9 independent reviews for Red Sea diving holidays

Reviews for Red Sea diving holidays

SHOW
1
8
0
0
0

review 19 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A glorious combination of a low key friendly and welcoming atmosphere combined with some simple but delicious homemade food, clean and simple accommodation and wonderful scuba diving with a fantastic teacher.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Donít expect frills. Do expect a genuine warmth and an unpretentious environment. The family who run this place love it and look after the people who visit as if they are family. too. It and they are very very special.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I do. They employ local people, they have banned single use plastic and they are contributing to helping keep the Red Sea from coral die out. Itís a battle. Plastic is a global enemy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I travelled alone as a woman and Iíve rarely felt more comfortable or relaxed. One of the best holidays Iíve ever had. And my dive instructor Ahmed was brilliant. As was the diving. Highly recommended.

review 20 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Having never undertaken a scuba holiday before I was eager to find somewhere beautiful, friendly and, moreover, safe and professional. This holiday certainly surpassed all these criteria. Everything the club provided was of the first order, be it the fantastic dive instructors, who never failed to make my holiday fun and engaging; the well-thought out and delightful accommodation; safe and well-maintained equipment; and the friendly, caring and enthusiastic staff. The restaurant there is also of a high standard. Being right on the beach and only 3 metres from the hotel, Food Urge is an enchanting place to eat. Their Bedouin seating areas are wonderful for relaxing in, drinking tea and recalling the many wonders seen during a dive that day. The holiday provider has my complete endorsement; the family who run this establishment make every effort to create a memorable and fun experience for you. Although it sounds an over exaggeration, this traveler has never stayed at a more friendly place. I would definitely come back to say with the crew again and explore more of the Red Sea - perhaps the Blue Hole! Thanks for a wonderful holiday! 10, 000 pts!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

1. Book as early as possible to get cheaper flights to Sharm. 2. Bring your sun glasses and hats, especially for boat safaris. 3. There are cash machines in Dahab, so no need to bring a lot of cash. 4. No need to bring your own equipment unless you really want to, or need to. 5. Don't buy the food on the plane - it's grossly over priced for what you get. Just by sandwiches at the airport in the UK and ask the owners to prepare you something for the flight. 5. Take a jumper if you're going in April or earlier (+ trousers). It was warm but the wind occasionally make it a tad chilly during the evenings.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Defo. 99% of the staff, including drivers, were locals. The food was freshly prepared and locally sourced. Great efforts are made to be reduce the impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I had a wonderful experience at the centre and Dahab. The friendly and professional diving instructors, facilities, accommodation and eager and caring staff made for a highly memorable holiday. I would defo go back when I can and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place to anyone thinking about a scuba diving holiday.

review 7 Jan 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The diving was fantastic. This is definitely the place to go if you want to dive and snorkle. Itís a great location too, near the main stretch but far enough away to allow you to enjoy your peace and quiet. The staff are amazing, really helpful and fun to be around. They went out of their way to ensure I had a good time.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

No particular tips. This is an ideal place for friends, small groups and the independent traveller. It also caters for disabled travellers (one of my diving companions was a wheelchair user). Some rooms and showers are kitted out for wheelchair users.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I would say so, food was locally soured, reasonably priced. We were given tips on how to respect the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic, it was just what I needed.

review 29 Dec 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My first dive as a qualified open water diver, being able to enjoy watching all the colourful fish and corals.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring plenty of cash, because the cash machines can be temperamental. Try not to get a cold because you might have to take couple of days off, enjoy yourself.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It was great to stay in a place where so many Egyptians were working, in a family atmosphere.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great! So relaxing, with great, hospitable people and lovely food, plus finally achieving my ambition of learning to dive.

review 13 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Diving in the blue hole.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you don't dive already Ė learn.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Drivers and staff at the hotel were all local. We were able to dive locally and sometimes walking from the hotel. No use of boat.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 15 Oct 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The diving was spectacular but the most memorable part of the holiday would be the staff at the dive centre. I can't recommend the place too highly.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack the minimum and be prepared to relax.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The dive centre employs many local people. Policies regarding room cleaning, towel washing and waste separation were all environmentally friendly. Great care is taken during diving to minimise impact on the reef.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - the hotel was ideally located close to the Bedouin town and only a short walk to the main tourist area but it was a quiet oasis. The staff were excellent and so friendly. The dive staff are totally wonderful and so is the chef.

review 9 Oct 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Scuba diving the blue hole in Dahab. Fantastic.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Dahab is rapidly becoming like sharm-el-sheikh! There are some very good independent dive centres, with a few massive resorts popping up.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The dive centre we stayed in was a family run business owned by a local man. The majority of staff employed were locals, including the dive instructors. The hotel was keen on recycling plastic bottles, and encouraged guests not to get plastic bags in local shops - they provided a canvas bag in every room for shopping. Whilst diving we were encouraged to avoid damaging coral and sea life.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable holiday, very relaxing, great scuba diving.

review 9 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The diving was fantastic - couldn't do enough!!!!! The operator looked after me really well and made the holiday so much fun.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Can't think of anything other than make sure you drink lots of water as its v hot and you get v dehydrated when diving, but other than that just enjoy your time, oh and book for longer than you think, I went for 8/9 days and wished I'd had more time there!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

My dive master was local and the place I stayed was staffed by locals which is great as you feel that they are directly benefiting from your tourism. I have not been to Dahab before but others who had said that the levels of rubbish had improved and it is alot cleaner and there is a more active approach to recycling and minimising the use of plastic bags so hopefully that will just keep getting better.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic and am already looking at dates to go back.

review 20 Mar 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Just generally having a warm peaceful holiday in a small well-run diving complex. All the staff were very good and professional.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just to relax and enjoy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I felt that this ethos was very evident with the tour operator.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Just the ticket!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies