12 independent reviews for Guided walking holidays in the French Alps

Reviews for Guided walking holidays in the French Alps

SHOW
4
8
0
0
0

review 28 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I am not very good at filling in questionaires. But I do want to say that our stay in the chalet was absolutely 5 *****. We were cared for beautifully in a warm and friendly ambiance with delicious, generous and creative meals, including wine. There was plenty on offer at the chalet....tv, games, hot tub. Our guide, Bruno, was fantastic. He understood our capacity but gently challenged us each day so that we felt a huge accomplishment by the wnd of our stay.I cannot recommend our tour operator enough. A memorable week.

review 24 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The views from the walks

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you buy good quality walking boots

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 28 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walking was amazing. Every day was so different and we saw the most amazing views.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you love walking in stunning alpine scenery, travelling with like minded people and returning to a lively chalet with a great 3 course meal exchange night -this is a perfect holiday.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Obviously tourism supports local communities but I am not sure hiking in pristine alpine settings helps reduce environmental impacts or supports conservation,

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

In one word 'excellent'.

review 26 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The fabulous scenery and super guide made this a truly memorable holiday. We were treated like royalty by the holiday company and would recommend this holiday to anyone.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

On my day off from walking I tried paragliding and white water rafting....Just do it !

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, by undertaking the extra activities I helped support local business.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Thank you for finding me this holiday - it was all wonderful !

review 29 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The views on the last two days over Mont Blanc and its surroundings

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for all kinds of weather ...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Food and drink sourced locally, though I suspect the hot tub on the balcony was perhaps not particularly environmentally-friendly!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Most enjoyable: good and plentiful food, friendly and helpful staff, a very good and considerate guide...

review 4 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Many! The variety of walks we were introduced to, the splendour of the landscape, the fabulous food and attention to detail by the holiday company - La Grande Ourse Staff.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ensure you are fit enough for each level of walk. My 'Two Peak' Group managed all the walks but the pace was slow, and 'stop-and-start'. However, a key theme of the holiday was to appreciate the flora and fauna which was a really fresh and new perspective for me. It helped me 'slow down' and marvel at the detailed wonder of nature.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We visited local restaurants on our 'free day' took part in local outdoor activities, shopped locally. Our walks were sensitive to the environment - we even picked up a little litter with our wonderful walking guide Bruno! Recycling in the chalet kitchen could improve

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fabulous. A really unique combination of healthy outdoor walking activity emersed in glorious nature and really high-level restaurant standard food and all-round excellent customer care. I am already strongly recommending it to family and friends. Thank you for giving me this option. I had not discovered it myself.

review 27 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

One hiking trail, La bourgeoise, made me extremely happy. It was exactly what I had in mind and what I needed in this trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be in good shape; the ascent in some of the trails may be demanding. Do take a waterproof jacket.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

To some extent only. No visible efforts towards those goals were apparent to me. for example, the facility had no recycling policy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I am very pleased. Overall very good.

review 17 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The trails we hiked. I come from a pretty spectacular part of the world (the Canadian Rockies) but the scenery in and around Sameon was outstanding. Anyone who likes to walk and enjoy nature will not be disappointed!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Can't think of anything except to make sure you are able to walk and do at lesat 800 meters elevation.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - definately

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Exceptional - Sam and Steve did a great job in every aspect of the trip - from initial contact to our departure.

review 22 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My first proper holiday without family in years. It was fantastic to be able to disappear into the mountains and away from the world. (It's been quite hard coming home to all the usual pressures from everyday life.) Time to think without it being intense; good company, good food, and excellent accommodation. Walks that were tailored to our levels of fitness (a very select group of 2!) and interest. I can't remember what I was worrying about beforehand now and wouldn't hesitate to go again - soon.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go with an open mind, and don't be afraid to ask questions (however many you have) before you go.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

In as much as it could I guess. Followed familiar environmentally concerned principles throughout. Could do more to support local business through introductions to local producers maybe for bringing goodies home (cheese, wine etc)?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - it ticked all the boxes I knew I had and more. Can't wait to go again.

review 25 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The highlights were probably spending 20 minutes or so watching 4 young marmots playing in the late afternoon sunshine on the Pas de Sales and the crystal clear views of Mont Blanc. However, the welcome and hospitality of everyone, the enthusiasm and expertise of Bruno the guide on the walks, the fabulous food and accommodation, the beautiful scenery ... everything was memorable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take binoculars, the wildlife is fascinating. You have to have a reasonable level of fitness, the Alp slopes are steep!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Overall there was a feeling of great respect for the area and minimising tourist impact, on every walk Bruno picked up litter dropped by other visitors. Guests are encouraged to recycle, minimise use of water and to support local businesses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous - physically challenging but mentally rejuvenating.

review 19 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything - the guide wassuoer. The chalet owners treated me like a family member. Their house was warm and friendly. Felt the price was wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Best trip ever.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Was MORE then I expected.

review 21 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Its impossible to specify any part of the trip as being the most memorable because every aspect of the holiday was really quite perfect ... The incredible scenery and awesome walks, combined with the great guiding, lovely chalet accommodation and superb meals, made for a truly perfect experience. Samoen is a pretty village set in such a spectacular area.... just perfect for this sort of holiday!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it! Do it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Hard to say but the holiday would generally have benefited the local tourist industry The operator buys its food etc locally and as a participant I frequented the local market, restaurants and shops. As regards minimizing impact on the environment: The operator demonstrated a commitment to energy saving and general awareness of tourist issues as regards the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

As regards the star ratings, I can't say I have been reborn but the trip certainly ranks amongst the best trips I've had in terms of scenery, guiding, organisation, attention to detail etc.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies