52 independent reviews for Activity holiday in Montenegro

These full and frank independent reviews are from travellers who have booked directly through Responsible Travel. They are not edited by us or any of the companies we work with. Find the real story, from real travellers below.


review 5 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We were the only tourists we saw all week, apart from a day we went to the coast which wasn't arranged by the hosts we were taken to hidden gems all week long, we would never have discovered these places without our fantastic hosts.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't expect to sit still for long, although there is time to relax (I read 2 books) you are on the go every day. Every day is different and totally worth the early starts. Just go.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Ben and Emma our hosts have fully integrated with the local people who speak very little or no English at all. They are local celebrities. We drank pure spring water from the garden all week and bought local food from farmers and bought souvenirs hand made by the villagers. The locals were always pleased to see us.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was fantastic. First time we have done an activity holiday and will definitely do another, we learnt kayaking and hiked miles through the most stunning scenery. We swam in mountain springs and jumped from bridges in to the river, sat under waterfalls and met some fantastic people. Every day was fabulous.

review 23 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had a truely wonderful holiday.Emma and Ben and their children and dog coco made us so welcome in villa miela which has incredible views and we loved trying to spot the villa on our days out loking across from other mountains!! The day trips were all amazing but when i asked my children boys aged 13 and 10 and girl 6 what their favourite was it was the day we swam hiked and ended up at a floating restaurant where they could jump into a deep deep river from a bridge (all very safe) followed by a drive across flood plains looking at birds which felt more like africa than europe with its birdlife every day was amazing but that was the winner other highlights : swimming in hidden pools on a hike and recieving an amazing lunch cooked by a local family kyaking on millpond water thats warm!! loads of swimming and waterfights and views of albanian mountains and birdlife we have SO many amazing photos we saw so many new bits of wildlife tortoises legless lizards crayfish frogs bats harmless water snakes we had amazing company from other families on the trips who were all like minded and alot of fun to be with. Emma and Ben who run these tours tailor the trips to the groups requirements so im so certain that anyone would have as great a time as we did.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just to go! Montenegro is only 3 hours away from UK and yet a world apart It gave our children a distinct feeling that they had gone further off the beaten track than we had seeing new animals and having exciting experiences the views of mountains and lakes at various times of the day were never something we stopped loving looking at . Both my husband and myself agree that if we had gone on our own as a family and arranged the trip independantly we would have had fun and seen beautiful views but we have learnt that having the knowledge of local guides like ben and emma made our visit so much more worthwhile we saw places and views and hidden gems that we would never have come across by chance

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

YES - Emma and Ben very aware of local people and helping the local environment through arranged trips they do to reduce the plastic bottle littering that can occur we had lovely meals cooked in hard to seek out local places

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It has given our children the travel bug which is great because we travelled so much before we had children. It is the perfect trip for previously backpacking parents to introduce their family to the wonder of visiting places off the beaten track It is the perfect trip for anyone who loves birds views hiking food and finding hidden gems in an undiscovered part of europe Just dont tell too many people!!! Thanks you Ben and Emma and Nell says hello to Freddie too

review 7 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I loved the opportunity for wild swimming in Lake Skadar and surrounding rivers in the area. The National Park is outstandingly beautiful, and at times we felt like the only people there.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would recommend mosquito repellent , but go with an open mind and keenness to be challenged with some fabulous outdoor activities.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Ben and Emma are totally committed to conserving the local environment, creating business opportunities for local people and to the holiday maker giving back to the local economy .

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

My holiday was wonderful. The villa was a wonderful place to stay, we shared catering facilities and outings with other like minded people and thoroughly enjoyed the activities delivered by our hosts Ben and Emma. I will remember our holiday for many years to come.

review 7 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were so many highlights of the holiday: the breath-taking scenery around Lake Skadar which is totally unspoilt and so truly spectacular (a boat trip is highly recommended); all of the guided activities ‘off the beaten track’ with Ben and Emma (including hill walking, kayaking, swimming in secluded rivers and pools; rock scrambling to the bat cave – particularly enjoyed by our 12 year old son; the warm welcome we received at the wine tasting venues – this turned out to be an unexpectedly special time; eating delicious home-grown food /drink prepared exclusively for us by local people – Tanya’s walnut liqueur is a revelation!) and spending time relaxing on the terrace (or in the hot tub) at Villa Miela and taking in the beautiful view. Ben and Emma are fabulous hosts and we really appreciate the time, thought, care and expertise (not least the translating skills which are invaluable) that has gone into creating such a unique experience. We are so glad we found them because we would not have been able to explore and discover the nooks and crannies of National Park as we did without their in-depth knowledge and understanding of the local area and its history. It was great being driven through the village by Ben and Emma and being met with friendly smiles and waves at every turn.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We are always keen to hire a car when visiting new places so we did pick up a car from Podgorica. However, on reflection, we feel that a car is not essential at all for the multi-activity holiday especially since the road infrastructure and parking facilities in Montenegro are not that well placed for even a modest influx of tourists in peak season (July/August) - some of the more idyllic lake and beach locations are quite challenging to drive to. We even found it quite difficult to park in the village at the bottom of the hill. So, it was much more relaxing to stroll down (20 mins) and then seek out one of the taxi drivers to drive us back up the hill for 2 Euros – all we had to do was mention Ben and Emma to any of the locals and as if by magic a taxi driver would appear!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely 100% yes. Ben and Emma are committed to sustainable tourism and are working closely with the local community to ensure that tourism is increased whilst protecting the natural beauty of the lake and the surrounding area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

For us the holiday ticked all the boxes for what we were looking for and the magic provided by Ben and Emma’s personal touches and the other guests we met at Villa Miela made it all the more special. Thank you all for the wonderful memories.

review 2 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The hill walks, wild swimming, meeting local people, eating authentic (and very delicious) local food and finding the real Montenegro. Emma and Ben were tireless hosts and looked after the whole party incredibly well.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring sand shoes to wear when wild swimming - some of the river swims are very stony and it will make swimming much easier. And be prepared for anything - Ben & Emma's recommendations were always suitable for the party - we were a party of 2 families and 2 couples with ages ranging from 59 - 14yrs - and the level of activities seemed to suit everyone.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Ben & Emma have great relationships with the locals and appear to have done everything they can to benefit the local people and environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We loved it. We were just the right kind of busy and were taken on some truly memorable trips, it was quite a privilege to be part of it. I'm not reborn, but this was one of the better holidays that I've been on.

review 29 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The holiday provider in general - Highlight Rock scrambling to the source of the River Crnojevica , through the Obod Cave which also happens to be a major Bat habitation with the unavoidable additional hazard of Bat poo.. Great feeling to finally emerge from 45/50 minutes severe scrambling into the daylight . Adrenalin and sense of achievement at high level . Shortly followed by swimming in the 16 C. degree water of the river - just so cleansing .!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Trust in R.T and their recommendation to go with Ben and Emma Heywood of Villa Meila at Undiscovered Montenegro. - see my separate Trip A review on . This is my second Responsible Travel venue ( now been three / four times diving in Dahab and will go again-) and for 2017 seriously thinking of your kayaking in Norway.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

From 7/8 years involvement with the Lake Skardar community , Ben and Emma are welcomed and recognised as friends wherever they go or their name is mentioned. Their support to the local people as a bringer of controlled and responsible tourism is widely known plus their involvement with local social / environmental and community issues . Just like Lynn and Helal in Dahab.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant holiday -Bens local knowledge and contacts brings extra dimensions to the holiday that no Hotel or Commercial Travel Agency could ever start to replicate. Additionally I would add that circumstances allowed me to extend my stay in Montenegro - I was able to travel both within Durmitov National Park and explore Kotor and surrounding area . Just a superb holiday. Definitely Five Star . At 74/75 yrs - not reborn /I wish........ but one of my very best holidays. Recommendation to R.T - Contact Nikola Ognjenovic of 'Montenegro Rafting ' - I have his telephone number.

review 26 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Going to find the Pelicans, we kayaked to a secret location and found over 80 Pelicans flying, swimming and resting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack the right shoes for hiking, take lots of water and always have your camera ready.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, everyone is more mindful and you want to be considerate and helpful to all the locals as you feel you are being allowed o share this secret location/

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing 10/10

review 25 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Scenery Variety of activities (never bored) Ben / Emma & the beautiful villa ~ exceeded all expectations Ability to adapt actities according to preference & ability Ability to engage in non-tourist activities i.e. wine tasting, veg dishes were delightful esp Em's chard!, add on another kayak trip, work in kids with group of 5 mixed age adults

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take: small denominations of euro's as v cheaper bottle of wine) (5-10 euro) per meal, suncream was hard to find we ran out after 25-30 o all week, wet wear for the rains, rock able shoes, any special treats as we loved food but some preferred home comforts- it was meat/fish/veg based diet. Warm wear as villa v cool in the morning but whole area heats by noon. Take photo of translation pages of travel book so when you're out & about you can point at your phone to communicate otherwise v difficult. Under pack if anything - the Voli in the village does the job for nearly everything you'd need.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 3 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The unbelievable views during the Explore & Discovery day, Tanja's food and the wide variety of wildlife we encountered.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Fantastic holiday if you are active and adventurous, and also enjoy learning about history and culture of the places you visit. Bring proper hiking boots or appropriate shoes if you can, as it will make a difference while hiking on uneven terrain.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday definitely benefited local people, respecting the environment of the beautiful Lake Skadar National Park. Equally importantly, it benefited us as well: this experience enriched us both beyond words.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic holiday, just what we needed!

review 27 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is a beautiful and unspoilt part of the country - and the lake is breathtaking. The boat trip on the lake arranged by Emma on short notice, as we couldn't kayak was very special. Some of the views when hiking, the waterfalls and the meal at Tanya's were memorable, as was the bridge jump. We used the 2 days off to explore further afield, and Emma was on hand for advice,recommendations and making arrangements.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Sharing a villa with lots of different people, where the self catering accommodation and facilities were a bit akin to being back at uni requires one to muck in, and ensure group co-operation. We were under the impression hikes would be easy to moderate, but the experienced hikers amongst us agreed hikes were at times more technically challenging. So, the right hiking boots are essential, as well as a good ruck sack and wet gear - particularly if it rains as there are no drying facilities in the villa. A moderate level of fitness would be helpful to ensure one gets the best out of the activities. Come prepared for the first breakfast as no basic supplies are provided. Mosquitoes are a problem, as you would expect, so bring stuff for your room as well as yourself. The village is c45 minute round walk, so if you want to go out at night to eat, transport (or using a taxi) would be preferable as the road up to the villa is unlit and potholed in places.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It was evident that Emma and Ben are well integrated into the local community and use their network and contacts to benefit others and give their guests experiences they would not otherwise be aware of. They appear concerned and proactive in improving the services for the local community

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Without Emma and Ben's enthusiastic and knowledgeable input we feel sure we could not have experienced and enjoyed Montenegro as fully as we did. The activities were more challenging than we expected, but Emma assisted on the hikes with infinite patience. We were lucky to be with a lovely bunch of people with diverse interests and backgrounds who encouraged and were good company. At the end of a long season some of the villa's facilities perhaps needed a bit of TLC - but this did not affect our overall enjoyment. Perched above the town one could awake each morning to the stunning view - and feel how pleasurable it was to be in such a lovely location.

review 3 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I enjoy travelling and having an adventure and want my kids to experience this too. From the beginning Ben promptly answered my email enquires and resolved any concerns I had about bringing a 9 and 7 year old on this holiday. The trip was better than I could have hoped. The group worked out an agenda for the week on Ben's recommendations which included treking, wild water swimming, kayaking, a boat trip and exploring caves and islands. Every activity was wonderful. Ben and Emma took photos along the way and since leaving have shared them with the group which is a bonus for capturing wonderful memories.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

My 7 and 9 year old loved it and so if you are are wondering if the trip is appropriate for children then let me say a definite YES IT IS! Worth bringing food for breakfast on the day after your arrival.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

have been waiting for my youngest (aged 7 and 3/4) to be ready and this holiday proved the perfect environment for her. Excellent experience. Highly recommend.

review 15 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Wild swimming in lakes, rivers and waterfalls well off the beaten track

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go ! Montenegro is astonishingly beautiful and the holiday is perfect for people who like getting off the tourist trail. Don't expect five star restaurants but do try the local wine tasting

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes Ben and Emma work with the local community, even helping the nuns on an island source their own water supply

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Lived up to all expectations. We've done a few activity weeks and this was certainly one of the best

review 4 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Its difficult to pick out one particular element, as there were so many different experiences that were out of this world: from the warm welcome by our hosts Ben and Emma and dog Coco, to the gorgeous villa with breathtaking terrace and garden and of course there was still the stunning scenery, local culture and amazing hikes, wild swimming and canoeing to take in! But possibly a lazy afternoon wine tasting at local wineries where one particularly colourful vintner Ilya gave us a taste of his singing abilities, invited us to use his swimming pool set amongst the vines and generally gave us a wonderful Montenegrin welcome is high on the list of special moments.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Dont worry about whether you feel fit enough for all the activities and options, Ben and Emma really look after their guests and tailor every element to what people can manage. You will surprise yourself with what you can do and what you experience! Just come prepared for the heat if you travel in peak season!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. All activities were developed with preserving the incredible natural world of Lake Skadar in mind. Our hosts are knowledgeable and mindful of the ecological issues and also the economic issues of the local culture and deliberately develop activities that contribute to the local economy in an appropriate way. They encourage guests to visit the local villages and eat there or engage in local activities such as boat tours run by local companies rather than monopolise guests themselves within a complete package type deal. They are well integrated in to local life and have strong local relationships - this greatly adds to the holiday experience of their guests. I really admire all they are doing to support appropriate development of the area, and their investment in supporting local initiatives that will benefit the area. They are clearly well regarded and respected locally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

marvellous. A real privelege to gain an insight into a country that might be inaccessible to me as an independent traveller.

review 24 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hiking to the waterfalls and swimming in them in Posiliani (possibly awful spelling!)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Use your free days to explore the costal parts of Montenegro, they are totally different to lake Skadar and you get to see the contrasting areas of Montenegro.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. Ben and Emma are great, they have learnt the local language and are clearly well respected in the community. I liked that they used local services such as the taxi service that supported local family businesses. The are also very passionate about reducing waste and rubbish in the area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great, very enjoyable, it was so calm and peaceful around the lake you felt miles away from everything else and the activities were very manageable making it a lovely relaxing holiday.

review 7 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Difficult to pick one from a week of fabulous experiences. Lake Skada is stunningly beautiful, Villa Miele is very comfortable, the hiking and kayaking are both great and over a week you get to really experience the area through the eyes of people who know and love it. It is a fantastic holiday

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take effective insect repellant!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. The owners do a huge amount for the local community and are obviously very popular with local people. As much as possible, food, activities and business comes from local towns and operators. They are very environmentally conscious and we were all encouraged to be as 'green' as possible during the week.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fantastic week for the whole family.

review 12 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Although it's hard to pinpoint one particular thing, the scenery was stunning. Everytime you thought you'd seen the best Emma or Ben managed to show us something even more jaw droppingly beautiful. Every day was different, from the amazing wild life and birds, to the glorious hidden water pools high in the hills, to the monasteries in the lake, this holiday had everything.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax, and be open to new experiences and let Emma and Ben do the worrying........ You won't be disappointed. Bring strong water/land shoes as you'll need them for the river and lake swims. If driving there, stop off at a large supermarket for essentials for the week. Although the local village has a well stocked supermarket it is small so choice is limited. Ensure you have supplies for breakfast on the first morning.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. We ate with local families and paid them directly. The food was amazing and came straight from their garden or fishing boat. Emma and and Ben also ensured we took great care to ensure we had limited impact on the environment,

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best I've ever been on and the fact that it's only a few hours from home was icing on the cake. Everything about the holiday exceeded my expectations. Emma and Ben's knowledge of the local area meant we really did get to the 'undiscovered' parts of the region, each one a gem. Their enthusiasm and commitment to this part of Montenegro is infectious and it's clear that they really love this part of the world - with very good reason.

review 6 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many exciting things to see and do in Montenegro! If I have to pick one, it would have to be the well deserved lunch on the Walnut Valley walk. After a morning of a moderate hike in the heat, walking on a hunting trail in a lush green forest, swimming in the refreshing water of the river and climbing up the hill to get to Tanya's place, we were served an abundance of food prepared by a local on the terrace of her house. The vines provided us with the shade we desperately needed. We were welcomed with a homemade lemonade of mint and honey. And loads of traditional dishes! Delicious and priceless!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Use all of your senses to deeply experience the untouched nature of Montenegro! See the 50 shades of green and blue, sent the wild herbs, feel the ice cold water on your skin and taste the delicious fresh vegetables that the land has to offer!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely yes! The local supermarket clearly sells vegetables right of the land of the locals or you could buy your veggies right of one of the little stands along the side of the road. Ben and Emma work together a lot with the locals and have built up personal relations with many of them. The use of the car is kept to a minimum. A lot of the activities involve your own personal energy. It is so much more rewarding to drink a fresh draft beer in a tiny local village after a long climb with the bicycle!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This holiday has got it all. If you love nature in all it's aspects and you love to put your own effort into getting to know the scenery, this is your holiday! You will have the opportunity to swim in the crystal clear water of wild rivers, relax on the shore of the lake together with the birds and the dragonflies, to walk in untouched forests, to eat the fresh meals in the local village of Virpazar, ... It is incredible and worthwhile the name "undiscovered"!

review 23 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all exciting. Most memorable bit would be difficult to choose but would include Walnut Valley walk and lunch, lunch in the middle of nowhere in the North, staying in a traditional building and village in Durmitor,sampling local food and the real Montenegro, the Monty B sailing trip in Kotor Bay.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do the Northern extension if you have a sense of adventure and don't get travel sick. Take hiking boots and wet weather jackets if you want to do the North properly. You need to be reasonably fit for the Durmitor extension. Take insect repellant (but it didn't seem to work). Take some little souvenirs from the UK to give to people. We met people who were extremely hospitable and generous despite their poverty and I would like to have had a small gift in my rucksack to leave with them.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Although there was a fair amount of travelling we feel we have experienced a taste of real Montenegro, isolated Northern villages, spectacular mountains, lakes and rivers, the hidden gems of the lake skadar area and a little bit of the coast. Special mention to Vuk, who was our guide for the Durmitor extension- he had arranged an excellent and varied itinerary, he worked long days, drove many miles but was always there to provide detailed local and historic information and do his best to ensure we had a good time.

review 16 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery, Montenegro is a stunning country. Jaw dropping views at every turn.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

May/June is a great month to visit. Embrace the activities and take up the options for lunch where they are available.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Emma and Ben have clearly invested heavily in their relationship with the local community. As guests of Emma and Ben you will be treated warmly, surely the best testament! Many smaller businesses are benefiting as a result. In terms of enviornmental impact water harvesting, water collection from fresh water spring, compost.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, would certainly recommend.

review 19 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hard to choose there were so many. The kids chose the explore day, with jumping from a bridge into the river and off road driving. I loved the lake boat trip simply stunning, and my wife chose the walnut valley walk, a fabulous lunch prepared in a local village, and swimming in a variety of secret pools. All 4 activity days were great.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book! Maybe bring walking boots. Be ready to swim lots, but go for it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Ben and Emma work hard to reduce the environmental impact, using water from their own spring, although recycling is not huge yet in Montenegro. They work well with Virpazar residents, and I felt our expenditure directly benefitted local residents.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very highly. The trips took us to amazing places we would never have found on our own and we saw and did things we haven't done before. A fab trip.

review 10 Oct 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many it's hard to choose. Every day had something really special about it. If I had to choose one it would be kayaking across the lake, beautifully calm, looking at stunning scenery, with visits to 14th century monasteries thrown in. I was happy to try the kayaking but had no idea I would absolutely love it! Walking through mossy woods carpeted with wild cyclamen, hiking across hills with stunning views of the lake, eating delicious home cooked lunches (you must try the fresh pomegranate juice) in hillside villages, dipping in pools under waterfalls, bird watching (kingfishers, grey, white and yellow herons, grebes and Pygmy cormorants) on the lake in the early morning and gazing up at the stars from the warmth of the hot tub were all memorable too. Oh, and peering under a bush at what we thought might have been a hedgehog but turned out to be a horned viper. And Ben and Emma made all this happen in such a hospitable, friendly and encouraging way.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It's quite possible with the range of activities on offer that there's something you don't feel able to do, or that unnerves you somewhat. But you'll also probably find yourself doing things you didn't particularly want to do, or didn't think you could do, and enjoying it! Go for it. Sep/Oct is a great time to go, especially if the weather holds. Still beautifully warm, but not too hot to walk without the shade of trees. You also have the beauty of all the wild cyclamen. Bring proper walking boots, they'll be needed as the terrain you walk on varies from scree to huge boulders to slippy wet rocks. As well as more gentle terrains! If you're an avid tea drinker remember to bring it with you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Most definitely. Ben and Emma are keen spokespeople for Lake Skadar and tirelessly work towards promoting and protecting its stunning beauty. They work with local people who provide lunches on the walks and activities beyond the package deal, such as bird watching and boat trips. They actively discourage use of bottled water, encouraging collection of water for use in the villa from their own spring. Our bird watching boat trip on the lake brought home to us what an uphill struggle this is. The pollution from plastic bottles and plastic bags in some areas, not obvious from the roads, was truly shocking.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The best holiday we've had for quite a while. Montenegro is a beautiful country, well worth exploring, especially in the very capable and enthusiastic hands of Ben and Emma.

review 8 Oct 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole experience was fabulous. The highlight was spotting a Horned Viper whilst out on a trek with Emma ! Some fantastic bird life, especially Kingfisher on Lake Skarda (no I'm not a twitcher!). Chilling in the hot tub under the stars.......

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Unless you all know each other be prepared to mix and be open minded as you share kitchen and living facilities. All worked well for us. Intimacy is probably something you'll have to live without for a week!!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Ben & Emma cerrainley introduce you to places and people you would not ordinarily meet, One particular walk you are prepared a banquet by a charming family in their home. Unbeatable.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Top marks and I hope Ben & Emma who clearly have a long term plan are successful. Lets hope the other locals and government don't spoil the beauty of the area with their lack of rubbish clearing skills.

review 28 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had a beautifully sunny day - perfect for kayaking! We did a 8km kayak on Lake Skadar and had a lovely lunch with a couple of trips to the lake Monasteries.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Remember to bring walking trousers, light quick-dry towels, a backpack and tea bags!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes; Ben & Emma were clearly trying to be sustainable and were trying to support the locals and the local area as much as they were able.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!

review 19 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery of Lake Skadar.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just go! Montenegro is beautiful and Lake Skadar is amazing. Ben and Emma are lovely and organise really nice excursions in really undiscovered areas of Montenegro.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fantastic holiday, great scenery, very nice excursions, great food (try the fried carp!).

review 11 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Watching our kids doing back flips off kayaks into Lake Skadar. Seeing bats fly out of a ruined citadel. Jumping into rivers and pools by waterfalls. Swimming in an enormous, and warm, lake. Staying in a perfect location - more than enough comfort to enjoy being there and 5 minutes to the village which supplied food, restaurants and access to the lake....

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The transfer from Podgorica airport was unbelievably easy and quick. Definitely to be recommended. Take up all the options and recommendations which Ben and Emma make - you won't be disappointed. Be prepared for some hairy moments on the roads -repairs are home made and rough. Other drivers were all cautious too however which minimised the stress. Ben and Emma overcame quite a few obstacles during the course of the week - with great good humour and resourcefulness - even when I sat on a paddle in the kayak and broke it and the land rover had a flat tyre and we came down with tummy bugs....

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very definitely. We ate in local restaurants and booked trips directly with local people. The Nature watching trip on the Lake was a lovely example as was the lunch in a lady's house in a village which we walked to.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The area was completely unspoiled by tourism and very beautiful. If you love exercise and doing things together as a family you cannot go wrong with this holiday.

review 5 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The hike through Walnut Valley! The views were absolutely breath taking and the hike through the forest was really something special - the hiking trail is a bit of a secret so it was really of the beaten track - the road less travelled, so to speak. Swimming in the natural pools is an exhilarating experience, and we were just in awe of our beautiful surroundings. What a huge bonus that the surroundings do not include any other tourists!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Study the activity brochure well so that you know exactly which activities you want to do. Try to always include the "local lunch" option, where available - especially the lunch at Tanya's - this is not to be missed. In your free day, go down to Kotor Bay, but go early to avoid the crowds. Make sure that you are fit and healthy otherwise you might battle with the activities.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we enjoyed 3 local lunches, supported a local fishing village, 2 local wineries and one local food magician - Tanya! We also reduced environmental impact by traveling by foot/bicycle.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an amazing holiday. Highly recommended. For us, the natural beauty, local organic food, non-commercialized, exclusive activities really made this trip super special.

review 5 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Difficult to pick one thing. The countryside is beautiful, I really enjoyed all our activities and thought it was particularly lovely when (on the kayaking trip) the nun on the island that we visited offered us all pomegranate juice and cake just to be hospitable! However, for me the most memorable thing that I noticed throughout the holiday is how our hosts have successfully integrated into their local community. It was clear that they are held in very high regard by the locals and have done a lot to try and ensure that the local community benefit from and are involved in sustainable tourism.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Think about what you want to do on your days off before you go on holiday (and ask Ben / Emma for recommendations if unsure). We didn't do much as we had planned to have a couple of lazy days however if you want to go further afield or if you want to go on a specific trip it will be easier if you have already planned it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, our hosts seemed keen to involve locals as much as possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Everything was excellent! (I would rate it as 5 stars however I wouldn't describe myself as reborn! It is one of the best holidays I've had.)

review 3 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The stunning views and unspoilt scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be reasonably fit and prepared to be without the usual home comforts. It is a great venue for a crowd of like minded souls to holiday in a beautiful peaceful and friendly part of the world.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Ben and Emma from the operator foster a great relationship with the locals and provide a much needed source of income to the fledgling tourist industry.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This is a great experience. Ben and Emma go out of their way to ensure the holiday is as good as it can be. Highly recommended.

review 29 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Something that will stay with me always was the silence, peace and tranquillity whilst kayaking around Lake Skadar, as well as the stunning landscape of the area.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Unfortunately my UK mobile network did not cover Montenegro, but for me that was just what I needed. No phone/work prone or internet for a week... bliss. There is 1 restaurant in Virpazar town that has wifi. So if that's the kind of time away you are after, this is perfect. And, be ready be taken in by the beautiful scenery, and Ben & Emma's fantastic farmhouse renovation, Villa Miela.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Villa Miela, has its own spring, so we never needed to purchase bottled water. We now and again found other disposed plastic bottles and waste in the lake, which we collected any we saw. There was a compost heap in the villa's garden/orchard also.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was fantastic. Ben & Emma are brilliant host's and as a solo traveller, it was the perfect setting and country to take some much needed time out away from my fast paced life in London, but on top of that it was great to be having a great time 'ethically' as well! The landscape was amazing and the wildlife was far more interesting and saw more than I have ever managed to see in tropical countries! Definitely a part of Europe I would head towards again, unspoiled and still untouched, in comparison to neighbouring Croatia.

review 17 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Environment was covered with green different shade and no concrete around. Swimming in the river and fall was a dream come true.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to get wet or sun burnt.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local community definitely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good, relaxing with nice walks mix with nature and history.

review 1 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful unspoilt scenery enhanced by Ben's love for and knowledge of the country. We had a great time whilst we were out and about on the activities and Ben made it so much more interesting with his knowledge of the area, the economy and the local people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It can bit quite chilly during the Easter holidays! Take cash because typically restaurants etc don't take cards although you won't need too much because prices are very low compared to other European countries :)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. They were doing what they could within the confines of the extreme local red tape and Ben is a well known member of the local community. We paid for things directly with the supplier so we knew the money was going to them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a great time. Perfect activities for families with teenagers and a beautiful setting. It's also great to be somewhere that's such good value for money.

review 19 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hard to pick out one memorable part of the holiday. Was a really fantastic experience in a beautiful part of the world. ben and Emma are fantastic hosts, the accommodation was lovely and we felt that we got privileged access to genuinely unknown parts of Montenegro. I hesitate to give 5 stars simply because if we try to go again we may find that they are fully booked. Kayaking, hiking and probably best of all the range of different spots selected for a wild swim.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Insect repellent and high factor sun block. Otherwise just get it booked. Worth making an effort to get out and about on your 'free days'. We went to Stari Bar which was a great day trip. Bring enough cash as the local ATM was out of order for most of our stay. Hire car was helpful although Ben and Emma can organise taxis which are inexpensive. If you fly to Dubrovnik I would definitely hire a car.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. Ben and Emma make a real effort to benefit locals and have a network of contacts for lunches, transport, wine tasting, boat trips and we ate and drunk a lot of very local produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 5 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hard to pick one memorable moment - we had so many in just one week! If pushed the Walnut Hike with its beautiful waterfalls and wonderful meal with Tanya was at least one set of experiences I will not be forgetting in a hurry.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are going in July or August and are as pale skinned as we are pack serious suncream - the otherwise superbly stocked shop in Virpazar offers between factor 6 and factor 10. We lived incredibly cheaply out there - you do not need to take a vast amount of money.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely yes - Ben used local people who benefited fully from us being there, including a wonderful fishing guide who could not have been more helpful. Even the soap in the villa was hand made by someone Ben knew.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Hard to praise it enough. It kept three teenagers completely happy which is no mean feat. It was beautiful, active, very comfortable and highly informative - what more could you want?

review 25 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The location, visiting areas where only the locals know. Ben and Emma's knowledge of the area, their obvious love of nature and Montenegro made this a really memorable holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy and open your mind to new experiences.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely. Undiscovered Montenegro were very aware of the local community and we had many opportunities to meet and integrate with them, including eating the really best of local foods.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous

review 13 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking across the lake to an island monastery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It's adventurous AND do-able! Ben is encouraging and flexible. There's also plenty of time to relax in the sun.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

A local woman prepared a wonderful meal typical to the region, and a local man was employed and being trained up to accompany kayaking trips. So yes, and Ben is keen to do more.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant!!

review 29 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many different things. My 7 year old girl doing a 10 km hike and jogging the last bit she was so excited. Seeing the two young teenage girls jumping into cold river pools and loving it. Swimming in the warm lake among the lillies...

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try to take Euro notes in 10 Euro or lower denominations. It is a low cost destination and not many places can give change for a 50 Euro note!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Ben and Emma are environmentally aware and concerned to help the local people build their economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Active, at times challenging and consequently one of the best experiences we have had as a family. With Ben and Emma in the background, you always feel that you are in safe hands.

review 27 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There are so many good things... Being taken to heart by the local family we were staying with... Wild swimming in rivers and waterfalls... Delicious organic food.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We were happy to stay in Virpazar rather than the Villa. There were impromptu concerts in the evening (excellent classical musicians from Belgrade and good Jazz from NewYork), and, one can feel the rhythm of the village. However the villa is lovely and higher spec accommodation. Consider hiring a car to give yourself greater flexibility. I also wish I could speak some basic serbo-Croat.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very much so. As a group we were careful but not obsessive. Ben & Emma have woven such principles into the activities - from eating at a local farm to bearing witness to the park's natural resources - it was an effortlessly, responsible holiday.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant.

review 23 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sitting in my kayak on Lake Skadar and experiencing the true meaning of "silence is deafening". Not a murmur!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Wear long trousers on the hikes and take plenty of Factor 50 lotion for the kayaking. And always have your camera at the ready. The scenery is stunning and the flora and fauna quite remarkable.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The villa is very eco friendly using cool,fresh spring water fetched from the garden for drinking and stored rainwater for washing. We visited local vineyards and tasted and purchased their organic wines. Lunch and dinner with a family in a local village was delightful. Everything was home produced from the honey to the prosciutto ham to the chicken, wild boar, melon and pomegranate juice was home produced.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fantastic active holiday. The days sped by but it felt like we had been on vacation for weeks! Ben and Emma were great hosts who did everything to make your stay enjoyable and unique. Go there before the crowds catch on to what they are missing.

review 17 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole trip was fabulous - hard to pick any one moment.... walking through wild herbs in the mountains, incredible views, swimming in the clearest mountain pools with no one else around, amazing lunch with Tanya, kayaking and swimming in the lake, wine tasting, a great bunch of people ... we loved it all.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just do it!I went with teenage boys and they thoroughly enjoyed it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely - Ben & Emma are passionate about conservation and the area they live.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An excellent holiday, a good mix of activity and relaxation.

review 6 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The variety of activities that we go to take part in and the stunning scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Everything you need to know is detailed in the itinerary - just make sure you read it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Ben and Emma have developed strong relationships with the local community and have established themselves as locals too. They encourage guests to meet the locals and dine with them, there are opportunities to purchase local produce at source. Ben and Emma take active steps to reduce environmental impacts of their excursions by encouraging guests to use water and energy sensibly, drinking fresh spring water instead of bottled water and removing rubbish (even if it’s not their own!) whilst on excursions.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone that is looking for an active holiday, stunning scenery and great fun. Your hosts will go out of their way to ensure you have a great time.

review 4 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking on Lake Skadar which on the first day we were there was like a mirror, so beautiful. The views are amazing across the lake and over to the mountains of Albania. Jumping in for a swim, stopping for picnics or lunches by the water's edge, and visiting the amazing island monasteries. On the hiking days, swimming in hidden waterfalls also lovely.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The company wants to bring people to the area to boost the local economy and promote the national park as an area to be protected and looked after. Some local people are being trained as hiking guides and we visited local families for lunches (and wine tasting!).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Lake Skadar and Montenegro are really beautiful and it was lovely to be out and about there in beautiful surroundings. Ben and Emma were great hosts; I wish them and the family all the best for the future.

review 25 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Engaging in organized activities with other people who happen to stay at the villa in the same time period.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Being outdoor person and nature lover is a must.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not sure how much it contributed to these factors. However, it certainly raised the awareness and made us think about the beauty and the importance of conserving the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was much better than I expected. I had a blast with the travel agent and the other people who joined. The country I never thought of visiting before has become one of my favorites.

review 20 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the 'Montenegran Niagara Falls' was a real surprise and the lunch by the rapidly flowing river was excellent as was the limestone flora on the banks. Hiking to a small village wine maker two valleys away and back along the lake side was great, and the weather was perfect that day. The wild tortoises and huge slow worms were rather special as was the amazing scenery around Lake Skadar.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Let Ben and Emma know what you'd like to do and they will do their best to accommodate you. Even if the weather seems to be against you, they will pull another lovely surprise out of the hat and make sure you have a memorable day! They both speak fluently with the local people, which make it possible to learn and understand so much more about them and their way of life. Buying a decent map in the UK and hiring a car made it possible to go off and explore on our own on free days and Ben had plenty of suggestions as to routes and destinations.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We shopped locally, ate locally and bought wine produced in nearby valleys by families who had been growing vines there for many generations. We hiked, rather than drove when we could and we learnt about local efforts, including those of Ben and Emma, to conserve the very special local ecology and to restore some of the old village homes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a very interesting and varied week; just what we like when we go away. It was a good mixture of structure and freedom, activity and local culture. We had quite a few days when it rained (unusual for late May) but there was still plenty to do and see.

review 10 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole thing. The breathtaking views over Lake Skadar at the mountains of Montenegro and Albania. Lake swimming. Jumping under waterfalls. Kayaking to island monasteries. Hiking up hills. Eating amazing food with local families. Local wine tasting. A nice bunch of guests at Villa Miela that clicked well together - sharing barbecues and playing cards! Ben and Emma's hospitality. Fresh mulberries from their trees. Amazing wildlife: lots of wild tortoises, frogs, legless lizards, water snakes (eek). A truly memorable holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Rent a car - it gives you great flexibility. Stay at Villa Miela rather than down in Virpazar - the Villa is wonderful. If you have something like Teva sandals, take them - they are great for kayaking, walking in streams, etc. Put on lots of suntan lotion for the kayaking day - very intense sun and you're highly exposed all day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Ben and Emma have gone to great lengths to make the Villa eco friendly. They make sure that the trip gives benefits to locals (we lunched with a lovely local family up in the hills, tasted wines from small family winemakers, use a lovely local guy as a guide, etc etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

All I expected and more. Outstanding. And a great father/daughter bonding time that neither of us will forget.

review 21 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is hard to choose our favourite moment. Between the two of us, it is jumping off the Kayaks for a gorgeous swim in the really warm lake Skadar. There are moments, even in the middle of the day, when the lake is a giant mirror, because there are no boats or traffic. We also loved visiting the various islands and meeting resident Monks and Nuns.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make lots of space for local wine and cheese! The local Carp and Eel is not for the feint hearted...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We do feel as though local people benefited. Particularly in the local village, Virpazar. This is usually a place where people drop-in, on coaches and take a boat trip. We stayed for a week, used the bakery (which is great), bars, restaurants, supermarket and street sellers. We also greatly enjoyed a local wine tour, meeting the wine makers and buying some of their produce. The villa grounds are kept as a natural haven for wildlife, whilst not being too wild for visitors. The well planned tours have a minimal impact on the local environment and, hopefully, provide a positive precedent for the locals and National Park to follow. It is difficult to avoid hiring a car, if you want to do things on your non activity days but, low emission and small vehicles are available from Dubrovnik.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

All in all, the holiday was fantastic. We hope to visit again when we undertake a more extensive trip across the Balkans.

review 27 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many wonderful memories: Hikes, wild water swimming, stunning water Lilly pad strewn lake kayaking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Totally stunning countryside. You need to be willing to walk, swim and kayak to make the most of it. Definitely for active kids over age 7

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Ben and Emma made sure they sourced local produce, used local people who were mostly their friends.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing ! Totally undiscovered montenegro

review 3 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All very memorable. However the kayaking around and to a monastery and convent on Lake Skadar probably has the edge. We were the only ones actually on the Lake which is 27 miles long.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is a third world country and this should be borne in mind. Pretty active week and a very personal service from the owners. They, Ben and Emma speak several languages including the local language very well and have made many friends locally. This enables them to give an enviable insight into local life which we were privileged to share.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

A good number of local people were involved and having become part of the community our hosts were determined to minimise environmental impacts and support conservation

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

5 stars. Our hosts could not do enough for us.

review 14 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Swimming in refreshing ice cold water, in pools below waterfalls with emerald green and dark turquoise beautiful demoiselles (a type of dragonfly) landing on your head and arms and surrounded by lush green vegetation and grey/white rocks under a blue sky.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try to avoid the very hot months of late July and August if you enjoy walking, it does get a bit hot, although the above compensates.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Without our hosts it would not have been possible to interact with the local people and we would have never found that drinking copious amounts of their organic wine does not give you a headache.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 17 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hard to single any one thing out. The wild swimming in the lake, rivers and springs was fantastic! Had a bizarre incident when a nun came out in a boat to help one of our party in a kayak. The actual area is stunning, as it is completely untouched by developers, utterly beautiful. The local people are lovely and friendly, though few speak any English. We had a wonderful holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Really enjoy the lunch with the local family as Tania is easily the best cook you will come across in Montenegro. Shower her with tips!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local people definitely benefited as we were transacting directly with them for every transaction we had.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Thoroughly enjoyable and memorable for all of us, including a 16 year old and a 10 year old.

review 20 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We liked it all but one of the best days was hiking on the mountain, stopping to swim in the cool streams, eating a wonderful lunch with a local family and going to another local family in the evening to have a meal.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take lots of comfortable clothing for activities, sun hat is essential and easy to carry water bottles.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We helped to boost the local economy, having a greater understanding of environmental issues was of great benefit but i don't think it would reduce the impact. That would come with education for both locals and tourists.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, one of the best holidays we have ever had. Just the right mix of activities, met and made new friends, stayed at a brilliant tranquil location. Perfect.

review 4 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The team of Emma and Ben offer a personal introduction to an area which is not yet highly developed for activity/tourism. Their lovely villa is beautifully appointed and a perfect base for the guided trips and activities. We enjoyed a wonderful hike into the local hills, swimming in seclusion in (ice cold but refreshing) rock pools of the type you usually see only in brochures of the tropics (and which are usually crowded with hundreds of others), a fantastic kayaking trip to isolated island monasteries, and an on and off road driving and walking tour across a landscape that varied from high narrow passes to snaking rivers and luscious flood planes. Their enthusiasm and knowledge was really helpful in allowing us to get the most out of the trips.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A car was helpful to us because we travelled from Dubrovnik (bit of a delay in crossing the border) , but not essential. Remember to take foot ware that is suitable for crossing rocky shores and banks of rivers and pools. Our family party included two (physically fit and active) seventeen year olds, who had great time.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Emma and Ben have a large network of local people who enjoy meeting their visitors and introducing them to their culture. They use local businesses (fishing, farming, boating, catering). The villa is very economical in water (delicious spring water for drinking) and electricity use, and waste disposal though is modern and offers a high level of comfort.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We were really pleased and felt the holiday we had a good balance of relaxation and stimulation. We feel very fortunate to have seen the advert on the responsible travel newsletter.

review 31 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This is hard to say as it was all so good. The scenery was amazing and spectacular but without the crowds to share it with. Canoeing on Lake Skadar with no-one else, swimming in the warm water, watching the wild-life, and visiting uninhabited islands and islands with a monastery and convent, hardly visited by anyone else was probably my highlight.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Expect to relax, unwind, forget the time and day of the week. Bring good walking shoes and some energy for the activity days.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the local people don't really understand that people like to hike, canoe and cycle etc. Emma and Ben, who run the holiday, are helping the locals to see a potential market, but also in a very responsible way, with a firm lead on the environmental impact. They are using local people where they can to share their heritage, for example having a meal in a local house with delicious home produce and wine.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent holiday, one of the best ever and we've been on some amazing holidays. I would give 5 stars if it asked was it one of the best ever. But sshh, don't tell everyone about it, as we don't want others to find out how beautiful it is and come and fill it up. You can only tell your nice friends about this holiday. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a holiday away from the crowds, who wants spectacular scenery with a mixture of activities and relaxation.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Unedited reviews from other travellers

I am reborn! Simply the best holiday I have ever been on
Some great stories to tell the grandchildren. Would recommend to a friend
Very enjoyable
It was OK
A bit disappointing really
Convert currencies