8 independent reviews for Rajasthan 15 day tour

Reviews for Rajasthan 15 day tour

SHOW
8
0
0
0
0

review 10 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing a tiger up close and personal in the wild takes some beating but the Taj Mahal was an amazing site. The most exciting part was a ride through Old Delhi; definitely got the adrenaline going.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The lodges that we stayed in outside the National Parks all employed and supported local people and the local economy. The park entrance fees and the park guides also helped local employment as well supporting the government's conservation programmes, not just for tigers but also other endangered species.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An amazing adventure. We were guided and assisted every step of the way. The tour operator and their organisation in India helped to make our holiday truly memorable.

review 20 Apr 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were several! The Golden Temple of Amritsar, the border ceremony at Wagah, obviously the Taj Mahal, the beautiful views of the Himalayan foothills from Shimla, the chaos of Dehli and the wonderful experience visiting an elephant sanctuary near Agra.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take the best hotels you can, maybe start your itinerary somewhere less busy than Delhi... we started in Amritsar which gives you the chance to get used to India 'gently' rather than being 'thrown in at the deep end' !

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Overall yes, although it is a shame that the local business practice appears to be that drivers are often required to sleep in their cars if not in their home city/town. We were told that some of the more thoughtful hotels at least provided shared accommodation and facilities for the various drivers. We were very pleased to go and see and support the elephant sanctuary near to Agra, and hope they will continue their excellent work.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This is the second holiday we have booked via Responsible Travel, the other trip being to Borneo, and we were not disappointed!

review 14 Apr 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The tour operator went above and beyond to make this experience as tailored as possible. The hotels were all fantastic, especially the Samode Haveli in Jaipur and the RAAS in Jodhpur. The expert guides in each city were excellent and informative. Our two week trip was the perfect mix of relaxation, history, food, shopping, and sightseeing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you don't mind the temperatures heating up a bit, booking in March/April was ideal because there were far fewer tourists than there would be during the high season of November/December/January. It was nice to experience cities and towns and not be completely surrounded by other tourists.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I was very happy to provide work for people during the start of the low season -- our presence was important for their livelihood so it felt great to be able to provide gratuity to these hardworking individuals. I know it can't be helped, but the plastic bottle usage throughout the trip was a bit concerning. There is starting to be more and more filtered water in India but every time I tried to use it to fill my water bottle, I was advised against it saying that it would still make me ill. I am hoping that the next time I visit India, I am encouraged to use fewer plastic bottles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

5 stars all the way!

review 27 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Outstanding accommodation in heritage hotels and homestay, especially Dera Mandawa in Jaipur and Coral Court in Agra. Wonderfully well looked after by representatives, guides and driver of the operator.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try to build in longer stays here and there to do your own thing. We loved the National Museum in Delhi and Albert Hall. Museum in Jaipur. Deogarh is lovely, also Ranakpur Jain temple and countryside around.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Donít know; Indian tourism industry seems to be flourishing and good. The operator seems an excellent firm.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 18 Feb 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The wide range of amazing places we stayed and the very knowledgeable guides. Wonderful palaces and temples and small lanes full of colour and magical littles shops.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be sure you know what you want to do and your overall budget.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope so it's hard to tell. Local guides and drivers and small hotels but maybe more could be done and be made clearer. I think it would have been better if we had more time to potter about without a rep or guide. Very full days. We'll know next time.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous time excellent organisation and attention to detail.

review 10 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sunrise at Taj Mahal, and staying at Shapuragh Bagh where we visited a fort at sunset

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The service is impeccable, book now.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

11/10

review 15 Nov 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Where to start? ..... The vibrant colours; friendly people; interesting sights wherever we looked; visiting the village & meeting the local people at Shahpura Bagh; the incredible workmanship in the various palaces & forts.... I can see how India gets under the skin & can be addictive! Shahpura Bagh is a wonderful place to stay - good opportunity to switch off from the chaos & noise (car horns!) for a while.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for long wait on arrival in Delhi (airport) for finger prints etc (took us 2.5hrs to get through which is difficult after a long flight). If you have a guide, try to avoid being taken into their "friends" various gem / carpet / textile stores - time consuming & irritating! Take time out without a guide to wander through the markets, go to cinema (Raj Mandir in Jaipur is well worth visiting) etc

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Employment for the guides / local agents / drivers. Drinking lassi from disposable clay cups in Jaipur - so much better than plastic / polystyrene. Shahpura Bagh - Waste paper bins with bags made from old newspaper. Support to local community through encouraging visitor support for various health, environmental & educational initiatives. Use of local produce. Employment of local people. Encouraged visits to the local village to meet people & see their houses so increased understanding.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A wonderful holiday - stimulating, relaxing, exciting. Sanjay and his team were helpful throughout & made good recommendations.

review 5 Nov 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many highlights and memories. We had an amazing 2 weeks. The vibrancy of India is stunning. The sights, smells, sounds and tastes surrounding us. When booking the trip we particularly hoped to see a tiger and we actually saw 2. So that was obviously a highlight, the range of hotels was stunning from palaces to game lodges - All equally welcoming. The organisation of the trip was great. The driver was very safe and the guides really knowledgeable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If planning a game drive buffs/dust masks are useful. Though if you don't bring one they can usually be bought at the gate.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local guides were used throughout. Most of the hotels were locally owned and staffed. Visiting the reserves hopefully helps with animal conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies