likes to share it's downpours so it's always good to have a poncho or umbrella to hand! Our local partners in Borneo work with many different conservation projects and only select hotels that follow sustainability practices so you can be assured that your booking was supporting local people and the right conservation. Thanks again for your lovely comments and we hope to hear from you again soon! Best wishes, Chloe

review 26 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole trip was memorable because of the amount we packed in. We have arrived home with much to savour and a warm feeling towards Sabah and the Malaysian people. Special moments were seeing an orangutang in the wild, the river excursions through the jungle and managing to get to the top of Mt Kinabalu with a lovely clear view.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Prepare for the climb up Mt Kinabalu. It is much more than a steep hill - mostly steps and very uneven. Allow time afterwards for your legs to recover before your flight home. Travel as light as possible, everything is very casual and you don't want to be carting large cases around.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We shopped in local markets and ate in the night fish market in Kota Kinabalu. We took aquapure filter bottles and topped them up from our rooms to avoid using bottled water too much. The local guides were very informative and quite happy to talk honestly about the problems surrounding the palm oil industry and the impact it has already had on wildlife and deforestation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A great trip. Not at all relaxing as we were on the move most of the time (our choice), but we are refreshed and invigorated and very happy to have seen and done so much.

review 14 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were too many memorable moments to pick just one. Watching the wild Orang Utans high in the trees, walking along the gangway following a juvenile Orang Utan in the Sepilok santuary, the orchids, Lankayan, watching the turtles and releasing the hatchlings, swimming with reef sharks and more.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

On the return trip we had a half day stopover at the lodges at Sandakan. A short taxi fare gives you a few more hours at the Orang Utan santuary, well worth it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful

Read the operator's response here:

Hi Tony, Thank you so much for your review for your recent trip to Borneo. It sounds like you had some fantastic wildlife experiences, and I know the guides we work with in Borneo work extra hard to spot the animals too! Also, it's lovely that you were able to assist with our local charity project we support on Lankayan Island as it's doing a wonderful job with the conservation and protection of marine life and turtles. Thanks for the good tip on the return to Sandakan, it's great to use up the free time that generally occurs on the last day and I am pleased that you were able to spend a bit more time at the Orangutan sanctuary before the flight home as well. Thanks again for your glowing review Tony, I am pleased you both had a wonderful time and we hope to hear from you again soon! Best wishes, Chloe

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies