10 independent reviews for Luxury gulet cruise in the Aegean

Reviews for Luxury gulet cruise in the Aegean

SHOW
9
1
0
0
0

review 20 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 14 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 15 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved being on the boat, seeing the islands, a wish come true.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Donít pack too much!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope so. We brought water bottles, but plastic bottles of water were given every day.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The cruise was wonderful! Our cabin was comfortable and bathroom more spacious than expected. The crew was warm and friendly, the 2 cruise managers were knowledgeable and helpful. The food delicious at every meal.

review 16 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Gulet Cruise

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy yourselves

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Mainly the local travel company. Spent a little on the few trips ashore.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent company, crew, boat, weather and scenery

review 24 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Getting away from it all, and seeing things we would have never seen otherwise.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just do it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This holiday was a 10 out of 10! What a great time. Thank you.

review 18 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Daily swimming and other water activities in the most beautiful and secluded bays.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't bother taking too many clothes or shoes. It's all very informal

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not really other than the odd purchase from local traders and paying entrance fees for visits to places of interest

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very relaxing and comfortable with good friendly service on board

review 10 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The couple who had booked to sail on this gulet, cancelled at the last minute, so I was the sole passenger on board and was treated like royalty by the crew of 3.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The itinerary was pretty flexible IE we weren't allowed to visit Greek island of Simi. Also, gulet living space would have been pretty cramped if all 4 cabins were occupied.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefitted locals definitely. The Data Peninsula seems to be largely beautifully preserved and protected in its natural state; unspoiled by commercial developments.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 out of 10. Charming, professional, hard-working crew; superb service and delicious cuisine

review 3 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The food was excellent, in fact too good and we tended to overeat three fine meals daily. The fresh caught fish we had was the best we've had in our memory. The crew was very attentive.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You don't need much. Make sure to bring a sweater or sweatshirt since the sea is cool on warm days and evenings. Bring books and perhaps a local tour guide although wifi is usually available.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all work done by locals. Very clean limited use of resources.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very relaxing, comfortable and nothing like the liner cruises.

review 17 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting great new friends.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Call the local rep to find out where the boat is on the day of departure or have the rep place a sign on the harbour walkway in instances where the boat is docked behind another boat and therefore not instantly visible.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not really. More sailing rather than motoring would have made it a better trip and reduced environmental impacts. More separation of waste should be available. Reduction in single use plastics would also support conservation

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent! The captain and crew crew were lovely and the food was of a high standard. However, guests' food preferences were not well catered for despite prior requests for food likes and dislikes. Often the protein was described incorrectly by crew. The itinerary was great, although an extra day in Greece would have been good. It would also have been good to know when we were going to be docked in a harbour versus a bay. We were plagued by flies on the Friday in Turkey. WiFi was poor and could only take 9 connections, we were told. Cabins were hot at night (in October!) as air conditioning was scarcely available.

Read the operator's response here:

Hello David, thank you for your feedback and I am glad to see you enjoyed the holiday. The vessels we use for these cruises can and do sail where they can - as much as anything it helps keep the costs down as well as being better for the environment. However the week you were cruising there were some unseasonal high winds which meant that the itinerary had to be altered and that it was not possible to sail due to the prevailing conditions. Normally the end of September and October are very pleasant, but we did have problems for 2 weeks in September and 2 weeks in October this year. The captain discussed the itinerary with everyone on board and did try to accommodate everyone's wishes within what was safely possible. The itinerary does state whether you will be in port or a bay each day, but as the itinerary had to be changed, and on one night the passengers requested to stay in a bay rather than the port. The captain should keep all passengers informed fo the plan for that day in the daily briefing, though it is possible the weather dictated some late changes. With the air-conditioning it is usually turned off sometime after midnight, but the captain will always keep it on if requetsed. Wifi is a little hit and miss, and is worse when the weather isn't so good as that is when everyone wants to use it. Also, the vessel is at the mercy of the local infrastructure and Greece is certainly not as good as Turkey. Re waste and plastic. I couldn't agree more, and the vessels captain and crew too. Practicalities of sailing on these very small ships do retsrict what can be done. However I believe that most water is provided in pitchers at meals, with plasctic bottled water only provided in your cabin and on deck where it isn't practical to offer a water cooler or jugs of water. I am very surprised to hear that food preferences were not well catered for, Yilmaz, your service manager speaks excellent English and usually discusses every meal with bth the chef and the clients to make sure everyone is well informed. I will check why this wasn't the case for you. I hope you enjoyed the whole experience, we have provided your feedback to the vessel so they can see if there is anything they could improve on. Many thanks Powell Ettinger

review 5 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Great boat, super food, good company

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be aware the air con is not the best and take your own wine, no choice

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

A little

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. The tour operator was efficient, professional and friendly.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies