10 independent reviews for Holiday to Malta and Gozo

Reviews for Holiday to Malta and Gozo

SHOW
5
5
0
0
0

review 5 Mar 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The ancient history on Malta. Amazingly well constructed and preserved temples older than the pyramids.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Donít expect to relax much! Excellent tour seeing more or less everything there is to see. Good hotels and Lisa, the guide was excellent. As a native of Malta, she had superb knowledge and interest in Malta, Gozo, the culture, life and history which she put over really well. Donít go in the height of summer of course, it would be too hot to enjoy the sights and too crowded too. End of February into March was excellent though note that the museums were closed until March 1st.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we used local guides, hotels and transport. The only impact really was the flight which is rather unavoidable.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An excellent trip. The small group (14) got on well together. I would never want to do such a holiday with a large coach load. I think I got a real flavour of the islands.

review 30 Oct 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our guide Alissa made everything memorable with the boat ride at Blue Grotto, time on Josephís farm and Valletta being highlights.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Donít forget your bathing suit.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - exceeded expectations.

review 11 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Caravaggio at the Cathedral

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

In summer be prepared for high temperatures & humidity

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Unsure. Water had to be bought in plastic bottles which we werenít certain were then recycled.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good

review 4 Apr 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The long deserted beaches.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Forecast was rain, but when the sun shone, it was hot and proved the need for a hat.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefitted the local businesses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I contacted the operator many times as confirmation of my booking request was very slow. That said, the location was ideal and our guide Rocio was really good at catering for different abilities.

review 1 Apr 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hard to choose, I would have to say discovering beautiful Gozo and having beautiful lunches by the sea.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It can get quite windy, so make sure to bring something to deal with that possibility.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did go and visit a local farmer, but I got the impression only one of the two hotels were helping a local business. The second one on the island of Malta was quite standard, and they insisted on changing towels every day (no signs to say how one could avoid doing that). I would also recommend that they invest in liquid soap dispensers in the bathroom, instead of having individual packets of liquid soap (which can create a lot of garbage).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A beautiful trip with enough time to visit a lot of what the island has to offer, all while having some alone time if wanted.

review 22 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's always nice to see a new place & experience the culture of that place.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get as most information before you go.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

In some ways, yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9/10

review 19 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking through the beautiful Sierra de Arcena.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It's a full on trip, although this is made clear in the trip notes. That suited us down to the ground as we were keen to see and experience as much as possible during our visit.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We travelled with a local (who is clearly passionate about the region); stayed in a small village (thus contributing to its economy); used public transport; and minimised plastic waste by drinking tap water throughout the trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic trip that packs lots in and really gives you a feel for the region. I recommend it to anyone who wants to get to know the history and culture of Andalucia.

review 31 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting my fellow travellers and our leader Maria. Loved the neolithic sites too.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring comfy sandals and a pair of trainers. No walking boots required.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We ate at local restaurants and visited various museums.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Thoroughly enjoyed it.

review 6 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Valletta boat trip, Palatine Chapel, Mount Etna.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to be on the go most of the time.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Don't know.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good.

review 11 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Time in Gozo - boat trips in Gozo and Harbour cruise in Malta. Visit to farm for lunch.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Sensible shoes and dress for extreme heat and humidity.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Plastic water bottles were everywhere because of Malta's water problem. Not sure that it did beyond any normal tourist benefits.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent guide and good experience.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback. The benefits of choosing this tour is that we work with a local operator and have a local Tour Leader to escort us who will be able to explain all about the history and culture, as well as local life on the islands. This makes our experience that much richer than travelling independently as weíll be able to uncover all sorts of aspects of the islands not accessible to most visitors. Our trip also benefits a wide range of people in the islands, from the small hotels we stay in, to the transport providers, restaurants and other small businesses.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy