11 independent reviews for Azores tour, island explorer

Reviews for Azores tour, island explorer

SHOW
7
4
0
0
0

review 7 Aug 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the large male sperm whale dive.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just book it. Even on the day spoilt by cloud, making it difficult for the spotters on land to see the whales and dolphins, we saw a sperm whale and dolphins. Saw sperm Whales, a Sei Whale, Beaked Whales, Bottle Nosed dolphins, Common Dolphins, and Atlantic Spotted dolphins.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Tourism is a big income for the island. The company used by the tour operator were very sympathetic to the animals and never got too near.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 3 Jul 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Four different species of dolphins in enormous pods spectacular, we loved the tea plantation and kayaking in the crater lake, we also really enjoyed learning about the work marine biologists do in the Azores too.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you do book in advance as many activities are popular. You also need to accept that the weather may cancel your plans! A trip on the rib gets you closer to the action than the bigger boats. Do take the opportunity to see the volcanoes and the geothermal places the island is so beautiful.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We certainly got to see what sort of things happen locally but Iím not sure we improved the environment local people although they were all very friendly and we did buy mementos.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It really was just sometimes breathtakingly beautiful and wonderful to be so close to such a natural beauty.

review 25 Jun 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Whale watching....we did three trips.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The whale and dolphin watching is a must. I would highly recommend booking with this company, they were superb on the water. Very knowledgeable with marine Biologists on board each boat, giving us great information and the best chance of seeing these wild animals without disturbing their natural behaviour. We unfortunately observed other operators who were driving there boat in a manner that disturbed the dolphins, very poor practice, so be careful about what operator you use. This operator is the one to choose, like I said were excellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We used a lot of local bars and restaurants..... away from the main town as well as ones in it. Environmental impact was poor. Flew there, hired a car went on 4 boat trips. Conservation. Yes, the local operator have marine biologists on every boat and they are collecting data. However they never explained how the info is used or how much of the money goes where. (But thinking about it I never asked!!!)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good. Hotel was very good. People on the Island were friendly. Suggest you recommend books to use for guides to the Islands, or other holidays. I bought mine second hand, without them i would have not had such a good experience.

review 22 Apr 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Viewing 2 Finback whales at close quarters while on one of the boat trips. Also relaxing in the geothermal pools in Furnas. Magnificent scenery and botanics there.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

One of the boat trips was a bit rough due to the weather. If you do suffer from sea-sickness, select a calm day! Recommend that you explore Sao Miguel Island (not just Ponta Delgada) to get the most out of your holiday. For a 10-day holiday, a visit to the other islands not really practical (due to distance) - requires another visit!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Made use of lots of local services, particularly restaurants and other food outlets, to boost the local economy. Seeing dolphins/whales in their natural environment, certainly preferred to a 'sea-life' centre.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent and would certainly recommend to others.

review 25 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the dolphins and whales in their natural environment.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Consider visiting one or more of the other nearby islands as well.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate out everyday so yes, we contributed significantly to the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We were very lucky with the weather and most of the guides on the tours were excellent, so we really enjoyed the week.

review 23 Jul 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whale and dolphin watching trips were excellent. Female sperm whales and a baby, a male sperm whale showing his tail on a deep dive and an amazing acrobatic display of wild dolphins.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Carry suntan cream and a rain coat as the weather changes during the same day. Relax and enjoy island pace.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes hotel and businesses are owned by locals. The whale/dolphin trips adhere to environmental standards.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great holiday, nice hotel, good restaurants and friendly knowledgeable guides on all the trips.

review 14 Jun 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing common dophins playing in our bow wave.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book a hotel with character, with outdoor space/pool.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall we had a nice if not overwhelming holiday. The hotel was clean, pleasant but very 'beige' and impersonal - we could have been anywhere in the world! I should have chosen something with more character, some outdoor space/pool so we had somewhere to relax other than in our room and with tea and coffee making facilities. The operators staff were lovely. We had okay dolphin encounters, no whales on the two trips we went on, but know other people did see them on other trips. We should have gone on a third trip but having been a bit disappointed on the first two, missed out. The trip to Sete cidades was great, we could have spent a whole day there! The vehicle which took us from and to the airport had totally bald and dangerous tyres - we let the local operator know at the beginning of the week and were told it was run by one of their partners, but it was the same when we left.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your useful feedback and so glad you had an enjoyable holiday. Yes we do have a selection of lovely hotels with character to suit all tastes. I am giving your feedback about the tyres to the company as this is unacceptable and we do carry out regular safety reviews to ensure all services offered to our guests comply with required standards. It is useful to have guests noting anything that they feel could be improved, so thank you.

review 20 Oct 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Using the thermal pool at Terra Nostra under the stars!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Wander out to the local bars and cafes as the locals are really hospitable.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday definitely benefited local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!

review 2 Nov 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the whales & dolphins

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If sea is calm do as many boat trips as you can .. seas can get rough quickly and stay that way for a few days

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes .. definitely benefited local people .. hotels & shops use way too much disposable plastic but recycling very prominent

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 2 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of it really but maybe the trips were the standout.. exceptionally good. Great whale and dolphin viewing, and the land tours were very interesting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Hire a car for the day and explore the spectacular wilderness coastline and stunning waterfalls.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

2 out of 3 yes. Not sure flying 3.50 mins reduced environmental impact, but the development of tourism is needed in this part of the world, to ensure the young people have a future.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was fantastic, all elements were superb and the hotel staff were very professional and everything kept very clean. The operator's partner is an excellent ground provider, though could maybe introduce life on the Azores a little more. We were 2 adults and 3 under teens children and everyone had a wonderful time.

review 28 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy