13 independent reviews for French Riviera holiday, walking, culture & cooking option

Reviews for French Riviera holiday, walking, culture & cooking option

SHOW
6
7
0
0
0

review 24 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Doing different activities everyday with the wonderful hosts Corinne and Benoit. Relaxing in the village of St Jeannet and soaking up the ambience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay for more than two days and do a hike up to the Baou and do some cooking.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it was easy to see how it supported the local economy with less impact than a more formal tour and an emphasis on convservation of the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Awesome experience and as a solo traveller I felt very looked after and included.

Read the operator's response here:

Hello Helen :) ! 'hope your trip to Lyon went well, and that you didn't have to go through this little moment of stress feeling that you may miss the flight... ;) Again it was a real pleasure having you with us for those few days, the word that came to my mind just atfer I dropped you at the airport was the word "deLIGHTfull"...I had never realised there were two words inside that word...and it suist you really well, you are shining... thank you again, lots of love Benoit and Corinne

review 29 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The entire week at St. Jeannet was memorable! Loved each of Benoit's daily activities including his informative, detailed, and interesting commentaries! He is an amazing tour guide, and both he and Corinne are warm and welcoming. Corrine's generous and delicious breakfasts and picnic lunches on two of the days, always made with fresh and local ingredients, as well as her instructive cooking day and our yummy results, were all equally amazing. The village and its people are wonderful, such a beautiful area close enough to have gorgeous views of Nice and the coastline yet tucked away so as to be peaceful and quiet. We felt as if we had gone back to a simpler time and place. Meeting and getting to know other guests at the house was also a definite plus. The pace was easy, flexible, and relaxing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

1. Be aware that this is a very small village and that the number of restaurants is limited. When we were there (early May), there were four, (all excellent), but not all of them open every night (one night there was only one open), and they do not open until 7 PM. Guests are invited to use the kitchen, but know ahead that the few places to purchase cooking supplies are usually close mid-afternoon, so if you are away on a day-long activity, you may not have access to supplies when you return. Best advice is to clarify with Benoit or Corinne what your choices will be each day. 2. The daily activities are hard to pass up, but my traveling companion did take one day to just relax and explore the village and hiking trails which are easily accessible and well marked. 3. Benoit invites guests to join in on the yoga classes he teaches in the village and he is a wonderful, gentle teacher. However, silly me, it did not occur to me until I was setting down my mat that he would be teaching it in French... of course!! He was very gracious and helped me through with an English word or phrase thrown in now and then! But don't hesitate, the class is very relaxing and it is doubly interesting to join the villagers who take this in. 4. Benoit is quick to email responses to questions prior to the trip. We began our planning nearly nine months before our trip, and had many inquiries. Benoit's every response was speedy, pleasant, and helpful.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As mentioned, this is a small village, so anything we purchased helped the local economy. There is a local wine, local goat cheese, bread from the bakery, and other fresh produce which Corinne uses in the meals served (oh, and don't miss her home made yogurt... !). Our excursions took us to some of the nearby villages, a local winery and a goat farm, and other locations where we leaned about the people and the area and of course made purchases. And it is clear from conversations and observation (recycling and composting in the kitchen) that Benoit and Corinne are environmentally concerned and responsible. They live locally, and are very proud of this area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The best I can say is that we did not want to leave. The area, the people, the beauty, the food, the relaxing pace (activities did not start before 10 AM... no jumping out of bed and rushing to catch a bus!), and most important, Benoit and Corinne, all served to make the week at Frogs' House and St. Jeanette one of my most favourite travel experiences.

review 10 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The excellent, friendly, informed guiding on the activity days. The pace was relaxed and enjoyable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Check out which restaurants are open on which nights-limited choice in low season.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable -friendly hosts, delightful area.

review 19 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole 3 days was fantastic! Walking in the gorge, visiting the perched village, goat farm & vineyard followed by a day learning to cook regional dishes

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't take too many clothes, relax & enjoy the experience

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes very much. These small villages need the right balance of tourism to keep going.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was FABULOUS

Read the operator's response here:

thank you Lesley and Cath, it has been an enormous pleasure to have you with us for these few days :) !!! keep the great spirit, the positive mood no matter what (even after being lost 2 hours looking for your car ;) !!!), stay happy...and come back again :) !!! love ! Benoit et Corinne

review 17 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The peaceful, unspoilt village with spectacular views. The friendliness and warmth of our hosts, their local knowledge and their pride in their local area.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Choose a room with a balcony, preferably second floor, as the views are beautiful. Choose the activities as part of your package. You get a wonderful overview of the local area. The hiking day is great fun, but make sure you have suitable shoes and are relatively fit so you really enjoy it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it is obvious that the hosts are environmentally aware and take care.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Busy, but great fun. You can choose as many or as few activities as you like. Take an extra day to wind-down and just explore the village as the Monday- Friday activities are great fun but full-on. If you like more physically challenging activities then perhaps ask about weekend activities.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you Kay for your very nice comment !!! Yes you are correct about the walking day, but mainly for July and August that take us to the canyon and the local waterfall, the rest of the year the walk is far less "technical" ;) I hope you will enjoy the rest of your trip in Lyon and Paris :) !!! all the best to you two, take good care Benoit et Corinne

review 10 Nov 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The personal contact with the owners who are very charming, and know the area inside out. Delicious food

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it. The local tours are great with good food.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Used local knowledge and avoided tourist traps

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 24 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Trek in the mountains along a river we arrived at a waterfall for a picnic and our host set up a tightrope across the river it was awesome to see.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Definitely book onto the organised days out the hosts are really fun, knowledgeable and inclusive your will have special time.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we went to local shops, restaurants and winery the hosts were very knowledgeable about conservation and made sure they sourced locally and were very much embedded in their local community and committed to keeping it thriving.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was simply the best holiday I have been on in years very special

review 23 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The concept of the holiday was totally different to anything we had done previously. We enjoyed the idea of doing everything locally with local people and contributing to the local economy. Above all, we felt really well taken care of with much attention to detail.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just enjoy what the hosts have organised for you as it is all very carefully thought out. We have been independent travellers for a long time and wanted to rush around and do so many other things but were glad we let everything be taken care for us!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Apart from the weather which was a bit iffy, unfortunately, 10/10!

review 17 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Difficult to pinpoint just one element of the holiday. As a lover of the outdoors, I enjoyed the guided walk and picnic into the local Baou hills but then I also enjoyed the relaxed, fun and informative guided walk of the old town of Nice. The group visits to local family run businesses will remain in my memory also as, in my opinion, it is always a pleasure to meet people from different countries and cultures and also to meet local residents of St. Jeannet.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to join in any of the visits or events that are laid on....they may vary according to numbers staying at the auberge but as long as you are flexible and prepared to get involved with what is on offer, then I am pretty certain there will be something for everyone to enjoy. If you are an independent traveller, this is a great place to stay as a base and with lots of interesting places to visit within easy reach.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely, inasmuch as the auberge had a sensible room cleaning policy which was optional rather than forced upon any guests ...encouragement of recycling, encouraging the use of local stores in the village and with visits to local suppliers, in my case, this included the village local vineyard and an olive mill and a visit to a few of the perched villages and sampling home made, local produce at a village Bistrot du Pays. All visits very interesting....sampling local dishes in Nice (Socca) and local made ice-cream - again this demonstrated the support of local restaurateurs and the two restaurants I went to in St. Jeannet were both excellent in terms of cuisine and welcome.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. I had a wonderful time and as a solo traveller, was made to feel very welcome and felt very much "at home" during my stay.

review 14 Mar 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walk in the Baou with a glass of wine at lunchtime. A view of St Paul de Vence from the bottom of the hill.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

In March, the weather is changeable - good idea to bring waterproof jackets.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we cooked food with local produce on the Saturday; and bought wine at the local Rasse family vineyard.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Corinne and Benoit aim to please. The accommodation is basic, but clean and warm.

review 29 May 2009

It was a marvellous experience in every way! Corinne and Benoit are an attractive couple for whom nothing is too much trouble. They are enthusiastic about what they are doing; energetic and service anything their guests request. The auberge, the food, the authenticity of their product is first class.

review 17 Apr 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of the holiday was great. Probably the best part was the personal touch that Corinne and Benoit insist on providing. It takes a great deal of energy to work as hard as they do, but the results are tremendous.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I think that I would like to keep this gem a hidden secret, but truthfully the only thing that travellers who arrive by car should be aware of is that the village is very high up and accessed on switchbacked roads. It's a typical perched village of the area.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Benoit and Corinne are exemplars in using locally produced products such as wines, olive oil, various cheeses, and organic vegetables. Everything possible is recycled.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a simply terrific time and have already recommended the house to numerous friends, particularly those people who are seasoned travellers and are tired of the regular offerings. It wasn't a long enough break to earn 5 stars, but no one should hesitate to consider booking.

review 21 Jun 2008

We were delighted with our stay with Benoit and Corinne in St Jeannet. These friendly people are firm believers in a sustainable approach in all things and it showed. Our room was clean, bright and comfortable with a breathtaking view, food at the guest house was excellent, and the little town with its quaint alleyways to explore was charming and unspoiled. We took part in the 3 day introduction to the area that was offered market shopping, cooking, wine tasting, olive oil processing tour, scenic drives and remote village exploration, and even the gala opening of an art exhibition in Monte Carlo as a bonus. We would never have experienced all these gems without our enthusiastic hosts and their friends. Without hesitation we rate our holiday 10 out of 10.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies