9 independent reviews for Peru tour, tailor made

Reviews for Peru tour, tailor made

SHOW
4
5
0
0
0

review 2 Nov 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Trekking the 4 day Inca Trail.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for numerous stops along the way and not being able to stay in one place for any length of time. Ensure that an aggressive itinerary fits into your needs and is what your group wants.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, our group was quite interactive with local people, contributed to the economy & was respective of environmental impacts/concerns.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great trip other then the day upon arrival in Machu Picchu which had wet/rainy weather conditions.

Read the operator's response here:

We are very happy to read that our travellers had a great journey and Inca trail. All our travels are tailor made so together with our clients we define their priorities and follow their travel wishes and guidelines within the time frame given. In case clients indicate they want to travel less and stay longer on several destinations we adapt an itinerary to their pace of travel always trying to find the right balance. Best regards, Marcel.

review 30 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We did a 12D11N in Puno, Colca Canyon, Arequipa and Nasca. Most memorable part of the tour was watching the condors flying so close to us at the Mirador in Colca Canyon.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I think we could have cut down at least one night stay in the Colca Canyon.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, as all the guides and Drivers are local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall, a great trip in Peru. The only negative was that all the hotel rooms we stayed, Internet connection is almost non existence. Need to go to the reception area for Internet.

Read the operator's response here:

We are happy that our travelers had a great journey through Peru. We like to share that they had a private guide and program in the Colca canyon with our guide from Arequipa who picked them up in Puno. They had the opportunity to watch the ascending condors in the morning and in the midday after a hike to Cabanaconde to pass again at Cruz del Condor. Sometimes there are still condors to see in the midday but then without any tourists, completely in silence together with the wind and mountains. So far indeed many hotels have no good internet reception in the room itself, sometimes it works sometimes it does not, it depends on the location of the room in the hotel, in many cases you have to go to the reception or lounge room to connect. Peru is also advancing of course so this will improve. When it is very convenient for business or private use to have internet access on your own room, you can make a special request for a room with better reception of the wifi signal to us and when the booking is on time, we can make this request to the hotel.

review 11 May 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sunset and night view in Ica- Huacachinero desert, stay in Aguas Calientes and Machu Picchu, Colca Canyon with condors and Inca terraces, Cusco old city, Andahuaylilas Church and finally tracking the huge herd of peccary in amazon jungle.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Finish your trip in Huacachinero oasis. Be prepared for really cold conditions at Titicaca lake.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very well organized travel, beautiful country with interesting contrasts (from desert to amazon jungle), kind people, good level of travel possibilities and accommodation. Recommend to people who like to be in the close touch with country life.

review 7 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Many great memories. Machu Pichu and the Amazon jungle would have to top the list. Viewing the Nazca lines and the sand dunes of Huacachina were also really special.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We traveled the southern route of Peru. There is so much to see. Please travel beyond Cusco and Machu Pichu. Be warned that many of our activities began early in the morning. Marcel gave us excellent advice on which sites were the best to see. Bus travel in Peru is easy and very comfortable. Overall the country is very affordable.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did feel that our holiday benefited local people. We also felt the local people were very appreciative. The people of Peru are wonderful.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This holiday was outstanding! We enjoyed all the places we visited, so much variety. We felt very safe, we encountered no problems. Marcel and his partner in Lima did an amazing job of planning and organizing our holiday. I would give them a VERY STRONG recommendation!

review 1 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We did a tailor-made tour of Peru, and having invested time in reading up about what we wanted instead of just doing 'the usual' tourist attractions, I would not have changed a thing. Walking in Chivay region independently was one of the highlights, and a great starting point for the holiday. We also spent some time with a charity in Ollantaytambo and got to know some fantastic people working for the charity as well as local families.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just because places are popular tourist attractions, doesn't mean you have to do them! I don't think we paid much more tailoring our trip than if we'd just signed up to a tour. Our children (youngest is 11) did the Inca Trail and did not find it difficult, so would recommend it as a great experience for children. We spent 2.5 days in the Amazon rainforest and enjoyed that, and it showed a very different part of Peru. Peru (and the operator organising our tour) were very organised and the whole trip ran smoothly, with drivers turning up at airports as expected, rooms always booked correctly at hotels, tour reps turning up on time to brief us on trips etc. This is one country where it is easy to travel independently, but with the luxury of having people waiting for you at key points!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Recycling was encouraged, and filtered water was available in a few of the hotels to discourage plastic water bottle use. We got in touch with a charity based in Ollantaytambo and took gifts out for special needs children. Hotel in Cusco (Hostal Marani) recycles clothes for local poor families, and many hotels have links to Peruvian charities supporting local communities. Explorers Inn (Amazon Lodge) and I imagine most of the lodges along the Tambopota River supported conservation and employed local people as guides and staff (even if they struggled with languages, so not always best for tourists, but good for local communities). There are some 'well known' restaurants in most of the cities, that people flock to due to Tripadvisor reviews. While some of these are excellent (we enjoyed eating in 3 of them) we generally chose to eat in the quieter restaurants run by local people. We didn't have a single bad meal in a restaurant, so would encourage the support of the smaller establishments too, as some of them appeared to be struggling against the popular tourist magnets!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, varied, easy to travel, comfortable, delicious food, no hassle. We are a family of 4 (children aged 13 and 11) and this was the best holiday we have ever done. No hesitation in recommending Peru as a fantastic holiday destination for a family, and this oeprator for organising and setting up the perfect tailor made holiday, with plenty of consultation which lasted nearly a year!

review 25 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing Machu Picchu through the mist in the early morning. Seeing dolphins and sea turtles alongside the cruise ship in the Galapagos. Hearing the grunts and feeling the vibrations of a stampede of over 50 peccaries in the Rainforest.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Suspend your expectations and enjoy and immerse yourself in all that Peru and its people have to offer. Do try to communicate in Spanish as much as possible.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we believe that local people benefited and that the money we paid went towards supporting conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. A trip of a lifetime.

review 27 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Machu Picchu & the Lares Trail.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't bother with Inca Express, use Cruz del Sur instead - much better service. Explorer's Inn is rather basic and facilities a bit run down and neglected - shame because the guides there are excellent. Need lots of warm clothes for Lares Trail - routes may vary from as described due to road closures and weather conditions. Make the most of down time at altitude to adjust.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

To some extent.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great experience, amazing sites - but very full on - little time to rest so donít come for a relaxing break.

Read the operator's response here:

From Puno to Cusco (or visa versa) we always recommend to take the Inca Express bus above any other bus company or the tourist train, as this bus makes several stops at interesting archaeological & historical sites along the way which the other companies donít and this would be a missed chance to see and experience more of the Andean culture. Sites visited are among others the village Pukara of the Tiwanaku culture and the Inca pilgrimage site at Raqchi with the Viracocha temple, residential quarters, a ritual bathing place, a colca storehouse area and an intact Inca trail running through the site up into the mountains, all really impressive.

review 9 Mar 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Machu Picchu and the Inca trail simply amazing the 2 day trail was just challenging for myself and my wife, although if I was on my own I would love to try the 4 day trail. The site itself was breathtaking and our guideís local knowledge and her native ancestry gave us extra insight into the people who lived there. The flight over the Nazca lines was also spectacular.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Sanitizing hand gel meant we never suffered from tummy troubles. We never allowed ourselves enough time to relax between excursions, a few more lie-ins would have been very nice. If you are going to drink alcohol at altitude make sure you have a bottle of water when you go to bed!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The stay on the Island on Lake Titicaca was when we felt we were benefiting local people the most, avoiding big hotels and shopping at local markets for food as well as souvenirs was also very rewarding.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Unforgettable.

review 24 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Inca trail was probably the most memorable part of our holiday. Far more difficult than we imagined, but with a supportive group, an excellent guide and efficient porters, the trail was made enjoyable. Nothing will compare with waking up at 5.30am in our tent with a cup of coca tea looking out over a mist-covered valley, knowing Machu Picchu was ahead of us. Seeing Machu Picchu slowly appear through the fog was unforgettable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would certainly recommend some training for the Inca trail -there was a lot more 'uphill' than we realised and with a lack of oxygen making it more difficult, I was worried I wouldn't be able to make it! The sense of achievement at the end made it all worthwhile! Prepare yourself for early starts and early nights! Getting up at 5.30 /6.30 was a bit of a shock to the system, but essential to see the amazing things we did. Also, double check your agency's checklist before you go... we forgot our binoculars and torches which ended up being a must-have on both the trail and in the Amazon (after seeing our first tarantula, you really don't want to be wandering around the jungle in the dark)!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely. We stayed in small hostels, our porters were local farmers from around the area whom we tipped very well for all of their efforts. The amazon trip was organised to ensure minimum impact on the environment, which impressed us very much.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Another 5*s for Responsible Travel! This was our honeymoon, and you definitely made it a memorable one. This is also the second holiday we've booked through your sister company operator - we frequently recommend responsibletravel.comís services to other travellers!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies