12 independent reviews for Porto to Lisbon cycling holiday, self guided

Reviews for Porto to Lisbon cycling holiday, self guided

SHOW
7
5
0
0
0

review 7 Apr 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Unfortunately it was not a good memory! I fell off my bike at the end of the 3rd day and fractured my arm. humerus bone. It was extremely painful and we both stopped cycling. We then hired a car and continued the journey as all the hotels were booked. We cancelled Lisbon as it seemed too much and we realised it would be full of Liverpool fans!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Lesson I learnt was that you should stop and look at the map app rather than trying to do that and cycle . I thought I was on a flat/smooth path and unfortunately did not see a big bump caused by a tree root and went flying. The views and routes were all good and the area has lots of great cycle paths and the roads weren't busy when we went.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate out and had coffees so that would have been good for local businesses. hiring a car helped a business. Cycling 3 days was good for the environment. We met some lovely people some helped us at the accident scene and later we visited them and they took us for a local meal.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Memorable but not how we wanted it to be but we loved all the area and hope to come back, and do it again and meet up again. The new Portuguese friends, the staff were brilliant. Couldn't fault them and was very glad of 24 hour support line, they were really concerned and helpful. I will definitely recommend and use them again.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Ellie Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we hope Portugal will bring you good memories, despite the bad luck you had. We wish you a quick recovery, and we were delighted to have you here. Hope to see you again in our beautiful Country.

review 10 May 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A chance to get off the beaten track, see the countryside and meet local people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Give yourself plenty of time to allow for stop offs and lengthy meal breaks!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to all of the above

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent tour. Well organised. Good preparation notes. Helpful without being intrusive.

review 13 Apr 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

On the whole the distances covered daily allowed a balance of time to enjoy the countryside

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Some of the hills are steep and long - even though it is an easy trip on the whole. No need to bring any extra bike kit - all provided - efficient back up.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Try and go to some of the hotels slightly off track as that undoubtedly helps the local population more

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent trip all round

Read the operator's response here:


review 28 Sep 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling by the wild seas

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I use an electric bike as I live in a hilly part of Britain but on this trip I only used 3 bars in seven days. Mostly flat. But some of the hills in the second part of the trip I was glad Id the battery!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes because often off the beaten track as far as tourists are concerned. Only heard 2-3 other British voices in 8 days.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful.

review 9 Aug 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The amazing views and small towns along the way. Also, the last hotel called The Literary Man, was incredible!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be comfortable riding on the road and in traffic for the few times it is necessary.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I absolutely believe that we passed through and spent money in communities that are not at all known for tourism. Cycling from point to point saved driving the entire way with stops and all... but our bags were in a car so not completely green unfortunately.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

five out of five!

review 19 Oct 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Marvelling at Portugal's unspoilt Atlantic coastline.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Perhaps consider an E-Bike, some very steep hills !

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We hope it did benefit local people. Very impressed with their environmental approach & the miles of walking & cycle routes. Something UK could learn from.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Top Notch. Great fun, loved it.

review 22 Sep 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything went really well, bikes were probably the best we have ever had, hotels were good especially Casa do Colmeal.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

George made us really welcome and Jonnie looked after us and was attentive to all our needs. Hopefully we will be able to book with you again some time in the future as we would be keen to see more of Portugal as it is a beautiful country with very friendly people.

review 23 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The night at casa do colmeal - best hotel of the trip, thanks to a George and his awesome hospitality.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10

review 3 Nov 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful coastal towns

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring rainwear & pack less than you think you need

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

8 out of 10 - would like to have had an option to spend a day without cycling midway through & enjoy a break .

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Hannah, Our team was very happy to read your wonderful review. We work hard to promote responsible tourism and it's with travelers like you that make our effort worthwhile. We will take well care of your suggestions to improve this trip in the future. We look forward to have you travelling with our company again soon. Kind regards, Portugal A2Z team

review 15 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved every aspect of this trip. Responsible Travel put us in touch with a local operator which was awesome. Communication was easy and fast and they answered all our questions. It was so well organized. A rep from the company met us at our hotel in Porto and gave us our bikes, a gps, local phone with their numbers pre programmed, answered all our questions and we took off the next day. We loved following the well marked paved trails along the coast and came to trust our gps as it took us through corn fields and random trails and always delivered us right to the front door of that night's hotel. We loved discovering so many places on our own with the security of our gps and knowing we could call for help if needed ( although it was never needed). We loved setting our own pace and making stops where ever and whenever we wanted to. Portugal is beautiful, the food is great, inexpensive and huge servings! the operator was willing to make some changes in the schedule to accommodate our need for a shorter trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The operator says this is their easiest ride and mostly flat which is true. But the ride between Nazare and obidos has some significant hills that get steep quickly. When I saw a graph of the elevations I decided to request an electric bike. It was doable for my husband who is an avid biker but I was glad to have an ebike ( we're both in our 60s)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It actually exceeded our expectations. We loved it and would been consider doing it again.

review 12 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful coastline, welcoming Portugese people,fantastic food and beer/wine. quiet roads for cycling, lovely wooded paths and national parks. The accommodation at Casa do Colmeal was outstanding, a true delight, so comfortable but full of character. George, who was in charge of it keeps a high standard, but cannot do enough for you.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Perhaps book restaurants in advance as often full, or not open in evening in less busy areas.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we use local shops, cafes and bars along our cycle route,

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really well planned routes, great locations that gave a flavour, but contrast of scenery. Good value for money. Organisers we meet extremely helpful, friendly and proud of good service.

review 8 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful and stunning scenery. Lovely friendly and helpful locals. Great cycling routes - and very good bikes.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Train in advance. Maybe to have a couple of hotels for more than one night (packing bags each morning was a bit of a pain). Have 10 days away - but a rest day in the middle and one day at the end to have a mooch and a look around at one of the towns (really no time to do this).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. We stopped for a coffee/lunch in really rural area's. Took time to show an interest and take in the culture and went everywhere on the bikes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good - however, it would have been nice if we had been told that restaurants needed to be booked in advance, particularly in both Porto and Obidos. We really struggled to find a restaurant on the Saturday night (when in Porto), when we did finally find somewhere we enjoyed a very good authentic Portuguese meal, which was very reasonable. Unfortunately our meal in Obidos was not so great! In addition - when we got to our hotel in Colmeal on the Monday night, we found out the restaurant in the village was closed. It would have been good to have been told this in advance. The Manager (George) at the hotel kindly went to a friend in the village, who prepared a meal for us. Finally, we were told on the Tuesday morning that our hotel on the last evening in Obidos had been changed (not sure why). We were due to stay at Hotel Louro, which had a pool. We were moved to The Literary Man, that had no pool. As it was our last night it would have been good to have a couple of hours around the pool before we went to dinner and a few hours the next day before we departed - this was not the case. I think you should have moved us to another hotel with a pool!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy