40 independent reviews for Croatia activity holiday for families with teenagers

Reviews for Croatia activity holiday for families with teenagers

SHOW
15
22
3
0
0

review 27 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Best bit of our activity holiday in Croatia was the canyoning and it was the bit I had dreaded

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Best if you are quite agile and not too nervous about hopping between rocks but the caves were not as alarming as I had feared.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I wasn't sure that the Croatia holiday was focused on conservation but it did seem to employ lots of young local people - for which I was very grateful as they managed to heave me up the various rockfaces without injury to anyone.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I really enjoyed the activities, the accommodation could have been more central but it was clean and nice. I would have been prepared to pay a little more to have use of a pool. Some of the beaches we were taken to were rather littered. I would have been willing to do a bit of a clean up while we were there.

review 26 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

River tubing!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would recommend them to bring appropriate footwear. Bring good sneakers for canyoning and water shoes for other activities

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Holiday was superb! Maria and Barry were great.

review 23 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Canyoning

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring lots of suncream!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, supported local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, good fun for all age groups.

review 13 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the kids enjoying the activities with new friends. The guides were excellent and as parents we were completely convinced bride to that they were well looked after at all times.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we stayed in privately owned accommodation/apartments run by family who were on hand if needed. We used local adventure companies for the activities and our tour leaders were from the local area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great holiday with service that was over and above that we expected or have experienced in other European countries. All our tour leaders recommendations were excellent and we even suited our onwards accommodation and transfers through them.

review 12 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the kids enjoying the activities with new friends. The guides were excellent and as parents we were completely convinced bride to that they were well looked after at all times.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we stayed in privately owned accommodation/apartments run by family who were on hand if needed. We used local adventure companies for the activities and our tour leaders were from the local area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great holiday with service that was over and above that we expected or have experienced in other European countries. All our tour leaders recommendations were excellent and we even suited our onwards accommodation and transfers through them.

review 7 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Adventure and Laughter

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do read the recommended clothing and take cash! very few places take credit cards

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes for sure. We enjoyed going to restaurants and using facilities and seeing places we might not have seen.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a great holiday, a lot of fun, families integrated really well. Thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend it

review 5 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We all loved canyoning adventure, but all activities were great! It was fab to meet all the other families and do lots of stuff together!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring good trainers. Do all the activities. Bring lots of KUNA local cash. Make sure you sort out your insurance before you leave the UK.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes – local companies and restaurants were all supplied

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Five stars isn’t good enough – absolutely fabulous. Maria and Barisa were superb – an absolute credit to Croatia and the travel company go above and over all the time. All the drivers were great and the professional guides that were used for the activities were excellent. Thank you for a truly wonderful holiday! Five gold stars!

review 22 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I really enjoyed canyoning – like nothing I have ever done before!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don’t be scared, go for it! We felt well looked after from beginning to the end of the holiday!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I liked the fact they utilised local businesses!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Marija, Barisa, Russell are all full of endless positivity, kindness, fun and a great ense of humour. Better than we could have imagined. Incredibly satisfying holiday, everything I wanted and more! My boy Eddie slept very well because of the activities! Thank you!

review 26 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Canyoning was the best but loved all the activities

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring good trainers for canyoning

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We’ve had a great holiday. Marija and Barisa were fantastic hosts providing local advice and I especially loved the birthday party they laid out for one guest. Their sense of humour made the holiday extra special.

review 12 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting other families (particularly kids) and beautiful location of Brac Island.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax and enjoy Croatia

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, benefited local business

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great memories

review 14 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Loved all the activities, I’m not a very fit person but I loved the water activities.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Prepare for a sociable experience, and listen to the instructors about fitness requirements.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It’s an eco-minded company, thoughtful staff and mostly employing locals from Split region

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This has been a great holiday, well organized from booking to the end. Great activities and company reps (particularly Russ). Accommodation staff fantastic – especially Antonia in the restaurant.

review 14 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I can’t choose a favourite activity as we loved all of them!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ask questions before you book the holiday, some parents were not moderately fit and couldn’t keep up with their kids.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The tour was run professionally by Croatia employees, so I presume this helps the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Accommodation was made by all the staff; fantastic experience. Keep doing what you’re doing!

review 29 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The white water rafting was favoured by all four of us in terms of pure fun closely followed by the cycling day. That said every day was terrific but the most memorable aspect is probably the great group of people we shared our experience with.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To check with your insurance about cover for the canyoning in advance of the trip. To go on the wine tasting trip - this was a fantastic evening surpassing all expectation (and it wasn't just about the wine). Also to purchase the photo disc of the white water rafting - amazing photos.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I would like to think it benefited local people as Trilj didn't appear to be a particularly tourist destination so the bars and restaurants benefited from our custom. The activities certainly didn't leave much of a footprint.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

All I can say is our boys feel it was the best holiday they've been on and we concur. In the literature we were given at the start it said that on average you laugh 13 times a day but on this holiday you laugh 53 times - actually we laughed a lot lot more!

review 30 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The guides and the beauty of croatia and it's people

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Listen to your guides and trust them especially when canyoning!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I feel that Croatia is very. much back on the map of the tourist and that tourism has had a major part to play in doing this

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

excellent, exciting, fun and memories for life!

review 30 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All is memorable, I’ve liked canyoning best and Theo (my son) says that rafting was most exciting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring outdoor/activity clothes.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely benefits local people. Wonderful to see how proud Croatians are of their land and home and who they are. I truly hope they will keep up with environmental efforts and sensible tourism.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Everybody is very friendly, supportive and just genuinely nice! I would highly recommend this holiday to anyone!

review 14 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Enjoyed all the activities especially white water rafting and canyoning.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Although not as physically challenging as expected they were great- for a family holiday.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, local guides and professional instructors were being used.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Teenagers were happy, so were we! Tour leaders were really helpful and engaging: an arranged extra activity on “rest” day – boat trip was excellent! We’ve also booked zip wire and our teenagers were raving about it for next two days.

review 14 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Most fun we had was rafting on the river rapids.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The canyoning was the most challenging and enjoyable (for most of the family).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We travelled together for the most part, which reduce transportation environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We have had a fabulous week. The activities were very good, they provided a wonderful way to see this beautiful country. The group that we were in was sociable and friendly and fun. The tour guides, and especially guide responsible for our group – Maria, were excellent, full of local knowledge, friendly and approachable. The accommodation was comfortable.

review 22 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The activities were brilliant and very well organised.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would recommend the zip wire excursion on the free day. It's worth the extra money.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the reps and guides were local people so I do believe we were supporting local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a fantastic, family bonding experience, suitable for my 11 and 19 year old. I would happily recommend it to friends.

review 17 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The activities – great fun, well organised by very professional leaders, safety – cautious through out. Barisha was very attentive with great sense of humour with adults & with the kids.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Trainers with good grip are a must for canyoning.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely, through all the activities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Huge fun, unforgettable and we will definitely recommend to everyone!

review 6 Aug 2016

1) What was the most memorable or exciting part of the holiday? Loved all the river activities! They were good fun in very beautiful surroundings. 2) What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday? Be prepared to join in. Take advice from the guides. They are good and know the area. It’s hot – plenty of sunscreen and water needed. 3) Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation? Yes, benefited local people as well as the guides were local. Not sure about environmental impact or supporting conservation 4) Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall? Brilliant! Well organised with safety a priority during all activities whilst still being able to enjoy ourselves.

review 31 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It'll be different depending on which member of the family you ask: For the adults, probably touring Dubrovnik, Kayaking out to the blue caves and cycling across Sipan. For the kids, quad biking, Kayaking and diving off the cliffs were probably top memories.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of mosquito repellent. Be prepared not to meet the other families until day 2 or 3. Have water shoes to protect feet against urchins

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Sort of

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A great holiday for families with teens; the parents and kids from the 4 families got on really well.

review 15 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Mini rafting, beautiful countryside. Lively friendly people, unspoilt

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 10 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were so many it's hard to choose, however mini rafting and white water rafting were so much fun probably my favorite activities, but the best thing for us was when our teenage daughter, an only child, said it was the best holiday ever and she didn't want to leave.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The activities are challenging but not extreme I was worried they would be too much but they were all doable for the wide cross section of people there, so don't worry too much about that.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely, there were a lot of local businesses involved in the activities and transport to and from them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent,felt alive and invigorated plus we met so many lovely people fellow guests and reps alike!

review 22 Nov 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Canyoning was amazing - really thought I wouldn't be able to do it but I did and the children were so proud:-) Knowing they had completed the canyoning experience too - way ahead of us of course - was fantastic The cycling trip was lovely especially seeing the river sources and being able to swim there - although it was very cold!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The tour operator is really clear about what clothes to bring and other accessories needed but always have your swimming gear on as there is always an opportunity to get wet

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We hope so:-)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a fantastic holiday, extremely well organised, great fun, really active, gave us loads to talk and laugh about. The children are already planning next year's trip. We have been raving about it to all our friends.

review 4 Nov 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Each day held a special moment. Visiting the sources of 2 rivers on bicycles was great; white water rafting; canyoning were particular highlights.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Learn the basics of steering a canoe on YouTube.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The hotel, local restaurant, vineyard & guides all benefit.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 out of 10 for people. The hotel decoration does not need holiday provider advertising repeated through the the building, especially not in the bedrooms.

review 23 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cannoning on the last day was the best activity by far As a family we also very much enjoyed the mini rafting as this was fast paced and gave us lots of giggles We also met some brilliant families who we have kept in contact with

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bear in mind that the age range is not as it says on the website as there were many children on our holiday 12 years old and under Traveling with a 14 year old we were originally worried that she would be one of the youngest and would struggle to keep up with the group but this was not the case at all.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The visit to the mill would have done so, yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

8/10 The reps were excellent, the food was ok, the accommodation was ok, but we felt that the activities could have been a little more adventurous and tougher

review 16 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The canyoning and the white water rafting were great fun although slightly tame because we had the kids on board.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It's worth getting the professional photos taken during the whitewater rafting. You don't end up taking too many photos during the week as you are in and out of the water and you can't carry your camera with you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Only in that Croatia is heavily dependent upon tourism.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great fun, very good local tour leaders and lovely fellow guests.

review 16 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Met some fabulous new people and made new friends. It was constant fun and laughed a lot!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just mix easily. It's very social so try to relax and go with it. Get kids to mix too as they have a lot of fun away from the parents.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, employed locals and we ate locally and used areas resources respectfully

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 12 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Stunning views that out-sense the brochure. Canyoning with my family was thrilling and spending time together just messing around in the pool was rejuvenating.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take some snacks on the activity trips! You'll be exhausted -- in a good way.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes -- the local economy depends on tourism entirely in the Summer with the other major activity being olive oil production which occupies the autumn and winter months.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous.

review 9 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were diffreent highlights for all us - mine were cycling through the quiet roads to explore the Croatian countryside, cooling off in freshwater springs, canyoning on the beautiful Cetina river, wine-tasting at a local Croation vineyard, and enjoying the company of the other guests and our local hosts.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think it benefited local people in that we used local operators for the organised activities, stayed in a family hotel and went wine-tasting locally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a great week - perfect for families who want to do something active everyday, meet lots of like-minded people, and explore a beautiful, untouristy part of Croatia.

review 2 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The canyoning was great fun, exhilariting, exciting, refreshing and occassionally hard work. When we got to the end we were saddened and relieved in equal measure

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light but take a stout pair of trainers for the canyoning. Ask for room 222! Take the optional tour of a local winery especially if it is to Drajan's place.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think that the town of Trilj, where the hotel is located, benefitted considerably from our holiday. We spent money locally on lunches, in the evening and in the hotel, both via the booking and with evening bar tabs. There is a negative environmental impact just by travelling to and within Croatia, but it is minimised by the activities all being human-powered. I am not aware that we directly supported any conservation other than by using the river and so ensuring that the authorities have good reason to keep it pristine.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a terrific holiday, the activities were exciting and challenging without being terrifying. The hotel was fine and the pig roast on the final night was a real treat.

review 23 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The activities in Sutivan were excellent and were adapted after the first one to our level of ability. The local company could not have been more accommodating. Brac was beautiful

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't go to the Hotel Amor. It was big and impersonal; most of the staff were unlike all other friendly Croatians; one room was advertised as sea side and superior and had a wonderful view of the car park (it was changed eventually but not without some considerable hassle and rudeness); breakfasts were similar to a bun fight and we were pleased to be b and b only. We would have been happier to have stayed in a smaller place than Supetar. Restaurants were excellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, local companies were used to support the activities and local guides were excellent.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was good; we all found something we enjoyed doing and felt appropriately challenged. We thoroughly enjoyed the warmth and helpfulness of most of the Croatian people.

review 17 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Dubrovnik is a beautiful city, but I think the highlight for us was the trip to a farm one evening whilst staying on one of the islands, where we ate lots of fnatastic local food, sampled home made spirits and had a bit of a sing-song.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Great trip with lots of variety. We were the only people doing our particular combination of activities, so be aware that you might not be with a group. Activities also finished rather early some days. Our guides were great and we were well looked after.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our guides were local, we mainly used local and sustainable transport, and we stayed in guest houses run be local residents.So it did benefit local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great. We had a wonderful time. Beautiful places, friendly people, lots of variety and great food. Our only regret was that we spent several of our days on our own, when it would have been nice to be with more people.

review 16 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

White water rafting was amazing. So scary but loads of fun. The guides were all brilliant, very knowledgable and funny.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring a pair of suitable shoes. Canyoning was fantastic but the guides will not allow you to wear unsuitable footwear. No sandals and definitely no flip flops allowed. You can buy canyoning shoes or old trainers will be ok.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local small business were supported.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing. Definitely recommend it.

review 23 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Canyoning. I wasn't sure about this beforehand but we all voted it the best experience of the week.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring wet shoes or old trainers for the activities. Also in summer it can get very hot. Like many of our group we stayed on a week and relaxing on one of the islands makes a perfect two week break.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes everything was based around the local economy and used local people. Maria our local guide deserves a special mention.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. We have visited Croatia and done activity weeks before but this was the best yet - a great blend of different activities with something different every day.

review 12 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The canyoning was easily the most exciting day. It was great fun helped by the fact that we felt the guides were taking very good care of us. They would stop and brief us at each point to inform us what to do and along the route they made themselves available in case anyone got into difficulties.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would advise fellow travellers not to expect too much of the hotel. It is important to remember that it is 3 star and presumably we pay 3 star prices. There is no outdoor seating area other than the dining area. If we wanted to swim we had to walk about 600 metres up the river bank to the small beach which was popular with the locals.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - I liked the way the hotel was owned seemingly by the local Croatian family and that the activities were all conducted efficiently by other Croatian outfits. I'm unsure about the reduced environmental impacts or the support for conservation. I am a keen wildlife enthusiast but found no information on this aspect of the local area in the hotel. Indeed that could be a suggestion that they may like to promote a visit to the local Museum in Trilj (which I discovered quite by chance) and also provide some details about the excavations in the nearby Roman archaeological site of Trilium. There was a general lack of information about local points of interest in the area and other travellers may have found this useful.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed the holiday especially the activities. Thank you for enabling us to have these exciting opportunities.

review 15 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beauty of the Croatian coast line, dotted with centuries old villages. The wonderful expertise of the Katarina Boat line and the valuable leadership of Robert, our Croatian bicycle guide. Robert was so knowledgeable about the area, history and customs and also the best out-of-the-way routes.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring along clothespins for hanging biking clothes after washing. Cash on hand - best in Kunas as many places do not take VISA. According to locals, "shoulder season" is least crowded.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - entire crew was local. The boat was family owned. Food was provided from local markets and Robert led us to local restaurants on the rides. Locals were happy to provide great service. Trip of this sort, with the biking through villages, increases local interaction and encourages positive relationships.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Never having used this operator or resonsibletravel.com before, we were not sure what to expect - but now we would heartily recommend both as being first class!

review 11 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The activities were fantastic and the scenery amazing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just to enjoy themselves - they will be in very good hands.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

All the staff in the hotel and the guides were local - they were all incredibly friendly and helpful. The activities were nearly all based on the river and were muscle-powered - so no polluting motors!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an excellent holiday enjoyed by children (aged 11,13,14,16,17) and adults alike. We could do as much or as little as we liked - with no pressure. Everything was well organised and safety always came first.

review 19 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All the adventure. Especially the canyoning which I adored, white water rafting (which was better than my previous experience and great fun), white water kayaking (which was great fun), horse back riding (I managed somehow to go on a fast ride on a stallion) and mountain biking (really hard work at the start but a wonderful day).

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring old trainers that can get wet- you will use them a lot, not just on the canyoning. People with tennis shoes found they were not up to the job on the canyoning. You don’t need to buy special shoes. Relax and just have fun. Its great. If you can add a few days on before or after and stay in Split- so you can visit the islands, not Split so much though as there’s a day during the week for that. On the Split day it would be good to be briefed on the best places to see as it is bigger.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Benefitted local people- Yes. Minimised the impact on the environment- to a degree but there was a reasonable amount of driving. Also they brought Luke and I up separately at the start while they could easily have collected me when he arrived. A very small point.)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

4.8 stars. Although the group was ridiculously small and Trilj itself had little to offer the adventure was fabulous, the people in the hotel wonderful, the balance of doing and relaxation just right. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys adventure and fun, wants to experience Croatia without too many tourists and yet wants to feel well looked after.

review 1 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I booked this holiday for my son, 11, so taking part in all the activities with other children was great. We both would have liked a bit more challenging activities. I loved the old cities we visited & country side.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take some games & other entertainment for children, as there wasn't a games room or a place to socialise with others besides the restaurant or the bar at the hotel. A pool & games room would have been great in the hotel, as there were only bars & restaurants in the town. Check how many families & kids you will actually be with.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Exellent concept, activities for all the family to take part in.I would definately book another 1 next year in another country.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies