13 independent reviews for Golden Triangle with Ranthambore tour, India

Reviews for Golden Triangle with Ranthambore tour, India

SHOW
10
2
1
0
0

review 24 Nov 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 4 Nov 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lots of them: highlights were Taj Mahal, Amber Fort, tiger spotting, the level of service and all the accommodations-especially The Ranthambore Regency and Samode Haveli.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it, itís a great experience. The only thing that surprised us was the level of service and how well the company, the guides and our driver looked after us. It exceeded expectations.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We had a local driver and guides, so yes, plus many others gain employment in the tourism and hospitality industries. We appreciated the efforts to not use single use plastics in the car, although there was no evidence of this anywhere else. This is a hard one in India as there are hygiene concerns, but also a serious plastics problem.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superb. When we go to India again we will definitely use the operator again.

review 2 Nov 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Of course the Taj Mahal and the tigers at Rathambore were fantastic but the most memorable, and that which will stay with me forever, is the Indian drivers! Someone gave us the requirements as 'Good horn, Good brakes and Good luck '. Fortunately, our driver had all 3. It's not so much the other road users such as dogs, cows and pigs - more the belief that vehicles are liquid and must flow into any available gap. We were there for Diwali - the celebrations took over with everywhere decorated with lights and colour, the fireworks were deafening and everyone encouraged to join the fun.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go with the flow - you're not in Europe now and the way of life and priorities may differ from what we are used to. That's all part of the experience and can make you come away rethinking what is really important.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly the homestay accommodation, the guides and the local restaurants. India is embracing environmental support with reduced plastic use and recycling, but it's early days for its effectiveness.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic holiday. Full of colour, noise, unexpected and beautiful sights.

review 26 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the Taj Mahal. Despite the lack of tiger sightings in ranthambore driving around in a jeep was great fun.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be assertive about your choice of restaurant and about declining extra trips that the guide announces. We were taken to a "marble workshop" by one guide which was an attempt to sell us stuff despite being told that there would be no shopping trips . We were put in an uncomfortable situation when travelling with children and it made an already long day even longer.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our guides were all local and staff in most hotels were too.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall we loved it. Already planning our next trip.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Lucy Thank you for the lovely reviewIndia is intoxicating and hope that the Ross family have fallen in love with her and the many many possibilities. I am sorry that you were taken shopping. I donít like it , someone pulled a fast one and have immediately launched an investigation. We do hope that you will be back with us when planning the next one - there are some incredible homestays in the south that 100% you will love and it will be a pleasure to help you plan that. In the meantime - happy Diwali and hope that the memories last a long time Sanjay and the team

review 22 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting the Taj Mahal and seeing wild tigers in Ranthanborne national park.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy it all! Be aware that guides who take you to certain shops/restraunts etc all have "arrangements" with that shop. Either just don't go, or be very wary of their reasons for taking you there. The best guides will take you to a nice place to eat, and not bother with any shops.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. It was clear local people were employed in the hotels & that our driver and guides were local to the area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent experience. Loved every day. Wonderfully planned by the operator. So many happy memories.

review 22 Apr 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the tigers at Tadoba were clearly a highlight as they were the centre focus for the trip. It was a little unfortunate we only saw them on 1 drive out of the 7 drives we did, but it was still amazing seeing the other wildlife in the area. The housebat at the end of the trip was also a stunning highlight, far exceeding our expectations.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The trip was specially designed for us, but the experiences were all fabulous. Don't bother with the boat trip at Thekkady - you won't see much wildlife or birdlife. Do enjoy all the experiences on offer at the tented camp. Spend longer on the houseboat if you have the opportunity.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The tourist revenue is always welcome on organised tours. The locals all seemed pleased to see us and were all friendly and welcoming.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous holiday, all experiences thoroughly enjoyable and the tour operator arranged everything just as we wanted it to happen.

review 2 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing Taj Mahal and wild tigers. Loved Delhi old town rickshaw tour.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Finish visiting monuments with the Taj anything after that is an anti climax.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hopefully our trip boosts the local economy and provides employment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. The only negative was two of our tour guides gave us a hard sell about having an extra visit, clearly a shopping opportunity then their enthusiasm dropped when we refused. Don't know what kick back they get but I bet the tip I had planned to give one particularly good guide would have exceeded it. Our driver Prakeesh (my spelling) was superb throughout.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Paul We are so glad you had a great time and are grateful for the five star review. Seeing Tigers will have been exciting no doubt and perhaps you have a point how can you top other monuments as much the Taj Mahal. We are really careful to instruct all drivers and guides not to take any of our clients and this seems like its the first time its happened in nearly year so please accept my apology that this ever got mentioned. Please do note that with immediate effect we will be taking this very seriously and will strenuously make its a point that this does not get repeated with our guests. Hope to take you to India again in the future Regards Sanjay

review 18 Feb 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole trip was superb, there was not one thing I did not enjoy. If I must choose a highlight it would be seeing the Tigers at Ranthambore. However, just being in India was a wonderful experience in and off itself.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just go with it and keep your eyes and ears open.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I would like to think we benefited the people we came into contact with, we tried very hard to understand the Indian perception and why things are done the way they are. However, I am not sure it is possible to reduce our environmental impact or actively support conservation, when you travel on a jet from Hong Kong and use scarce resources like we did when we were in India.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superb, we would like to return to India.

review 28 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Finding our way round Kolkata without a guide

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The car journeys are longer than the itinerary suggests and on poor roads with many hairpin bends. Not for the easily car sick!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No. There is a ridiculous amount of traffic in Gangtok and Darjeeling. Our car just added to the pollution

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a good holiday but with hindsight probably not the best choice of itinerary for us. The full board at most of the hotels meant that a smaller number of restaurant staff benefited from our custom. However, we canít fault the travel arrangements- we were picked up and delivered in good time and met by charming local people.

review 28 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the Taj Mahal at sunrise, also seeing tigers on four out of five safaris, unbelievable experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing holiday with many fantastic memories

review 1 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Ohh, too many to narrow it down to just one!! Getting up close and personal with the Tigers in Ranthambhore was pretty special, the Taj Mahal is absolutely stunning and staying at the Taj Mahal Palace in Mumbai was amazing and a fabulous way to finish the trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Itís a huge country with an awful lot to see so plan the itinerary wisely - try not to get caught up doing too much. Itís a perfect excuse to plan a second trip!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, tourism is an important contribution to all of the above and our trip would not have been as memorable without the input from the local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fabulous, it was everything we hoped for and more - a real assault on the senses with many magical memories for us to recall and treasure.

review 12 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Taj Mahal was a real highlight as also was the safari part of our trip. The culture was amazing particularly when passing through villages and for example in Old Delhi. I loved the architecture in the Amber Fort - one part in particular where the ceiling appeared to be studded with gems. One guide on our safari took some photos of a tiger for me. We had sat at a water hole for quite some time that afternoon and when the tiger eventually came out of the bushes to drink, we got some amazing shots including a video.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

'Expect the unexpected' sums up the trip for me. For example our guide tore his trousers on a piece of metal sticking out from some packaging but managed to track down a tailor in one of the back streets of Old Delhi where he promptly removed his trousers for the tailor to repair using a very old treadle sewing machine similar the one I remember my mother having in the 50s. Then there was the driving, the farm vehicles laden with hay, women breaking up rocks to build a wall around Rathambore National Park, cows, pigs and dogs in the road etc etc.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It was obvious in some hotels that staff were local. For the most part they could not do enough for us. However there was one particular hotel where it was very difficult for me to get food that met my dietary requirements and this was disappointing. This was also the least well kept hotel. I didn't feel particularly encouraged to restrict towel usage for example.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A very good experience overall with the exception of our stay at the Mandawa Haveli - see above comments. The arrangements for transfers were very good and in most places we were met and given information about our stay, timings etc. Our driver was very helpful and remained very calm throughout. Guides were very knowledgeable and helpful giving us free time if appropriate.

review 27 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing tigers in Ranthambore

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't rush, take time to enjoy the sights / monuments visited

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Some aspects but not all

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. We're already planning a trip back next year

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies