Alan Thomas review 24 Nov 2019
1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?
Good company, good scenery, great weather.
2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?
Don't expect what's on the brochure online.
The Guayadeque canyon experience with fabulous rock formations per grand canyon just didn't happen. Instead we had a "lunch break" for two hours in a cave. The museum "interpretation centre" in the canyon that was promised was shut ... surely that was easy to know in advance?
Taking a bus up the canyon to a point where the walk would work time wise would have been so easy and would have allowed us to be in the more interesting scenery.
The "easy" option we experienced may suit some, but if it's a feature on the web that sets expectation, this was sadly let down.
If you post pictures of what will be seen -- then surely the features should be seen.
3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?
No, other than tourist money inbound -- bus, restaurants, bars.
Conservation support was non-existent.
4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?
Iffy, not as advertised.
Food not great. Although the group meal ideal is good, the "set menu" approach as an extra cost was a rip off and annoying.
We should have adopted a "solo" approach from the start to avoid indifferent and too abundent food. We did later adopt this solo approach.
However the hotels provided good accommodation and excellent breakfasts. Both hotels were really good.
Overall dissappointed and surprised by the lack of thought. We will not be coming back to this operator.
Read the operator's response here:
Thank you for your feedback. I was sorry to see that the Guayadeque canyon experience was not as you expected. I appreciate both the walk up and down was in poor weather and accounted for the long stay in the cave – as it was dry and warm with a café on site. It’s also a shame the interpretation center was closed. This was an unexpected closure, on the day, due to a maintenance issue – as per the notice on the door.
We use public busses and being a walking trip we do keep our impact on the local environment to a minimum but we don’t have any conservation projects currently ongoing in the area or mention that we will be partaking in any within the itinerary. This trip only has included breakfasts, as such the meal choices are your own. The guide will always suggest options and groups tend to like buffets at the beginning of a trip. This way everyone has a choice at one location and the group can have a social evening while ensuring every palate is catered to. I was pleased to see you had great company and enjoyed the scenery.