20 independent reviews for Vietnam holidays, tailor made

Reviews for Vietnam holidays, tailor made

SHOW
6
13
1
0
0

review 30 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Thatís a difficult question to answer as there were so many exciting and memorable parts to this holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Put complete trust in the local agent to give you a holiday of a lifetime.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday gave us many opportunities to see how the real people of Vietnam and Cambodia lived and worked and also an opportunity to buy some of their wares. Fortunately we had plenty of spare luggage allowance for the return journey!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was spectacular and offered a huge variety of activities that kept even our 16-year-old son entertained for the entire duration. The itinerary was flexible enough to allow us to meet our elder son in Vietnam halfway through our trip and our activities for that particular day were extended to include him and his four friends.

review 18 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Most of it was fascinating... Singapore, Vietnam and Laos are amazing countries.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Cambodia, unless you have a need to see Angkor Wat, I would give it a miss. Be prepared for serious heat.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not that much, except our hotel in Luang Prabang was involved in tree planting along the river and other good stuff.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fantastic experience.

review 9 Dec 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking through the wonderful Luang Prabang and relaxing on the fantastic beach of Phu Quoc.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't miss out on Saigon!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It supported local people in the way that we were taken to small villages, where we could eat and buy local products.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic!

review 22 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had a fantastic holiday and enjoyed many memorable moments, including Bang Mealea temple in Siam Reap, Cambodia, Bug hunting in Cat Tien Vietnam, diving in Cham Islands, Water Puppet show in Hoi An, Mekong river cruise from Vietnam to Cambodia

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Wear cool clothes, bring mosquito repellant, ask your guide lots of questions about the country and the people and get their advice on best places to visit, eat etc. enjoy the culture, take a good camera and some comfortable shoes. Visit the local markets, they are fascinating

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The tour used local people and local families and locally run businesses to look after us, so we were able to support the local community rather than a corporation. We stayed in local homestays, eco lodges, and noticed that Vietnamese people have a use for everything so nothing goes to waste. Unfortunately Asian countries donít seem to be controlling use of plastic too well and we noticed that most street food and drink was served in 2 plastic containers or bags. We tried where possible to re-use our bottles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a wonderful and varied holiday. We travelled extensively and made the most of each day. The experience was fantastic and we would definitely recommend this trip to others

review 14 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking in Bai Tu Long Bay

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel very lightly

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely helped local people as hotels, restaurants and trips were booked with smaller companies not big chain companies. The Vietnamese talk about the environment but not much visible evidence except re-filling of plastic bottles on the boat trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic experience, we learned such a lot about the Vietnamese history and culture from the local guides. They made the trip for us.

review 11 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were so many highlights, the Vespa food tour of Saigon, the hiking in the mountains near Sapa, the boat trip on Halong Bay, the exquisite hotel, Shinta Mani, in Siem Reap.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Allow the operator to plan you an exciting, thought provoking trip involving a lot of interaction with local people and cultural exchanges.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope so. It seemed that we were giving our money directly to the people living and working there, as accommodation, restaurants and guides.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. A full on cultural experience. Some people might have wanted more R&R but not us! We loved and felt as if we had taken advantage of every minute!

review 6 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

No one particular thing. It was all fantastic and so varied it is difficult to choose one thing. Loved the people, the culture and the scenery

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for the weather. Went beginning of April and very hot and humid especially in the South. Take time to talk to local people. They are very friendly and interesting. Embrace the culture and try everything . The food is good, even the street food. A good way to pass time people watching, sitting at the side of the street with a beer and a plate of good food. Make sure you have a good guide. They are invaluable. Without one you will miss so much.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, especially the people. The company is based in Vietnam and use local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was an amazing holiday. Very varied and interesting and great fun. Loved everything and good for all ages. ( we are 6 not so young ladies and really enjoyed the motor scooters, fishing, ''clubbing' ) we felt safe in the streets and met many interesting people. Our guides were second to none and the tour company had everything well organised and went the extra mile for us. Couldn't fault them. Now is a good time to visit Vietnam as it is changing fast and I would recommend anyone who is doubtful to just go for it. You will have stories to dine out on for a very long time. Only four stars as have had other amazing holidays especially in Africa so find it very difficult to compare, but this is up there with the best.

review 11 Mar 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Halong Bay. Hoi An. The latter is a World Heritage town, and is beautiful. We also spent 2 nights at a resort nearby, and would have like an additional day on the beautiful beach (but no lifeguards, so be cautious).

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Our holiday was completely planned by our travel agents. If you have knowledge about where you would like to go, you should let your agent know. We enjoyed the trip, and felt we saw a lot. But do not be fooled that this is some kind of holiday that is not geared expressly to tourists. We are tourists and were fine with that. Halong Bay was spectacular, and was a good example of a pure tourist destination, with many junks travelling together on the bay with people like us. The northern indigenous communities that we visited have many tourists tramping through. Having said this, it was very moving and enlightening to do these visits. The tourist dollar really helps these people, at least so it seems. We were interested in the 'American War' memorials, etc, but none of these were on our itinerary. Our travel agent was very accommodating in arranging a visit to the tunnels near Saigon and also the War Remnants museum which we had read about, and adjusted our trip accordingly. We had only 9 days, and travelled from north to south. This involved 2 overnight train trips to Sapa and back. Worth the trip, but the night trains were tough on me (little sleep). Our travel agents had us booked into hotels on arrival for breakfast and to freshen up, anyways, so we still had some hotel costs to deal with. We heard about a new road, and good busses, so you might consider this alternative if you have the time, and skip the overnight trains.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

There were times on our trip that we had so many local folks taking care of our little family of 3--on the Mekong Delta, we had 2 guides, a boat captain, his assistant and a cook. Everyone treated us like royalty---quite a bizarre feeling, really. It seemed that the tourist industry does provide a lot of jobs for enthusiastic locals. Sometimes these jobs are the best paying, compared with such jobs as teaching. There were orchestrated visits to farmers and fishermen, who we 'helped' and then tipped. We did not feel exploited, and did feel we made their lives possibly a bit easier. Sometimes there was a sense of scripted frivolity ('aren't we all having fun!!') that was annoying but kind of sweet at the same time. We did not feel we supported conservation or reduced environmental impacts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very varied and interesting. A great way to see the country if you have little time and do not want to do the planning yourself. We were well taken care of. There were many local tour guides who would need to meet us and orient us, and every single one was on time, pleasant and professional. We were very impressed with how well organized this was.

review 17 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Certainly over night train from Hanoi to Danang, when for 4 hours the train was a slight embankment and all around as far as the eye could see was flooded paddy fields and swirling rivers.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try to avoid travelling long distances by road, as their tarmacced roads have virtually continuous ribbon housing eitherside of the roads. Slow and dull, with little opportunity to see countryside.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

In the hotels and homesteads local re employed.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent organisation from Vietnam agent, with mostly very good accommodation. Downside was lack of any sunshine for two weeks in mid to north Vietnam.

review 29 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Halong Bay and Siem Reap were amazing, but there were lots of other lovely places and people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Check local flight times before going to the airport. I think we found out we had been put on a later flight after we got to the airport about 3 times.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All our guides agreed that Haivenu was a good company to work for and paid better. We were also able to support many restaurants training disadvantaged children or disabled people, and found crafts made by landmine victims and other disabled people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great overview of an area new to us. We would have liked to be more active, and perhaps visit more remote areas, but having said that, I am not sure what we would have left out to achieve this!

review 2 Dec 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was really good and I don't think one particular part was more memorable than all of them.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Maybe do some research to make sure that all of the places you are most interested I are included on the tour. We felt we could have done more in Hanoi had we per planned a bit more as there are so many varied things to do.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

by using a local travel agent Ido feel that local people benefited. I do not think we did anything which supported conservation but I am not sure that is on the priority list for Vietnam at this time as they Are very keen to promote tourism and there is a huge amount of development, especially in the south and central areas.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was excellent- thank you for providing us with the introduction.

review 23 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Vietnamese people

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a break from constant travel for a couple of days

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used all local people who were working where they live.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very highly

review 27 Jan 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Cu Chi tunnels and learning more in depth and hands on about the most recent Vietnam war (The American War as they call it). Really well preserved site and the history is all very fresh and astounding to see close up and personal.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The time of December wasn't the best time of year weather wise. It was often rainy and in the North of Vietnam it was often hazy and limited the view which was disappointing such as at Ha Long Bay. But at a better time of year it could make all the difference to some ones experience.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I feel we had minimal impact on the environment where ever we went. I think the tour had a good mix of places and cultures which often benefited local industry in the different areas respectively. We were often encouraged to 'meet the people' and you can see that a lot of their lifestyle is based around tourism so it does feel that it is important you are there.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic, no complaints whatsoever and the local tour company was magnificent and excelled beyond our expectations. The places we went to were all great and I wouldn't change much at all if I was recommending to friends, which I have constantly be doing!!

review 23 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Halong Bay - stunning, beautiful scenery. Hoi An - lovely old city, on the coast too. Vietnam in general - interesting to hear the history from a Vietnamese perspective.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We were originally quoted very expensive hotels (mostly 4-star). We asked the company to give us a breakdown of the holiday cost (which they consistently said they couldn't do!). So we asked them to quote 3-star hotels and it was a lot cheaper - and the hotels they chose were very nice, good standard, clean. No real complaints about the hotels - though sometimes the breakfast choices were a little limited if you want Western options. Also, when coming to final payment, the travel agency give a very bad conversion rate between GBP and U$ compared to current bank rates - so the 5% discount they gave us was swallowed up completely in the bad exchange rate!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Not especially - other than the local guides who you're told expect tips (and the rates seem high!)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall - amazing. We had a great time, and it was organised well. The guides and connections worked fine, and all the bookings worked out. Everything mentioned on the itinerary actually happened with no significant changes.

review 9 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This is a late review as our trip was in January but it deserves this highly positive review. The whole trip was excellent. I have previously emailed the operator with our review. The ethnic markets, the train trips, the hotels and staff, our guides, the high quality, safe, late model 4 wheel drives and excellent drivers (since we went on some steep and slippery roads), meeting local people and seeing the beautiful country, people and amazing Hanoi were all memorable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The weather in Sapa was misty with low visibility until the morning we left. We did expect that. Because the weather through out Vietnam varies a lot it is difficult to experience optimal weather if travelling from north to south and in the northwest as well. Just be aware of the weather in the parts you plan to visit. It didn't spoil our trip though.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I think it did through employment of guides, drivers, hotel accommodation, and the hotel staff and our various purchases and using this operator as our travel company.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would rate the holiday very highly. I cannot think of any complaints about it. The operator was excellent to deal with. It is the first tailor made trip I have organized and it was totally successful. I would highly recommend this operator. They included everything we wanted into our very short 4 day trip and included a day hotel on 2 occasions (The Asean, the staff were so polite and helpful) which was a great idea.

review 3 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Not one but many memories - Vietnam is a wonderful destination to go to.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

What are you waiting for - book it! March/April best time to go.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

review 11 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking and kayaking with Tiger Trails in the countryside outside Luang Prabang, Laos. We were also in Hoi An, central Vietnam, for the full moon celebration: candle boats on the river and paper lanterns every where, magic.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

In Vietnam, chose Hanoi or Ho Chi Minh city unless you are and absolute city junkie....we preferred Hanoi, a mad city but almost manageable and a great insight into how people are flourishing under capitalism. I almost 4 weeks, we regretted not spending more time in the mountains.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes to the first, to an extent...the tour organiser was local and all our guides were local and pretty good. There was a bit too much emphasis, in Vietnam, on a standard route to pottery villages/weavers/lantern makers: so the cash benefit was stitched up between a very few recipients. Walking in Laos, the same thing: the one school was clearly doing well from the numerous tourists....might be better to spread the benefits more equally. We were also surprised that we weren't more often pointed towards fair trade/priority employment restos and shops: we found them ourselves [Streets resto in Hoi An, and a great craft shop run by/for people with disabilities] and they were news to our guides. No to the second: we were a bit surprised by the luxurious accomm [eg Hoi An Beach resort] with no mitigation of its massive environmental impact: only one hotel [Zen Nam Khan in Laos] had a clue about environmental impact

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Pretty good once we'd accepted that we were not in fact responsible travellers, or only slightly so. We greatly enjoyed Both Vietnam and Laos but especially Laos, which could, just, develop green tourism if it had the will.

review 15 Feb 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting and trekking in the Nam Cat Tien National Park.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Exactly as we did, to arrange a relaxing few days after all activities, to reflect and recharge before retuyrning home.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Most certainly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Quite honestly, the best holiday of my life (so far) - and there have been many.

review 18 Apr 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A trip to the mekong delta with a local guide. the delta is beautiful, the village and cottage industries we visited were fascinating and the lunch was spectacular. But all made possible by our guide for the day who spoke great English, knew a great deal and was just enchanting!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take advice from the travel agent - they know what they are doing and they are very trustworthy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely benefitted local people. Not sure about the environment since Vietnam is such a long country that flying is the only way to get from one way to the other in a short space of time, but aside from flights, we did our best to minimise environmental costs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent trip and really interesting.

review 10 Jan 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The stay in Hoi An, excellent hotel, superb tour with local guide, sea, river, exquisite food (as per local guide's recommendations). We wanted to extend the stay there.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be sure to want to bring back loads of presents. Take locally organised tours - they are the best.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We did hope so, having shopped more with locals instead of government owned stores (that are cheaper but bring income to the communist government instead of locals.)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent! Looking at the next question - I would not say it was the best holiday, but I have been on quite a few and this was definitely one of the best.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies