8 independent reviews for Kerala budget holiday, tailor made

Reviews for Kerala budget holiday, tailor made

SHOW
3
5
0
0
0

review 15 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Spotting so many exotic and sometimes rare, birds. The journey through the Western Ghats. Meeting so many friendly Indian people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Consider the distance between areas you want to visit. The roads can be in poor repair and traffic very busy. The journeys can therefore be long.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes because we eat out much of the time and opted for environmentally friendly options i.e. walked rather than use a vehicle; took a paddled canoe on backwaters rather than large house boat.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was great!

review 2 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The variety of Kerala, the bird and wildlife, the friendly people, the wonderful fresh spices and delicious cooking, the houseboat, staying in homestays etc.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Have patiance applying for the visa

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it was great not going to large hotel chains.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best holidays we have been on. Everything was very well organised.

review 17 Jan 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Dewalokom hotel & farm beautiful gardens, lovely family running it and fabulous food. Scenery and friendly people also memorable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Embrace India and the time you have there it's a wonderful country.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes and it was great to interact with local people, it feels a lot fairer and more respectful exchange.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Breath of fresh air. Wanted my children to appreciate how lucky they are to travel and to do this in a positive way for other people.

review 22 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Enjoying a homestay in the backwaters and cycling round the villages. Cruising the backwaters on a houseboat amongst the abundant bird life. Walking the woods of the Periyar Wildlife Sancturary in the company of expert guides. Early morning rise to watch the night's catch landed at Ajengo beach near Varkala. Inbetween times absorbing the atmosphere, the sights, sounds and smells. And the food is a wonderful adventure itself.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

There will be minor irritations so be adaptable and phlegmatic. Engage with the helpful and knowledgeable staff of the local tour company and homestay hosts to get the most out of the available activities according to your own interests and find out what makes the place tick.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited local people by supporting the tourist industry, but budget travellers inevitably have less cash to splash than more up-market tourists. Supporting homestays reduces environmental impact compared with high end resort hotels. Visiting the wildlife reserves supports conservation via the entry fees and ecological education provided by the expert guides. As a counterbalance it could be argued that some of the tourist cash might be spent improving the environment outside wildlife sanctuaries.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, without a doubt. Up there with the best, so though not reborn I'll nevertheless give it 5 stars.

review 13 Jan 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Most memorable - Kayaking through the Keralan backwaters, meeting villagers and experiencing daily life first hand! Extraordinary and an experience to cherish.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Research thoroughly the time you will need to spend in each location.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, yes and yes !

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10

review 28 Jan 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The jungle trekking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Beware of guides who take you unplanned into shops.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope it benefited the local people. As to the environmental impact The local inhabitants could improve it greatly by not dumping litter all over the place. Hopefully the organised jungle treks help toward conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was marred only by the aforementioned litter problem. The people were friendly and welcoming and the food was great. The hotels and homestays were also very good. I would also like to thank the suppliers, who arranged everything, for a first class service. I couldn't fault them.

review 16 Feb 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There's the obvious - trekking in Munnar, swimming in Varkala and the houseboats on the backwaters. But more than that meeting the locals, having the best food we've ever had and walking around lots of different villages, towns and cities really made this holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Homestays and drivers are the way forward in India. The luxury of a driver together with getting to know locals by staying in people's homes was unbeatable.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, everyone knew our tour company and it had a good reputation everywhere we went.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Flawless. Never used a tour operator before because we never saw the need but didn't regret it at all; didn't seem to add much to the cost and made sure we covered twice the ground in half the time, plus we had the benefit of all their experience.

review 4 Feb 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Munnar was lovely but so was the backwaters and Varkala beach. Best bit though was staying at Koshy's home stay in Kumily. Really enjoyable and great facilities even if the hot water was limited.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take up the organic farm, we dropped it but so many said how great it was. Also, one day on the boat is enough.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Homestay was great, and most of the hotels felt small and locally run so that was good. Driver was great but not sure driving just us two around was that green.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really nicely looked after, didn't expect such good food or for most of the trip to be so relaxing.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies