13 independent reviews for Himalayan tours to Bhutan, Tibet and Nepal

Reviews for Himalayan tours to Bhutan, Tibet and Nepal

SHOW
5
7
0
0
1

review 21 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing sights such as Tigers Nest, the Potala Palace, and flights over Mount Everest. Visiting Tibet was a highlight.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do it! It's a busy itinerary, but an amazing trip. We were superbly looked after by our tour operator. Couldn't really fault it. Be prepared for a lot of travelling, but there again, you're visiting 3 countries in 16 days so that's unavoidable.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used local services and restaurants always.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the greatest trips we've been on! Amazing sights, and a true learning experience.

review 13 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole trip was absolutely fantastic and very well organised. Some of my favourites were just about the whole of Bhutan, the sunrise from Sarangkot, Pokhara and lake Yamdrok in Tibet.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The only tip I have is to understand the likely weather/temperatures better - for some reason, I expected it to be colder because of higher altitudes and came with a lot of 'cold weather' clothes and therefore over-packed.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I certainly believe that it benefited local people - I asked a few of my guides/drivers and they all seem to like tourists and the income they generate. I'm unsure about the environmental impact - I'm a considerate traveller, so I'd like to think I haven't had any negative impact on anyone or anything.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was absolutely fantastic and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

review 23 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This is hard as there were so many really memorable moments, but perhaps the most memorable day as the trek to The Tiger's Nest in Bhutan. The trek was tough, for me at least, but really enjoyable. Once we reached the Tiger's Nest the pain melted away and was replaced by equal measures of awe and exhilaration. It truly is wonderful! The way down is much easier!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't even hesitate for a moment just do it, you won't regret it. Our tour operator organised everything and they organise it extraordinarily well. The guides and drivers in each of the countries are fantastic.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was truly wonderful. We have the most treasured memories that will stay with us for the rest of our days. Not only that but the trip was was really great value, considering everything we got to see and do. We are looking forward to going back and spending more time there.

review 8 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was fascinating to see all the different temples and hear the histories and about the religions of the three countries. Everyone we met was very friendly. Nepal is the easiest to get about with so many travellers there. It was more chaotic but we loved the energy of the place. Its also easy to find plenty of decent restaurants and to get away from crowded streets if you want to. The mountains are stunning and we definitely want to go back. Bhutan was fascinating and the country I knew the least about before hand. The scenery is lovely but the last hotel was probably a bit far out for less benefit (given the roads aren't brilliant in this part of Bhutan). Be warned, the food has lots of chills! Tibet was great to see but obviously such a shame how much damage has been done since the occupation by the Chinese. Thankfully there is more Tibetan culture to see than there was 15 years ago, but having spoken to other people, I'd recommend a longer trip to get out of Lhasa and Shigatse if you want to see more of the traditional Tibetan culture. It was perfect to have a few days at the end of the trip to go to Pokahra and have a few relaxing days.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I'd recommend reading as much as possible about the countries before going to have some of the background to their history - particularly Tibet and the details of the country prior to 1950. Having a bit more background from people who have been to these countries before helps you to see more, ask more questions etc and get the most of out of being there.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the guides were local people and therefore knew the areas and the history well. It was much better than foreign guides. KK was very friendly and Achut was always around to make sure we had everything we needed/could ask questions about any part of the trip. He helped us find local shops and medicines when we weren't well. He was also quick to answer any questions before the trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, we really enjoyed it and definitely want to go back to spend longer in each country and spend some time trekking. I'd highly recommend this trip as a great introduction to the three countries and good inspiration for the next trips we want to book!

review 18 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We enjoyed Bhutan most of all although all 3 countries are interesting and very different.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be in good shape. There are lots of stairs and climbing plus there is high altitude. However, I am 71 and was able to handle it well.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It beneffited locals because of our spending on the tours and gifts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was well organized although much less structured than other tours I have taken

review 30 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The trek up to the Tiger's Nest Monastery in Bhutan as well as the flight to Bhutan when we had amazing Mt Everest views

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ask for 2nd or even 3rd night in Pokhara as 1 night isn't enough

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definately as in Bhutan we ate in local run restaurants

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superb

review 15 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Whole trip was very nice and all tree countries differ from each other on very unique way.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do not miss Lumbini, the birthplace of Buddha in Nepal.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, by spending some money people were able to earn a little and also historical sights got income for finacial support.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was 10 out of 1-10.

review 21 Mar 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Completing the two and a half hour walk up to the Taktsang Monastery (the Tiger's Nest) in Bhutan gave both of us "OAP's" a wonderful sense of achievement, especially after looking up at the tiny white speck so far above us on the cliff at the start of the trek. Bhutan is a fantastic place to visit, as is Nepal.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is a very busy holiday, travel wise, so think about planning in an extra day or two (and/or a visit to Chitwan) for a bit more relaxation time. Consider paying for the balance of your holiday before leaving as paying locally with a credit card adds up to 4% to the cost. Take enough dollars with you to pay for your Chinese & Bhutan visas when you arrive. Don't visit Lhasa during Chinese New Year - it's largely closed!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Nepal desperately needs more tourists to help support the local economy. Don't be put off by the recent earthquake - most of the major sights are still well worth visiting.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the most interesting and enjoyable holidays we have been on. The holiday providers looked after us really well throughout the holiday - even finding enough fuel for our K'mandu-Chitwan-Pokhara-K'mandu road trip during their fuel strike.

review 30 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Using Responsible Travel seemed like a good idea. I used them to go to the Sudan and had a very good time. Reasonable cost and the itinerary kept to. as opposed to going with their agent for the most expensive trip of a lifetime with rip off holiday provider. From the start, the itinerary said to take a towel, water purifying tablets, thermal long johns, down jackets etc. In Nepal/Bhutan it was thin t shirts as it was so hot and only a light sweater for the mornings and night in Tibet. My suitcase bulged with unnecessary clutter. The itinerary stated 3* tourist hotels. In fact I had 2 good hotels, the others being back packers/trekkers hotels in Nepal and Pilgrims hotel in Tibet. The hotel in Tibet was a joke. 3 1/2 flights of stairs to my room and 8 flights of steps to the cold consevatory on the roof for a lousy breakfast. I was told a small group, but I was on my own. Everywhere in Nepal and Tibet, the entrance fees to temples and monasteries were 10 to 15 US dollars. In total all the fees combined were some 100 US dollars. The holiday provider said to give good tips to the guides and drivers. I believe this was to pay their wages! The only guide with good English was the one in Bhutan. Whilst in Nepal and Tibet, the guides tried to skip the itinerary. When I complained, this was completed at great speed. The usual day being 9.30 to 4.00 Whilst travelling to Bhutan and Tibet from Kathmandu, I wasted 4 days of the holiday mostly in and out of the airports and a few hours in actual flight. From the itinerary, going to Pokhara from Kathmandu. I was told I would have a good English speaking driver/guide with safe driving. He was so safe, he neaver went faster tha 50Km/hr. Every driver overtook him. We spoke less than 10 minutes in 2 days because he could not communicate due to lack of English understanding. I was told the journey would be 6 hours. In fact it was 8 hours 20 minute going and 9 hours 25 minutes return. This added 2 more lost days, making a total of 6 days lost out of a total of 14. Which means an actual 8 day holiday. As for evening entertainment, there was none. I was left on my own.All the time he was clearing his throat and spitting. As far as I am concerned. Responsible Travel have not undertaken due diligence regarding the holiday provider. A word of warning, which was not advised. In going into Bhutan. Don`t take cigarettes or luxury items in otherwise you get charged 200% duty on top of the original price. I took a pack of 200 cigarettes in and it cost 75 US dollars just to have an expensive smoke. I could continue with a litany of grumbles regarding this trip. So if anyone wants more, let me know. If you don`t want to walk around with a pound sign on your forehead, then go with someone else.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go with another company for this trip

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not in Nepal or Tibet. Bhutan, because of the costs, it actually helps the people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I have travelled the world for some 50 plus years. If I had known about this trip I would have gone with someone else.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We were sorry to hear you felt time was wasted during your holiday. We had provided you with the full itinerary prior to commencing the tour and the tour operated as per this itinerary. We were surprised that you did waste time on holiday in and out of the airport. It was already mentioned about how many times in the airport during the tour, I hope the itinerary spoke about it. Prior to booking trip, during long correspondence and speaking on telephone it was a guaranteed trip and we have confirmed the tour will be run for a single person without taking additional charges. Weather is going to change globally and it is our beyond control, we advise to bring tour gears according to season because it can be tentative temperature at that time of month. If you did not bring enough gears according to season and feeling cold on tour, it would not be good for you. We always give high priority for safety management. The travelling from Kathmandu to Pokahra with a private car, our driver took you slowly on the mountain way because of safety, if he drove fast and it had been occurred accident or something, it would be very bad. If we travel slowly the destination can be reached definitely but if we travel in rush, it cannot say. We asked you always about tour and hotels, you told us always wonderful. However we respect your exclusive words and we believed that your feedback guided us, where we need to make corrections for making tours better in days to come. We assure you of our best service at all times and always used our all efforts to make our service smooth and pleasant.

review 6 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole trip was memorable and exciting but one highlight was the hike up to the Tiger's Nest Monastery in Bhutan - quite a grueling walk for a Sunday afternoon but what memories! Also, visiting Lhasa in February when pilgrims from the furthest reaches of Tibet were there was a joy. We met people from remote regions who had never seen a foreigner - we were objects of great interest and this made us feel like the relationship was more give and take and less voyeuristic than some tourist experiences can be.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Practical tips - the temperatures varied a lot when we visited in February and got very cold at altitude. Thermal underwear and lots of layers are a must. Money wise - US dollars were accepted with delight and easy to change every where. Nowhere in Kathmandu would accept travellers' cheques.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the guides and drivers were all from small local travel agencies and we stayed in small hotels and ate at local restaurants. Achut, our excellent Nepalese travel agent supports a community school in Nepal and arranged for us to visit. This was another highlight for us. Unfortunately our time constraints meant a lot of flights, but we traveled from Tibet to Kathmandu overland which was a great experience and cut out one flight at least.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The trip of a lifetime - a long-held ambition realised.

review 7 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing new places and meeting new people from completely new cultures. The amount of new things to see was exiting and sometimes overwhelming but always interesting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Prepare yourself to be open to new things like trying new foods and observing new different ways of life.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not particularly if I was honest. This was a tourist holiday but the people who showed me around did love the places they lived in. From a conservation viewpoint - that wasn't the main agenda focused on.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a fantastic break away from the norm and reminded me that there was a bigger world out the and whetted my appetite to see more of it.

review 31 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Watching the sun go down on Everest on the most perfect evening. Celebrating Diwali with the locals.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to suffer from altitute sickness. This includes not being able to sleep.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes I did particularly booking with a local Company. They were great and Achut looked after us very well and made sure that we were back in Nepal and had a great time for Diwali.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Except for suffering from a bug and altitute sickness it was absolutely fantastic.

review 11 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This would be quite difficult to say. There is a list of memorable events; the highlights being waking up from your tent to the amazing sight of Mount Everest, and the first time you stand in front of the Potala Palace and view its true majesty.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you take enough clothing. If you are staying in a tent at Everest Base Camp, you will require a few extra layers. Also get the guide to buy several bags of pencils, which you can give the children located away from Lhasa.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I did feel that the holiday benefited the local people, as the guides and the accommodation were Tibetan, some of the entrance fees went to the local people and we were able to give pencils to the mountain school children.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was exceedingly good. This was only the second package holiday that we have been on as we usually travel independently; but because of the Tibetan section we had to be on a tour. However I would say that we were very well looked after, the tour companies in Nepal and Tibet went out of their way to ensure that we had a good time. Their knowledge of the sites and localities was extensive, and they correctly combined the flow of information with the time to wonder independently. I would definitely recommend the Tour Company and the holiday.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies