8 independent reviews for Madeira walking holiday

Reviews for Madeira walking holiday

SHOW
5
2
1
0
0

review 20 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The hiking trips in the mountains and along the Levadas

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To extend the visit in Madeira beyond one week in order to see other places .

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Only partially .

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good

review 28 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walks; particularly the first and last day

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

take layers and windproofs/waterproofs

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited locals

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Felipe is an amazing guide; his love of the island and knowledge of its flora really enhanced the walks

review 21 Feb 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was amazing, our guide Filipe Gomes was brilliant, and probably the best guide I've had so far, loved and knew everything about his culture, history and plants of the island, and very enthusiastic to keep and preserve the natural beauty of the island and it's habitat. The views were amazing out of this world and walking to Pico de Ruivo, Madeira's highest point in the mountains, was magical with the clouds passing by. We were also lucky with a great group that gelled well together like a little family.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Have a good amount of fitness, especially for walking up hill as there is a lot of long steep climbs and steep steps. And good walking poles will help a lot.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Our guide and driver were from Madeira, both spoke good English, were very helpful as were all the staff at the hotels, and gave us all lots of tips of how to get around the island and what to look out for. For example good places to get our pack lunches, avoid paying tourist extras, keep the same water bottle and just re-fill saving on plastic. Filipe our guide does a lot of voluntary work re planting in the mountains and helping others, and is so enthusiastic about helping maderia keeping its natural beauty.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Had a fantastic time, made 11 new friends, was a little nervous at first as I haven't done a walking holiday for about 11+ yrs but im so glad I did it, it was out of this world, the other walkers (now friends), our guide (Filipe) and places we visited + all the little exras that Filipe did with us the whole experience was a 5* + Thank you!

review 25 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walks were excellent. The hike to the top of the mountain was especially memorable. The lead as we're so interesting. Our guide, Philippe, was absolutely wonderful - better than excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be ready to enjoy the company of others, to enjoy the food and the beautiful environment.Yes

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - we supported local businesses and were responsible visitors.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - 10/10

review 7 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Getting to the top of Pico Ruivo (the highest peak in Madeira) above the cloud level.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Walking poles are useful.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We ate at small local places and tried many foods grown, caught or produced locally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 26 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Each day's hike showed a different landscape - lots of variety.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is classed as a moderate walking holiday but there are some aspects of it which are challenging so a good level of fitness is required.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The English guide was extremely enthusiastic about Madeira and knew the island very well, but I feel that a local guide should have been used. All other staff were local.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Extremely enjoyable holiday. One that I would recommend.

review 25 Feb 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walks, particularly when the weather allowed us to view the spectacular scenery and the group of people we walked with.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

BRING A FULL SET OF WATERPROOFS!!! We went in February and did not pack over-trousers and regretted it. It is cold in the mountains and any cloud coming over the Island has to climb 1800m, so will deposit a full load of rain on you. We walked on one day in heavy rain from start to finish and were soaked through. Our assumption that we would be warm as we were on a subtropical island was wrong. Come prepared for bad weather and then you will be able to enjoy it more if the weather is good!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate in local restaurants and used local drivers.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Our tour leader did very well to choose walks that we could do in inclement weather conditions, he was attentive and ensured the experience was fun and memorable.

review 14 Nov 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sea kayaking and swimming with the turtle.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You need to have a relative level of fitness.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, guide was local.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great. Problem though with monarch airline transfers, delay resulting on missing our connection back to Ireland.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies